Skip to main content

Full text of "Hudson's dictionary of Minneapolis and vicinity; a handbook for strangers and residents"

See other formats


Class _ 


GopyiightN .. 




rxYu i 







Price 2.5 

Six Marble Pillars 

411 Marquette Avenue 



Men and 


Y^OU can put your money in this bank for a few days 

for safe keeping and receive a certificate of deposit 

or draw interest on it if left in the savings department. 

Resources $60,000,000 

Northwestern National Bank 



For practically every map need 
The Hudson Publishing Com- 
pany has the Corresponding 

We are Publishers, Jobbers and Retailers — Map Specialists. 
While our large and unusual stock of maps will probably 
supply your needs, if it does not — we guarantee to procure 
promptly any map in print. 

Some of Our Specialties. 

Pocket Maps of every description — States, Foreign Coun- 
tries, Cities, Counties, etc. 

Wall Maps of all states, the U. S., World, Europe, Etc., Etc. 

Canopy Map Cases made to order and installed with Maps 
and rollers. 

Map Mounting — on cloth, on boards (for use with indicating 
tacks), dissected, etc. 

Auto Guides and Road Maps — State Maps, County Maps, 
Automobile Blue Book, etc. 

Soil Maps — Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin, etc. 

Land Advertising Maps drawn, engraved and printed to 

Agents U. S. Geological Survey — Topographical Maps of 
Northwestern surveys on hand. 

The Hudson Publishing Company 

Publishers and Dealers 


400 Kasota Building, 4th and Hennepin N. W. Nicollet 2826 


TABOUR T"} 1. 

realty co. Kealtors 


334 - 336 Mcknight building 

We BUY and SELL All Kinds of Property 

We have been in this business in this city for the past 30 years 
We can sell you any kind of property you want 
We can make you a loan 
We can write any kind of insurance for you 
We can loan your money to net from 6 to 7 per cent 

We solicit the listing of your property; both for sale and for rent 


Spencer Or (^ompanu 




Specialists in the Printing of 115 Washington j4ve. N. 

Half -tone and Color Work Second Floor: Both Phone 



Strategical War Map 



With our troops doing glorious work in Europe, news despatches from 
the Western Front have become of vital importance to every Ameri- 
can. It is essential that they be understood. 

You cannot read these despatches intelligently unless you possess 
a detailed war map of this region — a map on sufficiently large scale 
to contain the names of ALL PLACES mentioned in your daily paper. 

Many maps of Northeastern France have been published in the last 
four years. Most of these are valueless because they do not contain the 
small places. 

This is the most complete map of the Western Theater of War on the 
market. It includes practically every hamlet, town and village. A dis- 
tinctive feature of this map is the LARGE LETTERING. All place names 
are given in ten-point or larger; fully 90 per cent of the place-names are in 
twelve-or fourteen-point with the largest towns in black-faced letters. 
This distinctive feature adds greatly to the value of the map for library 
or window display purposes as place-names can be READ WITH EASE AT 
GREATER DISTANCE than on any other complete war map. 

In addition to the vast number of places, all fortresses, fortified towns, 
naval arsenals, forts, redoubts, batteries, aircraft depots, wireless sta- 
tions, railways, etc., are included. 

Another valuable detail is the battle line of August 1914, when the Ger- 
mans were almost at the gates of Paris, the; line of farthest German ad- 
vance of 1918, the Hindenburg line and the BATTLE LINES OF TO-DAY. 
By means of this feature the ground regained by the Allies may be easily 

This map is NEW. IT IS ACCURATE. It is prepared solely for 
strategical purposes and may be used with ease, for the type throughout 
is large and clean cut. 

The map measures 78 x 56 inches. It is engraved on a scale of five miles 
to the inch and extends north to Antwerp. Belgium, east to Frankfort, 
Germany, south to Swiss border, and west to Dieppe, France. 


Printed in two sections, each 38 x 56 inches in size, on bond paper, folded, 
and enclosed in board covers $4.00 

Printed in two sections, each 38 x 56 inches in size, on folded map cloth, 
and enclosed in board covers $6.00 

Printed on heavy paper and the two sheets joined as one map and 

mounted on cloth with roller and moulding attached, size 

_ 78 x 56 inches $8.00 

Printed on paper joined as one map and mounted on compo board with 
cloth hinge in center to permit of folding in shipping, complete map 
measuring 78 x 56 inches — or on solid mount without hinge $17.50 





Our fifteen years' experience, 
and connections enable us to 

^^^^M M " im,mV ' 1 -" iJ DEPENDABLE 

Office Furniture 


CABINETS (in wood or steel) 




Jas. F. Williamson, 30 Years Practice. Examiner in Patent Office Prior to 
Practice. Frank D. Merchant, Mechanical Engineer, 20 Years Practice. 

Williamson & Merchant 

Patent and Trade Mark Causes 

Solicitors of United States 
and Foreign Patents 

Main Office: Branch Office: 

925-935 Metropolitan Life Bldg,, 502 McGill Building, 

Minneapolis, Minn. Washington, D. C. 

Cable Address: 
"Patents, Minneapolis" 

Telephones: N. W. Main 963. Tri-State 34 551 


And other War Publications of Vital Interest to All 

Our stock includes a great variety of special War Maps, 
both imported and American publications, and iin the form 
of Pocket Maps and Wall Maps. 

Especially valuable are the London Daily Telegraph Maps 
of the "British Front," "French Front," "Italian Front," etc. 
Paper, $1.00; cloth, $2.50; cloth "dissected," $3.50. 

Philips "Western Front," Indexed Wall Map, $4.00; Dis- 
sected, $4.50. (Also "Eastern," "Southern" and "Balkan" 
Fronts — same prices.) 

Hammond's "Western Front," Indexed Paper, $1; cloth, 
$2.00; Wall Map, $3.50; dissected, $4.25. On compo board 
$4.00. " - 

"The U. S. Navy" — Camera studies of our "first line of 
defense." Two editions; 64 pages, 5x7, price 35 cents; 9x12, 
board covers, $1.00; postage 10 cents. 

"Aircraft of All Nations," over 40 half tone reproductions; 
25 cents. 

Many other special maps and war publications. Detailed 
maps of every foreign country. Wall Maps of Europe, The 
World, etc. 

The Hudson Publishing Co. 

Publishers and Dealers 


400 Kasota Building, 4th and Hennepin 

N. W. Nicollet 2826 Minneapolis, Minn. 

Clipping Bureau Essential 

July 24 the pulp and paper section of the War In- 
dustries Board issued a circular interpreting their pre- 
liminary economy order of July 5. In this circular 
they say, "Copies of newspapers may be sent to Clip- 
ping Bureaus which render equivalent service to the 
newspapers." For a thorough clipping service on any 
subject, therefore, you may continue to send to 

Pollock's Clipping Bureau 

710 Temple Court Nicollet 4695 

Baer-Strand Company 





225 Third Street South Minneapolis, Minn. 


Dictionary of Minneapolis 

A Handbook for Strangers and Residents 


An Alphabetically Arranged Manual and Descriptive Index of 

the Places, Buildings, Institutions, Parks, Streets, Churches, 

Resorts, Amusements, Commercial Enterprises, 

Societies, Etc., Etc., in and 







400 Kasota Building 


. ftfcr//g 

Worth Y 


When you think of making a new banking connection, — 


Ten Million Dollar 

Capital and 


===== OF THE . 

First & Security Nat. Bank 

Marquette and Fifth Street 


Copyright 1918 by Horace B. Hudson 

RFC 26 ^' ,3 , (G:i.A509336 

"ii-m * i 


The traditional pudding: was proved in the eating; in other words 
/as found appetizing, wholesome, and complete with all the in- 
redients which a good pudding should contain. Twenty years 
of publication has proved the Dictionary of Minneapolis; it has in 
all the essential facts about the city and its people, presented in 
a concise, readable and accessible form. Each year sees it better 
established and more generally regarded as a permanent and useful 
institution of the city. 

The Dictionary of Minneapolis is: 

The only comprehensive compendium of information about 

The only handbook for every day use by the people of the city. 

The most complete and practical guide for the visitor. 

An invaluable means of conveying information about the 
city to interested people living elsewhere. 

In the latter capacity it has been the means of bringing many 
people to Minneapolis both as visitors and as permanent residents. 

Each year the Dictionary is thoroughly revised. 

See page 1 under heading "About Minneapolis" for directions for 
using this book. 

When writing or calling upon advertisers please mention Hud- 
sons' Dictionary of Minneapolis. 

®lj? Uptdjrr-tetottuta dnrnwany 

322 South 4th Street, Room 400, Opposite City Hall 


Blank Books, Loose Leaf and Loose Leaf 
Devices — Art Binding one of our Special- 
ties — Quotations on request. :: :: :: 
Automatic 32 298 MINNEAPOLIS 




A. C. Paul Richard Paul 

Patent Attorneys & Solicitors 

854 Security Bldg. 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 


Consulting Engineer 


602 Kasota Bldg. 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 


Attorney at Law. 

840 Metropolitan Life Bldg. 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 

Harlan P. Roberts Geo. W. Strong 

Attorneys at Law 

600 Security Building 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 

Fred B. Snyder Edward C. Gale 

Attorneys at Law 

800-806 Security Bldg. 

N. W., M. 1214 Auto 32 214 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 


Landscape Architect and Engineer 

710 Sykes Block 
N. W., Nic. 1616 Auto. 34 762 



Mechanical and Electrical 


Designers of 

Mechanical Equipment of 

Buildings and Industrial 


805-11 Metropolitan Life Bldg. 
Both Phones 

J. F. Williamson F. D. Merchant 

Attorneys at Law 

Patent and Trade Mark Causes 

925 Met. Life Bldg. Minneapolis 



G. E. Bertrand A. B. Chamberlin 


617 Northwestern Bank Bldg. 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 


Expert Accountant 
Most practical Accountant in the 
Twin Cities. Have had twenty-five 
years experience in bookkeeping and 
accounting. Am familiar with both 
English and American systems of 
accounting. Am a thorough Cost 
Accountant, and can install a sys- 
tem that is both simple and easy 
to be handled by the ordinary fac- 
tory staff. If I fail to produce the 
desired results, then my fees will 
be refunded. Satisfactory refer- 
ences given. Traveling Auditor 
Volunteers of America. 

Minneapolis, Minn. 
N. W., Nicollet 2819 T. S. 31 015 



923 Lumber Exchange 

Minneapolis - - Minnesota 


742 McKnight Bldg. Minneapolis 


N. W., Nic. 2011 Auto 37 464 
Builders Exch. Minneapolis 



Auditorium opp. 100 

Builders Exchange opp. 20 

First Nat.-Soo Bldg opp. 36 

Kasota Bldg opp. 85 

Lake Calhoun opp. 116 

Lake of the Isles opp. 12 

Leslie Paper Co. Bldg opp. 124 


Loring Cascade opp. 13 

Metropolitan Music Bldg opp. 68 

Milling District Frontispiece 

Mpls. Gas Light Co. Bldg...opp. 44 

Minnehaha Falls opp. 84 

New York Life Bldg opp. 60 

Round Tower, Ft. Snelling..opp. 84 



Amer. Tent & Awning Co 140 

Baer-Strand Co Opp. VI 

Beard Art Galleries Opp. 61 

Bell, David C, Investment Co. 

third cover page 

Bletcher-Bredemus Co IX 

Commercial West, The Opp. 117 

Dreger, J. W Opp. 125 

First & Security Nat. Bk 

Vni and XI 

Glenwood-Inglewood Co. ..Opp. 61 

Hoff Rubber Stamp Co 140 

Holstad, S. H. & Co Opp. 116 

Hotel Vendome Opp. VIII 

Journal, The Minneapolis XII 

Metropolitan Music Co Opp. 69 

Minneapolis Gas Light Co.Opp. 45 
Minneapolis General Electric 

Co Opp. 28 

Minneapolis Trust Co Opp. 37 


Nichols & Tuttle Co Opp. 61 

Northwestern Hide & Fur Co. 

Opp. 125 

Northwestern Knitting Co 

>....fourth cover page 

Northwestern National Bank.... 

second cover page 

Office Fur. & Equip. Co IV 

Orchestral Association Opp. 101 

Peterson, J. B. 140 

Pollock's Clipping Bureau VI 

Professional Directory X 

Spencer & Co II 

Sweet, Louis D Opp. 21 

Tab6ur Realty Co II 

Tyler & Co 140 

Wentworth & Griffith 

third cover page 

White & McNaught Opp. 117 

Williamson & Merchant IV 

People Moving to Minneapolis 

T F you*are moving to Minneapolis to make this beautiful city 
- 1 your home, we extend a cordial invitation to you to make 
use of our various Banking facilities. This is a Ten Million 
Dollar Bank (Capital and Surplus, Ten Million Dollars) but it 
is our constant endeavor to give to all our accounts, whether 
large or small, the same, prompt, careful and courteous atten- 
tion. We invite you to bank with us. 


Capital and Surplus, Ten Million Dollars 
Marquette at Fifth Street Savings Department Street Floor 



Is fittingly represented in this 
great territory of opportunity by 


"The Northwest's Greatest Newspaper" 

It leads in all that is 
worth while, and — 
Customers know 

Its Advertising is Honest 




About Minneapolis. — This Dic- 
tionary of Minneapolis is intended 
to supply the need, which every 
resident and every visitor feels, of 
a handy compendium of informa- 
tion about this, one of the most 
interesting cities in the country. 
It is equally useful to persons liv- 
ing elsewhere who may be inter- 
ested in Minneapolis. 

Whether to be used by the resi- 
dent, the non-resident or the visit- 
or it is of first importance that 
the information should be ar- 
ranged in the most convenient and 
accessible way. To accomplish 
this purpose the alphabetical or 
encyclopedic arrangement of top- 
ics is used as the simplest and 
most practical. The book is its 
own index. If the reader wishes 
to look up the "University of Min- 
nesota" he will find it instantly 
under the letter "U." Should he 
by chance look first for "State 
UniversUy" he will find that sub- 
ject under the letter *S" with a 
reference to "University of Min- 

Minneapolis is a large city and 
has many different kinds of at- 
tractions. The visitor especially 
interested in the picturesque will 
want to see something of the 
parks, Minnehaha Falls, Fort 
Snelling and Lake Minnetonka; 
while the man with a more mate- 

rial bent will be particularly at- 
tracted to the flour and lumber 
mills, the railroad facilities and 
the immense business establish- 
ments. By looking up the topics 
in which he is particularly inter- 
ested one may find condensed in- 
formation as well as directions for 
seeing what is to be seen in the 
most convenient way. 

But every stranger should en- 
deavor to obtain a general view of 
the city in its several aspects. 
Under the heading "Seeing the 
City" are brief directions for 
reaching the points of interest in 
the business district, the promi- 
nent buildings, the flour and saw 
mills, the best residence sections, 
the University, etc. Under the 
heading "Drives," are directions 
for making a number of carriage 
or automobile excursions in the 
city and suburbs. The topic "Ex- 
cursions" covers the general sub- 
ject of electric car trips of from 
an hour to a day as well as sug- 
gesting some of the points of in- 
terest worth visiting throughout 
the northwest. In all this sight 
seeing the maps in this Dictionary 
will be of assistance. 

Academies. (See Private 

Academy of Sciences. — The Min- 
nesota Academy of Sciences first 
took definite form as a distinct or- 
ganization in 1873. It had its ori- 
gin in a desire on the part of its 


founders • organize "a society 
having for :ts object the cultiva- 
tion of Natural Science." Besides 
making collections of specimens, 
the society holds regular meetings, 
at which papers on scientific sub- 
jects are read and discussed. 
These proceedings are published 
from time to time and form a val- 
uable addition to scientific litera- 
ture. The academy has a home in 
three rooms on the fourth floor 
of the Public Library building. 
Cases are provided for the speci- 
mens, by the city. This col- 
lection includes a large number of 
mounted birds, an extensive col- 
lection of geological specimens, 
rare Indian relics and Chinese, 
Egyptian and Greek antiquities. 
The academy some years ago add- 
ed largely to its collection through 
a scientific expedition to the Phil- 
ippine Islands. All persons inter- 
ested in science are invited to 
contribute to the Museum. The 
officers are: T. B. Walker, presi- 
dent; Dr. F. J. Wulling, vice presi- 
dent; Harlow Gale, secretary; 
Edward C. Gale, treasurer. The 
membership is about 100. Meet- 
ings, to which the public is in- 
vited, are held monthly. 

African Methodist Episcopal 
Churches. (See Churches, Miscel- 

Agricultural Experiment Sta- 
tion. (See University of Minne- 

Agricultural Implements. — In 

the manufacture and sale of agri- 
cultural implements, Minneapolis 
has but one rival in the world. 
The volume of business in this 
line is first in magnitude among 
the city's interests, the grain and 
flour trade ranking next. The 
wholesale branch of the business 
is most important, the houses en- 
gaged in that line being among the 
largest and most progressive to 
be found anywhere. The buildings 
occupied by the wholesale imple- 
ment concerns are models of ware- 

house construction, substantial in 
appearance, attractive in design, 
and equipped for handling goods 
expeditiously. These warehouses 
are confined to no one section of 
the city, being distributed from 
Seventh Av. S. to Eighth Av. N., 
and from First St. to Fifth St., ac- 
cording as the best shipping fa- 
cilities become available. In han- 
dling the heavy and bulky pack- 
ages, trackage is essential, and the 
implement houses have located 
wherever the problem of transpor- 
tation seemed most simple of so- 
lution. The jobbing territory cov- 
ered from Minneapolis extends 
from Wisconsin on the east, to 
Idaho on the west, and for the 
manufacturing concerns the field 
is unlimited. That branch of the 
business includes a great variety 
of products, such as gas tractors, 
motor trucks, wagons and vehicles, 
grain drills and seeders, threshing 
engines and separators, harrows, 
haying machinery, bob sleds, fan- 
ning mills, grain cleaners, etc. 
There are probably 4,000 people 
employed in the implement manu- 
facturing establishments of the 
city, and the value of the product 
is in the vicinity of $20,000,000 
annually. The gross volume of 
the implement business last year 
is estimated at $45,000,000. 

Agriculture, College of. (See Uni- 
versity of Minnesota.) 

Agriculture, School of. (See Uni- 
versity of Minnesota.) 

Aldermen. (See Government and 
City Officials.) 

Altitude. — The crest of the 
Falls of St. Anthony is about 
800 feet above sea level. Some 
points in the city are several hun- 
dred feet higher. 

Ambulance. — In case of acci- 
dent, ambulances and patrol wag- 
ons may be summoned for the re- 
moval of injured persons by tele- 
phoning to police headquarters In 
the city hall. An auto-patrol 

wag-on is a part of the equipment. 

Amusements. — In its possibili- 
ties in the way of diversion and 
recreation Minneapolis is especial- 
ly fortunate. During- the theatri- 
cal season, from the latter part 
of August to the end of May, the 
principal theatres supply a large 
variety of attractions, ranging 
from the finest dramatic and op- 
eratic performances, to the vaude- 
ville and motion picture shows 
given at low prices. Over 60 mo- 
tion picture shows are open the 
year around. 

It is to the surrounding lakes 
that Minneapolis owes much of her 
opportunities for enjoyment. Lakes 
Harriet and Calhoun and Lake of 
the Isles and Cedar Lake are with- 
in the city limits and are easily 
reached by electric car, carriage, 
automobile or wheel. At all 
these lakes rowing, sailing and 
fishing may be found. Picnics at 
these lakes, as well as at Minne- 
haha Palls, (which are within the 
city limits) are much in vogue. 
Excursions of from one hour to 
several days are possible through- 
out the season. Smooth lake 
shore drives and tree-lined ave- 
nues make riding, automobiling, 
bicycling and pedestrianism popu- 
lar. Golf, tennis and croquet 
flourish. Pishing and hunting may 
be enjoyed without much loss of 
time on the road. Baseball, foot- 
ball, rowing, and other athletic 
sports are very popular, and the 
meets of several driving clubs 
supply pleasure for the lovers of 
fast horses. The state fair, with 
racing and other amusements, oc- 
cupies a week in early September. 

Skating is ordinarily in sea- 
son from Thanksgiving to March. 
A score of lakes and ponds within 
the city limits are utilized for this 

Ice yachting is very popular. 
There are many ice yachts at Lake 
Calhoun, while at Lake Minneton- 
ka the sport is enjoyed in full 


measure on the long reaches of 
that beautiful lake. (See Minne- 
tonka Yacht Club.) 

The frozen surface of Lake of 
the Isles is utilized each winter 
for an ice race track where the 
owners of fast horses find most 
exhilarating amusement. Curling 
is another winter sport and bowl- 
ing — though popular all the year — 
is given more attention in the win- 

There are usually about three 
months of sleighing. More detailed 
references to the various amuse- 
ments will be found under their 
particular heads. (See Theatres, 
State Pair, Excursions, etc.) 

Andrew Presbyterian Church, 

The oldest Presbyterian church in 
the city, has a modern edifice, cor- 
ner of 4th St. and 8th Av. S. E. 
Oak & Harriet and Como-Harriet 
lines. (See Presbyterian Church- 

Andrus Building-. — A ten story 
office building at the corner of 
Nicollet Av. and 5th St. It is fire 
proof and modern in all its details 
of construction. 

Anoka. — On the Mississippi riv- 
er, 19 miles above Minneapolis. 
Great Northern and Northern Pa- 
cific Rys. Minneapolis, Anoka & 
Cuyuna Range Ry., (electric) 
from 6th St. and 2nd Ave. So. 

Apartment Houses. — Minneapo- 
lis has some of the finest "flats" 
in the country. Rentals vary from 
$1.5 or $20 to $100 or more per 
month — the latter figures for the 
most elegant and commodious 

Apollo Club. — A male chorus of 
100 which gives three concerts 
each year exclusively to its sub- 
scribers, many of whom have been 
subscribers since its organization 
in 1896. The club rooms are in 
the Lyric Theatre building and 
the officers are E. J. Carpenter, 
president; C. A. Buholz, vice presi- 
dent; Geo. B. Eustis, secretary; 


and I. D. Cooper, treasurer; Dr. 
W. Rhys-Herbert, accompanist; 
E. S. Ender, organist. Musical di- 
rector, H. S. Woodruff. 

Apron, The. (See St. Anthony 

Architectural Features. — Among 
western cities Minneapolis stands 
very high, architecturally consid- 
ered. The substantial character of 
the city's buildings is often com- 
mented upon most favorably; the 
display of architectural taste and 
ability attracts no less attention 
from the cultivated visitor. Many 
of the public buildings are Ro- 
manesque in leading features, but 
pure types of any period or style 
are wanting. Nearly everything is 
modernized. The Court House and 
City Hall, Metropolitan Life build- 
ing, Auditorium, Northwestern 
Bank building, First National-Soo 
Line building, Northwestern Na- 
tional Bank building, Security 
building, Public Library, Chamber 
of Commerce, new Donaldson 
building, Andrus building, Lumber 
Exchange, « Minneapolis Club, 
Art Institute, McKnight Building, 
are among the best designed build- 
ings. Westminster Presbyterian, 
Hennepin Av. Methodist, Church 
of the Redeemer, Plymouth Con- 
gregational, St. Mark's Episcopal 
and the Catholic Cathedral are 
models of church architecture, 
while residences without number 
are conspicuous for architectural 
skill displayed. 

Area (of Minneapolis). — In the 
corporate limits of Minneapolis 
there are 53.29 square miles. The 
city is ten miles long (from north 
to south) by about six miles wide. 

Armory. — The various militia 
companies of the city occupy a 
massive structure on Kenwood 
Parkway near Lyndale avenue. 

Army, U. S. (See Ft. Snblling.) 

Art Commission. — The Art Com- 
mission of the City of Minneapolis 
is constituted under a legislative 
act which provides that no work 
of art shall become the property of 
the city by purchase, gift or other- 
wise, unless the same or a model 
thereof, together with a statement 
of the proposed location shall be 
approved by the commission 

Art Galleries. — The principal 
gallery is that of the Minneapolis 
Institute of Arts (See Art Insti- 
tute). The public library main- 
tains a public gallery in the li- 
brary building. This collection is 
enriched with loans from private 
galleries, and with a collection of 
statuary casts. Several small gal- 
leries, which like the Art Society 
collection are free to the public, 
are to be found in connection with 
the art stores and the studios of 
resident painters. The Beard Art 
Galleries, 926 Nicollet Av. and 68 
S. 10th St., are worth visiting. 
Private galleries are few. The 
most extensive is that in Mr. T. B. 
Walker's home, 807 Hennepin Av., 
open to the public every week- 
day from 8 a. m. to 6 p. m. 

♦Art Institute. — Members of the 
Minneapolis Society of Fine Arts 
instituted in 1910 a campaign for 
the erection of a great art mu- 
seum and at a* gathering on Jan. 
10, 1911, the sum of $604,500 was 
pledged for the object. This in- 
cluded a site valued at $250,000 
presented by Clinton Morrison and 
a subscription of $100,000 from 
W. H. Dunwoody. Additional sub- 
scriptions brought the building 
fund up to half a million and 
plans for a building 575 feet long 
by 500 deep were completed in 
the spring of 1912, and the central 
unit was finished and opened to 
the public Jan. 7, 1915. The ar- 
chitects were McKim, Mead and 
White of New York. The Minne- 
apolis Institute of Arts is pro- 
nounced to be one of the finest 
buildings of its kind in the coun- 

try, the galleries large, light and 
restfully varied in the color of 
their decorations. The main floor 
is principally occupied by a coll c- 
tion of casts of famous works )f 
sculpture representing many peri- 
ods and schools given by Russell 
M. Bennett. On this floor are also 
the so-called period rooms where 
the original sculpture, furniture, 
tapestries, paintings, etc., owned 
by the Institute are arranged ac- 
cording to the period which pro- 
duced them. Thus, all the objects 
made in the Gothic period (XIII- 
XV centuries) are together in one 
room. There are three galleries 
devoted to Oriental art, one to 
Egyptian, one to Gothic, two to 
Renaissance, one to XVII cen- 
tury, two to XVIII century. 
The Library and Print Study 
Room are also on this floor. 
In the period rooms may be seen 
the magnificent tapestries given to 
the Institute by Mrs. C. J. Mar- 
tin, known as the Charles Jairus 
Martin Memorial Collection. This 
collection alone makes the Insti- 
tute worthy a visit. 

On the gallery floor are rooms 
and a series of alcoves devoted to 
modern paintings, prints and 
drawings. Seven galleries are 
now occupied by the permanent 
collection while two galleries are 
used for loan exhibitions of var- 
ious kinds, which are changed 
each month. On this floor is also 
the Bradstreet Memorial Room 
and the Print Exhibition Room. 

Among the permanent exhibits 
may be mentioned the Martin B. 
Koon Memorial Collection which 
includes examples of such men as 
Redfield, Twachtman, Symons, etc., 
given by Mrs. C. C. Bovey and 
Mrs. C. D. Velie. Of the pictures 
owned by the Institute many are 
by prominent artists as Burne- 
Jones, David Wilkie, Sorolla, Alex- 
ander, Tarbell, Isham, Courbet, 
Troyon, Stuart, etc. 

The Art Institute is on 24th st. 
between Stevens and 3d av. S. 
54 th St. and Col. Heights car line. 


In the building are also a lunch 
room open to the public and a 
rest room. The school rooms of 
the Minneapolis School of Arts 
(See under that title) were form- 
erly in the Institute; the School 
now occupies a building of its 
own in close connection wfth the 

The galleries are open to the 
public every day from 10 a. m. to 
5 p. m. except Sunday and Mon- 
day when the hours are from 1 
p. m. to 5 p. m. Sunday, Wednes- 
day and Saturday admission is 
free. Other days, a 25-cent fee is 

(See Minneapolis School of 
Arts and Minneapolis Society of 
Fine Arts.) 

Art Schools. (See Minneapolis 
Society of Fine Arts and Handi- 
craft Gdild.) 

Art Society. (See Minneapolis 
Society of Fine Arts.) 

Art Stores. — There are several 
places where artists' materials and 
pictures of various kinds may be 
purchased. These stores usually 
make a display of paintings, etch- 
ings and other works of art. Well 
worth visiting are The Beard Art 
Galleries, 926 Nicollet Av. and 68 
S. 10th St. 

In quite a number of shops may 
be found a development of the 
growing tendency to the applica- 
tion of art ideas in the manufac- 
ture of merchandise of all kinds, 
notably in glass and china, furni- 
ture and fabrics 

Ashes and Garbage. — The mu- 
nicipal government makes provi- 
sion for the removal of ashes and 
garbage. The garbage is burned 
in a crematory at Camden Place; 
ashes are used for filling low 
places in the city. Owners or oc- 
cupants of each house must pro- 
vide metallic cans with close-fit- 
ting covers and of twenty gallons 
capacity for garbage and thirty 
gallons capacity for ashes. Only 
garbage — animal and vegetable 


matter — and refuse which will 
burn may be put in the garbage 
can and ashes, tin cans, broken 
glassware, etc., into the ash can. 

Assessed Valuation. — By the last 
assessment Minneapolis property, 
is valued at $287,482,499. Of 
this amount $169,688,306, assessed 
on a 40% basis, is represented by 
ground and buildings, $46,373,033, 
assessed on a 25 and 33%% basis, 
personal property and $71,421,160 
by moneys and credits. As the 
assessment is less than fifty per 
cent of the true value and much 
personal property always escapes 
taxation, the wealth of the city 
may be safely estimated at about 

The assessed valuation and tax 
rate for several years past were as 


1900 $99,492,054 27.40 

1901 , . 102,212,506 29.86 

1902 121,417,636 25.33 

1903 128,596,734 28.46 

1904 135,708,902 28.56 

1905 138,690,490 29.75 

1906 164,419,145 26.50 

1907 168,038,386 30.17 

1908 175.912,389 28.63 

1909 179,065,989 31.04 

1910 197,036,479 30.13 

1911 198,910,208 31.79 

1912 213,398,439 32.57 

1913 219,669,533 35.76 

1914 196,306,615 35.77 

1915 201,434,378 39.36 

1916 206,493,563 39.43 

1917 287,482,499 48.48 

Associated Charities. — The As- 
sociated Charities of Minneapolis 
was established in 1885 and incor- 
porated in 1889. Its chief object 
is the treatment of Minneapolis 
dependents. Its principles are to 
study, relieve and prevent pover- 

The Associated Charities main- 
tains the following departments to 
accomplish the objects noted ' 
above: relief and service, legal 
aid bureau, friendly visiting, 
study and prevention of tubercu- 
losis, a confidential registra- 
tion bureau, and visiting nurses 

to care for the needy sick in 
their homes. 

The work is carried on entirely 
by voluntary subscriptions. The 
society makes no distinction be- 
tween applicants on account of re- 
ligion, politics, color, or national- 
ity; it never proselytizes or inter- 
feres with the work of any benev- 
olent or charitable society, but at- 
tempts to bring all philanthropic 
forces into harmonious and effect- 
ive relations. 

Sumner T. McKnight is presi- 
dent, Henry L. Moore, treasurer, 
and Frank J. Bruno, general sec- 
retary. The central office is in the 
OJd Chamber of Commerce Bldg., 
3d St. and 4th Av. S. (See Benev- 
olent Societies, Government and 
Charities and Corrections.) 

Asylums. (See Benevolent Soci- 
eties and Institutions, and Hospi- 

Athenaeum. (See Public Libra- 

Athletics. (See Sports.) 

Auditorium. — The Minneapolis 
auditorium was erected in 1905 by 
the Northwestern National Life 
Insurance company of Minneapolis 
in connection with a home office 
building for the company, at the 
corner of Nicollet avenue and Elev- 
enth street. Its main front is on 
Eleventh street. From its handsome 
facade of 110 feet in width the 
building extends towards Twelfth 
street 220 feet. On all sides it is 
surrounded by open space, even the 
adjoining office building being sep- 
arated from it by a wide alley. 
This arrangement makes possible 
a very complete system of exits, 
which, with the general fire-proof 
construction, makes the building 
as safe as is possible. 

Foyers of the full width of the 
building are found on the first, sec- 
ond and third floors, from which 
wide promenades lead down either 
side of the auditorium. Numerous 
doors admit to these promenades. 

On the main floor six exterior 
doors lead from the promenades to 
the surrounding open air alleys, 
making it possible for people from 
this floor to reach the outside of 
the building without passing to the 
front of the building at Eleventh 
street ^ 'l- 

Although rising to the full 
height of the office building — four 
stories — the Auditorium has but 
three floors — the main floor, bal- 
cony floor and gallery floor; but on 
the Eleventh street front a small 
dancing hall, 40x65 feet, has been 
provided on the fourth floor level. 
At the other end of the auditorium 
the stage occupies the full width 
of the building. It is 44 feet deep, 
with a proscenium arch 58 feet 
wide and 40 feet in height. There 
is room on this stage for a chorus 
of 400 besides the space allotted 
to the great pipe organ. Numer- 
ous dressing and retiring rooms 
afford every convenience. 

At the right of the stage is a 
magnificent concert pipe organ, 
which is the fourth in size in the 
United States. It is a four manual 
organ with about 4.000 pipes and 
140 stops, has sufficient volume to 
fill the hall properly, and is 
equipped with all modern improve- 
ments for perfect manipulation. 

The seating capacity of the hall 
is about 2,500, divided as fol- 
lows: main floor 1,500, balcony and 
gallery about 500 each. For con- 
vention purposes the seating capa- 
city of the stage may be added to 
this. The main floor is of concrete 
and level; but when used for con- 
certs, lectures or similar entertain- 
ments, a sloping, movable floor of 
wood is placed in position. De- 
tails of equipment and decoration 
are worked out along the most 
modern and approved lines, and 
Minneapolis has as complete and 
veil designed an auditorium as any 
uty in the country. 

The exterior of the building is 
lignified and appropriate to its 


purposes. This as well as the de- 
tails of interior construction, are 
the result of careful study upon 
the part of the architects, Messrs. 
Bertrand & Chamberlin of Min- 

The complete structures, includ- 
ing the auditorium, office building 
and the land, represent an invest- 
ment of almost half a million dol- 

Augsburg" Seminary. — This is an 
institution of the Norwegian-Luth- 
eran Church, and is located at the 
corner of 7th St. and 21st Av. S. 
It was organized as a theologica) 
school at Marshall, Wis., in 1860 
In 1871 it was removed to Min- 
neapolis, and in 1874 the main 
building, a four-story structure, 
113x52 feet, was commenced. On 
January 1, 1902, a modern build- 
ing costing $45,000, was dedicated. 
With other lesser buildings this 
gives the seminary an admirable 
equipment. (Minnehaha electric 

Augustana Lutheran Church. — 
One of the largest churches of the 
denomination in the west; located 
at the corner of 11th Av. S. and 
7th St. Rev. Chas. J. Petri is pas- 

Automobile Maps and Guides — 

A large variety of guides and 
maps including all standard pub- 
lications may be found at the of- 
fice of The Hudson Publishing 
Co., 404 Kasota Bldg., cor 4th & 

Automobiles. — The use of auto- 
mobiles has increased very rapidly 
■within a few years and there are 
now about 15,000 machines in 
daily use in the city. The broad, 
level streets, fine suburban drives 
and excellent country roads are 
important factors in the populari- 
ty of automobiling. The trade in 
motor cars is developing into one 
of the leading lines of the city. 
There is not only a large sale to 
local residents, but a growing 
market for the machines 


throughout the Northwest. The 
manufacture of motor trucks is 
becoming- an Important Minne- 
apolis industry. Many fine ga- 
rages are maintained and autos 
may be hired with competent 
chauffeurs. (See Taxi-cabs.) 

Many of the owners of machines 
are members of 'the Minneapolis 
Automobile Club, which has a 
membership of over 1,600. Geo. 
K. Belden is president and G. Roy 
Hill secretary. The club main- 
tains an office in the Radisson 
Hotel. The club is affiliated with 
the Minnesota State Automobile 
Association and the American 
Automobile Association. 

Avenues. (See Streets and Ave- 

Bag-gage. — Delivery companies 
call for baggage in any part of the 
city and deliver it at the depots 
at a uniform rate of 25c per piece, 
except from remote points. Most 
of the railroads now check bag- 
gage to destination at the time of 
sale of tickets, sending to the 
house or hotel for the trunks and 
thus saving the traveler all annoy- 
ance at the station. The charge 
for this accommodation is 25c, 
within a central district. (See Ex- 
press Charges.) 

Bands and Orchestras. — The in- 
strumental organizations of the 
city are these: • 

First Reg. Band and Orchestra. 
— J. P. Rossiter, director, 41-43 S. 
6th St. 

Kelsey's Orchestra. — 41-43 S. 
6th St. 

Ladies' Orchestra. — Mrs. T. T. 
Lyons, director, 41-43 S. 6th St. 

Minneapolis Park Band. — Jo- 
seph Saiton, conductor. 

Minneapolis Symphony Orches- 
tra. — Emil Oberhoffer, director. 

Shibley's Mandolin Orchestra. 
— 41-43 S. 6th St. 

University of Minnesota Band. 
— B. A. Rose, director. 

Bank Clearings. (See Clearing 

Banks. — A total capital of 
$14,080,000, exclusive of surplus, 
is shown by the national and state 
banks of Minneapolis. In addition 
there is a large brokerage busi- 
ness and a heavy capital controlled 
by loan and trust companies. The 
following are the banks with 
their locations and capital. 

Federal Reserve Bank. — New 
York Life Bldg., cor. 5th St. and 2nd 
Av. S. 

National Banks. 

Bankers. — Lumber Exchange. 

First and Security. — Cor. 5th 
St. and Marquette Av. $5,000,000. 
-Lincoln.- — Hennepin Av. and 9th 
St. $250,000. 

Metropolitan National, Metro- 
politan Bldg., $500,000. 

Midland.— Security Bldg. $1,000,- 

Northwestern. — 407-413 Mar- 
quette Av. $4,000,000. 

State Banks. 

American. — Henn. Av. and Lake 
St. $25,000. 

Calhoun. — 715 W. Lake St. 

Camden Park. — 4148 N. Wash. 
Av. $25,000. 

Central. — Central Av. and 25th 
St. N. E. $25,000. 

Citizens. — Lake St. and Bloom- 
ington. $25,000. 

Chicago-Lake. — 741 E. Lake St. 

Continental. — 706 Marquette Av. 

East Hennepin. — East Henne- 
pin Av. and 5th St., $50,000. 

Exchange. — Metropolitan Life 
Bldg. $50,000. 

Fidelity. — 2417 Central. $25,000. 

Gateway. — Hennepin and Wash. 
Avs. $50,000. 

Hennepin County Savings. — 
Marquette Av. and 4th St. $250,000. 
(Does a general banking business.) 

Lake Harriet. — 4287 S. Sheri- 
dan Av. $25,000. 

Lake Street. — 2716 E. Lake St. 

Liberty. — 1333 E. Franklin Av. 

Market. — 200 N. 7th St. $25,- 

Mercantile. — Hennepin Av. and 
6th St. $300,000. 

Merchants' & Manufacturers'. — 
242 20th Av. N. $100,000. 
' Mill City.— 20 W. Lake St. $25,- 

Millers' & Traders'. — 4th St. 
and 4th Av. S. $40,000. 

Minneapolis. — Cor. Nicollet and 
Lake St. $50,000. 

Minnehaha. — 2626 E. 25th St. 

Nicollet Av. — 1309 Nicollet Av. 

Nokomis. — Cedar and Lake. 

North American. — 1225 N. Wash- 
ington Av. $200,000. 

Northeast. — 2nd St. and 13th Av. 
N. E. $50,000. 

North Commercial. — 701 20th 
Av. N. $25,000. 

North Side. — Plymouth and 
Washington A vs. $50,000. 

People's. — 1419 Wash. Av. S. 

Republic. — Hennepin Av. and 
14th St. $50,000. 

St. Anthony Falls. Cor. East 

Hennepin Av. and 4th St. S. E. 

South Side State Bank. — 405 Ce- 
dar Av. $100,000. 

State Bank of Commerce.— 517 
Marquette, $50,000. 

State Deposit. — 52 S. 4th St. $100,- 

Twenty-sixth St. — Nicollet Av. 
and 26th St. $25,000. 

Union. — 1st Av. S. and 6th St. 

University. — Wash. Av. S. E. 
and Oak St. $25,000. 

Western. — 639 6th Av. N. 

Savings Banks. 

Farmers and Mechanics. — 115 S. 
4th St. 

Hennepin County. — Marquette 
Av. and 4th St. 

Institutions for Savings. 

State Institution for Savings. — 
517 Marquette Av. 

The First & Security National, 
and Northwestern National banks 
maintain savings departments. 


The total deposits in Minneapo- 
lis banks are about $175,000,000. 

Under the new national law 
Minneapolis was selected as the 
location of one of the Federal Re- 
serve banks with a district in- 
cluding- Minnesota, North Dakota, 
South Dakota, Montana and the 
north half of Wisconsin. The se- 
lection of Minneapolis is a recogni- 
tion of its position as the financial 
center of the Northwest. 

(See Loan & Trust Companies, 
Clearing House, etc.) 

Bankruptcy. — The office of Alex- 
ander McCune, U. S. Referee in 
Bankruptcy, is in the Post Office 
or Federal Building, corner Third 
St. and Marquette Av. 

Baptist Churches. — The history 
of the Baptist denomination in 
Minneapolis dates from 1850, when 
what is now the Olivet Baptist 
Church was organized. It is now 
one of the strongest denomina- 
tions, having eighteen churches 
and several flourishing missions. 
Following is a list of the houses 
of worship: 

Bethany Mission. — 30th Av. . N. 
and Russell Av. 

Bethesda (Colored). — 8th St. bet. 
11th and 12th Avs. S. 

Bethel (Swedish). — 28th Av. S. 
and 24th St. 

Calvary.— Cor. Blaisdell Av. and 
W. 26th St. 

Central. — Cor. 4th Av. S. and 
Grant St. 

Central Av. Mission. — Cen- 
tral Av. and 4th St. 

Clark Chapel. — 14th Av. N. and 

Ebenezer Mission (Norwegian- 
Dan.)— 38th St. and 21st Av. S. 

Elim (Swedish). — Cor. 13th Av. 
N. E. and Madison St. 

First. — Cor. 10th St. and Har- 
mon Place. 

First German. — 20th Av. N. bet. 
Lyndale and Aldrich. 

First Norwegian and Danish. — 
Cor. 33d St. and 16th Av. S. 

First Swedish. — Cor. 13th Av. S. 
and 8th St. 

Fourth.- — Cor. 18th Av. N. and 
Dupont Av. 


Immanuel Mission (Swedish). 

— 42d St. and 41st Av. S. 

Judson Memorial. — Cor. 41st 
St. and S. Harriet Av. 

Lake Harriet. — 50th St. and S. 
Washburn Av. 

Memorial Mission. — 4th St. N. 
bet. 32d and 33d Aves. N. 

Olivet. — Cor. 13th Av. S. E. and 
4th St. 

Prospect Mission. — Como Av. and 
Grantham St. 

Tabernacle. — Cor. 23rd Av. S. 
and 8th St. 

Temple. — Cor. 31st St. and Co- 
lumbus Av. 

Trinity. — Cor. Lincoln and Bry- 
ant Aves. 

Windom Park. — 25 th Av. N. E. 
and Pierce St 

Woodland Homes Chapel.- Az- 
ela Av. and 36th Av. N. 

Zion (Colored). — 7th Av. N. bet. 
Hoag & Bradford. 

The missionary organizations of 
the Baptists have their office head- 
quarters at 405-7 Evanston Bldg. 

Bar Association, The Minneap- 
olis, was incorporated in 1883, 
with a capital stock of $30,000. It 
maintains a law library at the 
court house. 

Barnes Place. — A tract of one 
and one-third acres at the inter- 
section of James Av. N. and 
Thomas PI. in Oak Park. (See 
Park System.) 

Barracks. (See Fort Snelling.) 

Base Ball. — The grounds of the 
Minneapolis base ball clubs are at 
the corner of Nicollet Av. and 
31st St. and are reached by the 
Nicollet & Central; the Washburn 
Pk. & Columbia Heights, and the 
Selby-Lake car lines. 

Baths. — Facilities for bathing 
may be found in connection with 
the larger barber shops, the more 
pretentious adding Turkish, and 
all the list of special baths. Open 
water bathing may be had at Lake 
Calhoun, where a magnificent mod- 
ern bathhouse was erected in 1912, 
at Camden Park, where there is a 
modern bath house, and at Hall's 
Island in the Mississippi River at 


the Plymouth Av. bridge, where 
dressing rooms and other con- 
veniences are provided. At Lake 
Minnetonka there are numerous 
fine bathing places. 

The first municipal bath house 
in the city was opened in 1913 at 
Riverside and 22d Aves. S. The 
building is modern in design and 
equipment contains a swimming 
tank 26x44 feet in size, 22 showers 
and facilities for caring for 100 
visitors at one time. A laundry 
is a feature. The building is open 
all the year and is free to the pub- 

Bazaars. (See Department 

Benevolent Societies and Insti- 
tutions. — Connected with nearly 
every church in the city there are 
one or more societies of a benevo- 
lent nature. These are usually 
limited in scope to the poor of the 
church or have as an object the col- 
lection of funds for educational or 
missionary work. Some, however, 
have established charitable insti- 
tutions in the city. The total 
benevolences of the city, if a com-: 
pilation were possible, would show 
an enormous aggregate. The peo- 
ple of Minneapolis have a reputa- 
tion for especial liberality. The 
following are some of the princi- 
pal benevolent institutions, in the 

Augustana Mission Cottage. — 
1405 10th Av. S. A home for wom- 
en and children. 

Associated Charities. — Office in 
Old Chamber of Com. Bldg. 

Catholic Orphan Asylum. — Cor. 
Chicago Av. and 47th St. 

Children's Home Finding Soc. — 
St. Anthony Park. 

Florence Crittenton H o m e. — 
4315 N. Penn Av.' 

Home for the Aged (Little Sis- 
ters of the Poor). — 215 Broadway 
N. E. 

Home for Children and Aged 
Women. — 3200 Stevens Av. 

Humane Society. — Office in Court 
House and City Hall. 

Jewish Associated Charities. — - 
14 N. 4th St. 


shore Cedar Lake. For aged 

Juvenile Court Detention 
Home. — Glen Lake. 

ijUtheran Hospice for Young 
Women.— 828 S. 6th St. 

Lyngblomston. — 1298 Pascal 
Av„ St. Paul. Home for the aged 
supported by both cities. 

Minnesota Soldiers Home. — 
Minnehaha Park. 

Salvation Army. — Headquarters, 
Boston Block. 

Salvation Army Industrial 
Home. — 51 Merriam St., Nicollet 

Sheltering Arms. — River Road, 
West, and 43d St. 

Swedish Tabernacle Young 
Women's Home. — 617 8th Av. S. 

Transient Home for Girls. — 
1714 Stevens Av. 

Volunteers of America. — Head- 
quarters, 9 N. 2nd St. 

Visiting Nurse Association. — 
Offices, Old Chamber of Com. Bldg. 

Wasiiburn Home. — Cor. Nicollet 
A.v. and 49th St. An orphan asylum 
endowed by the late Gov. C. C. 
Washburn of Wisconsin. 

(See Hospitals., Associated Char- 
ieties, Religious Societies, Settle- 
ment Houses, etc.) 

Bicycling-. — Broad, hard streets, 
grood pavements in the business 
center, together with the absence 
of great elevations and steep gra- 
dients, make Minneapolis the ideal 
place for the bicyclist. 

Bill Posting. — Show-bills as a 
medium for advertising are used 
principally by the theatres and 
traveling theatrical companies, but 
find favor with certain local adver- 
tisers who occasionally patronize 
the numerous bill boards. 

Bloomington. — The township 
south of Richfield and second 
south of the city. It lies along the 
Minnesota river in the southeast- 
ern part of Hennepin county. It 
is a fine farming community. 

Boarding Homes. — For women, 
where safety and comfort with 
wholesome meals may be had at a 


moderate price. (See Woman's 
Christian Association.) 

Boarding Houses. — An excess of 
the masculine element of the popu- 
lation is characteristic of the 
West. Minneapolis is not an ex- 
ception to the general rule and her 
army of homeless young men ac- 
counts for countless boarding 
houses. The boarding houses 
range from the cheap barracks 
where the laborer lodges to the 
elegant family hotel where luxu- 
ries are provided at high prices. 
The majority of the boarding 
houses are within the region 
bounded by 1st Av. N., 13th St., 
6th Av. S. and the river. Many 
people prefer to rent a room or 
rooms and take their meals else- 
where, either at boarding houses, 
hotels or restaurants. Rooms may 
be obtained at from $5 per month 
up, according to location and fur- 
nishing. Comfortable rooms with- 
in a mile of the business center 
range from $10 to $15 per month. 

The Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation, 44 So. Tenth St. main- 
tains a free information bureau 
regarding rooming and boarding 

Board of Education. (See City 
Officials and Public Schools.) 

Boating. — Scores of lakes within 
easy reach afford unexcelled fa- 
cilities for boating. Within the 
city limits are five or six delight- 
ful lakes, controlled by the board 
of park commissioners and sup- 
plied with an abundance of light 
and safe row-boats. Lakes Cal- 
houn and Harriet are accessible 
by the Como-Harriet electric car 
line and each have large fleets of 
boats. Each of these lakes is 
about a mile long and they are 
about four miles from the post 
office, the ride occupying about 
thirty minutes. Cedar Lake on the 
western border of the city may be 
reached by the Kenwood electric 
car line. 


Hundreds of private craft — 
launches, row-boats, canoes and 
sail boats are kept on these lakes 
and commodious launches are op- 
erated during each summer on 
Lake Harriet and on a route mak- 
ing - the round-trip of Calhoun, 
Cedar Lake, Brownie Lake and 
Lake of the Isles, which are con- 
nected by navigable channels. 
These launches may be taken at 
many landings. 

At every point on Lake Min- 
netonka reached by the rail- 
roads boats are kept to let. (See 
Minnetonka.) The prevailing 

charge there as at the city lakes 
is 25c per hour with a reduction 
when boats are wanted for sev- 
eral hours or a day. There are 
many other beautiful lakes in the 
vicinity of the city where boats 
are kept, but none so easily 
reached as those already men- 
tioned, private conveyance being 
ordinarily required. The Missis- 
sippi River, though having a 
course of some eight miles 
through the city, is not adapted 
to boating. Below the falls the 
rapids are dangerous, and above 
the channel is obstructed by booms 
and floating logs. (See Sailing.) 

Bonds. (See Finances.) 

Books of Reference. — The "Dic- 
tionary of Minneapolis" is the only 
annual publication giving full in- 
formation regarding Minneapolis 
up-to-date. "A Half Century of 
Minneapolis," a large historical 
work, published in 1908, is the 
complete story of the city to that 
time. It is a book of 570 pages, ex- 
tensively illustrated and contains 
a very complete index. The Min- 
neapolis City Directory, published 
by the Minneapolis Directory 
Company, is published each year 
in July and includes the names, 
addresses and occupations of the 
residents of the city, as well as 
a business directory and the 
usual classifications found in such 
works. Strangers can find the 

directory in all first-class drug 
stores and on the desks of all the 
hotel offices. A "Blue Book" for 
Minneapolis and St. Paul is pub- 
lished every odd numbered year in 
January by R. L. Polk & Co. It 
contains, not an exclusive list of 
"blue bloods," but a street and 
number and alphabetical classi- 
fication of the names of people 
who have homes in the city. The 
printed and bound reports of the 
city officers and boards are ordi- 
narily to be found at the city hall 
and public library. Their utility 
is obvious to the student of public 
affairs. Another set of valuable 
statistical reports are those issued 
each year by the secretary of the 
chamber of commerce. Nearly all 
the above works may be consulted 
at the public library. 

Book Stores. — Extensive book 
departments are maintained by 
the large department stores; oth- 
erwise the book business is large- 
ly specialized. Nathaniel McCar- 
thy carries a general line at 1015 
Nicollet Av. E. D. Brooks, 89 S. 
10th St., makes a specialty of 
choice bindings, rare editions, spe- 
cial importations and valuable old 
books. Leading old book stores 
are the Minneapolis Book Ex- 
change, 626 Hennepin Av. and the 
Lyceum Book Store, 711 ^ Henne- 
pin Av. The Northwestern School 
Supply Co., 1401 University Av. 
S. E., makes a specialty of school 
books and kindergarten supplies; 
and the Minnesota Co-Operative 
Co., 1401 University Av. S. E., of 
textbooks. (See Stationers axd 

Booms. — The log booms occupy 
a considerable portion of the river 
opposite and above the city. Long 
strings of logs, fastened securely 
end to end, and anchored to piers 
in the river, or made fast to the 
shore, serve to prevent the float- 
ing logs of the drive from being 
carried past the city in confusion. 
When the logs arrive at the booms 


** ; 





they are sorted out and turned 
into the divisions belonging to the 
various mills. For perhaps thirty 
miles above there are shore booms 
which are used for storing logs 
until needed to keep up the supply 
below. (See Lumber and Saw 
Mills. ) 

Boston Block. — The seven story 
white stone office building at the 
corner of 3rd St. and Hennepin Av. 

Boulevards. (See Parks and 
Parkways, Streets and Avenues, 
and the several boulevards and 
parkways by name.) 

Branch Libraries. (See Public 

Branch Post Offices. (See 
Post Office.) 

Brewing. — One of the leading in- 
dustries of Minneapolis is the 
brewing of beer while distilleries 
of spirituous liquors are conspic- 
uous by their absence. Minneap- 
olis is a great natural market for 
grain and receives vast quantities 
of barley each year. The largest 
brewing plant in the city, and one 
of the largest in the country is 
that of the Minneapolis Brewing 
Co., cor. Marshall St. and 13th Av. 
N. E. This plant, covering five 
«cres of ground, and having a 
brewing capacity of 600,000 barrels 
annually, employs a force of 700 
men. (Western & 2nd St. electric 

Bridges. — There are 20 bridges 
spanning the Mississippi river (or 
its various channels) within the 
corporate limits of Minneapolis. 
Twelve of these are highway 
bridges and eight are used by rail- 

Bridge Square. — The lower end 
of Hennepin and Nicollet Avenues 
from their intersection, between 
1st and 2nd Sts., to the Mississippi 
river is called Bridge Square. It 
commands a view of both avenues. 
(See Civic Center.) 

Bryn Mawr. — The name of a 
residence section lying about half 

a mile west of Loring Park. Bryn 
Mawr electric car. 

Builders' Exchange. — An asso- 
ciation of contractors and builders; 
occupies its own building erected 
especially for the use of the 
Exchange and its members on 
2nd Av. S. between 6th and 7th 

This building was completed 
in 1918 and is regarded as the 
last word in modern office build- 
ing construction. It is twelve 
stories high. The exterior is of 
granite, terra cotta and brick and 
the interior is finished in marble 
and mahogany. ■ All the floors 
throughout are of terrazzo. The 
entrance lobby is especially beau- 
tiful, being finished in Italian 
marble and solid bronze. The 
ground floor is arranged for an 
extensive exhibit of building 
materials. On the second floor 
are the club rooms, general offices 
and estimating rooms of the 
Builders Exchange. On this floor 
can be found copies of plans of 
all important buildings being 
erected in the Northwest. The 
remainder of the building is 
leased to tenants engaged in 
building lines. 

Building Inspector. (See Build- 
ing Restrictions, and City Offi- 

Building Material. — Underneath 
her own streets and town lots lies 
some of the best of Minneapolis' 
building material. A ledge of fine 
blue limestone crops out along the 
Mississippi river cliffs and under- 
lies much of the city — at some 
places so near the surface as to 
make blasting necessary in the 
work of cellar excavations. This 
stone is universally used for foun- 
dations and frequently in the walls 
of churches, dwellings and busi- 
ness buildings. It is also largely 
used, crushed, in making concrete 
which is now extensively employed 
in building operations. Within the 
city limits are beds of clay, which 


yields a fine yellow brick. As Min- 
neapolis is the leading "sawmill 
city" in the world there is no lack 
of lumber. Handsome limestones 
are brought from Kasota and Man- 
kato, granite from St. Cloud, 
sandstone from Kettle river, and 
fine brown stones from the shores 
of Lake Superior; all these points 
being within easy shipping dis- 
tance. Pressed brick comes from 
nearby points, and builders hard- 
ware — such as is not manufac- 
tured in the city — from the east- 
ern and southern markets. (See 
Lumber and Saw Mills.) 

Building" Operations. — Amount- 
ed to $9,258,365. 

The permits for several years 
past were as follows: Total. 

1900 $4,490,023 

1901 6,766,303 

1902 7,087,053 

1903 7,732,799 

1904 7,820,040 

1905 10,364,240 

1906 11,120,047 

1907 11,721,150 

1908 11,873,940 

1909 15,313,185 

1910 16,771,735 

1911 16,839,865 

1912 16,677,060 

1913 15,338,655 

1914 15,214,525 

1915 18,770,530 

1916 •. . 22,905,890 

1917 9,258,365 

Building Restrictions. — The city 
of Minneapolis exercises a careful 
supervision over all buildings erect- 
ed within her limits. An elaborate 
building ordinance places the con- 
trol of the matter in the hands 
of a building inspector who has 
assistants especially qualified to 
examine carpenter work, mason 
work, iron work, reinforced con- 
crete work, elevator installations, 
plumbing and electric wiring. 
The ordinance specifies the re- 
quirements for many details of 
building. Before a building is 
erected or any material alterations 
or repairs are made, a permit must 
be obtained from the building in- 
spector at his office in the city hall. 

All freight and passenger eleva- 
tors are inspected by this depart- 
ment four times a year, and the j 
ordinance requires that all eleva- I 
tors be supplied with the most ' 
approved safety devices for the 
protection of the public. The 
plumbing and gas fitting ordinance 
is up to date and requires the 
best sanitary work obtainable. 

The electrical ordinance is in ac- 
cord with the rules of the Nation- 
al Underwriters' code but thor- 
oughly adapted to the existing 
local conditions, and is acknowl- 
edged to be the best electrical or- 
dinance in force in any city in the 
United States. 

Buildings, The Prominent. — The 
following list includes the more 
conspicuous or important build- 
ings of the city with their use and 
location. Those of special inter- 
est are described elsewhere under 
appropriate headings. 

Andeds Building. — Ten stories, 
offices; Cor. Nicollet Av. and 5th St. 

Armory. — National guard; Ken- 
wood Parkway near Lyndale. 

Art Institute. — Twenty-fourth 
St. bet. Stevens and 3rd Av. S. 

Auditorium. — Eleventh St. bet. 
Nicollet and Marquette Av. 

Auditorium Building. — Four 
stories, offices ; Nicollet Av. and 
11th St. 

Badger Building. — Five stories, 
37-41 S. 7th St. 

Boston Block. — Seven stories, 
offices; Cor. Hennepin Av. and 3d 

Builders' Exchange. — Twelve 
stories, 2d Av. S. bet. 6th and 7th 

Cathedral. — Hennepin Av. and 
16th St. 

Chamber of Commerce. — Ten 
stories; Cor. 4th Av. S. and 4th St. 

C. M. & St. P. Rt. Passenger 
Station. — Wash. Av. and 3d Av S. 

Chute Building. — Four stories, 
offices; East Hennepin Av. bet. 
Univ. and 4th St. 

Commercial Building. — Five 
stories, offices; Cor. 3rd St. and 1st 
Av. N. 

Corn Exchange. — Seven stories; 
offices; Cor. 4th Av. S. and 3rd St. 

Corporation Building. — 3 stories 
offices; 114-16 S. 4th St. 

Court House and City Hall. — 
Five stories. Occupies the block 
bounded by 3rd and 4th Aves. S. 
and 4th and 5th Sts. 

Dayton Building. — Six stories, 
department store; Cor. Nic. Av. 
and 7th St. 

Donaldson Building. — Ten 
stories, offices; Cor. Nicollet Av. 
and 7th St. 

Dyckman. — (Hotel) Eleven sto- 
ries. Sixth St. bet. Nicollet and 

Edison Building. — Eleven sto- 
ries; printing - , etc., 417 Henn. Av. 

Essex Building. — Five stories; 
stores and offices. Nicollet Av. 
and 10th St. 

Evanston Building. — Four sto- 
ries; stores and offices; Cor. 2nd 
Av. S. and 6th St. 

Farmers and Mechanics Bank. — 
115 S. 4th St. 

Federal Building (Old Post Of- 
fice). — Third St. and Marquette 

Film Exchange. — Eight stories ; 
offices; 16 and 18 N. 4th St. . 

First National-Soo Line Build- 
ing. — Twenty stories ; banking and 
offices, Marquette Av. and 5th St. 

Flour Exchange. — Eleven sto- 
ries; offices; Cor. 4th Av. S. and 
3rd St. 

Globe Building. — Eight stories, 
offices; 16 and 18 4th St. S. 

Great Northern Passenger 
Station. — Foot Hennepin Av. 

Handicraft Guild. — Three 
stories, offices and studios; 89 S. 
10th St. 

Jewelers Exchange. — Six 
stories ; stores and offices ; 7th St. 
and 1st Av. N. 

Journal Building. — Four sto- 
ries; publishing; 47-49 S. 4th St. 

Kasota Building. — Six stories, 
offices; Cor. Hennepin Av. and 4th 

La Salle Building. — Eight sto- 
ries ; stores and offices; 7th and 

Leamington. — Ten stories, hotel; 
3d Av. S. from 10th to 11th St. 

Lincoln Building. — Seven 
stories, offices; Cor. Nicollet Av. 
and 3rd St. 


Loan and Trust (Minnesota). — 
Seven stories, offices; 311-313 Nic- 
ollet Av. 

Loeb Arcade. — Four stories; 
stores and offices; Hennepin Av. 
and 5th St. 

Lumber Exchange. — Twelve sto- 
ries, offices; Cor. Hennepin Av. and 
5th St. 

McKnight Building. — Twelve 
stories, offices, 2d Av. S. and 5th 

Market Bank Building. — Four 
stories ; stores and offices ; 2nd Av. 
N. and 7th St. 

Masonic Temple. — Eight stories, 
offices; Cor. Hennepin Av. and 6th 

Medical Building. — Six stories, 
offices; Nicollet Av. bet. 6th and 
7th Sts. 

Metropolitan Bank Building. — 
Twelve stories ; offices : 6th St. and 
2nd Av. S. 

Metropolitan Music Building. — 
Five stories, stores and musical 
studios. 41-43 S. 6th St. 

Metropolitan Life Building 
(formerly Guaranty Bldg.). — 
Twelve stories, offices; Cor. 2nd 
Av. S. and 3rd St. 

Metropolitan Opera House. — 1st 
Av. S. bet. 3rd and 4th St. 

Meyers Arcade. — Three stories; 
stores and offices. Nicollet and 
10th St. 

Minneapolis Athletic Club. — 
Fourteen stories, 615-21 2nd Av. S. 

Minneapolis Club. — Cor. 8th 
St. and 2nd Av. S. 

New York Life Building. — 
Eleven stories, offices; Cor. 2nd 
Av. S. and 5th St. 

Nicollet House. — Five stories, 
Cor. Washington, Hennepin and 
Nicollet Aves. 

Northwestern Bank Building. 
— Six stories, offices ; Marquette Av. 
and 4th St. 

Northwestern Building. — Nine 
stories, offices; 322-324 Hennepin 

Northwestern Miller Building. 
—Publishing; 118 S. 6th St. 

Northwestern National Bank. 
— 407-413 Marquette Av. 

Oneida Building. — Six stories, 
offices ; Marquette Av. and 4th St 

Orpheum Theater. — 7th St. bet. 
Nicollet and Hennepin Aves. 


Palace Bdilding. — Eight stories, 
offices: Cor. Nic. Av. and 4th St. 

Phoenix Building. — Nine sto- 
ries, offices ; 4th St. and Marquette 

Physicians' & Surgeons' Build- 
ing Eight stories, offices; Nic- 
ollet Av. and 9th St. 

Pillsbury Building. — Eight sto- 
ries, offices; Cor. Nicollet Av. and 
6th St. 

Plymouth Building. — Twelve 
stories, offices; Hennepin Av. and 
6th St. 

Post Office (New). — One story; 
3rd Av. bet. Wash. Av. and 2nd St. 

Produce Exchange. — Eight 
stories ; stores and offices ; 1st Av. 
N. and 6th St. 

Public Library. — Three stories; 
Cor. Hennepin Av. and 10th St. 

Radisson Hotel. — Twelve sto- 
ries. Seventh St. near Nicollet 

Security Building. — Ten stories, 
offices; Cor. 4th St. and 2nd Av. S. 

Shubert Theater. — Seventh St. 
bet. Hen. Av. and 1st Av. N. 

Sykes Block. — Eight stories, of- 
fices; 254 and 256 Hennepin Av. 

Syndicate Block. — Six stories, 
stores and offices; Nicollet Av. bet. 
5th and 6th Sts. 

Temple Court. — Eight stories, 
offices; Cor. Washington and Hen- 

Transportation Building. — Eight 
stories, offices; 317-319 2nd Av. S. 
nepin Aves. 

Tribune Annex. — Five stories, 
offices ; Marquette Av. and 4th St. 

Tribune Building. — Five stories, 
publishing; 63 S. 4th St. 

University Building s. — (See 
University of Minnesota.) 

Vanderburgh Building. — F our 
stories, offices; Cor. 4th St. and 
Hennepin Av. 

West Hotel. — Eight stories; 
Cor. Hennepin Av. and 5th St. 

Wilmac Building. — Six stories, 
stores and offices; 717-21 Nicollet Ave. 

Y. M. C. A. — Five stories; 10th 
St. and Mary Place. 

Y. W. C. A. — Four stories; 87 S. 
7th St. 

(S-»e Churches, Schools, Univer- 
sity, etc.) 

Business Organizations. — (See 

Civic & Commerce Association, 
Chamber of Commerce, Produce 
Exchange. ) 

Business Schools. — There are 
eight business colleges or schools 
in the city. They have a large 
number of students In attendance. 

American Business College. — 
Cor. Lake St. and Nicollet Av. 

Collegiate Business Institute. — 
Meyers Arcade, Nicollet and 10th St. 

Gregg Shorthand School. — 923 
Nicollet Ave. 

Humboldt Business College. — 
734 E. Lake St. 

Minneapolis Business College. 
225 S. 5th St. 

Minnesota School of Business. 
--Cor. 7th St. and 1st Av. N. 

The Office School. — 840 Hen- 
nepin Av. 

Cab Pares. (See Hack Fares.) 

Camden Park. — At Washington, 
Lyndale and 44th Av. N. It con- 
tains 21 acres through which runs 
a stream which has been dammed 
to form a pretty lake. The J. D. 
Webber Field House, a memorial 
building presented by Mr. C. C. 
Webber, is the central feature of 
the park. 50th St. & Camden line. 
(See Park System.) 

Canal. — ^The name commonly 
used for designating the race 
which conducts the water of the 
Mississippi to the mills upon the 
west bank at the falls. . 

Carriages. (See Hack Fares and 

Cathedral. — The largest, most 
costly and most elaborate archi- 
tecturally among the church 
edifices of Minneapolis is the Pro- 
cathedral of St. Mary, Hennepin 
Av. and 16th St. The corner- 
stone was laid May 31, 1908, and 
the first service was held in the 
building just six years later May 
31, 1914. Although incomplete in 
interior finish the building had 
then cost $800,000. It is an im- 
posing structure of Vermont 
white granite, the main walls ris- 

ing 70 feet above the foundations, 
two towers at the front reaching 
a height of 116 feet and a dome 
at the rear surmounted by a cross 
the top of which is 200 feet above 
the main floor. The general 
ground dimensions are 274 by 145 

The nave, which is 82 feet wide, 
exceeds in width all the old 
world cathedrals. It is 140 feet 
long, lighted by large windows, 
each 25 by 15 feet. The sanctuary 
is 50 by 50 feet and above it rises 
the dome, lighted by two rose 
windows each 25 feet in diameter. 
At the ends of the wide nave are 
the two chapels of St. Peter and 
St. Paul. 

Entering the church through 
one of the five front doors, one 
passes through a vestibule 100 
feet in width. Over this vesti- 
bule is the choir loft, built to ac- 
commodate a large organ and 
choir. The seating room has been 
arranged for 2,500 persons. The 
main apse of the church at the 
rear is for the chapel of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary, the patron 
saint of the church. On either 
side are the chapel of St. Joseph 
and "The Founders" chapel. The 
architect was Emmanuel L. Mas- 

Rev. T. E. Cullen is rector of 
the Procathedral. 

Catholic Churches. — In 1849 the 
first Catholic church building in 
this city was commenced. A list 
of the present edifices of the de- 
nomination follows: 

Church or the Ascension. — Cor. 
Bryant and 18th Av. N. 

Church of the Holy Cross (Pol- 
ish).— Cor. 17th Av. N. E. and 4y 2 

Church of the Incarnation. — 
38th St. and Pleasant Av. 

Church of the Ruthenian 
Rite. — 24th Av. and 3rd St. N. E. 

Holy Cross (Polish). — 17th Av. 
N. E. and 4th St. 

Holy Rosary. — Cor. 18th Av. S. 
and 24th St. 


Immaculate Conception. 3rd 

St. and 3rd Av. N. 

Notre Dame de Lourdes. — Prince 
St., E. D., near Central Av. 

Our Lady of Mt. Carmel (Ital- 
ian). — Main St. and 7th Av. N. E. 

Our Lady of Perpetual Help. — 
Cor. 21st Av. S. and 5th St. 

Pro- Cathedral of St. Mary. — 
Hennepin Av. and 16th St. 

St. Bridget's. — Emerson and 28th 
Av. N. 

St. Elizabeth (German). — Cor. 
15th Av. S. and 8th St. 

St. Joseph's. — N. 4th St. bet. 
11th and 12th Aves. 

St. Anne's (French). — Lyndale 
and 11th Avs. N. 

St. Anthony of Padua. — Main 
St. bet. 8th and 9th Aves. N. E. 

St. Boniface (German). — Cor. 
7th Av. N. E. and 2nd St. 

St. Charles. — Cor. 4th St. and 
13 th Av. S. 

St. Clements. — Cor. Quincy St. 
and 25th Av. N. E. 

St. Cyril. — Cor. Main St. and 
16th Av. N. E. 

St. Hedwig's (Polish). — Grand 
St. and 29th Av. N. E. 

St. Helena.- 33rd Av. and 43rd 
•s 'IS 

St. Lawrence. — Cor. 12th Av. S. 
E. and 7th St. 

St. Philip (Polish).— 26th Vnd 
N. Bryant Av. 

St. Stephen's. — Cor. Clinton Av. 
and E. 22nd St. 

St. Thomas. — York and 44th St. 

Sacred Heart. (Robbinsdale.) 

Syrian Maronite. — Main St. and 
4th Av. N. E. 

Catholic Orphan Asylum. — At 
Chicago Av. and 48th St. The 
building is of brick, commodious 
and well adapted to the purpose. 

Cedar lake. — The most norther- 
ly of the four large lakes in the 
southwestern part of the city. It 
lies west of Kenwood and may be 
reached by the Kenwood & John- 
son electric cars or over Kenwood 
Boul. Cedar Lake is by many 
persons thought the prettiest of 
the four lakes. 

Cedar lake Boulevard — On the 
south and west shores of Cedar 

Lake, connecting Lake cf the Isles 
Parkway with Glenwood Park. 
(See Park System.) 

Cemeteries. — The following list 
comprises the cemeteries of the 

Crystal Lake. — Cor. Humboldt 
Av. and 38th Av. N.; office .at 

Hillside. — 19th Av. N. E. and 
N. P. Ry. ; office at cemetery. 

Lakewood. — Cor. 36th St. and 
Hennepin Av.; office at cemetery. 

Layman's. — Cor. Cedar Av. and 
Lake St. 

Montefiore (Hebrew). — Cor. 3rd 
Av. S. and 42nd St. 

St. Anthony. — Cor. Central and 
28th Av. N. E. 

St. Mary's. — Cor. Chicago Av. 
and 46th St. 

Central High School. — The new 

Central High School building, 34th 
St. and 4th Av., one of the most 
complete in the country was 
erected in 1913. This very mod- 
ern, fireproof building, designed 
by William B. Ittner, of St. Louis, 
to accommodate 1,600 pupils, cost 
$764,900, of which $521,712 was 
for construction and the re- 
mainder for equipment. Special 
features are the beautiful music 
room, especially adapted to the 
teaching of choral work, the au- 
ditorium which seats 1,800 per- 
sons, the gymnasium, the lunch 
room accommodating 800 persons, 
the greenhouse, the machine shops 
and the domestic science house- 
keeping suite. 

Chamber of Commerce. — From 
its organization in 1881, the Min- 
neapolis Chamber of Commerce 
has grown steadily. It now ranks 
with the leading commercial or- 
ganizations of the world. As the 
representative of the largest pri- 
mary wheat market in the world 
it holds a unique position among 
similar bodies. In 1884 the Cham- 
ber of Commerce completed a 
building at a cost of $180,000, and 
representing with the site a value 
of $240,000. In 1900 a larger 

building was found indispensable 
and the magnificent ten story 
structure finished in 1903 at a cost 
of over $600,000 was planned. It 
stands at the corner of 4th St. and 
4th Av. S., adjoining the old build- 
ing. Its ground dimensions are 
132x157 feet. With the exception 
of the large board room, 75 by 130 
feet in size, the entire building is 
planned for offices and is the home 
of the largest grain and flour busi- 
ness carried on at any one point in 
the world. 

In 1909 an annex, with ground 
dimensions of 66 by 54 feet, was 
completed at a cost of $200,000. 

The membership is unlimited. 
An enormous business is transact- 
ed annually on the floor of the 
Chamber of Commerce. From 9 :30 
to 1:15 o'clock each business day 
the Exchange room is crowded 
with busy commission merchants 
whose tables are covered with 
grain samples, millers watching 
the quotations as they are posted 
on huge blackboards as fast as 
received by telegraph, and brokers 
watching the market as they buy 
or sell (according as they have 
orders) for future delivery. A 
gallery is at all times open to vis- 
itors and introduction "on 'change" 
may be secured through members. 
C. A. Magnuson is president; C. 
M. Case, first vice president, and 
Wm. Dalrymple, second vice 
president. John G. McHugh, sec- 
retary of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, prepares annually reports 
of the grain and flour trade of 
the city. Acknowledgment is due 
him for the use of certain statis- 
tics of this nature which will be 
found under appropriate head- 
ings. (See Commerce, Grain 
Trade, Flour Milling, etc.) 

Charitable Organizations. — (See 
Benevolent Societies and Institu- 
tions, Hospitals and Dispensaries 
and Associated Charities.) 

Charities and Corrections. — The 
Board of Charities and Corrections 
is charged with the relief of the 

poor and the care and manage- 
ment of the city hospital, tubercu- 
lar hospital and the work house. 
The office of the board and of the 
superintendent of the poor is in 
the city hall, where applications 
for relief are considered. The city 
hospital is at 5th St. and 7th Av. 
S. Application for # admission 
should be made to the superin- 
tendent. (See City Officials, 
Workhouse and Associated Char- 
ities. ) 

Charter. — St. Anthony was In- 
corporated as a city March 3, 
1855; Minneapolis as a town, 
March 1, 1856, and as a city Feb. 
6, 1867. The two cities were con- 
solidated Feb. 28, 1872. The rapid 
growth of the city made amend- 
ments more than usually numer- 
ous, and in 1881 the legislature 
passed a new act consolidating all 
previous enactments into what 
was practically a new city charter, 
so little did it resemble the act 
of 1872. "Under a more recent act 
and constitutional amendment a 
charter was formulated on a 
"home rule" basis and submitted 
to the vote of the people in 1898, 
but failed to be adopted. Other 
charters were formulated and 
submitted at the elections of 1900, 
1904 and 1906, but in each case 
failed of adoption. A fifth charter 
was submitted at a special elec- 
tion held on Sept. 17, 1907, but 
was defeated, and in 1913 a char- 
ter providing for a "commission" 
form of government was decisive- 
ly rejected. (See Government.) 

Chimes. — A beautiful chime of 
bells hangs in the tower of the 
Church of the Redeemer (Univer- 
salist) at 2nd Av. S. and 8th St., 
and familiar tunes are played 
every Sunday before the morning 
and evening services. The belfry 
of the court house and city hall is 
equipped with an even finer chime 
of bells which is played on pub- 
lic holidays and special occasions 
by J. H. Auld. There are ten of 
these bells including the largest 

tenor bell in the world. It weighs 
7,000 pounds. 

Christian Science Churches. — 

Following is a list of the Christian 
Science Churches of Minneapolis: 

First Church of Christ. — 
Nicollet Av. and 24th St. 

Second Church of Christ. — Cor. 
2nd Av. S. and 11th St. 

Third Church of Christ. — Lake 
St. and Holmes Av. 

Fifth Church of Christ. — Cor. 
12 th Av. S. E. and University Av. 
Sixth Church of Christ. — Cor. 
Summit and S. Bryant Av. 

Each of these churches has a 
Franklin Av. The churches also 
unite in a downtown reading room 
at 1005 to 1010 Plymouth Bldg. 

Churches. — It is estimated that 
the seating capacity of Minneap- 
olis churches is so large that the 
entire adult population of the city 
could attend church every Sunday, 
provided one half was present at 
the morning service and the other 
half in the evening. There are 
nearly 200 church buildings, in- 
cluding missions and chapels. 
The strongest denominations 
numerically are the Baptist, Cath- 
olic, Congregational, Episcopal, 
Lutheran, Methodist and Presby- 
terian. There are comparatively 
few organized churches which are 
not self-supporting, and a con- 
siderable number rank among the 
wealthiest and most liberally be* 
nevolent of their denominations in 
the United States. Morning serv- 
ices in most churches commence 
at 10:30, and evening services at 
7:45 in summer and 7:30 in win- 
ter. In the larger churches the 
pews are nearly always rented, 
but strangers are made welcome 
and accommodated with sittings. 
The more prominent churches are 
described elsewhere under their 
own names. A list of churches 
of each denomination will be 
found under the appropriate head- 
ing except where the number is 
small, in which case they are 
classed under Churches, Miscel- 


laneous. These lists include near- 
ly 200 names of churches and rep- 
resent a membership of about 75,- 

Churches, Miscellaneous. — The 

following list comprises the 
churches of such denominations 
as have only a few organizations 
in the city: 

First Advent Christian. — Fre- 
mont and 24th Av. N. 

First Society of Friends. — Cor. 
1st Av. S. and 14th St. 

Peoples. — Unique Theater. 

Russian Orthodox Catholic. — 
Cor. 17th Av. N. E. and 5th St. 

St. James African Methodist. — 
315 8th Av. S. 

St. Peters African Methodist. 
—912-914 E. 22nd St. 

Seventh Day Adventist. — Cor. 
4th Av. S. and Lake St. 

Seventh Day Adventist (Scan- 
dinavian). — 2214 S. 6th St. 

Swedenborgian. — E. Franklin & 
Bloomington Avs. 

Swedish Free Mission. — Cor. 
16th Av. S. and 8th St. 

Swedish Temple. — Cor. 10th Av. 
S. and 7th St. 

United Brethren. — 638 Fillmore 
St. N. E. 

Church Music. — In the leading 
churches of the city the music is 
furnished or led by paid choirs 
usually consisting of a solo-quartet 
and chorus of mixed voices. Such 
may be heard at Westminster 
Presbyterian, 12th and Nicollet; 
St. Mark's Episcopal, Hennepin 
and Oak Grove; Plymouth Congre- 
gational, Nicollet and Groveland; 
Hennepin Methodist, Lyndale and 
Groveland, and Gethsemane Epis- 
copal, 9th St. and 4th Av. S. St. 
Paul's Episcopal, Bryant and 
Franklin, has a fine choir of men 
and boys. Church of the Redeem- 
er, 8th St. and 2nd Av. S., has a 
fine quartet. Monthly musical 
services are given by most of 
these choirs; and elaborate pro- 
grams are sung at the Christmas 
season and on Easter Sunday. The 
finest organs are in Plymouth, 
Gethsemane, and Hennepin Meth- 

Church of the Redeemer. — One 
of the most prominent churches in 
Minneapolis and the Northwest is 
the First Universal ist, or as it is 
better known, the Church of the 
Redeemer. Its building stands at 
the corner of 2nd Av. S. and 8th 
St. The First Universalist society 
was organized in 1859 and in 1866, 
completed a church building at 4th 
Av. S. and 5th St. Ten years later 
a church was dedicated on the 
present site and given its present 
name. It cost about $90,000. In 
January, 1888, this building was 
burned. The present structure 
was dedicated on November 24, 
1889. In 1903, an extension was 
buiU on the 2nd Av. side which 
added three rooms, one for the 
women, another for the young 
people, and a printing office for 
the boys. It is built of blue lime- 
stone in gothic style. The general 
effect of the interior is of subdued 
colors, softened by mellow light 
from the stained windows. The 
woodwork is all of black walnut 
and the timber work of the roof 
is left exposed, dividing the ceil- 
ing into panels and producing an 
imposing effect. There are gal- 
leries at the front and the rear, 
but none on the side of the church 
where two exceedingly beautiful 
transept windows are the chief or- 
naments. The various panels of 
these windows are memorials 
placed there by members of the 
church and are claimed to be as 
fine as anything of the kind in the 
country. The church is fitted with 
a three-manual organ costing $11,- 
000 and a tuneful chime of bells 
which is played before each serv- 
ice on Sunday. The membership 
includes an exceptionally large 
proportion of wealthy and promi- 
nent citizens of Minneapolis. Rev. 
M. D. Shutter, D. D.. is pastor. 

Citizens' Club. — An institution 
for civic betterment founded 
through the gift of building and 
equipment by George H. Christian 




, M id - :. 

... 1 : ' 1-3 ' 




Second Avenue South between Conklin-Zonne-Loomis Co L__ 

6th and 7th Streets 520 First National-Soo Line Bldi. 

and located at 2010 Minnehaha 
Av. in the midst of a working 
. men's district. The club has over 
400 members who pay their 
yearly dues of $3.00 and manage 
the affairs of the club them- 
selves, it being distinctly under- 
stood that the institution is not 
a philanthropic one. Ample 
club equipment is provided — an 
auditorium, reading and writing 
rooms, billiard and card rooms, 
bowling alleys, baths, kitchen, 

City Hall. — (See Court House 
and City Hall.) 

City Library. (See Public Li- 

City Missions. — Mission rooms 
for the holding of "Gospel Serv- 
ices" are maintained by several 
churches along Washington Av. 
and in churchless localities else- 
where in the city. The audiences 
are generally rough and illiterate 
but attentive to the services. (See 
Union City Mission.) 

City Officials. — A roster of the 
city officials for the years 1917 and 
1918 follows: 

Mayor, Thos. "Van Lear, con- 
troller, Dan C. Brown ; treasurer, 
C. A. Bloomquist ; clerk, Henry N. 
Knott ; attorney, C. D. Gould ; su- 
perintendent of police, Lewis Hart- 
hill ; chief of fire department, C. W. 
Ringer ; engineer, F. W. Cappelen ; 
assessor, G. L. Fort ; commissioner 
health, Dr. H. M. Guilford; city 
physician, Dr. Herbert O. Collins; 
superintendent of poor, R. Tat- 
tersfield; building inspector, Jas. 
G. Houghton; inspector of meats 
and provisions, C. A. Tillbury; 
registrar of water works depart- 
ment, W. R. Young; inspector of 
gas, A. D. Meeds; purchasing 
agent, K. E. Alexander. 

Municipal Judges. C. L. Smith, 
W. W. Bardwell, E. A. Montgom- 

City Council. — President, A. P. 
Ortquist ; aldermen : 1st ward, John 
Ryan, Louis N. Ritten ; 2d ward, 
Josiah H. Chase, J. F. Wallace ; 3d 
ward, Claus Mumm, Michael Mea- 
gher ; 4th ward, Wm. A. Currie, J. 
M. Kistler ; 5th ward, Harry H. 


Downes, J. G. Robb ; 6th ward, Al- 
bert Bastis, John Peterson ; 7th 
ward, John Walquist, T. O. Dahl ; 
8 th ward, Frank Hey wood, W. H. 
Rendell ; 9th ward, Martin C. En- 
gen, A. E. Voelker; 10th ward, P. 

B. Getchell, Alonzo D. Hoar ; 11th 
ward, A. P. Ortquist, J. D. Wil- 
liams ; 12th ward, Charles F. 
Dight, Theo. E. Jenson ; 13th ward, 
John T. Kean, Geo. H. Rentz. 

Park Commissioners. — President, 
F. A. Gross ; secretary, J. A. Ridg- 
way; treasurer, C. A. Bloomquist, 
ex-officio ; attorney, Jas. D. Shear- 
er ; superintendent, Theodore Wirth ; 

C. A. Bossen, assistant superinten- 
dent ; A. A. McRae, Joseph Allen, 
Phelps Wyman, F. A. Gross, W. A. 
Anderson, B. L. Kingsley, B. J. 
Phelps, David P. Jones, W. H. Bo- 
vey, P. C. Deming, Robert Fischer, 
Leo. B. Harris. 

Ex-officio members, Thos. Van 
Lear, mayor, John T. Kean, chair- 
man council committee on roads 
and bridges, Claus Mumm, chair- 
man council committee on public 
grounds and buildings. 

Office of board in the city hall. 

Board of Education.— President, 
H. N. Leighton ; secretary Lynn 
Thompson ; treasurer, C. A. Bloom- 
quist ; asst. sec'y, Katherine Bra- 
zee ; business supt., G. F. Womrath. 

Supt of Schools, B. B. Jackson ; 
members, Horace N. Leighton, 
Henry Deutsch, A. G. Bainbridge, 

A. F. Benson, Lynn Thompson, 
Carolyn B. Kinney, Mae Snow. 

Office of the board and superin- 
tendent of schools at the city hall. 
Library Directors.— President, T. 

B. Walker. Members, Edward C. 
Gale, D. Draper Dayton, Norton 
Cross, Burt Lum, H. E. Pence, T. 
B. Walker. Ex-officio, Thos. Van 
Lear, mayor ; H. N. Leighton, pres- 
ident of the board of education ; 
Marion L. Burton, president of Uni- 
versity of Minnesota. 

Board of Charities and Correc- 
tions. — President, Thos. Van Lear; 
secretary, Richard Tattersfield ; 
members, Dr. Arthur E. Benjamin, 
Andrew M. Hunter, Peter W. Saw- 
ber, John F. Danek, and Mayor 
Thos. Van Lear, ex-officio. 

( See Government, Public Schools, 

Civic and Commerce Association. 
— To this organization has been 
delegated attention to the civic 


and commercial activities which 
involve the 'better developmnt 
and general welfare of the city 
of Minneapolis. It is one of the 
leading- organizations of its kind 
in the United States in point of 
membership, revenue and effi- 
ciency. Its membership numbers 
practically 3,500 men, divided in- 
to four classes — Individual, Cor- 
porate or Copartnership, Sustain- 
ing and Honorary. Dues are 
graded up from $10, individual, to 
$5,000 a year, sustaining. Due 
to its low minimum membership 
fee, the complexion of the Asso- 
ciation is exceptionally demo- 
cratic and the principle of de- 
mocracy obtains in all its delib- 
erations and activities. 

The Association conducts an ac- 
tive Convention and Publicity. 
Bureau which for five years has 
secured more than 100 conven- 
tions annually for Minneapolis, 
and it has advertised the city, its 
points of attraction and oppor- 
tunities extensively throughout 
the country. Its Bureau of Mun- 
icipal Research, which has been 
in operation for about three 
years, promoting efficiency and 
economy in the conduct of the 
business of the municipality, has 
effected a tremendous saving in 
city expenditures and in addition 
has installed important efficiency 
measures. Through other com- 
mittees and bureaus it has stim- 
ulated business in all lines and 
has given special attention to 
problems of health, hygiene, mor- 
al and social welfare. 

The Association is equipped to 
supply any information regard- 
ing business or other conditions 
in Minneapolis. 

During the war the facilities 
of the association have been very 
largely devoted to the promotion 
of war work, assistance in war 
loan and Red Cross campaigns, 
etc., and through its excellent 
organization the association has 
been and is rendering invaluable 
services to the city and the 

Its present officers are Cavour 
S. Langdon. president; John S. 
Pillsbury, senior vice president; 
H. M. Gardner (Division of War 

Work), vice president; Henry 
Doerr (Industrial Division), vice 
president; E. J. Fairfield (Civic . 
Division), vice president; Joseph 
Chapman, treasurer; Howard 
Strong, secretary. 

General offices, 1254 McKnight 

Civic Commission. — The agita- 
tion of the subject of "civic cen- 
ters" and the general improvement 
and beautification of cities awak- 
ened some of the people of Minne- 
apolis to the importance of tak- 
ing immediate steps towards the 
development of this city. 

Early in 1910 this movement re- 
ceived a new impetus through the 
appointment of a civic commis- 
sion to consider and advise on 
the whole subject of city plan- 
ning. It is an unofficial body 
and consists of F. W. Clif- 
ford, E. L. Carpenter, E. C. Gale, 
secretary, and R. M. Bennett, John 
Wahlquist, L. S. Gillette, H. F. 

A preliminary report making 
suggestions for a general civic 
plan was completed within the 
year and a final report in book 
form is now in process of publica- 

Clearing House. — The office of 

the Minneapolis Clearing House 
association is in the First Nation- 
al-Soo Line Bldg. at Marquette 
Ave. and 5th St.. Its functions 
are, as is ordinarily the case, 
simply the daily adjustment of 
the accounts between the vari- 
ous city banks, but its reports are 
an incontestable indication of the 
volume of business. Following 
are the clearings for 1885, 1890, 
1895, and the years since: 

1885 $125,477,478 

1890 303,913,022 

1895 372,895,344 

1896 392,965,673 

1897 414,597,614 

1898 460,222,572 

1899 539,705,249 

1900 579.994,076 

1901 626,020,457 

1902 720,752,331 

1903 741,049,348 

1904 843,230.773 

1905 913,579,558 

1906 990,890,203 

1907 1,145,462,149 

1908 1,057,468,860 

1909 1,029,914,000 

1910 1,155,659,664 

1911 1,068,090,893 

1912 1,182,232,466 

1913 1,312,412,256 

1914 1,374,267,910 

1915 1,341,545,483 

1916 1,469,874,329 

1917 1,662,078,303 

In total volume of clearings 
Minneapolis outranks a number of 
places of much larger population, 
such as Buffalo, Milwaukee and 
Cleveland. (See Banks.) 

Climate. — The city and state en- 
joy a generally dry atmosphere in 
the winters, which are usually uni- 
formly cold with light snow fall. 
In spring, summer and fall there 
are usually copious rains, but 
nothing approximating the wet 
seasons of the Pacific coast. The 
average temperature of the winter 
months is 44.60 degrees; of the 
summer 70.50 degrees. Snow cov- 
ers the ground continuously dur- 
ing three winters out of four, dis- 
appearing early in March; and in 
this month farmers usually sow 
their wheat. Spring is about as 
forward as in central New York. 
The autumns are long and delight- 
ful, it frequently happening that 
there is no snow or settled cold 
weather till the middle of Decem- 
ber. As a whole the climate is un- 
deniably salubrious and healthful 
and especially beneficial to those 
afflicted with diseases of the lungs. 
Clubs. — The Minneapolis and 
the Athletic clubs are the lead- 
ing men's clubs of the city. 
(See under respective headings.) 
Of women's clubs there are sev- 
eral hundred in the city. (See 
Women's Organizations.) In the 
various professions and lines 
of business, sports, society, etc., 
there are clubs without num- 
ber. To enumerate them all is 
quite beyond the capacity of this 


work, but the leading organiza- 
tions are mentioned below. Most 
of them are referred to at more 
length under their respective 

Apollo Club. — Lyric Theater 

Architectural Club. — 3rd Fl. 
Meyers Arcade, 920 Nicollet. 

Attic Club.— 115 S. 4 th St. 

Automobile Club. — Office Rad- 
isson Hotel. 

Calhoun Commercial Club. — 
711, 713 and 715 West Lake St. 

Citizens Club. — 2010 Minnehaha 

East Lake St. Commercial 
Club. — 1417 E. Lake St. 

Elks Club. — Elks Bldg., Cor. 
7th St. and 2d Av. S. 

Engineers Club of Minneapolis. 

17 S. 6th St. 

Hennepin County Medical So- 
ciety. — 1114 Donaldson Bldg. 

Interlachen Country Club. — 
Three miles west of Lake Harriet. 

Knights of Columbus. — 8th St. 
and 5th Av. So. Mens. 

Lafayette Club. — Lake Minne- 
tonka. Social. 

Lake Harriet Commercial 
Club. — 43rd St., between Upton 
and Park Boul. 

Long Meadow Gun Club. — Long 
Meadow on Minnesota river. Meets 
207 Phoenix Bldg. 

Minikahda Club. — West shore 
Lake Calhoun. Social and ath- 

Minneapolis Athletic Club. — 
2nd Av. S. bet. 6th & 7th Sts. 

Minneapolis Club. — 2d Av. S. 
and 8th St. Men's. Social. 

Minneapolis Chess and Check- 
er Club. — 316 Kasota Bldg. 

Minneapolis Gun Club. — Inter- 
City Shooting Park; Como and 27th 
Aves. S. E. 

Minneapolis Tennis Club. — 
Laurel and Elm. 

Minnetonka Yacht Club. — Lake 

New Boston Commercial Club. 
— Central and 24th Av. N. E. 

North Side Commercial Club. — 
242 20th Av. N. 

Odin Club. — Evanston Bldg., 6th 

COA-COM \ 2 

St. and 2nd Av. S. Scandinavian. 

Philharmonic Club. — Musical. 

Rotary Club. — 365 Andrus Bldg. 

St. Anthony Commercial Club. 
— Chute Blk., East Hennepin Av. 
bet. University and 4th St. S. E. 

Schoolmasters Club. D. H. 

Painter, Seward School. 

South Side Commercial Club. 
221 Cedar Av. 

Teachers' Club. — Offices Y. W. 
C. A. Bldg. 

Thursday Musical. — 806 Nicol- 
let Av. Ladies' Musical. 

Traffic Club. — 12th floor, Met. 
Life Bldg. 

University Club. — Occupies quar- 
ters of Athletic Club. 

West Side Commercial Club. — 
Lake St. and Nicollet Av. 

Woman's Club — 1526 Harmon PI. 

Young Men's Temperance Club. 
—19th Av. N. E. and Polk St. 

(See Women's Organizations ana 
Musical Societies.) 

Coal. (See Fuel.) 

Colleges. — In addition to the va- 
rious colleges of the University of 
Minnesota (which see), there are 
several educational institutions in 
the vicinity of Minneapolis which 
are doing college work. All are 
denominational in management. 
The leading institutions of this 
order are: 

Augsburg Seminary. — 21st Av. 
S. and 7th St. 

Carleton College. — Situated at 
Northfield. about 40 miles from 
Minneapolis. Congregational. 

Hamline University. — At Ham- 
line, midway bet. the two cities. 

Macalester College. — At Mac- 
alester, a suburb bet. Minneapolis 
and St. Paul. Presbyterian. 

(See Private Schools.) 

Columbia Heights. — A manufac- 
turing and residence suburb lying 
immediately north of the city 
limits on the East Side and ad- 
joining Columbia Park. 54th St. 
& Col. Hts. line. 

Columbia Park. — The largest 
park on the east side. In the 
vicinity of Central Ave. and 31st 

Ave. N. E., contains 185 acres and 
will be connected by parkways 
with the other large parks of the 
city. 54th St. and Columbia ' 
Heights Line. (See Park Sys- 

Commerce. — With the rapid de- 
velopment of her tributary coun- 
try, the commerce of Minneapolis 
has made remarkable advances 
The city is the natural market for 
the products of three states; shf 
has abundant facilities for manu* 
facturing; she is the natural dis- 
tributing center for an enormous 
area. Given these conditions and 
a due amount of business enter- 
prise and energy and the present 
extent' of her commerce was the 
natural result. Nine great railroad 
systems center here. (See Rail- 
roads.) The Mississippi river 
will shortly be open for steam- 
boats to the Gulf. During eight 
months of the year the great 
lakes are an important factor in 
the commerce of the city. The low 
rates of this water line serve to 
prevent excessive charges on all 
rail routes from the east The 
building of the Minneapolis, St. 
Paul & Sault Ste. Marie railroad 
was another safe-guard against 
combinations of an unfavorable 
character. This route, locally 
known as the "Soo," forms, in con- 
nection with the Canadian Pacific, 
a short line to tide water at Mon- 
treal and a direct route to Port- 
land and Boston. Its efficiency as 
a safety valve in railroad prob- 
lems, always complicated by the 
jealous influence of Chicago, is ob- 
vious. The principal articles re- 
ceived in Minneapolis are wheat 
and other grains, general merchan- 
dise, coal, building stone and ma- 
chinery; the larger items of ship- 
ment are flour, lumber, machinery 
and general merchandise. The ag- 
gregate amount of receipts and 
shipments last year of the leading 
articles of commerce will serve to 
convey an idea of the magnitude 

of the commercial transactions of 



Received. Shipped. 

Agr. implements & 

vehicles 5,382 5,958 

Automobiles and 

Trucks '. 6,795 9,152 

Brick, building- tile . 2,844 848 

Cement, lime, plas- 
ter 4,375 1,083 

Coal & coke 45,321 1,105 

Fruit, green 7,255 1,664 

Grain 141,318 73,730 

Flour 3,615 53,928 

•Millstuffs 2,717 28,580 

Hay & straw 3,305 424 

Iron & steel, struc- 
tural 1,111 1,343 

Linseed meal & 

cake 20 4,179 

Linseed oil 7 2,631 

Lumber & forest 

products 13,839 6,721 

Machinery 1,407 1,251 

Merchandise (L. C. 

L.) 47,724 92,891 

Miscellaneous 33,805 14,977 

Petroleum & prod- 
ucts 5,031 1,084 

Potatoes 3,194 2,198 

Sash, doors & blinds 414 865 

Stone, granite & 

marble 943 1,287 

Vegetables 1,346 644 

Total cars 342,601 311,489 

(See Grain Trade, Jobbing Trade, 


Commission Merchants. — The 

produce commission merchants are 
mostly in the vicinity of 6th St. 
and 2nd Av. N. Grain commission 
men are nearly all to be found in 
the Chamber of Commerce Bldg. or 
the Corn or Flour Exchanges, op- 

Comptroller. (See Government 
and Finances.) 

Concerts. — In the development 
of musical taste Minneapolis has 
made quite as rapid progress as 
in more material matters. Dur- 
ing the autumn, winter and spring 
concerts are given by the Minne- 
apolis Symphony orchestra. The 
faculty and pupils of the conserv- 
atories of music give numerous 
recitals. The Thursday Musical 
is most efficient in promoting con- 


certs of the highest class and 
the work of the Apollo club, 
Philharmonic club, and other 
choral and instrumental organiza- 
tions has added much to the sum 
of musical enjoyment each sea- 
son. Piano and vocal concerts by 
other local musicians are an- 
nounced from time to lime. (See 
Musical Societies, Philharmonic 
Club, Minneapolis Symphony 
Orchestra, etc.) 

Conduits. (See Electric Con- 

Congregational Churches. — Dur- 
ing its half century of existence 
in Minneapolis, Congregationalism 
has obtained a strong foothold. It 
is now one of the largest and 
strongest of the Protestant denom- 
inations. The following include 
both churches and missions: 

Bethany. — Taylor St. and 26th 
St. N. E. 

Como Avenue. — Cor. 14th Av. S. 
E. near Como Av. 

Fifth Avenue. — Cor. 5th Av. S. 
and 32nd St. 

First. — 8th Av. S. E. and 5th St. 

First Scandinavian. — 2019 17th 
Av. S. 

Forest Heights. — N. James and 
Ilion Aves. 

Fremont Avenue. — Fremont Av. 
N. and 32nd Av. N. 

Linden Hills. — Upton Av. and 
W. 4 2d St. 

Lowry Hill. — Cor. Dupont and 
Franklin Aves. 

Lyndale. — Cor. Aldrich Av. and 
W. Lake St. 

Lynhurst. — S. Bryant Av. and 
45th St. 

Minnehaha. — 38th Av. S. and 
40th St. 

Morningside Chapel. — Morning- 
side Rd. and Aeton PI. 

New Open Door. — Cor. 10th Av. 
S. and 39th St. 

Oak Park. — Cor. James and 6th 
Av. N. 

Park Avenue. — Cor. Park and E. 
Franklin Aves. 

Penn Avenue. — Penn Av. bet 
37th and 38th Av. N. 

Pilgrim. — Cor. 14th Av. N. and 
N. Lyndale Av. 

Pillsbcey House. — 320 16th Av. 

Plymouth. — Cor. Qroveland Av. 
and Vine Place. 

Temple (Swedish). — Cor. 10th 
Av. S. and 7 th St. 

Thirty-eight St. — 38th St. and 
3d Av. S. 

Vine. — Cor. 22d Av. S. and 33d 

Congregational Headquarters, 525 
Lumber Exchange ; Rev. Everett 
Lesher, Supt. 

Congregational Club, The Minne- 
sota. — As its name suggests the 
Congregational Club is an organi- 
zation of persons connected with 
the Congregational churches of the 
state, though chiefly from Minne- 
apolis and St. Paul. Monthly 
meetings, at which ladies are pres- 
ent, are held, from September till 

Conventions. — Minneapolis has 
entertained with success many 
great national gatherings, notably 
the Christian Endeavor convention 
of 1891, the National Republican 
convention of 1892, the G. A. R. 
national encampments of 1884 and 
1906, the National Educational As- 
sociation of 1902, and a number of 
the largest denominational conven- 
tions. The city is amply supplied 
with halls, hotels and transporta- 
tion facilities and its hospitalities 
are proverbial. (See Hotels.) 

Coon Creek Dam. — A new power 
dam recently completed in the 
Mississippi River about 12 miles 
above Minneapolis. The dam is 
about 2,000 feet in length and 
will produce 12,000 horse power, 
which will be used in generating 
electricity for the Minneapolis 
General Electric Co. 

Cooperage. — An annual output of 
about fifteen millions of barrels of 
flour calls for the manufacture of 
an immense number of barrels, 
notwithstanding the fact that 
much of the flour is packed in 
bags. The demand for cooperage 

is supplied by v three large shops, 
conducted on the co-operative plan. 
(See Co-operation.) About 300 
men find employment in this busi- 
ness. The shops are in south Min- 
neapolis near the railroad tracks, 
and within easy hauling distance 
of the mills. 

Corn Exchange. — An office build- 
ing on 3rd St. and 4th Av. S., di- 
rectly opposite the Chamber of 
Commerce, and chiefly occupied by 
commission firms. It is seven 
stories high and of red pressed 

Council. (See Government and 
City Officials.) 

Council of Minneapolis Commer- 
cial Clubs. — An organization con- 
sisting of three delegates from 
each commercial or civic club. 
Its purpose is to promote 
the general welfare of the city; 
to assist the various clubs in lo- 
cal matters, and to create a closer 
touch between the different or- 

Meetings are held at the call 
of the president. The following 
are represented in the council: 
Calhoun Commercial Club, Flour 
City Commercial Club, Glenwood 
Commercial Club, Lake Harriet 
Commercial Club, Minneapolis 
Civic & Commerce Association, 
New Boston Business Men's As- 
sociation, North Side Commercial 
Club, St. Anthony Commercial 
Club, South Side Commercial 
Club, West Side Commercial 
Club. William Eurich (St. An- 
thony Commercial Club) is Pres- 
ident and Orville E. Johnson (Cal- 
houn Commercial Club) is Sec- 

County Commissioners. — Meet at 
the court house on the first Mon- 
day in each month at 10 a. m. 

County Officers. — All county of- 
fices are in the court house. The 
Incumbents are as follows : 

Auditor, Al. P. Erickson. 

Treasurer, Henry C Hanke. 

Attorney, John M. Rees. 

Judge of Probate, John A. Dahl. 

Sheriff, Otto S. Langum. 

Register of Deeds, A. W. Skog. 

Clerk of District Court, P. 3. 

Superintendent of Schools, Har- 
vey I. Harter. 

Surveyor, E. E. Terrell. 

Coroner, Gilbert M. Seashore. 

Commissioners, H. R. Chase. C. 
B. Waddell, Frank W. Cook, Bar- 
ney Anderson, H. A. Montgomery. 

Court House and City Hall. — 

The public business of Hennepin 
county and the city of Minneapo- 
lis has been concentrated in one 
building known as the Court House 
and City Hall. This structure oc- 
cupies the entire block bounded by 
3rd and 4th Aves. S. and 4th and 
5th Sts. It is 300 feet square, sur- 
rounds an open court 130 feet 
square, is five stories in height and 
is surmounted by a tower which 
rises to the height of 400 feet 
above the pavement, measuring to 
the tip of the flagstaff. This tow- 
er is 50 feet square and like the 
rest of the building is constructed 
of red Ortonville granite. At the 
apex of the tower roof is an ob- 
servatory which is 335 feet above 
the street and which offers the 
best view point in the city. It 
may be reached by a long climb 
up hundreds of stairs. Permits 
should be secured from the custo- 
dian of the building. A hundred 
feet below the observatory is the 
clock which is 231 feet above the 
street. Its dials are 23 feet and 
four inches in diameter and were, 
when built, the largest in the 

The court house is finished in 
simple but handsome style. Quar- 
ter sawed oak is used throughout 
the offices and court rooms and in 
the hallways there is marble 
wainscoting and tiled and mosaic 
floors. The building is thoroughly 
fireproof; in the construction of 
the interior only steel and iron, 
brick and hollow tile are used. 

In the county half of the build- 
ing, which is on the 4th Av. side, 


are the offices of the sheriff, coun- 
ty treasurer, auditor, clerk, county 
commissioners and the various of- 
ficers connected with the courts — ■ 
district and probate. 

In the city side of the building 
are the offices of the mayor, city 
clerk, city comptroller, superintend- 
ent of the poor, chief of police, 
city engineer, the water works, the 
council chamber, committee rooms, 
municipal court rooms, city asses- 
sor's office, the offices of the build- 
ing inspector, health officer, the 
park board, school board and sup- 
erintendent of schools. 

The building cost over $3,000,- 
000. Long & Kees were the archi- 

• (See District Court, Probate 
Court, County Officers, City Hall, 

Courts. (See District, Munici- 
pal, Probate and U. S. Courts.) 

Crystal Lake Township. — Ad- 
joining the city on the northwest. 
Takes its name from a pretty lake 
near the city limits. 

Customs — The office of Harry 
A. Lund, Deputy Collector of 
Customs, is in the Federal build- 
ing at Marquette Av. and 3rd St. 

Dean Boulevard. — Connecting 
Lake of the Isles at the southwest 
with Lake Calhoun. Named for 
the late A. J. Dean, who donated 
the greater portion of the land in 
1892. (See Park System.) 

Debt. (See Finances.) 

Dentistry, College of. (See Uni- 

Department Stores. — The lead- 
ing department stores are: Dayton 
Dry Goods Co., Nicollet Av. and 
7th St.; L. S. Donaldson Co., 
Nicollet and 6th St.; Minneapolis 
Dry Goods Co., 511 Nicollet Av.; 
Powers Mercantile Co., Marquette 
Av., 5th St. and Nicollet Av. 

Depots. (See Railroad Stations 
and Freight Depots.) 


Design, Schools of. (See Min- 
neapolis Society of Fine Arts and 
Handicraft Guild.) 

Disciples Churches. — The 

churches of the Disciples in Min- 
neapolis are these: 

Grand Av. Church of Christ. — 
Grand Av. and 31st St. 

Minnehaha Church of Christ. 
— E. 42d St. cor. 32d Av. S. 

Portland Av. Church of Christ. 
— Cor. Portland Av. and Grant St. 

University Place Church of 
Christ. — Cor. 14th St. and 4th Av. 
S. E. 

Dispensaries. (See Hospitals 
and Dispensaries.) 

Distances in Minneapolis and 
Vicinity. — The city is one of "mag- 
nificent distances." It is ten miles 
long by six miles broad, and its 
population is pretty thoroughly 
distributed over its 54 square 
miles. Following are the distan- 
ces from Gateway Park at Wash- 
ington and Hennepin Aves. to va- 
rious points about the city: 

To Public Library. 8 blocks; to 
Loring Park, 1 mile: to Court 
House, V 2 mile; to milling district, 
2-3 mile; to University. 2 miles; to 
Cedar Av. and Washington, l l A 
miles; to Grant St. and Nicollet 
Av., 1 mile; to Plymouth Av. and 
N. Washington Av., 1 mile; to 20th 
Av. N. and Washington, iy 2 miles; 
to Franklin Av. and Hennepin, 1% 
miles; to Franklin and Nicollet, 
] V 2 miles; to Franklin and 16th Av. 
S., 2 miles; to Lake St. and Hen- 
nepin, 3 miles: to Lake St. and 
Nicollet Av., 2% miles; to Lake St. 
and Bloomington Av.. 3 miles; to 
Lake Calhoun, 3% miles: to Lake 
Harriet, 4% miles; to Lakewood 
Cemetery, SV 2 miles; to Washburn 
Park. 5 miles: to Minnehaha Falls 
and Park. 6 miles: to Fort Snelling, 
1V 2 miles; to New Boston. 2V 2 
miles: to St. Paul, 10 miles: to 
Lake Minnetonka, (via railroad) at 
Wayzata. 14 miles, at Excelsior, 
(via electric line) 18 miles, at Min- 
netonka Beach, 20 miles. 

In estimating distances count 13 
ordinary blocks to the mile. South 
of 24th St. the blocks from north 

to south are much longer, running 

just eight to the mile. Thus from 
24th to 32nd Sts. is just a mile. 

Distances to Other Cities. — Fol- 
lowing are the distances by rail 
from Minneapolis to the principal 
cities of the United States and 
Canada, and the larger towns and 
resorts in the Northwest: 


Aberdeen, S. D 288 

Albany, N. Y 1,247 

Albert Lea, Minn 107 

Ashland, Wis 194 

Atlanta, Ga 1,213 

Baltimore, Md 1,273 

Bemidji, Minn 220 

Bismarck, N. D 435 

Boston, Mass 1,456 

Brainerd, Minn 128 

Buffalo, N. Y 950 

Butte, Mont 1,118 

Chattanooga, Tenn 1,061 

Chicago, 111 410 

Chippewa Falls, Wis 114 

Cincinnati, Ohio 695 

Cleveland, Ohio 767 

Crookston, Minn 287 

Denver, Colo 928 

Des Moines, Iowa 296 

Detroit, Mich 694 

Detroit, Minn 194 

Devil's Lake, N. D 396 

Dubuque, Iowa 248 

Duluth, Minn 150 

Eau Claire, Wis 96 

Fargo, N. D 240 

Faribault, Minn 56 

Fergus Falls. Minn 177 

Gladstone, Mich 343 

Glenwood, Minn 120 

Grand Forks, N. D 310 

Great Falls, Mont 1,070 

Helena, Mont 1,120 

Hibbing, Minn 234 

Indianapolis, Ind 603 

International Falls, Minn. .. . 327 

Jacksonville, Fla 1,565 

Kansas City. Mo 547 

La Crosse, Wis 137 

Larimore, N. D 333 

Lincoln, Neb 452 

Livingston, Mont 997 

Louisville, Ky 722 

Mackinac, Mich 476 

Madison, Wis 280 

Mankato, Minn 75 

Milwaukee, Wis 335 

Minnetonka — Excelsior 18 

Wayzata 14 

Montreal, Can 1,120 

Come Out of the 

DON'T stand over the kitchen range all the 
time the baking or the dinner is in progress. 
It isn't necessary. You can start the cooking in 
an Electric Range, turn your switches to the de- 
gree of heat you want and then leave the cooking 
to the range. 

You Don't Have to Watch 

The heat is uniform in every corner of the 
oven and every part of the burner; it does 
not fluctuate; maintains an even tempera- 
ture. The food does not burn because of 
a suddenly overheated oven. It doesn't 
need watching or turning. You are free 
from kitchen slavery. 

The Minneapolis General Electric Co. 


Nashville, Term 928 

New Orleans, La 1,331 

New York 1,332 

Northfield, Minn 42 

Ogden, Utah 1,391 

Omaha, Neb 351 

Oshkosh, Wis 298 

Philadelphia, Pa 1,242 

Pierre, S. D 414 

Pittsburg, Pa 888 

Portland, Oregon 1,974 

Quebec, Can 1,368 

Red Wing, Minn 50 

Rochester, Minn 100 

Rochester, N. Y 1,019 

Salt Lake City, Utah 1,428 

San Francisco, Cal 2,224 

Sauk Center, Minn 107 

Sault Ste. Marie, Mich 494 

Seattle, Washington 1,818 

Sioux City, Iowa 259 

Sioux Falls, S. D 238 

Spokane, Wash 1,479 

St. Cloud, Minn 65 

St. Joseph, Mo 479 

St. Louis, Mo 585 

St. Paul, Minn 10 

St. Peter, Minn 64 

Stillwater, Minn 30 

Syracuse, N. Y 1,099 

Tacoma, Wash 1,844 

Toronto. Can 1,000 

Tower, Minn 246 

Virginia, Minn 225 

Washington, D. C 1,233 

Watertown, S. D 222 

Waukesha, Wis 374 

White Bear, Minn 22 

Winnipeg, Manitoba 448 

Winona, Minn 112 

Yankton, S. D 301 

Yellowstone Park 1,051 

District Court. — The district 
court for Hennepin county is a 
court of record of original and gen- 
eral jurisdiction. There are eight 
judges and each judge is elected 
for the term of six years. Each 
judge sits as a separate court, and 
each judge has full and equal pow- 
ers, except when two sit together 
when, if there is a difference of 
opinion, the opinion of the senior 
judge controls. Once a month all 
the judges sit together to hear 
certain kinds of cases. But all 
process is attested in the name of 
the senior judge — the one longest 
on the bench. The actual territor- 


ial jurisdiction of the court is the 
4th Judicial District of the state, 
which consists of the county; but 
the statutes give the right to serve 
summons and to have certain ju- 
risdictional powers throughout the 
state. One term of court is held 
commencing on the second Mon- 
day in September and continuing 
until July 1st. Appeals are taken 
from the district court direct- 
ly to the supreme court — the 
court of final resort. The present 
incumbents of the District bench 
are, in order of seniority: Judges 
H. D. Dickinson, W. E. Hale, John 
H. Steele, Edward F. Waite, 
Charles S. Jelley, William C 
Leary, Jos. W. Molyneaux, Dan- 
iel Fish, Chelsea J. Rockwood. 
Clerk of Courts, P. S. Neilson. 
(See Court House.) 

District Telegraph. (See Mes- 
senger Service.) 

Dog's. — There are about 5,500 
dogs in Minneapolis — that is, there 
are about that many which have 
been regularly licensed to exist un- 
der the city ordinances. Owners 
of valuable or pet dogs should see 
that the license fees are paid each 
year and the tags kept attached 
to the animals by a collar (and re- 
placed if lost) or otherwise they 
are liable to seizure and execution 
by the "dog catcher." Maintaining 
a vicious dog is punishable by fine. 

Donaldson Building". — One of the 

newest and most conspicuous build- 
ings on Nicollet Avenue (Cor. 7th 
St.) A handsome structure of 
brick and terra cotta exterior, steel 
frame and concrete interior con- 
struction, fitted an.d finished in the 
most elegant manner. The first 
two floors are occupied as store 
rooms and the remainder of the 
building is devoted to offices which 
are largely occupied by profession- 
al men. 

Drainage. (See Topography and 


Drives. — A more delightful vi- 
cinity for driving could hardly be 
imagined. The streets of the city 
are broad and smooth and abound 
in beautiful shade trees and hand- 
some houses and grounds. Leaving 
the more thickly settled portion of 
the city, one can follow the park- 
way system for miles about the 
shores of charming lakes or pic- 
turesque water courses. Still 
further out — beyond the city lim- 
its — is a magnificently rolling 
farming country, dotted with blue 
lakes and interspersed with natu- 
ral forest. There are no toll 
roads or toll bridges. The vicinity 
is a paradise for those who enjoy 
driving. It is scarcely a wonder 
that the number of private equi- 
pages, fine horses and automobiles 
in Minneapolis is very large in 
proportion to the population. 

Strangers can secure hacks or 
carriages with careful drivers by 
applying at their hotel offices or 
at any of the public hack stands or 
central livery stables. (See Horses 
&.nd Carriages, Livery, Hack Fares, 
etc.) Automobiles may also be 
hired with competent chauffeurs 
in charge. (See Automobiles and 
Taxicabs. ) 

The following drives are sug- 
gested for the use of both stran- 
gers and residents. Some of the 
latter could not better spend a few 
hours occasionally than in improv- 
ing their knowledge of the subur- 
ban beauties of the city. It is as- 
sumed in the following drives that 
the stranger is starting from one 
of the leading hotels in the central 
part of town. Residents will know 
how to adjust themselves to 
different starting points. The time 
given is the proper allowance for 
a carriage team; if an automobile 
is used the allowance may be re- 
duced one-half. 

A Rapid View of the City. — Up 
Hennepin Av. to 10th St., passing 
West Hotel, Masonic Temple, and 
Lyceum Theatre; on 10th St. to 

Harmon Place, passing the Public 
Library and First Baptist Church; 
on Harmon Place past Loring 
Park and Judge M. B. Koon's resi- 
dence to Oak Grove St. and Hen- 
nepin Av. in sight of Thomas Low- 
ry's residence; through Oak Grove 
to Vine Place; on Vine Place to 
Franklin Av.; on Franklin to Stev- 
ens; on Stevens to 24th, on 
24th St. to Park Av.; on Park Av. 
to 10th St., on 10th to Nicollet; on 
Nicollet to 3rd St. and thence to 
hotel. This drive, allowing a pause 
at points of interest, will occupy 
about an hour. Forty minutes 
more will admit of a visit to the 
State University, via the steel 
arch bridge and S. E. 5th St. and 
returning via University Av. and 
the 10th Av. S. bridge, obtaining 
a view of St. Anthony Falls, the 
stone arch railroad bridge and the 
milling: district. Strangers should 
not fail to take at least this much 
time to see the city. This and the 
succeeding drives may, of course, 
be extended indefinitely by side ex- 
cursions or stops for the examina- 
tion of interesting buildings or 

A Fairly Comprehensive View. — 
Up Hennepin Av. to 10th, and via 
Harmon Place to Loring Park, as 
in short drive; west from Loring 
Park over Kenwood Parkway to 
Lake of the Isles; around north 
and east sides of lake to 27th St.; 
on 27th to Hennepin Av.; on Hen- 
nepin Av. to Groveland Av.; 
through Clifton Place and Clifton 
Av. to Vine Place; on Vine Place 
to Franklin; on Franklin to Stev- 
ens Av.; on Stevens to 24th St.; on 
24th St. to Portland Av.; on 
Portland to 27th St.; on 27th 
to Park Av.; on Park Av. 
to 10th St., and thence following 
the route of the first drive, includ- 
ing the University and milling dis- 
trict. This will occupy about 
three hours, and will give a stran- 
ger, who has little time at his dis- 
posal, a fairly good idea of Min- 

The best way to see the city is 
to plan at least five or six drives 
of a couple of hours each. In this 
way the sights may be better en- 
joyed and there is no danger of 
any one proving wearisome. The 
following outlines may prove use- 

The Business Center. — Henne- 
pin Av. to 7th St.; 7th to Nicollet 
Av.; on Nicollet to 2nd St.; on 2nd 
St. to 3rd Av. N. ; on 3rd Av. to 3rd 
St.; on 3rd St. to 1st Ave. N.; on 
1st Av. N. to 6th St. to Marquette 
Av. ; on Marquette Av. to 4th St. ; 
on 4th St. to 7th Av. S. ; on 7th Av. 
S. to Washington ; on Washington 
to 6th Av. S. ; on 6th to flour mill- 
ing district ; after viewing the canal 
and mills, on 1st St. to 3rd Av. S. ; 
on 3rd Av. to 2nd St. ; on 2nd to 
Nicollet ; across steel arch bridge 
and Nicollet Island to Main St. ; on 
Main to 6th Av. S. E., past Pills- 
bury "A" mill; across 10th Av. 
bridge to Washington Av. ; on 
Washington to Hennepin. This 
drive taken slowly will occupy 
| from an hour and a half to two 
hours. An inside view of Pills- 
bury "A" flour mill is a pleasant 
addition, and as much time as de- 
sired may be spent in this way. 

To See Residences. — Hennepin 
Av. to 10th St.; to Park Av.; to 
27th St.; to Portland Av.; to 24th 
St.; to 1st Av. S.; to 19th St.; 
to Vine Place; to 25th St.; to 
Pillsbury Av.; to Ridgwood Av.; 
to Lyndale Av.; to Summit Av. ; 
to James Av. ; to Mt. Curve Av.; 
to Groveland Terrace; to Clif- 
ton Place and Clifton Av.; to 
Vine Place; to Oak Grove; to 
Hennepin Av. ; to Harmon PL; to 
Hennepin Av., thence to hotel or 
home. To cover this route will re- 
quire two hours. It will give a 
tolerably accurate idea of the resi- 
dence district of the west side. 
For the east side see east side 
drive below. 

A Park and Boulevard Drive. — 
From Loring Park over Kenwood 
Parkway to Lake of the Isles, 


around the lake to south end and 
along Calhoun Boulevard past 
Lake Calhoun to Lake Harriet; 
around Lake Harriet and return by 
same route to Mt. Curve Av., and 
through Mt. Curve Av. over Low- 
ry's Hill to Hennepin Av.; or, from 
Lake Calhoun Boulevard and 36th 
St. east to Hennepin, and thence to 
hotel or home. About two hours. 

East Side Drive. — Across steel 
arch bridge to Nicollet Island; Is- 
land Av. to Grove PI.; through 
Grove PI. to Central Av.; to Main 
St.; to 1st Ave. S. E.; to 4th St.; to 
7th Av. S. E.; to 5th St.; to 13th 
Av. S. E.; to University Av.; 
through University grounds; re- 
turning via University Av. to 6th 
Av. S. E. and 10th Av. S. bridge. 
About an hour. May be pleasant- 
ly extended to two hours by fol- 
lowing River Road, East, along 
river bank from University to 
Bridal Veil Falls, and returning 
across Franklin Av. bridge and 
via River Road, West, Riverside 
Park, Riverside Av. and 4th St. 
to center. 

To Minnehaha Falls. — Via any 
main avenue (Portland or Park the 
best) to Lake St.; to River Road, 
West; to falls. Returning same 
route. About two hours. A long- 
er route is via Kenwood Park- 
way to Lake of the Isles, Cal- 
houn and Harriet, leaving Lake 
Harriet at the south-east side and 
following Minnehaha Parkway 
along the banks of Minnehaha 
creek to the falls. 

To Fort Snelling. — Same as to 
Minnehaha about iy 2 miles beyond 
the falls. May be varied by re- 
turning on east side of river to 
Lake St. bridge and thence west 
to any leading avenue. 

A Country Drive. — South on 
Portland Av. to Diamond Lake 
(about 5 miles) west 1 mile to 
Lyndale Av. ; north across Minne- 
haha Creek to city. About IY2 


Three Hoce Country Drive. — 
South on Portland Av. to cross 
road iy 2 miles south of Diamond 
Lake; west 3 miles past Wood 
Lake; north 2 miles; west y 2 mile 
to Edina mills; north and east 
over choice of roads to Lake Cal- 
houn and city. 

To Minnetonka. — West f rom 
north end Lake Calhoun through 
Hopkins to Excelsior. About 20 

The lake may also be reached 
by a half dozen other routes, as 
the Minnetonka boulevard, run- 
ning due west from north end 
Lake Calhoun; the Superior boule- 
vard running west from Bryn 
Mawr; and Western and Sixth 
Avenues N. — all these routes be- 
ing convenient for reaching the 
north shore of the lake. 

The above are a very few of the 
delightful drives about the city 
and are only intended for the use 
of those unacquainted with the 
"lay of the land." They may be 
varied indefinitely and the fre- 
quent traveler of the streets and 
roads will discover new and in- 
teresting routes. Until one is ac- 
quainted with the outlying coun- 
try a pocket map will be found 
useful. (See Seeing the City, Au 
tomobiles and Excursions.) 

Dry Goods. — Nicollet Av. is the 
great shopping street and all the 
leading dry goods houses are to be 
found there. The larger and more 
prominent establishments are: L. 
S. Donaldson Co., corner Nicollet 
Av. and 6th St.; Dayton Dry 
Goods Co., corner Nicollet and 7th 
St.; Minneapolis Dry Goods Co., 
511 Nicollet Av. ; Powers Mercan- 
tile Co., Nicollet Av., Marquette 
Av. and 5th St.; J. W. Thomas & 
Co., Nicollet Av. and 8th St. 

Dunwoody Institute. — The Wil- 
liam Hood Dunwoody Industrial 
Institute was founded by the late 
William H. Dunwoody, for many 
years a prominent flour miller and 
one of the most respected citi- 

zens of Minneapolis. His will di- 
rected that a certain portion of 
his estate should be devoted to 
the establishment and mainte- 
nance of an industrial school 
which should afford the means of 
technical education in various arts 
and industries with special men- 
tion of those connected with flour 
milling. The school was opened 
in 1914 in temporary quarters (in 
the old Central High School) 
pending the erection of a suitable 
building. Up to the present time 
seven departments, automobile, 
architectural drawing, carpentry, 
cabinet making, electrical work, 
machine shop practice and print- 
ing have been established in the 
day school. / 

Permanent buildings are being 
erected on a site facing The Pa- 
rade. The first building was occu- 
pied in the summer of 1917. 

As the fund accruing from the 
estate is over $3,150,000, a great 
modern industrial school of the 
highest order is certain to be real- 
ized eventually. Charles A. Pros- 
ser is director of the institute. 

Soon after the breaking out of 
the war in 1917 the facilities of 
the school were offered to the gov- 
ernment for the training of men 
for • many trades needed in the 
navy. It is estimated that several 
thousand men Will be trained at 
the Institute should the war con- 
tinue for any length of time. 

Dyckman Hotel. — Sixth St. be- 
tween Hennepin and Nicollet. 
This substantial addition to the 
list of Minneapolis hotels was 
opened in April, 1910. It is an 
eleven-story building, absolutely 
fireproof (concrete construction), 
contains 325 rooms, handsomely 
furnished, and has all the appoint- 
ments of a modern hotel. 

Eastern District, or East Side. — 

That part of the city lying east of 
the Mississippi river. It includes 
what was originally the town of 
St. Anthony and is commonly call- 
ed "the East Side." 

East Hennepin Ave. — A new- 
street recently created by con- 
necting- parts of Central Ave. and 
Division street and forming- a 
new thoroughfare from the foot 
of Hennepin Ave. at the steel 
arch bridge, north and east to 
the eastern city limits where it 
will connect with an arterial 
! street into St. Paul. It seems des- 
j tined to become the principal 
:| highway in the eastern division 
: of the city. 

Education. — Minneapolis is pe- 
culiarly fortunate in possessing 
exceptional educational facilities. 
No western city of equal size and 
few eastern centers have better 
advantages in this respect. The 
public school system of Minneapo- 
lis has worthily achieved a repu- 
tation as the equal of any in the 
country; its high schools are thor- 
ough and well equipped and the 
state university affords means for 
higher education in its numerous 
departments. Besides there are 
several very creditable private 
schools for different classes of ed- 
ucational work. All these institu- 
tions both public and private are 
sustained by a cordial public sym- 
pathy; the interest in the public 
school system is especially marked. 
Altogether Minneapolis is a very 
desirable place of residence for 
families having children to edu- 

This subject is too compre- 
hensive to admit of treatment un- 
der one head; the details of mat- 
ters pertaining to education will 
be found under such headings as 
Public Schools, University, High 
Schools, Private Schools, 
Parochial Schools, Art Schools, 
Dunwoody Institute, etc. 

Election Precincts. (See Polit- 
ical Divisions.) 

Elections. — Municipal elections 
are held upon the same date as 
those of the state and county — the 
first Tuesday after the first Mon- 
day in November of the even num- 
bered years. Nearly all city <of- 


ficials are, under the present laws, 
to be elected for two years; their 
terms of office beginning on Jan- 
uary 1st following the election. 
The Australian or secret ballot 
system is in use under a state law 
and the plan of direct nominating 
elections took the place of the old 
caucus and convention system in 
Hennepin county in 1900. (See Pol- 
itics and Political Divisions.) 

Electric Conduits. — After sever- 
al years of agitation the work of 
putting under ground all electric 
wires in the center of the city, 
was commenced in 1888. This was 
in accordance with a municipal 
ordinance. There are now about 
350 miles of conduit or subway. 

Electric Idg-ht and Power. — The 
electric service of Minneapolis 
compares favorably with any city 
in the world. It is rendered by 
The Minneapolis General Electric 
Company, which is operated by H. 
M. Byllesby & Company, engineers. 

Rates for electric light, power 
and heating are on a low basis. 

The highest, or base rate, is 8% 
cents per kilowatt hour, less 5 
per cent for prompt payment. 
Electric power is used extensive- 
ly for manufacturing and other 
industrial and commercial pur- 

The Company obtains its supply 
of electrical energy from four 
principal power stations, three of 
these being water power stations 
and the fourth a steam plant. A 
new water power station has just 
been completed at Coon Rapids, 
on the Mississippi river, 11 miles 
from Minneapolis. The generat- 
ing capacity of the four stations 
is as follows: 

St. Croix Water Power Pl't. 24,000 
Coon Rapids Water Power 

Plant 15,000 

Riverside Steam Station ..40,000 
Main Street Water Power 

Plant 2,500 

Total generating capacity 81,500 


Every generating station, sub- 
station and storage battery sta- 
tion of the company is new, mod- 
ern and efficient. All transmission 
lines are in duplicate. The dis- 
tributing system covers the city 
and suburbs. Steam generating 
equipment stands ready at all 
times to back up the supply of 
energy from the water powers. 

Minneapolis was one of the first 
cities to install ornamental street 
lighting systems. There are now 
1,200 decorative standards bear- 
ing five lights each, illuminating 
nine miles of streets. 

The general policy of the Min- 
neapolis General Electric Com- 
pany is that of the progressive 
efficiency in the rendering of its 
particular service and in the co- 
operative work of community ad- 

A sales, or commercial, depart- 
ment is maintained to study the 
electrical requirements of the pub- 
lic; to render information and ad- 
vice to customers; to extend the 
use of service to the greatest pos- 
sible number and to promote sat- 
isfactory results from electric 
lighting, power and heating. Il- 
luminating and power experts are 
permanently employed. Their de- 
signs and reports are rendered 
without cost. Customers or pros- 
pective customers are welcome to 
their services at all times. 

Electric Street Railways. (See 
Street Railways.) 

Elevators. — One thing which im- 
presses the traveler arriving by 
almost any of the railroads enter- 
ing the city, is the number and 
the vast size of the grain eleva- 
tors. To form a better idea of their 
number one must sweep the hori- 
zon from some of the high 
buildings. The elevators rise in 
every direction as sombre monu- 
ments to the commercial enter- 
prise and supremacy of the Flour 
City. There are about fifty of 
these great structures and their 

combined capacity is about 55,- 
000,000 bushels or nearly one-half 
the receipts of wheat. Each year 
sees the number and capacity 
largely increased. They are built 
of wood, steel, brick, tiles or con- 
crete and the complicated machin- 
ery is operated by steam power. 
A visit and examination of their 
workings is very interesting. Be- 
sides those already mentioned 
there are a number of elevators 
connected with the flour mills 
which have a considerable stor- 
age capacity and in addition to 
the terminal storage room in the 
city are the systems of elevators 
and warehouses in the interior, 
covering all the territory from 
northern Wisconsin, northern Iowa 
and Nebraska to the Pacific coast 
in Oregon and Washington. These 
systems operate thousands of ele- 
vators, with a storage capacity of 
many millions of bushels. This, 
with the terminal elevators, gives 
an enormous storage capacity, con- 
trolled and operated by firms con- 
nected with and doing business on 
the floor of the Exchange room of 
the Chamber of Commerce of 
Minneapolis (See Grain Trade, 
Flour and Plo»tk Mzltj^o * 

Elks Club. — Or?« of tne finest 
buildings ir tb* country devoted 
to the use of a frafcernaJ lodge is 
the club house of Minneapolif 
Lodge No. 44 r B. P. O. E. The 
club building was completed at 
a cost of $38F,000 and occupied 
early in 1913. It is a five-story 
brick structure, located at Second 
Av. S. & Seventh St. and with the 
exception of a part of the ground 
floor is devoted entirely to the 
uses of the Elks, and is a modern 
and completely equipped club — 
with the addition of a lodge room 
for the use of the members in 
their more particular character as 
a secret fraternal order. 

From the entrance on Seventh 
St. one may ascend to the second 
floor by stairway or elevator, and 

reach the main lounging room or 
parlor of the club — a most hand- 
somely appointed and richly dec- 
orated apartment. On the same 
floor is the club office. The third 
floor is devoted to the main dining 
room, two private dining rooms 
and the woman's reception room. 
Other features of the building are 
the billiard and card rooms, the 
bowling alleys, rathskeller, bar, 
34 private sleeping apartments — 
the whole equipped with every 
modern device for comfort and 

The Elks have over 1,700 mem- 
bers and are exceedingly prosper- 
ous and popular. 

Elliot Park. — A four acre lot be- 
tween 9th and 10th Aves. S. and 
8th and 14th Sts. Most of the land 
was the gift of Dr. Jacob S. Elliot. 
It contains a small lake and a 
handsome fountain. (See Park 

Engineers' Club. — An organiza- 
tion (formed in 1883) of men con- 
nected with the different branches 
of the engineering profession 
which maintains club rooms at 17 
S. 6th St. Meets the third Mon- 
day of each month. E. H. Scofield 
is president, and E. W. Ashen- 
den, secretary. 

Episcopal Churches. — Like most 
of the other leading denominations 
the Episcopal church in Minneap- 
olis dates from about 1850. There 
are now seventeen churches and 
missions as follows: 

All Saints. — Cor. Park Av. and 
31st St. 

Cheist Church Mission. — Blais- 
dell Av. and 37th St. 

Gethsemane. — Cor. 4th Av. S. 
and 9 th St. 

Grace. — Cor. 16th Av. S. and 
24th St. 

Holy Trinity. — Cor. 4th Av. S. 
E. and 4th St. 

Messiah (Swedish). — Grand Av. 
and 39th St. 

St. Andrew's. — Cor. 19th Av. N. 
and N. James Av. 

St. Ansgarius (Swedish). — 5 th 
St. and 19 th A v. S. 


St. Faith. — 36th St. near Minne- 

St. Luke's Mission. — Colfax and 
46th St. 

St. Johannes (Scandinavian). — 
Newton and 5th Aves. N. 

St. John Baptist. — Cor. Linden 
Hills Boul. and W. 42d St. 

St. Mark's. — Cor. Oak Grove and 
Hennepin Av. 

St. Matthew's. — Cor. 25th Av. 
N. E. and Fillmore St. 

St. Paul's. — Bryant Av. Cor. 

St. Stephen's. — Lyndale and 54th 
Av. S. 

St. Thomas Mission (Colored). — 
5th Av. S. near 27th St. 

St. Timothy's Mission. — Pros- 
pect Park. 

Wells Memorial. — Cor. Western 
Av. and N. 11th St. 

Excelsior. — A village on the 
south shore of Lake Minnetonka 
and about 18 miles from Minneap- 
olis. On the Minneapolis and St. 
Louis railroad and Minnetonka 
electric line. (See Minnetonka.) 

Excursions. — The number of ex- 
cursions which may be made from 
Minneapolis is almost without lim- 
it. Few inland cities have so 
many attractions and agreeable re- 
sorts within easy reach. The city 
is surrounded by lakes; there are 
over 200 within a radius of twen- 
ty-five miles, and perhaps a score 
within the city limits. The en- 
virons are picturesque. Among the 
lakes, bluffs and falls the eity park 
system has been entwined and the 
rapid development of the electrical 
street railway system has made 
nearly every part of this beautiful 
outlying region accessible. For 
all sorts of short excursions in and 
about the city the electric cars of- 
fer the quickest and simplest 
means of transportation. They not 
only reach the famed Minnehaha 
Falls, the chain of beautiful lakes 
along the southwestern border of 
the city, the university, fair 
grounds and interurban district, 
but now reach out beyond St. Paul 
and extend to White Bear Lake, 
and Stillwater on the eastern bor- 


der of the state and to Minneton- 
ka twenty miles west. 

The number of pleasant excur- 
sions of from one hour to a day 
which may be made on the electric 
lines is almost without limit. A 
few are outlined below as sugges- 
tions. They may be varied — 
lengthened or shortened — to suit 
the convenience or pleasure of the 
excursionist. The time given is 
that from the business center and 
allows for a short stop-o_ver at 
the objective point. If a longer 
stay is desired it should be taken 
into account when planning the 
trip. The fare is for the round 

1. — Lakes Calhoun and Harriet. 
— Como-Harriet electric cars west 
bound, past Loring Park, Thomas 
Lowry's residence, Lowry Hill, 
Sunnyside, Lake Calhoun, Lake- 
wood Cemetery to Lake Harriet pa- 
vilion. Time, one hour. Concerts 
at Lake Harriet every afternoon 
and evening during the summer. 
Fare, 10c. 

On either lake launches may be 
taken for round trip tours. Every 
45 minutes after 2:30 p. m. (every 
iy 2 hours 7 a. m. to 2:30 p. m.), 
the "Three Lakes" or the "Maid 
of the Isles" leaves Lake St. Land- 
ing for the tour of Lake Calhoun, 
Lake of the Isles, and Cedar Lake. 
Fare between any two landings on 
any one of the lakes, 5 cents. 
Round trip of the three lakes, 11 
miles — 90 minutes — 25 cents. 

The "Harriet" leaves Main Dock 
(42nd St.) every hour (every 30 
minutes after 4 p. m.) for the tour 
of Lake Harriet. Fare between 
any two landings, 5 cents. Round 
trip of the lake, 3.5 miles — 25 min- 
utes — 10 cents. 

2. — Minnehaha Falls. — Minne- 
haha Falls car on 3rd St. via 
Minnehaha Av. to Park and Falls. 
Time, l x / 2 hours. This allows for 
a few minutes' view of the Falls. 
It is worth one's while to take an 
extra hour for a ramble down the 

charming glen below the Falls and 
a look at the Soldiers' Home build- 
ings and the Mississippi river 
gorge. Fare, 10c. 

This excursion may be extended 
to Fort Snelling, about two miles 
beyond the falls. 

3. — Washburn Park. — Washburn 
Park & Columbia Heights on 
Marquette Av. to Washburn Park 
at 51st iSt. The Washburn 
Home and grounds, the view from 
the hills, and the Minnehaha Park- 
way and Creek, crossed by a long 
viaduct, are attractions. Time, 
iy 2 hours. Fare, 10c. 

4. — Reservoir. — The highest 
ground in the vicinity of Minneap- 
olis is the hill on which stands the 
reservoir, just outside the limits 
northeast of the city. Washburn 
Park & Columbia Heights line go- 
ing north and a three-quar- 
ters mile walk brings one to the 
reservoir. Time, 2 hours. Fare, 

5.; — Como Park. — Como is St. 
Paul's most beautiful park. Como- 
Harriet line going east on Henne- 
pin, past state university, St. An- 
thony Park, the state agricultural 
college and experiment station, 
the state fair grounds, to Como. 
Time, iy 2 hours. Fare, 20c. 

6. — St. Paul (To Summit Av.) — 
Como-Harriet line through Como 
Park as in No. 5 remaining on car 
and entering St. Paul on Como Av. 
At Fifth and Wabasha Sts. trans- 
fer to the Selby line, walking one 
block south and take Selby Av. 
car to end of tunnel at top of hill, 
walk south to Summit Av., out 
Summit Av. to Dale St., thence 
north on Dale St. to Selby Av., 
take Selby-Lake car (west bound) 
to Minneapolis. Time, 3 hours. 
Fare, 20c. 

7. — St. Paul (To see Indian 
Mounds). — Same as No. 6 to 7th 
and Wabasha Sts., St. Paul. Trans- 
fer to Maria Av. car, east bound, 
and ride to end of line at Indian 


Corner South Fifth Street 
and Marquette Avenue 

Conklin-Zonne-Loomis Co., Managers 
520 First National-Soo Line Bldg. 

Minneapolis Trust Company 

Capital and Surplus $1,400,000.00 

Transacts a Trust and Agency Business only. Does not do a 

banking business. Acts as Executor, Administrator, 

Guardian and Trustee. 



Vice Pres. and Treas. 

Vice President 

Vice President 

Vice President 

Vice President 

D. L. CASE, 


Trust Officer 
J. L. ROOT, 

Bond Officer 


Farm Loan Officer 

Real Estate Officer 

Asst. Secretary. 

Mounds and State Fish Hatchery. 
Return via same to 7th and Rob- 
ert Sts., St. Paul; transfer to Min- 
neapolis & St. Paul or Como- 
Harriet car for Minneapolis. Time, 
iy 2 hours. Fare, 25c. 

8. — White Bear Lake. — Minne- 
apolis and St. Paul or Como-Har- 
riet line to 7th and Wabasha Sts., 
St. Paul, transfer to White Bear & 
Stillwater cars to Wildwood, on 
White Bear Lake, 12 miles north- 
east of St. Paul. Time, 4 hours. 
Fare, 40c. 

9. — Stillwater. — Same as No. 8, 
passing Wildwood and going 
through to Stillwater. Time on 
cars, 4 hours. If the state prison 
at Stillwater is visited, at least 
three hours should be allowed for 
the stop in the city. Fare, 70c. 

10. — Fort Snelling. — Snelling- 
Minnehaha cars past Minnehaha 
Falls to Fort Snelling, about two 
miles beyond the falls. Time, 2 
hours. Fare, 10c 

11.— St. Paul via Fort Snelling. 
— Same as 10 to Fort Snelling, 
continuing via West Seventh St. 
to Wabasha St., St. Paul; where 
transfer may be made to any St. 
Paul line or to any other interur- 
ban line to return to Minneapolis. 
Time, SV 2 hours. Fare, 20c. 

12. — Minnetonka (To Excelsior 
and Tonka Bay). — Lake Minneton- 
ka cars from Hennepin Av. and 6th 
St. out Hennepin Av. to 31st St. 
and via Lakes Calhoun and Har- 
riet and village of Hopkins to Ex- 
celsior on south shore of Lake 
Minnetonka; time, 2 hours; and to 
Tonka Bay; time, 3 hours. Fare, 
50 cents. 

13. — Minnetonka (To Deepha- 
ven). — Take Deephaven car from 
Hennepin Av. and 6th St., thence 
same as Excelsior line to Hopkins, 
thence by branch line to Deephav- 
en on St. Louis Bay, east shore of 
Minnetonka. Time and fare same 
as to Excelsior. 

14. — Minnetonka (Other Lake 
points). — Steamers may be taken 


at either Excelsior or Deephaven 
to all points on the lake. (Seb 

15. northfield, via savage 

and Lake Marion. — Dan Patch 
line from 7th St. and 3rd Av. N. 
A beautiful ride through Richfield, 
Bloomington, the Minnesota River 
valley and past Lake Marion to 
Northfield. 45 miles. Time, 6% 
hours. Fare, $1.50. 

All the foregoing excursions may 
be made upon electric lines. Many 
others may be planned; these are 
merely suggestions regarding the 
most interesting points. A com- 
plete list of the Minneapolis elec- 
tric lines may be found under the 
heading Street Railways, accom- 
panied by a map of the interurban 

For excursions by carriage, au- 
tomobile, or on horseback see the 
subject Drives, 

The railroads running out of 
the city offer scores of pleasant 
trips varying from a half-day ex- 
cursion to a transcontinental 
journey. When half a day or more 
is to be spent Lake Minnetonka 
offers a choice of several excur- 
sions via the trains of the Great 
Northern and Minneapolis & St. 
Louis railways and the lake 
steamers. (See Minnetonka.) For 
these and all rail excursions men- 
tioned it is well to consult the 
railroad time cards as they are 
subject to frequent change. The 
Dalles of the St. Croix river may 
be visited in a day's trip and 
Duluth, Ashland and other Lake 
Superior points are to be seen in 
excursions of two or more days' 
duration according to the taste and 
time of the visitor. West and 
northwest of Minneapolis lies the 
famous Park Region of Minneso- 
ta, abounding in lakes and dotted 
with villages and tourist's hotels. 
Detailed information of the re- 
sources of this region are obtain- 
able from the offices of the Great 
Northern, Northern Pacific and 


Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste 
i Marie railroads which penetrate 
it. The last mentioned road on its 
eastern division reaches numerous 
hunting and fishing 1 resorts of 
Northern Wisconsin and Michigan, 
all within a few hours ride of 

Experiment Station, Agricultur- 
al. (See University of Minneso- 

Exports and Imports. (See 
Commerce and Customs.) 

Express Charges. — Rates for ex- 
pressage and parcel delivery are 
regulated by city ordinance. The 
section applying to this subject is 
as follows: 

Loads not exceeding 200 pounds 
within one-half mile, 25c. 

Loads not exceeding 500 pounds 
weight, 50c. When the distance 
exceeds one mile, 25c for each ad- 
ditional mile. 

Over 500 pounds, 50c for every 
additional 500 pounds or fraction 

For hauling household furni- 
ture, $l*per hour, with one or two 
horse trucks. 

These prices are not adhered to 
by parcel delivery companies or 
expressmen, but any charge in ex- 
cess is extortionate. The usual 
rate with the package delivery 
companies, for delivery of an or- 
dinary sized trunk or smaller 
package within a mile and a half 
is 25c. Owners of single express 
wagons will want more and the 
omnibus company usually charges 
50c for a trunk. (See Parcel De- 
livery Companies.) 

Express Companies. — The ex- 
press companies doing business 
over the railroads entering the city 
were consolidated July 1, 1917, 
under the name American Ry. 
Express Co., offices 619-21 Mar- 
quette Av. 

Pairs. — The Minnesota State 
fair is held annually in Septem- 

ber at the grounds near Hamline, 
midway between Minneapolis and 
St. Paul. The Como-Harriet elec- 
tric line runs past the grounds, 
and it is very convenient for fair 
visitors to stop in Minneapolis and 
thus be in easy reach of the fair, 
and the other sights of the Flour 
(See State Fair.) 

Farmers and Mechanics Sav- 
ings Bank Building. — One of the 
most complete and beautiful of 
the group of fine Minneapolis 
bank buildings. The structure 
was rebuilt in 1908, enlarged to a 
frontage of 75 feet on Fourth 
street and entirely remodelled 
within, giving it a banking room 
which for point of beauty and 
utility is scarcely equalled in the 
country. Marble walls and floors, 
artistic steel work and mahogany 
wood work contribute to the 
beauty of this banking room. 
where over 79,000 depositors are 
given accommodation. The build- 
ing is No. 115 So. Fourth St. (See 
Savings Banks.) 

Farm Machinery. — (See Agricul- 
tural Implements.) 

Farview Park. — Farview Park 
is rich in the possession of natural 
advantages. It lies between 26th 
and 29th Aves. N., and Lyndale 
and 4th St. The contour of the 
park is rolling, and it is diversi- 
fied with groves and lawns of 
much beauty. On the highest 
point near the center of the park 
is a stone observatory 30 feet high. 
Cedar & Camden electric line. 
(See Park System.) 

Federal Reserve Bank. — Minne- 
apolis is the location of one of 
the twelve regional banks pro- 
vided for by the Federal reserve 
bank act approved Dec. 23, 1913. 
The selection was made after 
careful consideration and the 
demonstration of the fact that 
Minneapolis is the financial cen- 
ter of the great northwestern dis- 
trict — known as District No. 9 in 

the organization of the Federal 
bank system embracing the states 
of Minnesota, North and South 
Dakota, Montana and portions of 
Wisconsin and Michigan. The 
quarters of the bank are on the 
main floor of the New York Life 
Bldg., 5th St. and 2nd Av. S. (See 

Filtration Plant. — ( See Water- 

Finances. — • During the city's 
years of corporate existence, the 
finances of Minneapolis have been 
on the whole economically and 
prudently managed. Occasional er- 
rors in judgment and extravagance 
in certain lines of outlay there 
have been, but the city has never 
fallen into the hands of a "ring" 
originated for the purpose of rob- 
bing the taxpayers and enriching 
rascally officials. The city charter 
prohibits any floating indebtedness 
and the bonded debt can only be 
increased by a four-sevenths vote 
of the people and may never ex- 
ceed ten per cent of the assessed 

The assessed valuation of the 
city is $287,482,499, and the bond- 
ed debt is now $23,781,700, or less 
the amount in the sinking fund, 
$21,167,417. The expenditures 
are about $9,000,000 yearly. Min- 
neapolis bonds always command a 
premium upon issue. (See Govern- 

Fine Arts, Society of. (See 
Minneapolis Soc. of Pine Arts.) 

Fire Department. — The fire de- 
partment comprises about 450 men 
and about 145 horses, 24 steam 
engines, 19 hose wagons, 11 hook 
and ladder trucks, one water- 
tower, 10 hose carriages, 17 com- 
bination chemical and hose wag- 
ons, and eight emergency automo- 
bile chemical and hose wagons 
with picked crews, which cover a 
wide territory, responding to 
alarms at high speed. There are 
432 fire alarm boxes, a large num- 
ber in the central part of the city 
being keyless boxes. The head- 


quarters of the department are 
in the Court House and City Hall 
building. There is a repair and 
machine shop in connection with 
the department, at 1st Av. N. E. 
and University Av. Here all re- 
pairs to the apparatus are made. 
The value of the fire department 
property is over $1,000,000. 

Fire Escapes. — A state law pro- 
vides for the erection of fire es? 
capes on all buildings of three 
stories or more, of a public nature 
or which are occupied at any time 
by a number of people either as 
employes, residents or guests. 

Fire Insurance. — Rates of insur- 
ance are not excessive in Minne- 
apolis owing to competition, low 
fire losses, a good fire department, 
the extension of water mains and 
an adequate supply. Detached 
dwelling house rates range from 
30c per $100 on brick and 40c per 
$100 on frame, and up, according 
to exposures and other hazards. 
Rates on business buildings and 
merchandise vary too much to 
approximate maximum or mini- 
mum limits. The growth of the 
insurance business has been quite 
in keeping with the expansion of 
the city's interests. 

Fire Limits. — Within prescribed 
limits surrounding the business 
center the construction or exten- 
sive repair of frame buildings is 
prohibited. This arrangement 

tends to build up the center of the 
city in a most substantial manner 
and materially lessens the danger 
from fire. In the immediate 
business center only absolutely 
fire-proof buildings (if more than 
one story high) may be erected. 

First Baptist Church. — The larg- 
est church of the denomination in 
the Northwest and one of the most 
prominent in the country. Its 
building is at the corner of 10th 
St. and Harmon PL The church 
was organized in 1853 and orig- 
inally occupied a chapel at 3rd St. 
and Nicollet Av., now the heart of 


the business center. Rev. Dr. W. 
B. Riley is pastor. 

First Congregational Church. — 
At the corner of 5th St. and 8th 
Av. S. B. The first church of the 
denomination organized in the city 
and state. The church was formed 
Nov. 16, 1851. The present edifice 
was erected at a cost of $76,000 
and was dedicated March 4, 1888. 
(Como-Harriet or the Oak & Har- 
riet electric lines.) 

First and Security National 

Bank. — Formed by the consolida- 
tion in 1915 of the First National 
Bank and the Security National 
Bank, both old established institu- 
tions of the city. The bank be- 
came the largest in the northwest 
and gives Minneapolis the distinc- 
tion of having the twelfth bank in 
the United States in point of capi- 
talization, sixteenth in deposits 
and the largest bank west of Chi- 
cago. The bank has a capital of 
$5,000,000. It occupies the great 
banking room in the new First 
National-Soo Line Building 
(which see) and maintains in ad- 
dition a savings department on 
the ground floor of the building. 
Closely affiliated with the bank is 
the Minneapolis Trust Company 
which occupies the banking room 
at 115 S. 5th St. adjoining the 
First National-Soo Line Building. 

First National-Soo Line Build- 
ing*. — This building, completed 
early in 1915, is regarded as the 
most modern and best equipped 
office building in the Northwest. 
The building, including the ground 
lease, is valued at $1,750,000. It 
is 19 stories above the street line 
and has three basements, and 
fronts 165 feet on Fifth St. and 99 
feet on Marquette Av. The ex- 
terior of the structure is of gran- 
ite and terra cotta, and the in- 
terior is finished in steel and 
white marble and bronze. 

The First and Security National 
Bank occupies the main floor and 
parts of other floors and the "Soo" 
Line the upper seven stories. 

The remainder of the building is 
leased to other office tenants. 

The banking room, which is the 
largest and most complete in the 
west, is reached by a beautiful 
staircase, 30 feet wide, construct- 
ed of white Alabama marble. The 
bank floor is 175 by 100. feet and 
there are in addition two large 
galleries to be used for clerical 
purposes and the directors' room. 
The number "of square feet of 
floor space in the bank and gal- 
leries is about 32,000. 

The bank screen is made of 
solid ornamental bronze with Ala- 
bama marble panels, and the cage 
work is modeled after the best 
construction used in the most 
modern equipment for banks to- 
day. Daylight enters from four 
sides and in addition to the side- 
lighting there is an immense 
light-well. The general scheme is 
a severe classic style, plain, digni- 
fied and pleasing. The walls of 
the entire bank and galleries are 
lined with imported Tavernelle 
marble and the ceiling is orna- 
mental, handsomely decorated in 
warm tones and highlighted in 
gold. The color scheme for the 
walls and ceiling is of a soft yel- 
low. The floor of the public lobby 
is tiled with Alabama marble of 
the Belgian block dot design with 
an ornamental Greek fret border. 

The officers' quarters are on the 
side nearest Second Ave. and are 
separated from the public lobby by 
a bronze and marble rail. The di- 
rectors' room is in the gallery, 
easily reached by a private eleva- 
tor or private stairs, and is fin- 
ished in mahogany. The ladies' 
department is on the Marquette 
Av. side of the banking room, and 
is connected with the main bank 
lobby by a private hallway. The 
large space on the ground floor at 
the left of the main lobby is used 
by the clearing house, and the sav- 
ings and foreign exchange depart- 
ments. The desks throughout the 
clerical department are of solid 
steel. (See First and Security 

National Bank, and Minneapolis, 
St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie Rt.) 
Conklin-Zonne-Loomis Co., are 
managers of the building. 

First Unitarian Church. — The 

building at 8th St. and Mary PL 
occupied by the first Unitarian 
Church is one of the most unique 
specimens of church architecture 
in the city. Within the building 
is as beautiful as upon the outside. 

Pishing. — The lakes in the im- 
mediate vicinity of Minneapolis 
afford rather indifferent fishing, 
though a good string may some- 
times be taken from lakes within 
the city limits. There is good 
fishing in the more secluded parts 
of Lake Minnetonka and on small- 
er lakes at distances of from 15 
to 25 miles from the city. For 
more extensive trips the railroad 
ticket offices should be consulted 
for information. The game laws 
of Minnesota prohibit fishing 
during March and April and for 
bass until May 29th. 

Flats, The. 

(See West Side 

Flats. (See Apartment Houses.) 

Florists. — Leading down town 
places are: Latham, 83 S. 10th 
St.; Swanson, 618 Nic: L. S. Don- 
adson & Co.. 6th and Nic. ; and 
Whitted, 34 S. 5th St., 932 Nicol- 
let and Radisson Hotel. 

Flotir and Flour Mills. — Proba- 
bly the strongest influence in giving 
Minneapolis a world wide fame has 
been her flour manufacturing in- 
dustry. Minneapolis flour is known 
in corners of the globe where defi- 
nite knowledge of any characteris- 
tic, or feature or condition of the 
town, except that it produces good 
flour, is altogether lacking. It is 
for this reason, if for no other, 
that Minneapolis finds the title of 
the Flour City particularly appro- 
priate. Flour milling has always 
been the city's chief industry. 
The unparalleled water power of 


St. Anthony's falls, together with 
the city's geographical position, 
have developed this industry from 
a clumsy mill of a few barrels 
capacity to a group of a score of 
great modern mills having a daily 
capacity of about 93,000 bbls.; 
and making Minneapolis the largest 
flour manufacturing city in the 
world. Since 1897 the annual out- 
put has exceeded 13,000,000 bar- 
rels. The influence of this enor- 
mous manufacturing business 
upon the general mercantile and 
commercial interests of the city 
has been profound. It has been 
the nucleus about which the other 
manufacturing and jobbing inter- 
ests have centered. It has devel- 
oped Minneapolis into a leading 
grain market of the country and 
the greatest primary wheat market 
in the world. Millions of dollars 
of capital have been attracted to 
the city to engage either in milling 
or grain dealing. Thousands of 
people are employed either direct- 
ly or indirectly, in transacting 
business created by the milling in- 
dustry. Railroads have been built 
to transport the manufactured 
product. The flour mills are clus- 
tered about the Falls of St. An- 
thony, all but four being on the 
west bank of the river and about 
six blocks from the business cen- 
ter. They are nearly all built of 
the lime stone which lies in vast 
ledges under the city. Architec- 
tural beauty has generally been 
subordinated to utility and sub- 
stantial qualities. Nearly all the 
mills are now provided with 
steam power for use during low 
water or when repairs of the ca- 
nals or sluice ways make it nec- 
essary to shut off the supply. The 
west side milling district is an 
interesting locality and will well 
repay a visit. The mills stand on 
either side of 1st St. which is 
floored or bridged to cover the 
canal which supplies the various 
mills with power. Railroad tracks 
on high trestles, bring the wheat 


to the very doors of the mills, 
(the tracks run into the Wash- 
burn "A" mill) and the sacked or 
barrelled flour is loaded upon the 
cars with equal ease. A tour 
through one of the mills will trace 
the wheat through all its proc- 
esses until it emerges as the fin- 
est of white flour. Permits for 
trips thru the Washburn mills 
may be obtained at the of- 
fices of the Washburn-Crosby Co., 
in the Chamber of Commerce 
Bldg. Visitors to the great Pills- 
bury "A" mill should obtain permits 
at the office of the company in the 
Metropolitan Life building. 

All the mills are fitted 
with the latest modern roller 
process machinery. Some of the 
finest of the west side mills stand 
upon the ground once occupied 
by the old mills which were de- 
stroyed by the terrible flour dust 
explosion of 1878. Upon the new 
Washburn "A" mill is a stone 
tablet in memory of the 18 em- 
ployes who lost their Uvea at 
that time. 

About twenty-five years ago 
there developed a marked tendency 
to consolidation of milling inter- 
ests. The first move was the 
formation of the Pillsbury- Wash- 
burn Flour Mills Company in 1889 
to control the great properties of 
the firm of Chas. A. Pillsbury & 
Co., and others. English capital- 
ists became largely interested in 
this deal. Early in 1891 five 
more mills joined forces under 
the name of The Northwestern 
Consolidated Milling Company. 
Later this company leased three 
mills which formerly belonged 
to the Minneapolis Flour 

Manufacturing Company. These 
various changes brought the 
great flour producers into the fol- 
lowing groups: 

Flour Mills and Daily Capacity. 

Washburn-Crosby Co. 

Daily Capacity 

A Mill 12,000 

B Mill 3,000 

C Mill 12,000 

D Mill 2,500 

E Mill 5,000 

F Mill 600 

G Mill 1,200 

North Star 900 

Rye Mill 2,500 

Pillsbury Flour Mills Co. 

Pillsbury A 13,500 

Pillsbury B 4,500 

Anchor 2,500 

Palisade 3,200 

Lincoln (at Ano- 
ka) 1,300 

A South 3,000 

Rye Mill 650 


Northwestern Consolidated Milling 

A 3,400 

B 2,700 

C 2,500 

D 2,700 

E 2,200 

F 3,200 

Cataract; Barber 

Milling Co 1,300 

Phoenix; Phoenix 

Mill Co 800 

Dakota; National 

Milling Co 700 

Century Milling Co.. 2,000 
Russell-Miller Mill- 
ing Co 3,000 

N o k o m i s : Yerxa, 
Andrews & Thur- 
ston 1,000 

Atkinson 1,000 

Clarx Milling Co 1,500 

Fredman Milling Co. 100 

The total capacity of the Minne- 
apolis flour mills is about 95,000 

The mills employ about 2,000 
men in the manufacturing depart- 
ments. Following are the outputs 
and exports since 1890: 

Output, Exports, 

barrels. barrels. 

1890 6,988,830 2,107,125 

1891 7,877,947 3,038,065 

1892 9,750,470 3,337,205 

1893 9,377,635 2,877,277 

1894 9,400,535 2,370,756 

1895 10,581,635 3,080,935 

1896 12,874,890 3,717,265 

1897 13,625,205 3,942,630 

1898 14,232,595 3,994,395 

1899 14,291,780 4,009,135 

1900 15,082,725 4,702,485 

1901 16,021,880 3,879,905 

1902 16,260,105 3,410,405 

1903 15,582,785 3,081,115 

1904 13,652,735 1,741,120 

1905 14,366,095 2,188,775 

1906 13,825,795 2,425,035 

1907 13,660,465 2,349,54^ 

1908 13,694,895 2,121,25a 

1909 14,867,245 1.645,970 

1910 15,375,760 1,323,650 

1911 15,795,470 1,136,685 

1912 17,031,935 1,132,640 

1913 17,673,725 1,764,805 

1914 17,769,280 1,873,930 

1915 18,089,195 1,459,690 

1916 18,541,650 1,410,970 

1917 17,610,845 1,085,590 

(See Watek Power, Grain, etc.) 
Flour Barrels. (See Cooperage.) 

Flour City, The. — A popular so- 
briquet for Minneapolis, originat- 
ing, of course, in her reputation 
as a milling center. 

Fort Snelling-.-— In 1819 the Unit- 
ed States government established 
a military post at the mouth of 
the Minnesota river. This sus> 
sequently became Fort Snelling 
and has been maintained ever 
since as a military station. T& 
location is equidistant from Mi& 
neapolis and St. Paul. The o'Ui 
fort buildings and the modern bar- 
racks, supply buildings and quar- 
ters stand on a high bluff overlook- 
ing the gorge of the Mississippi 
and the valley of the Minnesota 
It is a most picturesque site. 

During the summer of 1917 the 
fort and reservation have been 
crowded with soldiers. Several 
regiments of the regular army and 
of the National Guard have been 
encamped most of the time and 
the Officers' Reserve Training 
Camp has brought thousands of 
volunteers to the fort for training. 
The Fort Snelling reservation com- 
piles about 2,000 acres. 

A pleasant way to visit the fort 
is by carriage, automobile or bi- 

! * FLO-FRU 

cycle via West River Drive and 
Minnehaha Falls and returning on 
the east side of the river or over 
the same route. Fort Snelling 
may be reached by the Snelling- 
Minnehaha electric line, and the 
falls and the fort may be visited 
in the course of a single excursion 
of a few hours. 

Franklin Steele Square. — Be- 
tween Portland and 5th Avs. S.. 
and lGth and 17th Sts. It was 
presented to the city, by heirs of 
the late Franklin Steele. (See 
Park System.) 

Freight Depots. — The freighf 
depots of the various railways en- 
tering the city are situated as fol- 

Chicago,, Bur. & Northern. — Cor. 
4th Av. N. and 3rd St. 

Chicago, Mil. & St. P. — Cor. 3rd 
Av. S. and 2nd St. 

Chicago, Rock Id. & Pac. — Cor. 
4th St. and 8th Av S. 

Chicago, St. P., Mpls. & Omaha. 
— Cor. 4th Av. N. and River St. 

Chicago, Great Western. — ■ 
Bridge Square. 

Dan Patch and Luce Electric Lines 
Holden St. and N. 9th St. 

Great Northern. — Cor. 4th Av. 
N. and Washington. 

Hennepin Avenue Station, Minn. 
Transfer Ry. — E. Hennepin Av. 
and Stinson Boul. 

Minneapolis, St. P. & Sault Ste. 
Marie. — Cor. 5th Av. N. and 2d St. 

Minneapolis & St. Louis. — Cor. 
4th Av. N. and 4th St. 

Northern Pacific — Cor. 7th Av. 
N. and 1st St.* 

Fruit. — Minneapolis is one of 
the largest fruit markets in the 
west; in fact the largest, with the 
exception of Chicago. An enor- 
mous business has grown up in 
handling fruit on commission. The 
shipments come from the far 
South, California and foreign 
countries, and during the summer 
season from the surrounding 
states. The center of the fruit 
trade is 2nd Av. N. and 6th St. 


Fuel. — Water transportation via 
the great lakes and the lumber 
sawing industry of the city have 
solved the fuel problem for Min- 
neapolis. Anthracite coal is gen- 
erally used for heating purposes. 
It is shipped by the lakes in sum- 
mer. Soft coals are used in con- 
siderable quantities for generating 
steam and occasionally for domes- 
tic purposes. Mill wood and an- 
thracite coal were long regarded 
as the most economical fuels for 
family kitchen use, but gas is 
growing more popular every year. 
(See Gas.) 

Furnished Booms. — The practice 
of renting furnished rooms is very 
common in Minneapolis. Cards 
announcing "furnished rooms" are 
displayed with as much nonchal- 
ance as was exhibited by the fa- 
mous Mrs. Bardell and her prefer- 
ence for "single gentlemen," seems 
to have descended to the whole 
race of room renters. Almost any 
quality of accommodations may be 
secured in any locality in the city. 
Advertising in the "want" columns 
of the daily papers is a favorite, 
and perhaps the best way, of se- 
curing a lodger or a room. Prices 
range from $5 to $20 or more per 
month for single rooms, and in- 
definitely more for suites or apart- 
ments according to quality anri lo- 
cation. Transient lodgers can find 
accommodations at any of the Eu- 
ropean plan hotels or the array of 
cheap lodging houses whose prices 
run all the way down to 10c per 

The Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation, 44 So. Tenth St., main- 
tains a directory of several hun- 
dred rooming houses all of which 
have been personally inspected by 
one of their secretaries and found 
sanitary, morally wholesome and 
reasonable in price. This infor- 
mation is given free to all 

Furniture. — The manufacture of 
furniture and its distribution from 

the factories and through jobbing 
houses, has become one of the 
most important industries of the 
city. Including factories in and 
about the city and wholesale 
houses, there are fully forty im- 
portant concerns in the business 
and the annual sales reach 
five or six million dollars. Manu- 
facturing includes the usual gen- 
eral lines of furniture as well as 
a number of concerns making spe- 
cial lines, such as iron and brass 
beds, bedding, wire mattresses, 
parlor furniture, desks, etc. Min- 
neapolis is also the market for the 
product of several large factories 
at outside towns which keep their 
goods on sale here and ship large 
quantities here for distribution. 
The city is easily the most im- 
portant furniture market west of 
Chicago and one of the leading 
furniture manufacturing cities of 
the country. 

Garbag'e. (See Ashes.) 

Garden Club. — The Garden Club 
of Minneapolis was organized in 
1911 for the promotion of interest 
in gardening, especially in vacant 
lots. This idea has broadened un- 
til the purposes of the club include 
the direct social, hygienic and 
economic benefit to the individuals 
actually engaged in gardening un- 
der It's direction, as well as the 
beautification of the city and the 
general interest of the people in 
home grounds improvement. 

Gas. — Consumers of gas are 
supplied by the Minneapolis Gas 
Light Company; a corporation 
having the exclusive vight to lay 
gas mains in the streets of the 

When it is desired to have prem- 
ises connected with the gas mains, 
the owner of the property or his 
agent must make application in 
writing at the office of the Gas 
Company. The Gas Light Com- 
pany taps the main, lays the pipe 
from thence into the building, puts 
in the necessary stop cock and 


, : . ' X: -^ ' 



. W\ ^ 





supplies the meter and connec- 
tions. As no charge is made for 
this, except for a distance beyond 
30 feet from the lot line, the pipes, 
etc., remain the property of the 
Company and must not be dis- 
turbed, disconnected or removed 
without permission. When gas is 
desired to be used, the party who 
is to become responsible for the 
payment of the bills must make 
application in writing at the office 
of the Company, upon blanks pro- 
vided for the purpose. The Gas 
Light Company owns all meters 
and they are never sold, but loaned 
to consumers. When the gas 
meter is placed, no person other 
than an employe of the Company 
is permitted to remove or detach 
it. All meters are thoroughly in- 
spected and their accuracy proved 
before being placed in use. Every 
meter is periodically examined and 
tested for accuracy. Consumers 
should learn to read their meters. 
They can then compare the read- 
ings with their gas bills as pre- 
sented monthly. Full instructions 
for reading meters and the man- 
agement of gas both for illumina- 
tion and fuel, may be had at the 
office of the Company. The Com- 
pany also keeps a large stock of 
gas ranges, heaters, lamps, burners 
and various accessories for the 
benefit of its patrons. 

Pre-payment meters are sup- 
plied to consumers by the Gas 
Company when desired. The gas 
is sold and delivered through 
these meters at the net selling 
price and the monthly presenta- 
tion of gas bills becomes un- 
necessary. The Company erected 
in 1903 a handsome office build- 
ing at 16, 18 and 20 S. Seventh 
St., but in seven years these 
quarters were outgrown and in 
1912 a modern seven story of- 
fice building was completed ad- 
joinng the older structure. The 
two buildngs, which are connect- 
ed, give the company adequate fa- 
cilties and together form perhaps 
the most complete offices and 

salesrooms in the country for this 
line of business. 

In the older building are the 
bookkeepers and cashiers — every- 
thing connected with the sale of 
gas. Here the accounts with cus- 
tomers are kept and bills are 

The newer buildin'g is princi- 
pally devoted to new business of- 
fices and salesrooms for gas ap- 
pliances. This building is of 
concrete, fireproof construction 
and is elaborately decorated, and 
so arranged as to display all mod- 
ern possibilities in the use of 
gas to the best advantage. The 
first floor is in fact a display 
room rather than a sales room. 
On the mezzanine floor is a beau- 
tiful rest room for ladies and a 
complete six room flat arranged 
so as to show the use of gas and 
modern gas appliances in every 
room of a modern dwelling. In 
the basement is the salesroom for 
gas ranges, heaters and industrial 
fuel appliances. An electric plant 
of 150 horse power capacity is in 
operation in the basement and 
supplies the electrical service for 
the entire building. Gas engines 
are used for operating the elec- 
tric plant. 

The third floor is devoted to 
the offices of the President, Vice 
President, Directors' room, etc., 
and the fourth floor to the new 
business, Auditor's office, library, 
rest room, dining room, kitchen, 
advertising, etc. The upper floors 
are used for storage and repair 

Altogether the building is a 
model of its kind and every detail 
has been so thoroughly thought 
of that the place is one well 
worth visiting. 

The Company has about 550 
miles of pipes laid in the city 
streets and about 85,000 consum- 
ers. Its works are situated at the 
foot of 14th Av. S., where they 
cover 'several acres. Visitors are 
allowed to inspect them and may 

secure permits upon application 
at the general office. 

Gateway, The. — The triangular 
space bounded by Nicollet, Henne- 
pin and Washington Avenues 
forming a vista from the Great 
Northern passenger station, where 
a majority of the visitors in the 
city arrive. 'A portion of the 
ground is parked, and fronting on 
Washington Av. is the Gateway 
Building for the convenience of 
the public, erected at a cost of 
about $90,000. The main building 
is flanked by colonnades between 
which will be placed a beautiful 
fountain, the gift of Mr. E. J. 
Phelps. At the ends of the colon- 
nades are drinking fountains pre- 
sented by the Daughters of Veter- 
ans. It is hoped that The Gate- 
way will be surrounded in time by 
buildings of character and dignity 
and become in fact a civic center. 

A flag pole 108 feet high (the 
gift of Monument Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution), 
was erected in the park on July 4, 
1917. (See Park System.) 

Gethsemane Episcopal Church. 
— This Church was organized in 
1856 and was for many years in 
charge of the late Bishop David 
B. Knickerbacker. The present 
church edifice at the corner of 4th 
Av. S. and 9th St. was erected 
about thirty years ago. 

Glen Xiake Farm School. — A 

farm home for delinquent boys, 
maintained by the county, com- 
prises 150 acres on the Eden 
Prairie road near Glen Lake Sta- 
tion on Minnetonka Electric line. 
The school is under the jurisdic- 
tion of Judge E. F. Waite, of the 
Juvenile Court, co-operating with 
the county commissioners. D. C. 
MacKenzie' is superintendent. 

Glenwood-Camden Parkway. — A 
part of the "Grand Rounds," ex- 
tending from Glenwood Park, 19th 
Av. N. to Camden Park via west 
city limits and 45th Av. N. The 
driveway is under construction in 

1917. When completed it will be 
one of the most beautiful sections 
of the park and parkway system 
surrounding the city. (See Park 


Glenwood Park extends from 
16th Av. N. south almost to Cedar 
lake, is irregular in shape, and its 
surface is greatly diversified. 
Within its boundaries are some of 
the highest points of land in Hen- 
nepin county, and hidden among 
these hills lie three beautiful 
sheets of water, one covering an 
area of about six acres; another, 
Glenwood lake, of 38 acres, and 
Brownie lake of 18 acres. The 
park contains about 560 acres. 
Western Av. & 2d St. line to West- 
ern Av. terminus; walk 1 mile. 
(See Park System.) 

Government. — Powers of admin- 
istration of municipal affairs are 
vested in a mayor, council and 
several "boards." The duties of 
the latter relate of course to the 
various departments such as 
schools, parks, library, etc., and 
they act independently of the 
council. The mayor has little di- 
rect appointive power. His largest 
power in any one direction is in 
the police department, of which 
he is virtually head. Mayor, 
comptroller, treasurer and the 
members of the city council are 
elected directly by the vote of the 
people. The council which is com- 
posed of two aldermen from each 
ward, appoints a city clerk, en- 
gineer, attorney, health officer, 
chief of fire department, super- 
visor of water works and most 
of the minor officers. The council 
also has power to issue bonds, to 
appropriate funds for various uses. 
to order and direct all public 
works, license and restrict liquor 
traffic and generally to look after 
the maintenance of good order in 
the city. Ordinances may be 
passed over the mayor's veto by a 
two-thirds vote. The city engi- 
neer has general charge of the 

sewers, bridges, construction of 
water works, and the direction and 
supervision of street and sidewalk 
improvements. The president of 
the council appoints biennially, 
committees on health, sewers, 
streets, bridges, gas, fire depart- 
ment, ordinances, ways and means, 
etc., whose business it is to con- 
sider all matters pertaining to 
these subjects and recommend ac- 
tion on the part of the council. 

Civil Service. — By legislative 
enactment in 1913 civil service was 
introduced, the provisions of the 
law affecting nearly all of the city 
employes except teachers. 

Boards. — The Library Board 
consists of the mayor, president 
of the board of education, presi- 
dent of the state university and 
six members elected by two's at 
the regular city elections for 
terms of six years. This board 
has full power to perform all acts 
necessary to the establishment 
and maintenance of public libra- 
ries, reading rooms, art galleries, 
etc. The school board consists of 
seven members elected by the peo- 
ple for six-year terms. This 
board has entire control of the 
public schools. More extensive 
powers are vested in the park 
board. It may condemn land for 
public parks, assess the cost upon 
benefitted property, enter upon en- 
tire control of streets (with con- 
sent of the council) and issue 
bonds for park purposes. The city 
treasurer is custodian of the funds 
of all these boards and the city 
comptroller must sign all war- 
rants. Maximum limits for the 
tax for every fund are established 
by charter and the board of tax 
levy reduces the figures as much 
as possible. Embraced in the 
membership of the board of health 
are the mayor, committee on 
health and hospitals of the city 
council and a health officer ap- 
pointed by the council. 

An account of the functions of 


the municipal court will be found 
under that head. The city coun- 
cil attends to the supervision of 
buildings, plumbing, street light- 
ing, meats and food, weights and 
measures through inspectors and 
superintendents. A board of 
charities and corrections looks 
after the poor, the city hospital 
and the workhouse. (See City 

Government Building". (See 
Post Office and Federal Building.) 

Government Locks and Dams. — 
The U. S. government has under 
development a system of slack 
water navigation which will make 
the Mississippi river easily navi- 
gable, at all stages of water, to 
the landing at Minneapolis. A 
great dam and lock (with a lift of 
30 feet) have been built near Min- 
nehaha Park, creating a pool ex- 
tending to the head of navigation 
at the foot of South Washington 
Av. Here municipal terminals are 
being constructed. (See Naviga- 

Grain Inspection. — The official 
inspection of all grain arriving in 
Minneapolis is made by the depu- 
ties of the state grain inspector. 
These men visit the railroad yards 
each morning, take samples of 
newly arrived bulk grain, and pre- 
pare certificates of inspection and 
grade for the consignees. For this 
service a fee of 25c per car load is 
charged and the same rate is au- 
thorized on grain loaded out of an 
elevator. Sampling is done by 
means of pointed and closed tubes 
about four feet long with a cavity 
near the lower end which may be 
opened when thrust deep into the 
bulk grain, thus securing a sample 
from the bottom of the car, and 
preventing the possibility of 
fraud. Scales are also provided 
for weighing the samples and thus 
determining the weight per bushel. 
Much the larger part of the in- 
spectors' work is, of course, in 
wheat. Great care and good judg- 


merit are necessary to make just 
inspection on the endless variety 
of wheat received. The estab- 
lished grades are No. 1 Hard 
Spring Wheat, No. 1 Northern 
Spring Wheat, No. 2 Northern 
Spring Wheat, No. 3 Spring Wheat, 
No. 4 Spring Wheat, Rejected 
Spring Wheat, three grades of 
White Winter Wheat, four grades 
of Hard Winter Wheat, three 
grades of Red Winter Wheat, 
and four grades of Durum 

Grain Trade. — Minneapolis is 
the grain market of the North- 
west. Her water power and flour 
mills early attracted the scattered 
oroduce of Minnesota and Dakota 
?n frontier days, and with the gi- 
gantic development of both agri- 
cultural and milling interests in 
the past two decades, their rela- 
tive positions have been main- 
tained. Wheat is the chief cereal 
product of Minnesota and the Da- 
kotas and it is of course, the lead- 
ing article of merchandise in the 
grain trade. Other cereals are 
handled in great quantities; but 
wheat so far eclipses them as to 
make their really creditable bulk 
appear insignificant. No. 1 hard 
wheat and Minneapolis flour 
ground therefrom have a reputa- 
tion around the world. The busi- 
ness of handling the vast bulk of 
wheat, amounting to about ninety 
millions of bushels in a year, is 
one of the most important ele- 
ments in the city's prosperity. It 
employs an enormous capital and 
an army of men, not only in the 
offices of the commission mer- 
chants, and elevator companies in 
the city, but in the hundreds of 
elevators along the diverging lines 
of railway. The details of the 
grain trade are very interesting. 
Every railroad station through 
Minnesota and the Dakotas has its 
elevator or grain warehouse. 
Some of these were built by pri- 
vate parties, others by the rail- 

roads to accommodate traffic, and 
many by corporations or "elevator 
companies" having headquarters in 
Minneapolis. From these local 
elevators the farmers ship to com- 
mission firms in the city or sell 
direct to the agents of the grain 

"Nearly all the money paid for 
grain in the interior is sent from 
this city by the elevator companies 
and to their agents in the coun- 
try. Thus, Minneapolis is not only 
the market to which the grain Is 
shipped, and where it is sold, but 
the' financial center from which 
the money is sent out to purchase 
and move the grain crops of the 

When the wheat arrives in the 
city it must ordinarily be stored 
soon after inspection. (See Ghain 
Inspection.) To accommodate the 
vast quantity often received in a 
very short space of time, a very 
large elevator capacity is required. 
(See Elevators.) The weekly re- 
ceipts are frequently several mil- 
lion bushels when the new crop is 
moving and at that season, Octo- 
ber and November, the grain trade 
Is at its liveliest. The rush of 
wheat to the city is sometimes so 
great that the railroad yards are 
blockaded and enough cars to 
handle the wheat can not be ob- 
tained. The millers buy either "on 
track," or in storage, from the 
commission men or elevator lines; 
but many of them control elevator , 
lines of their own and buy direct 
from the producers. Millers are 
also largely interested in the great 
storage elevators in Minneapolis. 
The commission men receive one 
cent per bushel for receiving and 
selling wheat, barley and rye; and 
%c for corn and oats. In lots of 
5,000 bu. or more a uniform rate 
of y 2 c per bushel is charged for 
buying and shipping, the receiv- 
ing commission being charged for 
lesser amounts. 

Minneapolis is the largest pri- 
mary wheat market in the world. 

The following comparative table 
shows the receipts last year at 
the principal primary points: 


Minneapolis 101,021,250 

Duluth 30,576,769 

New York '. 78,217,300 

Chicago 31,751,000 

Kansas City 36,954,900 

The flour mills formerly con- 
sumed nearly all of the wheat re- 
ceived in the city. More recently 
a shipping demand has arisen and 
now Minneapolis supplies hun- 
dreds of millers in the neighbor- 
ing states, and as far east as In- 
diana and Ohio. The shipments 
last year were 33,000,000 bushels. 

The entire receipts of grain in 
Minneapolis for the year 1917 
were 234,244,890 bu. In this was 
included 8,892,200 bu. of flax 
seed, a large part of which was 
made into linseed oil at Minne- 
apolis, this being the principal 
manufacturing point in the coun- 
try for that article. Minneapolis 
is also the leading market in the 
country for barley and received 
over 37,000,000 bu. last year. (See 
Flour and Flour Mills and Ele- 
vators. ) 

Great Northern Passenger Sta- 
tion. — The larger part of the pas- 
senger traffic of the city is han- 
dled at the Great Northern Pas- 
senger station, at the foot of 
Hennepin and Nicollet Avs. This 
completely modern station was 
begun in 1912 and opened for 
traffic early in 1914 taking the 
place of the old "union station" 
built in 1884. The exterior of 
the building gives little idea of 
the commodious interior arrange- 
ments. The main waiting room 
is 62 by 155 feet in size with an 
adjoining train concourse 252 feet 
in length. From the concourse 
passengers descend by elevator or 
stairway to the train platforms, 
each platform being provided with 
its own separate means of en- 
trance and doing away entirely 
with the crossing of tracks in 
the train sheds. Baggage is han- 


died on electric motor trucks 
with rubber-tired wheels from 
the main baggage room along a 
gallery to the far end of the train 
sheds where it is lowered to the 
platforms by electric elevators 
and landed within a few feet of 
the baggage cars of out-going 
trains. Passengers see little of 
the handling of baggage which is 
such a nuisance in many stations. 
A complete power station fur- 
nishes light and heat for the en- 
tire passenger terminal with 
power for a washed air ventilat- 
ing system, vacuum cleaning 
plant, etc. The ticket offices are 
models of convenience, and cen- 
trally and conspicuously located. 
A large and fully equipped infor- 
mation booth stands in plain view. 
Off from the central waiting-room 
are men's smoking rooms, women's 
rooms, telegraph offices, telephone 
booths, news stands and cab 
stands. Upstairs, easily acces- 
sible by stairway and elevator, 
are lunch and dining-rrooms. The 
cost of the station alone was ap- 
proximately a million dollars. 
All street car lines pass or trans- 
fer to the depot and it is within 
a few blocks of the leading ho- 
tels. Trains of the following 
railroads arrive and depart from 
this station: 

Great Northern; Chicago, St. 
Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha 
(Northwestern Line); Burlington; 
Northern Pacific, Great Western. 

Opposite the passenger station 
but operated as a part of it, is a 
terminal building for handling U. 
S. mail and express matter. 

Growth. (See Population.) 

Guaranty Building 1 . — (See Met- 
ropolitan Life Building.) 

Guide Books. — In addition to 
maps and guides of a local char- 
acter The Hudson Publishing Co., 
404 Kasota Bldg., corner Henne- 
pin and 4th St., carries all kinds 
of automobile guides and maps, 
guides to the principal cities of 

the country, maps of foreign 
countries, etc. 

Hack Fares. — Always have a 
distinct understanding with a hack 
or cab driver before entering the 
vehicle. The legal rates are clear- 
ly denned in the following con- 
densation from the city ordinance: 

One passenger not exceeding 1 
mile, 50 cents. 

Over 1 mile and not exceeding 
iy 2 miles, 75 cents. 

Over iy 2 miles and not exceed- 
ing 2 miles, $1. 

Each mile or fraction over 2 
miles, 25 cents. 

Each additional passenger of 
same party, without regard to dis- 
tance, 50 cents. 

Children between 5 and 14, half 
price; under 5 years, no charge. 

Use of carriage by hour, with 
one or more passengers, with priv- 
ilege of going from place to place, 
and stopping as often as may be 

First hour, $1.50. For each ad- 
ditional hour or part of an hour, 

(See Livery and Taxicabs.) 

Halls. — Minneapolis is well sup- 
plied with public halls. 

For large summer gatherings 
the Amphitheater at the State 
Fair grounds is available. It will 
hold 25,000 people. 

A magnificent Auditorium was 
erected during 1904 by the North- 
western National Life Insurance 
Company of Minneapolis, at • the 
corner of Nicollet Av. and 11th St. 
It is fire-proof and seats about 
2,500 people. (See Auditorium.) 

The Auditorium Annex, on the 
fourth floor of the building, is an 
excellent hall of 450 seating ca- 

Masonic Temple Hall in the 
temple at the corner of 6th St. and 
Hennepin Av. will seat perhaps 

The new Armory of the National 
Guard has a large floor space and 
is used for gatherings for which 
it may be suitable. Kenwood Park- 
way near Lyndale. 

The Assembly Room at the city 
shall will accommodate a gathering 
^f about 500. 

At the Handicraft Guild Bldg., 
89 S. 10th St., there is a beautiful 

small assembly room, seating 350 

The Y. M. C. A. Bldg., 10th St. 
and Mary Place, has a hall which 
seats 600 people. 

There is an excellent hall at 
the Minneapolis School of Music 
Bldg. on 8th St. at Mary Place, 
which is used for concerts and 
select gatherings. 

Hamline University. — Establish- 
ed in 1854 by the Methodist de- 
nomination. The buildings are at 
Hamline, midway between St. Paul 
and Minneapolis. The school is 
for both sexes. Rev. Dr. S. F. 
Kerfoot is president. The col- 
lege has always received liberal 
support from Minneapolis. (Min- 
neapolis & St. Paul electric cars.) 

Hardware. — Minneapolis has an 
extensive jobbing trade in hard- 
ware, this being one of the lines 
in which the city leads in the 
northwest. Prominent retail stores 
are W. K. Morison & Co., 15 S. 
7th St.; Warner Hardware Co., 13 
S. 6th St.; Gardner Hardware Co., 
304 Hennepin av. 

Health. — Minneapolis is regard- 
ed as one of the healthiest cities 
in the country. The climate is 
exceptionally favorable to those 
threatened with lung troubles. A 
careful sanitary regulation is re- 
moving such objectionable fea- 
tures as are often dangerous in 
newer cities and public opinion 
supports the city government in 
the extension of sanitary mea- 
sures. There is an elaborate sewer 
system and an abundant water 
supply. The death rate in 1916 
was 12.41 in a thousand. (See 
Health Department, Vital Sta- 
tistics, Hospitals, etc., etc.) 

Health Department. — The De- 
partment of Health consists of the 
mayor, the committee on health 
and hospitals of the city council, 
and the health commissioner who 
is elected by the city council. It 
is an executive body, with power 
to enforce all laws pertaining to 

matters of sanitation and health, 
and the health commissioner is the 
representative official in all such 
action. It enforces a number of 
ordinances and state laws, and is 
also guided by some rules and 
regulations issued for the direc- 
tion of its, inspectors and for the 
guidance of the public. It has 
more than forty employes, who 
are at work upon milk inspection, 
food inspection, nuisance inspec- 
tions of various kinds, contagious 
disease inspections, the record- 
ing of deaths, burials and births, 
and various other subjects which 
have to do with the health of the 
community. The inspectors are 
to keep the city clean, to exclude 
refuse from the alleys, to abate 
the practice of throwing waste 
material upon the surface of the 
soil, and order the regular 
cleansing of vaults and cesspools. 
Owners, as well as tenants, are 
held responsible for nuisances and 
unsanitary conditions, and are li- 
able to fine if notices from the 
health department requiring abate- 
ment are not heeded. The depart- 
ment has five nurses constantly 
at work in the care of tubercular 
disease and has also recently 
taken up hotel inspection. The 
office of the board is on the 
fourth floor of the city hall. (See 
Vital Statistics.) 

Hebrew Synagogues. — The syna- 
gogues of the Hebrews of Minne- 
apolis are as follows: 

Adath Yeshrum (Orthodox). — 
9th St. bet. 11th and 12th Aves. S. 

AnsheiTavrig (Orthodox). — 601 
N. 4th St. 


1820 17th Av. S. 

Bnai Aaron (Orthodox). — Cor. 
Aldrich and 8th Aves. N. 

Kennesseth Israel (Orthodox). 
Lyndale Av., bet. 5th and 6th Avs. 


Oak Lake and 8th Av. N. 

Nachlas Israel (Orthodox). — 
Cor. Colfax and 35th Aves. N. 

Roumanian (Orthodox). — 314 
15th Av. S. 

Temple Shaari Tov (Reformed). 
—Cor. 5th Av. S. and 10th St. 

High Dam. — (See Government 
Locks and Dams. 

Height of Buildings. — Court 
House tower to top of flagstaff, 400 
feet; Metropolitan Life building to 
top of tower, 218 feet; New York 
Life building, 140 feet; Lumber 
Exchange, 137 feet; West Hotel, 
128 feet; new Donaldson building, 
150 feet; Andrus building, 141 feet; 
Security Bank building, 136 feet; 
International Stock Food Co. build- 
ing tower, 240 feet; Washburn "C" 
elevator, highest building in mill- 
ing district, 200 feet; Hotel Radis- 
son, 200 feet, First National-Soo 
Line Bldg.. 250 feet. 

Hennepin Avenue. — One of the 

main thoroughfares of the city. 
Its course is southwest from the 
Mississippi river, where it joins 
Nicollet Av., to 28th St. where it 
turns due south. From the river 
to 10th St. it is 100 feet wide. 
From Lyndale Av. to Lake St. it 
is known as Hennepin Boulevard. 
Among its prominent buildings are 
the West hotel, Masonic Temple, 
Andrews hotel, Public Library, 
Lumber Exchange, Boston Blk., 
Temple Court, Plymouth Bldg., 
and Nicollet House. 

East Hennepin Avenue, recently 
created from parts of Central Av. 
and Division St., extends from the 
river opposite the foot of Henne- 
pin Av., northeast and east to the 
city limits. It will become, ulti- 
mately a part of a new interur- 
ban thoroughfare. 

Hennepin Ave. M. IS. Church. — 
In 1875 Hennepin Avenue Metho- 
dist Church was organized with 
about ninety members. The first 
house of worship was a frame 
tabernacle at the corner of First 
Av. N. and Eighth St. and it was 
not until 1882 that the familiar 
structure at the corner of Henne- 
pin Av. and Tenth St. was erected. 
In 1911 the church purchased 
a site at Lyndale and Grove- 
land Avs. where the present 
church building was completed in 
October, 1916. 


The new building - is said to be 
the finest Methodist church in the 
world and one of the most com- 
plete church "plants" in the coun- 
try. It is quite irregular in 
ground plan but the greatest 
length is 220 feet while the height 
to the top of the spire is 250 feet. 
The architecture is English Gothic. 
Indiana limestone is used in the 
exterior walls, while the walls and 
ceiling of the main auditorium, 
which seats 1,600, are lined with 
a tile having sound-absorbing 
qualities which serve to improve 
the acoustics. This main audi- 
torium is octagonal in form and 
so arranged that no pillar ob- 
structs a view of the pulpit from 
any part of the room. The pews 
and wood finish are of white oak. 

The great organ, the gift of Mr. 
Russell M. Bennett, is regarded as 
one of the finest in America. It 
has five manuals, 5,000 pipes, and 
has an echo organ in the dome, 
200 feet distant. 

Beneath the auditorium is a hall 
for social gatherings and in the 
adjoining guild hall are all the ad- 
juncts of a modern church "plant" 
— kitchens, gymnasium, offices, 
study rooms, class rooms, in fact, 
everything needed for the con- 
venience of the many and diverse 
activities of the church. The cost 
of the building with site and 
equipment was over $500,000. 

An art gallery composed of 
famous and valuable paintings, 
including biblical and religious 
subjects, has been presented to 
the church by Mr. Thomas B. 
Walker one of its most promin- 
ent members. 

Rev. Charles Wesley Burns is 

Hennepin County. — Minneapolis 
is the county seat and the only 
municipality of importance, in 
Hennepin county. The county 
takes its name from Father Hen- 
nepin, the explorer who discovered 
the Falls of St. Anthony in 1680. 
Hennepin county was organized 

under an act of the territorial leg- 
islature in 1852. Its length from 
north to south is about 32 miles 
and from east to west 38 miles. 
The county is extremely irregular 
in boundary. Its surface is rolling 
and is diversified by about 100 
lakes, including the famous Min- 

Hennepin Island. — An irregular 
mass of rock and debris lying in 
the Mississippi river at the Falls. 
It separates the east channel and 
water power from the west, or 
main channel, of the river. It was 
formerly crowded with mills. 

High License. (See Saloons.) 

High. Schools. — (See Public 

Historical. — In 1805 Lieut. Z. W. 
Pike obtained from the Sioux In- 
dians for the United States gov- 
ernment, a grant of land about St. 
Anthony Falls. This became a 
military reservation and was not 
open for settlement. In 1838 the 
territory on the east bank of the 
Mississippi was thrown open and 
Franklin Steele established the 
first claim and became the founder 
of the village of St. Anthony which 
afterwards became part of Minne- 
apolis. Mr. Steele established the 
first saw mill in 1848. The new 
town grew rapidly but was con- 
fined to the east bank of the river. 
The late Col. John H. Stevens, an- 
other pioneer, obtained, in 1849, 
permission to take up a farm on 
the west side. Within a few years 
the new settlement was larger 
than St. Anthony. It received the 
name of Minneapolis, which is a 
compound of the Dakota "minne" 
(water) and the Greek ' "polls" 
(city). From 1855 Minneapolis 
grew marvelously. The develop- 
ment of the lumber and flour in- 
dustries, stimulated by the inex- 
haustible water power brought in 
thousands of settlers. Railroad 
building was carried on actively 
after the war and in a few years 

Minneapolis found herself the dis- 
tributing- point for one of the rich- 
est farming countries in the world. 
In 1867 a city government was 
chartered and in 1872 St. Anthony 
was annexed. (See Population.) 

Holidays. — In Minnesota the us- 
ual holidays are: Sunday, New 
Years Day, Lincoln's Birthday 
(Feb. 12), Washington's Birthday 
(Feb. 22), Good Friday, Memorial 
Day (May 30), Independence Day 
(July 4), Labor Day, Election Day 
(general), Thanksgiving Day and 
Christmas Day. On these days the 
public offices and banks are closed. 

Holy Rosary Catholic Church. — 
Was founded in 1878. Its fine 
building at 18th Av. S. and E. 24th 
St. was completed in 1888 at a 
cost (including the grounds and 
adjoining convent) of over $200,- 
000. Rev. J. D. Fowler is pastor. 

Hopkins. — A village southwest 
of the city on the Minneapolis & 
St. Louis Ry. H. & D. division of 
the C, M. & St. P. Ry., and the 
Great Northern Ry. Como-Hop- 
kins, and Lake Minnetonka lines. 
(See St. Louis Park.) 

Horticultural Society, The State. 
— An organization for the promo- 
tion of horticulture. A state in- 
stitution; the meetings are usual- 
ly held in Minneapolis. A. W. 
Latham, secretary. Kasota Bldg., 
Cor. 4th St. and Hennepin Av. 

Hospitals and Dispensaries. — 

In the absence, in early years, of 
any hospital under municipal man. 
agement private hospitals flour- 
ished and reached a peculiar de- 
gree of efficiency. Several have 
buildings specially adapted to their 
use, and the medical treatment and 
attention is usually of the best. 
Following is a list of the principal 
institutions of this class: 

Asbury Methodist Hospital and 
Rebecca Deaconess Home. — 9th 
St. and Elliott Av. General. 


Bethany Home. — 3719 S. Bryant 
Av. For unfortunate women and 
their infants. Charitable. 

City Hospital. — 5th St. and 7th 
Av. S. Public. 

Elliott Memorial Hospital. — 
University of Minnesota. < 

Hopewell Sanitarium. — Cam- 
den Place. Conducted by the city 
for early cases of tuberculosis. 

Lymanhurst. — For children and 
babies, Chicago & Columbus Avs. 
and 18th St. 

Maternity Hospital. — 2201 
Western Av. For women during 

Northwestern Hospital. — 2627 
Chicago Av. For women and chil- 
dren. Has a handsome brick build- 
ing erected for the purpose. Main- 
tains a Nurses' Training School. 

Norwegian Lutheran Deacon- 
ess Hospital. — 15 th Av. S. and 
24th St. General. 

Quarantine Hospital. — Near 
Lake Calhoun. For contagious dis- 

St. Mary's Hospital. — 2416 S. 
6th St. General. Under the man- 
agement of Catholic Sisterhood of 
St. Joseph. 

St. Barnabas Hospital. — 901 S. 
6th St. Receives all classes of pa- 
tients. Under management of 
Episcopal denomination. 

Swedish Hospital. — 723 10th Av. 
S. General. 

Thomas Memorial Hospital. — 
Riverside and 22nd Av. S. For ad- 
vanced consumptive cases. Under 
management of United Norwe- 
gian Church. 

University Free Dispensary. — 
Regular and Homeopathic. 1808- 
10 S. Washington Av. 

Visiting Nurse Children's 
Camp. — (Conducted by the Visiting 
Nurse Assn.) — Glenwood Park. 
For tuberculous children. 

Wells Memorial House Free 
Dispensary. — 116 N 11th St. 

(See also Benevolent Societies 
and Institutions.) 

Hotels. — Minneapolis is well pro- 
vided with hotel accommodations. 
The city is equal to the task of 
entertaining enormous gatherings 
such as assemble during great 
conventions or at the time of the 


state fair or other public attrac- 
tions. The Radisson hotel, com- 
pleted in 1909, is one of the finest 
hotels in the country and the 
great West hotel has been for 
years famed throughout the land. 
(See under separate headings.) 
Hotel accommodations range 
through a list of half a dozen or 
more finely kept hostelries and 
many of medium grade to the 
cheaper houses which abound in 
the vicinity of the railroad depots. 
The European plan prevails. 
Prices at the better class of hotels 
vary from $1 to $3 per day as 
a minimum with an upward range 
for extra accommodations reach- 
ing $5 per day and sometimes 
more if the very best the house 
affords is wanted. When one ex- 
pects to remain several weeks or 
months much better terms may be 
secured and should always be bar- 
gained for in advance. Several ho- 
tels slightly removed from the 
business center derive a large 
share of their business from regu- 
lar boarders; still others farther 
out make hardly a pretense of re- 
ceiving transient guests. These are 
classed as family hotels. The lead- 
ing hotels are the West, Nicollet, 
Vendome, Rogers, Radisson, Plaza, 
Dyckman, Leamington and An- 
drews. Following is a list of 
the principal hotels in the city 
with location: 

Allen. — Cor. 2d Av. S. and 3d 

Andrews. — Cor. Hennepin Av. 
and 4th St. 

Beaufort. — 112-16 S. 3rd St. 

Belleview. — 1227 Hennepin. 

Berkeley. — Cor. Marquette Av. 
and 13th St. 

Camfield. — Marquette Av. and 
8th St. 

Clinton. — Cor. 4th Av. S. and 
Grant St. 

Commercial. — 1 Central Av. 

Dyckman. — 6th St. near Nicol- 

Elgin. — 806-10 Hennepin Av. 

Empress. — 7th St., 2nd to 3rd 
Av. N. - 

French. — 43 Central Av. 

Glbnwood. — 9 N. Washington 

Golden West. — 301 S. Washing- 
ton Av. 

Hampshire Arms. — Cor. 4th Av. 
and 9th St. 

Hastings. — Cor. 12th and Haw- 

Landour. — 820 Nicollet Av. 

Leamington. — 3d Av. S. from 
10th to 11th St. 

Majestic — 10 S. 7th St. 

Maryland. — Vine PL and Grant 

National. — 205 S. Washington. 

New Albion. — 711 Nicollet. 

Nicollet. — Hennepin, Washing- 
ton and Nicollet Aves. 

Pauly. — Cor. Nicollet Av. and 
High St. 

Plaza. — Hennepin and Kenwood 

Radisson. — 7th St., near Nicol- 

Richmond. — 826 Nicollet Av. 

Rogers. — Cor. Nicollet Av. and 
4th St. 

Russell. — 14-16 S. 4th St. 

San Angelo. — 1221 Nicollet Av. 

Southern. — 822 4th Av. S. 

St. James. — 12 N. 2nd St. 

Strand. — Cor. Washington and 
2nd Av. S. 

Stratford. — Nicollet and 12th 

Summers. — 4th Av. and 10th St. 

Van Eyce. — 1224 Nicollet Av. 

Vendome. — 11 to 21 S. 4th St. 

Waverly. — 1107-1111 Harmon PI. 

West. — Cor. Hennepin Av. and 
5th St. 

Windom. — 119 Univ. Av. S. E. 

Williston. — 5th Av. S. and 10th 

Womans. 122 Hennepin Av. 

House Moving. — The house mov- 
ing business is a recognized occu- 
pation and sometimes furnishes 
employment for a considerable 
number of men. A municipal 
ordinance prohibits the removal of 
a house from one point to another 
within the fire limits, and other 
wholesome restrictions are im- 
posed. (See Fire Limits.) 

loe Yachting". — This Is a favorite 
amusement during the winter and 
at Minnetonka, Lake Calhoun, 
White Bear and other lakes near 
the city many fine ice yachts are 
owned. The Minnetonka Yacht 
Club has a club house at St. Louis 
Bay, and is a well established or- 

Improvement Associations. — 
Neighborhood organizations are 
maintained in many parts of the 
city with the object of securing 
local public improvements and 
maintaining a high standard in 
the upkeep of private property 
The Minneapolis Joint Improve- 
ment Association is a central 
body through which all the local 
associations act together in mat- 
ters of interest to the whole city. 

Improvement League. — See Min- 
neapolis Improvement League. ) 

Industrial Education. — Manual 
training work is carried on at the 
high schools. The rooms are fitted 
with benches, tools and apparatus 
necessary for instruction and prac- 
tice in the departments of cabinet 
work, carving and metal work. 
The work is in the main simple 
and elementary, but pupils are ad- 
vanced rapidly, when they show 
proficiency, and many very credit- 
able and remarkable specimens of 
work are the result. In carpentry, 
cabinet making and wood carving 
the Minneapolis manual training 
schools lead the country. Boys 
frequently leave the workshops of 
the schools to engage in mechani- 
cal employment at good wages. 
On the other hand, the College of 
Engineering and Architecture 
(see University of Minnesota.) 
offers to boys an opportunity for 
higher and more complete techni- 
cal education. (See Public 
Schools, Handicraft Guild and Dun- 
woody Institute.) 

Infirmaries. — (See Hospitals and 


Information Bureaus. — The 

Northwestern Information Bureau, 
404 Kasota building, where this 
"Dictionary" is published, answers 
all questions regarding Minneapo- 
lis and the Northwest (letters 
should enclose postage) and un- 
dertakes special investigations. 
The Northwestern National Bank, 
407-13 Marquette Av., maintains a 
free information bureau in its 
main lobby where questions are 
answered, not only regarding 
banking matters, but on every 
other subject connected with Min- 
neapolis and the Northwest. Dur- 
ing state fair week an information 
bureau for strangers is main- 
tained near the railroad depots. 

The Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation at 44 So. Tenth St., is 
headquarters for all sorts of in- 
formation of value to young men. 
It makes a specialty of informa- 
tion about rooming and boarding 

Institute of Arts. — See Art In- 

Insurance. — (See Fire Insur- 
ance and Life Insurance.) 

Interlachen Country Club. — Or- 
ganized early in 1910 and owning 
grounds of 147 acres three miles 
west of Lake Harriet on which 
there is a beautiful $50,000 club 
house and all the appointments of 
a complete country club, including 
an eighteen hole golf course, as 
well as tennis courts. Member- 
ship limited to 500. Geo. B. Clif- 
ford is president. 

Interlachen Park. — B e t w e e n 
Lakes Calhoun arid Harriet, on 
either side the connecting park- 
way. Contains 25 acres. Como- 
Harriet Line. (See Park Sys- 

Iron Works. — Minneapolis is the 
leading city in the northwest in 
the manufacture of structural 
iron and steel and ornamental 
iron work. The structural work 
ranges from the ordinary material 
for a business structure to the 


enormous requirements of great 
steel bridges, docks, grain ele- 
vators, mining and smelting 
works, railway depots and all the 
branches of large steel construc- 
tion. Minneapolis product of this 
kind may be found in every part 
of the United States, Mexico, Can- 
ada and some foreign countries. 
The ornamental work includes all 
kinds of casting and foundry 
product. The ornamental lamp 
posts on the principal streets of 
the city are made in Minneapolis 
and have been in large demand 
from other places. 

Jail. — The county jail is in the 
upper story, or more properly the 
attic of the court house. It is one 
of a very few prisons constructed 
in the upper portion of a county 
building and has attracted much 
interest among officials. 

Jewelers. — The principal Jewelry 
stores are on Nicollet Av. Large 
and magnificent stocks are car- 
ried, the display of gems, watches, 
silverware, fine pottery, cut glass, 
etc. being the equal of any city of 
this size in the country. Lead- 
ing jewelers are J. B. Hudson & 
Son, 37-39 S. 7th St.; White & 
MacNaught, 506 Nicollet; S. Ja- 
cobs & Co., 524-26 Nicollet; Weld 
ft Sons, 620 Nicollet. 

Jewish Synagogues. — (See He- 
brew Synagogues.) 

Jobbing Trade. — The growth of 
the wholesale trade of Minneapolis 
has been steady and in proportion 
to the development of the tributa- 
ry country. St. Paul formerly 
held a position in advance as a 
jobbing point, but now Minneapo- 
lis is firmly established not only 
as having much the largest 
wholesale trade but as the most 
complete market. The volume of 
her jobbing business is in excess 
of all northwestern rivals. In 
several lines, notably in dry goods 
and hardware, Minneapolis has 
the largest individual business 

houses. One great general mer- 
chandise wholesale house occu- 
pies the largest mercantile build- 
ing west of Chicago. Half a doz- 
en large grocery jobbers, as many 
wholesalers of paper, as many 
more wholesale jewelry concerns, 
— and jobbers of hardware, mil- 
linery, drugs, hides and furs, cof- 
fees and spices, furniture, meats, 
notions, building materials, fish, 
harness, seeds, paint, cigars, 
glass, notions, plumbers' supplies, 
and a hundred other lines as di- 
verse as these, all help to em- 
phasize the importance and com- 
pleteness of the wholesale mar- 
ket of the city. For years Min- 
neapolis has been the leading 
fruit jobbing point in the west 
outside Chicago, and is first in the 
world as a jobber of farm imple- 
ments and machinery. The vol- 
ume of the wholesale business of 
the city is now roundly estimated 
at $300,000,000 annually, and con- 
stantly increasing. Most of the 
wholesale establishments are sit- 
uated on 2nd St., Washington Av., 
3rd and 4th, 5th and 6th Sts., and 
the intersecting avenues between 
Hennepin Av. and 10 th A v. N. 

Jones-Harrison Home. — A home 
for the aged. (See Woman's 
Christian Association.) 

Jitney Busses. — The Jitney Bus 
idea struck Minneapolis early in 
1915 and by June some 200 busses 
were in operation. In 1918 they 
were taken over by the Street 
Railway company. 

Juvenile Protective League. — 
A most efficient organization for 
philanthropic work among chil- 
dren. It was instrumental in se- 
curing the Farm School for Boys 
at Glen Lake, southwest of the 
city, and maintains physical re- 
search work among children 
brought before the Juvenile Court. 
Rev. L. A. Crandall is president. 
Chas. L. Burt is executive secre- 

Kenwood. — The name of a 
charming suburb lying between 
Cedar Lake and Lake of the Isles 
and about two and a half miles 
southwest of the center of the 
city. It is accessible by the Ken- 
wood & Johnson electric line and 
by Kenwood Parkway. 

Kenwood Parkway. — The pleas- 
antest drive to the lakes. It com- 
mences at Hennepin Av. opposite 
Loring Park and extends one and 
one-half miles to Lake of the Isles 
boulevard. (See Park System.) 

Kindergartens. — Numerous kin- 
dergartens are maintained in vari- 
ous parts of the city. They are 
frequently connected with the 
church organizations, while others 
are independent. The public 
schools maintain kindergartens, 
at the Blaine, Bremer, Calhoun, 
Franklin, George Bancroft, Grant, 
Greeley, Hawthorne, Holland, Irv- 
ing, Lake Harriet, Lincoln, Logan, 
Longfellow, Madison, Monroe, 
Schiller, Seward, Sheridan, Sum- 
ner, "Washington, and William 
Penn schools. A Normal school 
for Kindergartners is under the 
management of Miss Stella Louise 
Wood, 307 S. 9th St. 

Knit Goods. — Minneapolis is one 
of the leading producers of knit 
goods in the United States. A 
single establishment, the North- 
western Knitting Company, exclu- 
sively manufacturing Munsing- 
wear, is the largest manufacturer 
in the country of knit underwear 
sold under the maker's brand or 
name. The Munsingwear mills, 
which are located at the corner of 
Western and Lyndale Av. N., have 
the reputation of being the best 
equipped, most sanitary mills in 
this country. The mills give em- 
ployment to over 2,500 people, and 
more than 9,000,000 Munsingwear 
garments are sold annually. 
Other factories produce sweat- 
ers, hosiery and knit specialties in 
very large quantities. 


Labor Organizations. — T here 
are strong unions in every trade 
in the city. The Trades and Labor 
Council, formed by representatives 
of all departments of organized 
labor, meets on the 1st and 3d 
Wednesdays of each month at 104 
S. Wash. Av. 

Lafayette Club. — Club house. 
Minnetonka Beach, Lake Minneton- 
ka. This club owns about 45 
acres, on which are fine golf links, 
tennis courts, a large garage and 
the usual appointments of a high 
class country club. There are 
about 600 members. Hovey C. 
Clarke is president; Charles W. 
Sexton, treasurer; and Cavour S. 
Langdon, secretary. 

Lake Calhoun. — About three 
miles southwest of the business 
center and within the city limits. 
It is over a mile long and three- 
fourths of a mile broad. It may 
be reached in thirty minutes by 
the Como-Harriet electric line, or 
by driving but Hennepin Av., or 
over Kenwood Parkway. 

Lake Calhoun is connected with 
Lake of the Isles by means of a 
waterway spanned by three con- 
crete bridges and between the 
lakes is a lagoon which serves as 
a harbor. During the summer the 
Park Board operates public 
launches. Every 45 minutes after 
2:30 p. m. (every 1% hrs. 7 a. m. 
to 2:30 p. m.) the "Three Lakes" 
or the "Maid of the Isles" leaves 
Lake St. Landing for the tour of 
Lake Calhoun, Lake of the Isles, 
and Cedar Lake. Fare between 
any two landings on any one of 
the lakes, 5 cents. Round trip of 
the three lakes, 11 miles — 90 min- 
utes — 25 cents. (See Park Sys- 

Lake Harriet. — The most south- 
erly of the group of four lakes in 
the southwestern part of the city. 
It is nearly a mile long and over 
half a mile wide, and lies within 
high banks. Around it runs a pic- 
turesque park drive. At the north- 


west corner is a pavilion where 
refreshments may be obtained and 
where band concerts are held dur- 
ing- the summer. The lake and 
pavilion are reached by the Como- 
Harriet electric railway, over 
which cars reach the center of the 
city via Hennepin Boul., in about 
30 minutes. Over the park drive 
the distance is about five miles. 
The launch "Lake Harriet" makes 
the tour of the lake in about half 
an hour. Pare, 10 cents, or be- 
tween any two landings, 5 cents. 
(See Park System.) 

Lake Nokomis. — The park sur- 
rounding and including Lake No- 
komis (formerly Lake Amelia) 
and containing 410 acres. In 1915 
extensive dredging improvements 
in the lake are under way. 50th 
St. and Camden or Lake Nokomis- 
Camden Lines. (See Park Sys- 

Lake of the Isles. — This lake is 
controlled by the park board. It is 
the nearest to the center of the 
city of the group of lakes along 
the southwestern limits, and may 
be reached by the Kenwood Boul. 
or by Hennepin Av., turning west 
at Franklin, or any street beyond, 
to 28th St. The Lake of the Isles 
Boul. surrounds the lake which is 
irregular in form and contains a 
large island. The park board has 
made extensive improvements in 
and about this lake which include 
connections by navigable water- 
ways with Lake Calhoun and Ce- 
dar lake. Como-Harriet or the 
Kenwood & Johnson car lines. 
(See Park System.) 

Lakes. — The beautiful natural 
bodies of water add much to the 
charm of Minneapolis. There are 
a dozen lakes wholly or partly 
within the city limits, besides a 
number of artificial park lakes, 
while within a few miles of the 
city there are scores of lakes of 
infinite variety of form and set- 
ting. The principal lakes in the 
city are Calhoun, Harriet, Lake of 

the Isles, Powderhorn, Nokomis. 
Rice, Brownie, Sandy, Cedar, Lor- 
ing park lake, and Glenwood 
(which belongs in the park sys- 
tem, but lies outside the limits). 
(See Parks.) 

Lakewood Cemetery. — A beauti- 
ful tract of several hundred acres 
3V2 miles from center of city lying 
between Lakes Calhoun and Har- 
riet, and reached by Como-Harriet 
electric cars. 

The Mortuary Chapel at Lake- 
wood is a building which is quite 
in a class by itself. Experts de- 
clare that its equal is not to be 
found in the world. It is absolutely 
pemanent. Of no other building, 
can it be said that neither wood, 
paint, varnish nor nails have en- 
tered into its construction. In the 
embellishment of the interior the 
mosaic and marble is designed and 
set with an artistic skill that has 
not been surpassed in mural deco- 
ration on this side of the Atlantic. 
A hydraulic lift connects the chap- 
el with the crematorium in the 
basement. In the front portion of 
the basement are to be catacombs 
and niches for incinerary urns as 
the custom of cremation shall in- 
crease its demand. 

Law School. — (See University 
op Minnesota.) 

Leamington Hotel. — The largest 
family hotel in the country. It oc- 
cupies the half block fronting on 
Third Av. S. from 10th to 11th 
streets, is ten stories high, has 850 
rooms, and is of modern concrete, 
fireproof construction. Features of 
the hotel are the main restaurant, 
cafe, grill room, breakfast room, 
private dining rooms, assembly 
room, ladies' club room, and loung- 
ing and smoking rooms for men. 

Legislative Districts. (See Po- 
litical Divisions.) 

Libraries. — The following is a 
list of the libraries which are of a 
public or semi-public character. 

Athenaeum. — (See Public Li- 
beaey. ) 

Augsbueq Seminaey. — 5,000 vol- 
umes; for the use of the semi- 
nary students and faculty. 

Directories 903 Northwestern 

Bldg. Directories of all states 
and principal cities; free. 

Hennepin County Medical Soc. 
— 5,600 volumes; Donaldson Bldg. 

Masonic. — 215 Masonic Temple. 

Minneapolis Bae Association. — 
Court House. 

Public. — Cor. 10th St. and Hen- 
nepin Av. (See Public Libeaey.) 

Rawlins Post Wae Libeaey. — 
Masonic Temple, Cor. 6th St. and 
Hennepin Av. A collection of lit- 
erature and relics of the war of 
the rebellion. 

St. Vincent de Paul. — 220 N. 3rd 
St. Catholic. 

Univeesity. — Contains about 
165,000 volumes for use of stu- 
dents and professors. Open to 
public for consultation from 8 a. 
m. to 10 p. m. week days during 
school year. 

life Insurance. — Minneapolis has 
a strong home company, the North- 
western National Life Insurance 
Co., and Is also state or north- 
western headquarters for many of 
the larger eastern companies. As 
the largest city and the financial 
center of the northwest it is in- 
evitable that Minneapolis will be 
the life insurance center. 

Unseed Oil. — The linseed oil 
industry has taken a prominent 
place among Minneapolis manu- 
factures and the city is now one 
of the largest flaxseed markets 
and linseed oil producers in the 
woi-ld. In Minneapolis and vicin- 
ity there are six mills with a 
capacity of about 800,000 barrels 
of oil yearly. Last year they 
shipped 133,900,000 lbs. of oil and 
221,134,000 lbs. of oil cake. 

Iiivery. — Livery facilities are 
both abundant and low priced. 
The stranger can hardly fail to 
find a good stable within a few 
minutes walk from any point in 
the central part of the city. For a 


horse and buggy the usual price is 
$1 for the first hour and 50c for 
each additional hour; for a double 
team $1.50 to $2 per hour. 

Automobiles are for hire at a 
number of auto livery establish- 
ments and usually may be found 
near the leading hotels waiting 
for customers. Taxicabs are also 
in waiting at leading hotels and 
may be ordered by telephone from 
the two companies maintaining 
this service. (See Taxicabs.) 

Iioan and Trust Companies. — 
There are two loan and trust com- 
panies in Minneapolis, which ne- 
gotiate loans, act as executors, ad- 
ministrators and trustees, sell 
bonds and mortgages for invest- 
ment and perform similar functions. 
They are, with location and capital, 
as follows: 

Minnesota Loan and Trust Com- 
pany. — Cor. Marquette and 4th St. 
$1,0000,00. Established 1883. 

Wells-Dickey Trust Co. — Mc- 
Knight Bldg. 

Minneapolis Trust Company. — 
115 S. 5th St. $1,000,000. Established 
1888 (See Banks.) 

loring- Park. — Loring Park is 
the nearest to the city's center of 
population. It occupies a tract of 
36 acres bounded by Hennepin Av., 
Harmon PI., Willow St. and 15th 
St. The park is too small to ad- 
mit of driveways, but as it is sur- 
rounded on all sides by streets its 
beauties may be enjoyed from a 
carriage. In the winter special 
care is taken of the ice and every 
convenience is supplied for skat- 
ers. Como-Harriet, the Kenwood 
& Johnson, or Monroe & Bry- 
ant cars. (See Paek System.) 

Lost Property. — For personal 
property lost on the street cars, 
enquire at the office of the com- 
pany, 11th St. and Hennepin Av., 
Lost Article Department, Articles 
left in hacks or found upon the 
streets are taken to police head- 
quarters in city hall. Articles 
found in the parks are usually 

sent to the superintendent's of* 
flee in the city hall. 

Lowry's Hill. — The ridge of high 
land lying west of Hennepin Av. 
and south of Kenwood Parkway. 
It is named for the late Thomas 
Lowry, whose residence is on the 
slope of the hill towards the city 
and facing on Hennepin Av. The 
elevation is from 100 to 150 feet 
above the surrounding region. Its 
principal thoroughfare is Mt. 
Curve Av. (Como-Harriet and the 
Kenwood & Johnson car lines.) 

Lumber and Saw Mills. — As a 
lumber producing point Minne- 
apolis for many years led the 
world. The census of 1900 gave 
her first rank in the United States, 
her output of $12,285,305 worth 
of lumber being greatly in excess 
of any other city in the country. 
The first attempt at utilizing the 
water power of the Falls of St. 
Anthony was for the purpose of 
sawing lumber. Lumber was the 
first article manufactured in Min- 
neapolis. It was a staple product 
before there was any conception 
of the possibilities of the flour 
milling business, and it has al- 
ways been a source of wealth to 
the city. In 1822 a small mill 
was erected at the falls to saw 
lumber for use at Fort Snelling. 
In 1848 the first private saw mill 
was put in operation and from 
then on the business gradually 
developed to enormous proportions. 

To understand the conditions, 
under which the lumber business 
of Minneapolis has been carried 
on, it is necessary to consider, 
first, the source of supply. The 
pine region of Minnesota occupied 
a'territory northwest of Minneapo- 
lis, beginning within a compara- 
tively short distance and broaden- 
ing to the north so as to cover 
the greater part of the northern 
third of the state. Much the 
larger part of the pine was in the 
Mississippi valley. That part of 
It tributary to Minneapolis has 

been largely cut off. The sawing 
season begins about May 1st and 
terminates with the freezing of the 
river in the late fall, or the ex- 
haustion of the supply of logs. 
It is well worth the trouble to 
visit a well equipped saw mill. 
Standing first on the river bank 
one sees the logs selected by a 
nimble athlete in flannel shirt and 
coarse pants and boots, who steps 
from one to another as they roll 
over and over in the water, as 
composedly as if upon a solid floor. 
Endless chains with hooked and 
spiked attachments convey the 
logs up an inclined plane to the 
level of the sawing floor, where 
they are speedily rolled upon the 
sawmill carriages and fed to the 
gang, circular or band saws, ac- 
cording to the quality of the tim- 
ber, and the kind of lumber want- 
ed. As fast as sawed the lumber 
falls on rollers or movable trucks, 
by which it is conveyed to wag- 
ons. The waste is utilized for 
lath or shingles or cut into con- 
venient stove lengths and sold as 
"mill wood." (See Furl.) 

Production of lumber at Minne- 
apolis reached its maximum about 
1900 and with the gradual exhaus- 
tion of the pine lands is now de- 
creasing from year to year. The 
following table shows the amount 
sawed each year for some years 


1890 343,573,762 

1891 447,713,252 

1892 488,724,624 

1893 409,000.000 

1894 491,256,00e 

1895 479,102.000 

1896 307.179.000 

1897 460,348,272 

1898 469.701.000 

1899 594,373,000 

1900 501,522,000 

1901 559,914,055 

1902. 465,244,000 

1903 432,144,000 

1904 386,911,000 

1905 362,166,000 

1906 297.020,000 


Fifth Street and Second Avenue South. 

Nichols & Tuttle Company, Managers 
General Insurance, Real Estate & In- 

Owned by 

First and Security National Bank 

of Minneapolis, Minn. 


= — of the 


To which visitors are always welcome 

Wc\z ^mxb JVri (lalierfes 



A New Exhibition of Paintings is Presented every month 
in our Main Gallery 



Natural or Distilled, in Sterilized Bottles, delivered 

The Glenwood-In£lewood Co. 

913 Hennepin Avenue MINNEAPOLIS 


WILLIAM G. MOSS, Sec. and Treas. 

H. A. MONOHON, Mgr. Insurance Dept. 


Every Kind GENERAL INSURANCE Everywhere 

Member — National Board of Real 
Estate Exchanges and Minneapolis 
Real Estate Board. 

Manager — New York Life Building. 
Thirty years experience in handling 
Minneapolis Real Estate & Invest- 


Never buy Minneapolis Real Estate without first seeing Nichols & Tuttle 


1907 214,192,932 

1908 189,401,472 

1909 250,000,000 

1910 142,810,000 

1911 118,487,680 

1912 123,321,560 

Since 1912 the production has 
fallen below 100,000,000 feet an- 

Minneapolis is also the receiving 
and shipping market for vast quan- 
tities of lumber manufactured 

Its supremacy for years as a 
lumber manufacturing point led to 
the centering of lumber interests 
here and the city has become the 
headquarters for the lumber busi- 
ness of a large part of the west. 
Minneapolis capital is said to be 
financing one-half the lumber 
business of the country. These in- 
terests reach to the yellow pine 
districts of the south and the 
redwoods, pines and cedars of the 
Pacific Coast. Over 50 compan- 
ies operate from Minneapolis 
more than 2,000 retail yards 
throughout the west. The city 
easily maintains its position as 
the greatest lumber distributing 
point in the world. (See Booms, 
Fuel and Commerce.) 

Lumber Exchange. — A handsome 
brown stone eleven story office 
building at the corner of 5th St. 
and Hennepin Av. The majority 
of lumber manufacturers and 
dealers of the city, besides many 
financial institutions, have offices 
in this building. 

Lunches. — The city is well sup- 
plied with lunch counters where 
anything from a sandwich to an 
elaborate meal can be had on short 
notice. The informality of high 
stools and the convenience of quick 
service make these places very 
popular with busy men. To ac- 
commodate night workers the bet- 
ter class of lunch counters keep 
open all night. Prices are quite 
uniform and so low that 25 cents 
will buy as much lunch as is or- 
dinarily wanted. These establish- 


ments are mostly in the region 
bounded by Hennepin, 1st Av. S., 
7th and 2nd Sts. In the same lo- 
cality are a number of very good 
restaurants, chop houses and lunch 
rooms where those who prefer the 
luxuries of table cloths and chairs 
find accommodation. Ladies may 
secure light lunches daintily 
served, at the department store 
"tea rooms" and the caterers' es- 

Lutheran Churches. — Taken as a 
whole the Lutheran denomination 
is the strongest, in point of num- 
bers, of the Protestant sects of the 

Apostolic (Finnish). — Corner 
Humboldt and 2d Av. N. 

Augustana (Swedish) . — Cor. 
11th Av. S. and 7th St. 

Bethany (Norwegian). — 2513 
Franklin Av. E. 

Bethany. — (Swedish), 39th St. 
and 36th Av. S. 

Bethel (Norwegian). — Cor. 17th 
Av. S. and 32nd St. 

Bethlehem Chapel. — Cor. 32d 
Av. N. and 4th St. 

Bethlehem (Norwegian). — Cor. 
14th Av. S. and 18th St. 

Bethlehem ( Swedish ) . — Cor. 
14th Av. N. and Lyndale Av. 

Christ.— 34th St. and 31st Av. S. 

Concordia. — Cor. Central and 
25 th Av. N. E. 

Ebenezek Feee Chdech (Nor- 
wegian Evangelical). — Cor. 19th 
Av. S. and 3rd St. 

Eben'ezeb (Swedish). — Cor. 22d 
St. and 28th Av. S. 

Elm wood (Norwegian). — Corner 
Lincoln and 27th Av. N. E. 

First Evangelical (German). — 
1823 N. Emerson Av. 

Free Evangelical (Norwegian). 
—2021 17th Av. S. 

Gethsemane (Norwegian). — Cor. 
47th Av. N. and Colfax. 

Grace (English). — Seven Cor- 

Golgotha. — Pleasant Av. and W. 
32d St. 

Holy Communion (English). — 
4th Av. S. and 32d St. 

Holy Trinity. — 29 th St. and 
29 th Av. S. 


Hope (Norwegian). — 6th St. and 
13th Av. S. K 

Immandel (Danish). — Cor. E. 
22d St. and 28th Av. S. 

Immandel Evangelical (Norwe- 
gian). — Cor. Monroe St. and 15th 
Av. N. E. 

Immandel (German). — Cor. 18th 
Av. N. and 6th St. 

Immandal (Swedish). — Cor. 
Monroe and 13th Av. N. E. 

Immandel Slavonic Evangelical. 
— Cor. Essex and Ontario Sts. SE. 

Messiah. — (English), Cor. 10th 
St. and 13th Av. S. 

Minnehaha Chapel. — Minneha- 
ha and 35th St. - 

Mount Olive (English). — Chi- 
cago Av. and 31st St. 

Odr Saviode's (Norwegian). — 
Cor. Chicago Av. and 24th. 

Pillsbury Av. — Pillsbury Av. 
and 41st St. 

Pleasant Av. (Norwegian). — 
3201 Pleasant Av. 

St. Johannes (Norwegian), 
Evangelical. — Cor. Girard and 5th 
Av. N. 

St. John's. — Cor. 16th Av. N. 
and 3rd St. 

St. John's Evangelical (Eng- 
lish). — Cor. Chicago Av. and 17th 

St. John's (German). — Broad- 
way and Washington St. N. E. 

St. Ldke's (Norwegian). — 17th 
Av. S. bet. Lake and 31st St. 

St. Mark's (English). — Cor. 
Lyndale and 23d Av. N. 

St. Olaf. — Cor. 29th Av. N. and 

St. Padl's (Norwegian). — Cor. 
15th Av. S. and 4th St. 

St. Paul's ( German ) . — C o r. 
Quincy and 25th Av. N. E. 

St. Padl's Swedish Evangelical. 
— -Cor. 15th Av. S. and 28th St. 

St. Peter's (Norwegian). — Cor. 
15th Av. N. E. and Madison. 

St. Peter's Danish Evangelical. 
—Cor. 20th Av. S. and 9th St. 

St. Petrie's (Evangelical). — Cor. 
Dupont and 18th Avs. N. 

Salem (Swedish). — Cor. N. Du- 
pont and 42d Av. N. 

Salem Evangeljjal (English). — 
Cor Garfield Av. and W. 28th St. 

Saron (Swedish). — Essex St. 
bet. Oak and Ontario Sts. S. E. 

Scandinavian Evangelical Free. 
—8th St. and 25 th Av. S. 

Trinity. — (English), 29th Av. 
S. and Lake St. 

Trinity Evangelical. — Cor. 9th 
St. and 20th Av. S. 

Trinity (German). — 1904 13th 
Av. S. 

Zion's (Norwegian). — Cor. 26th 
Av. N. and Lyndale. 

Zion's (Swedish). — Cor. W. 33d 
St. and Pillsbury Av. 

Lymanhurst. — A hospital for 
babies and children given to the 
city of Minneapolis by George R. 
and F. W. Lyman. The buildings 
and grounds (formerly the resi- 
dences of the donors) are on Chi- 
cago and Columbus Aves. and 18th 
St. After their presentation to 
the city they were remodeled and 
fitted with all modern hospital ap- 
pliances so that upon the opening 
of the hospital in the summer of 
1913, Minneapolis found itself 
equipped with an entirely ade- 
quate children's hospital. 

Lyndale Park. — Extending from 
King's Highway to Penn Av. and 
from Lake Harriet to Lakewood 
Cemetery. Most of its 61 acres 
donated by the late William S. 
King in 1891. Its attractions in- 
clude the Rose Garden maintained 
by the Park Board. Monroe & 
Bryant Line. (See Park System.) 

Lyric Theater. — On Hennepin 

Av. between 7th and 8th Sts. Mov- 
ing pictures. (See Theaters.) 

McXnight Building-. — A modern 
office building, cor. 5th St. and 
2nd Av. S. It is of concrete con- 
struction, twelve stories high and 
is one of the handsomest office 
buildings in the city. 

Macalester College. — Between 
the two cities. It is a Presbyteri- 
an college and has a considerable 
amount of land and several build- 
ings. Selby-Lake electric line. 

Mahala Pisk Pillsbury Home. — 

For wage-earning girls. (See 
Woman's Christian Association.) 

Mails, Arrival and Departure of. 
(See Post Office.) 

Manual Training. (See Public 
Schools, Inddstkial Education, 

Manufacturing". — In early days 
the manufactures of Minneapolis 
were chiefly flour and lumber. 
These still retain the supremacy, 
but other lines are pushing for- 
ward and taking a prominent place. 
Machinery (farm, milling and gen- 
eral), farm implements, building 
material, furniture, boots and 
shoes, beer, wagons and carriages, 
woolen and knit goods, confection- 
ery and scores of other branches 
are in a process of rapid develop- 
ment. Still there is room for ad- 
ditional establishments in most of 
these lines, and some favorable 
opportunities for the production 
of articles now imported from the 
east have not been taken advan- 
tage of. The value of the manu- 
factured product is estimated at 
$250,000,000 and some 30,000 men 
are employed. The principal de- 
partments of manufacturing will 
be found treated under their ap- 
propriate heads. 

Maps and Guides — All station- 
ery and book stores and most 
news stands carry this "Diction- 
ary of Minneapolis" as well as 
Hudson's Indexed Pocket Map of 
Minneapolis, "One Hundred Views 
of Minneapolis" and pocket maps 
and guides for the northwest. 
The Hudson Publishing Co. at its 
office, 404 Kasota Bldg., cor. 4th 
and Hen., makes a specialty of 
maps and guides, carrying a large 
assortment of pocket maps of 
states and cities, road maps and 
guides, U. S. Geological Survey 
topographic maps, county maps, 
wall maps, etc., and supplies any 
map made upon order. Maps of 
all kinds are mounted and special 
maps are made to order. 

Market. — In the block bounded 
by Second and Third Avs. N. and 
N. Sixth and Seventh Sts. There 
are many stalls for market -gar- 
deners and conveniences for com- 
mission dealers. 


Masonic Temple. — The Masonic 
Temple is the finest structure of 
its kind in the West, and is sur- 
passed by but few in the country. 
Covering a ground space of 88 feet 
on Hennepin Av. and 153 feet on 
6th St., it rises eight stories in 
height. The walls are of Ohio sand- 
stone. The building is fire proof 
throughout, and provided with all 
the modern conveniences. It is 
intended primarily for the use of 
the Masonic fraternity, but the 
Knights of Pythias and Rawlins 
Post G. A. R. have comfortable 
quarters therein, and there are 
numerous office apartments. The 
rooms devoted to the Masonic lodg- 
es are, of course, the main feature 
of the building. On the second 
floor, and extending through two 
stories is the blue lodge room, oc- 
cupied by three lodges. This apart- 
ment occupies the center and the 
rear, and is 44 by 48 feet in dimen- 
sions. The frescoing is exceeding- 
ly rich and the furnishings are of 
the costliest material. Adjoining 
is the room occupied by the Ma- 
sonic library. The lodge rooms on 
fourth and fifth floors are occu- 
pied by the "Scottish Rite" — two 
fine halls. The Commandery and 
one Blue lodge occupy the halls on 
the sixth and seventh floors, the ar- 
mory occupying the corridors on 
the seventh floor. The lodge room 
is one of the finest in the country. 
On the eighth floor of the building 
is the ball room, for banquets, 
dancing and drills, and is used for 
the meetings and work of the 
"Mystic Shrine." At the south 
end of the hall is a gallery with 
a seating capacity of 150, the par- 
lor and the banquet hall which 
has a seating capacity of 200. 
Adjoining the banquet hall is a 
kitchen. The first move made to- 
ward erecting the Temple was in 
1885, by an organization known as 
"The Masonic Temple Association 
of Minneapolis." The site was 
purchased at a cost of $61,000. 
The corner stone was laid Sep- 


tember 4, 1888, with appropriate 
ceremonies. The total cost of the 
structure was $300,000. The as- 
sociation and structure is now 
controlled by the several Masonic 
bodies which meet in the Temple, 
who own about four sevenths of 
the capital stock. (See Secret So- 

Messenger Service. — Boys for 
special messenger service are fur- 
nished on short notice by the 
American District Telegraph Com- 
pany, 51 S. 4th St.; Union Hack & 
Messenger Co., 8 S. 3d St. ; and the 
Guaranty Hack & Coupe Co., 216 
S. 3d St. They may be summoned 
by telephone or automatic signal 
from all hotels and many stores 
and offices. 

Methodist Episcopal Churches. — 

With characteristic energy the 
Methodists organized in the front- 
ier village of St. Anthony about a 
year before the other denomina- 
tions. The first Methodist church 
Cor. 18th Av. N. and N. Lyndale. 
was formed in 1849 and became 
the forerunner of the 30 churches 
and missions of the denomination 
of the present day which appear 
in the following list. 

Calvary. — 10th Av. N. and Penn 

Columbia Heights. — At Columbia 

Douglas Chapel. — 5th St. and 
11th Av. N. 

Epworth. — 37th Av. S. and 3 2d. 

First. — Cor. 9th Av. and 5th St. 
S. E. 

Foss. — Cor. Fremont and 18th 
Avs. N. 

Grace. — Penn and 33d Avs. N. 

Hennepin Avenue. — Cor. S. Du- 
pont and W. Franklin Aves. 

Hobart Memorial. — BlaisdellAv. 
and 46th St. 

Jefferson St. — 741 N. E. Jeffer- 
son St. 

Joyce Memorial. — Cor. 31st St. 
and S. Fremont Av. 

Lake Harriet. — Cor. 44th St. and 
S. Upton Av. 

Minnehaha. — Cor. 40th Av. S. 
and 52d St. 

North. — Cor. 44th Av. N. and 
Fremont Av. 

Olivet. — 26th St. and Columbus 
Av. S. 

Park Avenue. — Park Av. and 
34th St. 

Prospect Park. — Cor. Malcolm 
Av. and Orlin Av. S. E. 

Simpson. — Cor. 1st Av. S. and 
28th St. 

Trinity. — Cor. 25th Av. N. E. 
and Taylor St. 

Walker. — 16th Av. S. and 31st 

Wesley. — Cor. 1st Av. S. ana 
Otrant St. 

In other conferences. 

Bethany ( Norwegian - Danish ) . 
—Cor. 30th Av. N. and Dupont 

Central German. — 1020 13th 
Av. S. 

First German. — Cor. 10th Av. N. 
E. and 2d St. 

North Minneapolis German. — 

Norwegian Danish. — Cor. 13th 
Av. S. and 9th St. 

First Swedish. — 7th St. and 13th 
Av. S. 

Hartland Swedish. — 2914 N. 
Aldrich Av. 

North Swedish. — 2925 N. Lyn- 
dale Av. 

Second Swedish. — 1837 Polk St. 
N. E. 

Rev. T. W. Stout, Presiding El- 
der, office 703 Metropolitan Life 

Metropolitan Music Building 1 . — 

The musical center of the city. It 
is a handsome five-story building 
and is occupied by the Metropolitan 
Music Co. and numerous musical 
societies and teachers of music. 
The Metropolitan building is at 
41 and 43 S. 6th St., near Nicollet 

Metropolitan Life Building'. — 
Formerly the "Guaranty Build- 
ing." At the corner of 3rd St. and 
2nd Av. S. It is a magnificent 
structure twelve stories in height, 
covering just half an acre and with 
a total street frontage of 282 feet. 
The total height from the street 
level to the top of the main tower 
is 220 feet, or as high as Bunker 
Hill monument. The material used 
in the construction for the first 

three stories Is North Conway and 
New Hampshire green granite, the 
nine stories above being Portage 
ised sandstone. The finishings of 
the interior are iron, brick, terra 
eotta and antique oak. There are 
some 400 offices in the building and 
they are occupied by some of the 
heaviest financial and legal firms 
in the city, as well as by a host of 
minor tenants. From the tower 
which rises high above the main 
structure a comprehensive view of 
the city may be obtained. The 
building is heated by steam and 
lighted by electricity. Six hy- 
draulic elevators and commodious 
stairways afford access to the up- 
per floors. The total cost with 
site approximated $1,000,000. 

Metropolitan Opera House. — On 

Marquette Av. between 3rd and 
4th Sts. The leading theatre of the 
city. It has an exceptionally large 
stage and capacious and comfort- 
able auditorium. It is usually 
open during the entire season from 
late August to June and frequent- 
ly presents light opera or other at- 
tractions during a part of the sum- 
mer at popular prices. (See Thea- 
tre s.) 

Midland National Bank. — Or- 
ganized in 1909 and occupying 
the large banking room in the 
Security Building at Second Av. 
So. and 4th St. The banking 
room is one of the finest and per- 
haps the most beautiful in the 
west. (See Security Bldg.) 

Midway District. — That portion 
of St. Paul lying between the city 
proper and Minneapolis. It com- 
prises the suburbs of Merriam 
Park, St. Anthony Park, Macales- 
ter, Hamline and considerable 
farming and vacant land. The mid- 
way district is traversed by the 
Minneapolis & St. Paul, the Selby- 
Lake and the Como-Harriet elec- 
tric lines. 

Millinery.— The leading millin- 
ery establishments are on Nicollet 


, Av. or the cross streets near the 
avenue. Some of the principal mil- 
linery stores are the following: 
Fifield, 816 Nicollet; Phillips, 
824 Nicollet; Murray, 906 Nicollet. 
All the department stores and 
ladies' specialty stores have mil- 
linery departments. 

Mills. (See Floue and Flodb 
Mills, and Lumber and Saw Mills.) 

Milling District.— The region at 
the foot of 6th Av. S., and adja- 
cent to St. Anthony's Falls, in 
which the larger part of the flour 
mills are located. The great 
Washburn "A" mill is the largest 
and most conspicuous in the 

Mill Explosion. — On a large tab- 
let set in the wall of the Wash- 
burn "A" flour mill is an inscrip- 
tion in memory of fourteen men 
who perished in the great explo- 
sion of 1878. This disaster, wholly 
without precedent both as to cause 
and extent of damage, as result- 
ant from explosion, called the at- 
tention of the whole world to 
Minneapolis for the time being. 
The disaster occurred at 7 o'clock 
in the evening. Eye witnesses 
saw first a sheet of flame and a 
volume of black smoke issue from 
the lower story of the Washburn 
"A" mill, followed almost instant- 
ly by the explosion. The concus- 
sion was so terrific as to partially 
wreck the surrounding mills and 
was felt as far away as St. Paul. 
Thousands of dollars worth of 
glass was broken in Minneapolis, 
the damage extending even to dis- 
tant parts of the city. Not one of 
the employes of Washburn "A" es- 
caped, so the exact cause of the 
explosion was never determined by 
verbal testimony. It was, how- 
ever, satisfactorily concluded that 
fire broke out in the mill and that 
the explosion was occasioned by 
the ignition of flour dust mingled 
with the air. The walls of the 
"A" mill were leveled instantly. 


Five more mills were destroyed 
and Ave damaged, the whole loss 
of property being over a million 
dollars. The total loss of life was 
18. Appliances were introduced, 
when the mills were rebuilt, which 
do away with the liability of simi- 
lar disaster. (See Flour and 
Flour Mills.) 

Mill Wood. (See Fuel.) 

Minikahda Club. — The clubhouse 
of this popular organization is on 
the west shore of Lake Calhoun, 
where the club owns about 14S 
acres of land in a beautiful loca- 
tion. The clubhouse is complete 
in every appointment of a mod- 
ern club home and the grounds 
have extensive golf links and both 
turf and dirt tennis courts. Mem- 
bership is open to both men and 
women. H. L. Hankinson is 
president and Henry C. Mackall, 
secretary. St. Louis Park car. 

Minneapolis, Anoka & Cuyuna 
Range Ry. — Electric suburban 
line to Anoka, 19 miles, from 6th 
St. and 2nd Av. S. 

Minneapolis & St. Louis Bail- 
road. — This line runs south 
through a fertile section of Min- 
nesota, Iowa and Illinois to Des 
Moines and Peoria, and has 
through trains for Chicago and 
St. Louis. To Chicago through 
trains run via Albert Lea, Minn., 
and the Illinois Central Ry. and 
the line is known as the "Albert 
Lea Route." The St. Louis trains 
run via Albia, la., and the Wabash 
R. R. A western division reaches 
Watertown, Aberdeen and the Mis- 
souri river in South Dakota, and 
a line to the southwest passes 
through New Ulm, Minn., and ter- 
minates at Storm Lake, la. 

W. H. Brenner is president; R. 
G. Kenley, general manager; F. B. 
Townsend, vice president traffic; 
A. B. Cutts, passenger traffic man- 
ager; D. M. Dennison, freight traf- 
fic manager. The general offices 
of the company are in the Trans- 

portation building, and the city 
ticket office at 202 S. 6th St. 
The passenger station is at Wash- 
ington and 4th Avs. N. (See 

Minneapolis Athletic Club Or- 
ganized in 1912 and in 1915 com- 
pleted a magnificent club house 
at 615-21 2d Av. S. The club is 
formed on the general lines of the 
great athletic clubs of the leading 
American cities. 

The fourteen-story building, 
planned by Bertrand & Chamber- 
lin, architects, occupies a space 
of 88x157 feet and is used exclu- 
sively by the club. It is of rein- 
forced concrete construction, ab- 
solutely fireproof and represents 
the last thing in up-to-date club 
building construction. 

In planning and fitting the in- 
terior the idea of making the club 
homelike prevailed. Instead of 
finding a formal and business-like 
lobby, one, on entering the club 
steps at once into an apartment 
not unlike the living room of a 
private residence. A great fire- 
place and other home-like features 
and the absence of the office and 
hotel characteristics of many 
clubs carries out the idea — and 
the same feeling runs through the 
entire building. Among the ath- 
letic features provided are a main 
gymnasium 68x153 feet, hand ball 
courts, bowling alleys, separate 
billiard and pool rooms, swimming 
pool 25x60 feet, etc. The main 
dining room is 50x97 feet with a 
seating capacity of 500. In addi- 
tion there are a grill room and 
ten private dining rooms. Other 
appointments include a salon de- 
voted to music, painting and 
sculpture, an assembly room, 
chess room, card room, ladies' 
parlors, roof garden, library and 
140 sleeping rooms. The cost of 
the building is placed at over 

Membership is limited to 2,500; 
initiation fee $150 and annual 
dues $60. (Life membership, $500.) 

Membership certificates are trans- 

The officers of the club are : 
Manager, Geo. D. Morrison. 

Minneapolis Club. — The leading 
social club of the city. It main- 
tains a handsome club house at the 
corner of 8th St. and 2d Av. S. 
This building, which cost with 
site $325,000, was completed in 
1908. It is not only architectur- 
ally conspicuous but is one of the 
most complete club houses, in 
every detail, recently erected. On 
the ground floor are the billiard 
and grill rooms, check rooms, 
the offices and reception room. In 
the grill room there is some very 
effective stained glass work 
showing views of Minnesota lakes 
and hunting scenes. On the second 
floor are the reading and loung- 
ing rooms and card rooms. The 
reading room extends entirely 
along the Second Av. side of the 
building and like the other rooms 
of the first and second floors is 
finished in dark early English 
oak. The dining rooms and kitch- 
en are on the third floor. The 
main dining room is directly over 
the reading room. It is heavily 
paneled in oak and the decora- 
tions in oil show a series of har- 
vest scenes. Along the Eighth 
St. side of the third floor are 
three smaller dining rooms, and 
the ladies' cafe and on the fourth 
floor are the private rooms for 
the club members living in the 

During the year 1911 the club 
added to its property an athletic 
annex, which is entirely given 
over to athletic features. * 

The membership of the club 
includes about 700 of the business 
and professional men of the city 
and about 225 non-residents. The 
entrance fee for resident members 
is $100 and the annual dues $100. 
for non-residents $50 and $40. 
E. Pennington is president of the 
club, and C. D. Mills is the secre- 


Minneapolis Improvement 
League. — An organization of wom- 
en and men with the purpose of 
improving the conditions of city 
life. Such work as the beautify- 
ing of the city, the encourage- 
ment of home gardens, and the 
maintenance of public playgrounds 
is carried on with much success. 
The work is practical and deserv- 
ing of generous support. The 
league was organized in 1892. 
Mrs. Thos. F. Quimby, 2424 Hum- 
boldt Av. S., is president; Miss 
Maria Sanford, 1050 13th Av. S. E., 
is honorary president; Mrs. Frank 
E. Crary, 728 S. E. 4th St., is sec- 

Minneapolis Institute of Arts. — 

(See Art Institute, Minneapolis 
Society of Fine Arts and Minne- 
apolis School of Arts.) 

Minneapolis Municipal Band — 

Joseph Sainton, conductor, an or- 
ganization of forty instruments. 
This band gives a concert season 
of eight weeks in Lake Harriet 
pavilion and Minnehaha Park un- 
der the auspices of the park board. 

Minneapolis Retailers' Associa- 
tion. — An organization for the ad- 
vancement of the interests of the 
retailers and of the city. Geo. R. 
Root is president, and Wm. J. 
Hayes is secretary. Office, 508 
Barnum Bldg., 806 Nicollet Av. 

Minneapolis School of Arts. — 

Established in 1886 and located 
from 1889 to 1915 in the public li- 
brary building. On the opening of 
the new Institute of Arts, Janu- 
ary, 1915, the school removed to 
the ground floor of that building. 
24th St. between Stevens Av. and 
3rd Av. S. (54th St. and Col. 
Heights car line.) During the 
summer of 1916 a separate school 
building, costing $50,000, was 
erected in close proximity to the 
Institute, and the fall term 
of the school commenced in 
these new quarters. The new 
building, known as the Julia 
Morrison Memorial Building, was 


given to the society by Mrs. John 
R. Van Derlip and Dr. Angus M. 
Morrison. The school is support- 
ed only in part by tuition fees 
paid by the students, the balance 
being contributed by the Society 
of Pine Arts from its membership 
fees. There are about 250 stu- 
dents and classes are maintained 
in drawing from the cast and 
the living model, still life and por- 
trait painting, illustration, one for 
children Saturday morning, and 
departments for decorative and 
commercial design, and handi- 
crafts. There is a summer course 
offered during late June and 
July. The plan of instruction for 
the regular school year is designed 
to cover a period of three years 
of three terms each, although 
there are special courses covering 
a shorter period. (See Art Ik- 
stitute and Minneapolis Society 
of Fine Arts.) 

Minneapolis Society of Fine 
Arts. — In January, 1883, Dr. W. 
W. Folwell, of the University of 
Minnesota, with 24 others, lovers 
of art, organized the Society of 
Fine Arts. Dr. Folwell was the 
first president of the society, and 
held the office for five successive 

Up to 1886 the society promoted 
the love and study of art by means 
of loan exhibitions and in other 
general ways. In April of that 
year an art school was opened and 
supplied with temporary quarters 
till the close of 1889, when the 
completion of the new library 
building gave access to the hand- 
some rooms so admirably suited to 
the purpose. In 1911 by the gift 
of a site of 10 acres from Clinton 
Morrison, $100,000 from W. H. 
Dunwoody, and other subscrip- 
tions the Society was enabled to 
begin building the first unit of a 
new Art Museum, which was 
opened January 7, 1915, with one 
of the most important exhibitions 
ever held in this country. 

The Society is glad to welcome 
to membership anyone who is in- 

terested in art. The advantages 
of membership are the privileges 
of free admission to the Institute 
during the hours when it is open 
to the public, and to all lectures, 
receptions and entertainments 
given by the Society; such privi- 
leges will extend not only to the 
member, but to his or her imme- 
diate family and to house-guests 
from out of town. The member- 
ship dues are: $10.00 for an an- 
nual member; $100.00 for a life 
member. For those interested in 
giving larger sums there are ap- 
propriate classes of membejrship. 
(See Art Institute and Minneap- 
olis School of Arts.) 

Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault 
Ste Marie Railway. — One of the 
characteristic enterprises of Min- 
neapolis was the construction of 
the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault 
Ste Marie R'y, commonly known 
as the "Soo" line. The need of a 
direct line to the sea-board which 
should be able to make rates in the 
interests of Minneapolis was ur- 
gent. A route of 500 miles to 
Sault Ste Marie, Mich., was taken 
and the road was opened in 1888 
in connection with the Canadian 

With the completion of the line 
to Sault Ste Marie the necessity of 
a western feeder became evident 
and the result was the construc- 
tion of a line from Minneapolis 
northwest through Minnesota and 
North Dakota to the international 
boundary where connection was 
again made with the Canadian Pa- 
cific and a transcontinental route 
opened to Puget Sound. A new 
line was completed north from 
Minneapolis to Winnipeg, in 3 904, 
a line from Thief River Falls to 
Kenmare, N. Dak., in 1905, and 
in July, 1907, a new route through 
the Canadian Northwest and the 
Kootenay country to Spokane was 
opened. A new line from Glen- 
wood, Minn., was completed to 


41-43 South Sixth Street 

Ivers & Pond Piano 

100% Highest Quality. 


At its price the Ivers & Pond is the highest grade piano 
it is possible to build. 

They are constructed correctly by old time masters 
using only the very best material, and striving each year 
to build a still better piano, always maintaining Highest 
Grade in both. 



Sold for cash or convenient payments in Minneapolis only 

Metropolitan Music Co. 

41-43 South Sixth Street. 

The home of the 
Stein way, Ludwig, 
Hazelton, Behr Bros., 
Pianola Pianos and 
The Duo Art Piano. 


and all 



Late 10c hits and 

all classics. 

Visitors always 

Superior and Duluth in 1909 and 
in 1910 a line was built from 
the head of the lakes through 
the Cayuna range and to Plum- 
mer on the Winnipeg line. Early in 
1909 the Soo acquired the Wiscon- 
sin Central railway, giving it 
direct lines from Minneapolis and 
Duluth to Chicago. A new line 
from Minneapolis to Superior and 
Duluth was opened in 1912. All 
tot these lines, east, north and 
west, traverse beautiful country 
and reach some of the finest fish- 
ing and hunting sections in the 
Northwest. Soo Line territory has 
long been a favored one with 

The general offices are in the 
First National-Soo Line Bldg., cor. 
5th St. and Marquette Av. Ticket 
office, 202 S. 6th St. Through pas- 
senger trains use the Milwaukee 
Station, Washington and 3rd Avs. 
S. Local trains use the Soo Line 
Station at Washington and 5th 
Avs. N. 

E. Pennington is president; W. 
L. Martin, vice president, G. R. 
Huntington, general manager, 
and W. R. Callaway, general 
passenger agent. (See Railroads.) 

Minneapolis Stock Exchange. — 
Organized in 1909 and now having 
a membership of 22 with offices in 
the McKnight Bldg. Only high 
grade securities are listed, It be- 
ing one of the main objects of 
the organization to place the stock 
business upon a conservative ba- 
sis. There is a daily call at 3 p. m. 
The rooms of the exchange are 
open to the public. The officers 
are: President, H. D. Thrall, Min- 
nesota Loan and Trust Co.; vice- 
president, G. L. Lang, of Geo. B. 
Lane; treasurer, J. W. Greenman, 
Gold-Stabeek Co.; secretary, E. A. 
Fish, Wm. W. Eastman Co. 

Minneapolis Symphony Orches- 
tra. — Organized in 1903, with Emil 
Oberhoffer as conductor, who has 
ever since held that position. Com- 
prises eighty-two professional 
musicians, and all the instruments 


contained in any symphony orches- 
tra in the world. Has been pro- 
nounced by visiting musicians of 
the highest standing to be one of 
the foremost orchestras in Ameri- 
ca. Gives fifty concerts in Min- 
neapolis and St. Paul dur- 
ing the winter season under the 
direction of Mr. Oberhoffer, and 
under the management of the Or- 
chestral Association of Minneapo- 
lis. The Orchestra also gives fes- 
tival concert tours in the United 
States and Canada. (See Phil- 
harmonic Club and Orchestral 

Minneapolis Traffic Association, 

For the promotion of the traffic 
interests of the city. W. P. 
Trickett, traffic director, office 
41 Old Chamber of Commerce. 

Minnehaha Creek. — The outlet of 
Lake Minnetonka. It flows in a 
generally easterly course along the. 
southern boundary of Minneapolis, 
draining several lakes and finally 
falling over the cliff near the Mis- 
sissippi river, thus forming Minne- 
haha Falls. 

Minnehaha, Palls of. — The Falls 
of Minnehaha are perhaps the most 
widely celebrated of the natural 
curiosities of the Northwest. 
Since Longfellow sung of the 
deeds of Hiawatha, Minnehaha 
has been an object of the 
curiosity and admiration of trav- 
elers. The Falls are formed by 
Minnehaha creek (the outlet of 
Lake Minnetonka) which after a 
devious course of 25 miles, plung- 
es over a cliff 50 feet high, just 
before joining the Mississippi riv- 
er. Below the Falls the stream 
follows a beautiful glen which is 
all a part of Minnehaha Park. 
Minnehaha electric line. About 
six miles from the center of town, 
(See Park System, Drives.) 

Minnehaha Park. — Consists of 
122 acres surrounding Minnehaha 
Falls (which see). This park con- 
tains a zoological collection, a 

pony track and abundant facilities 
for picnics. 

Minnehaha Parkway. — Extends 
from Lake Harriet along the banks 
of Minnehaha creek to the Falls, 
about five and one-half miles. It 
is a charming drive and one of the 
most important links in the park 
system. (See Park System and 

Minnesota Academy of Natural 
Science. (See Academy of Sci- 

Minnetonka. — Lake Minnetonka 
lies slightly southwest of the cen- 
ter of Minneapolis and within easy 
reach by three lines of railroad. 
Since the days of the first settlers 
this lake has been renowned for 
its beauty; in recent years it has 
established a wide reputation as a 
summer resort. Except that it is 
rather larger than the average, 
Lake Minnetonka is, perhaps, as 
perfect a physical type of the 
northwestern lake as could be se- 
lected. It possesses to a marked 
degree the characteristic irregu- 
larity of outline which constitutes 
the chief source of beauty in the 
lakes of this region. The voyager 
upon its waters is bewildered by 
the numerous channels and inlets. 
The extreme eastern and western 
points of the lake are scarcely a 
dozen miles apart, but the shore 
line measures about 105 miles. 
This wonderful length includes, in 
addition to countless bays and 
deep arms, as well as long points 
which nearly divide the lake, the 
shores of some ten or a dozen is- 
lands. In making the tour of the 
lake the steamers usually follow 
a course, which, though touching 
only the principal landings, is at 
least 40 miles long. The lake is 
divided by a narrow marsh near 
the center into the "upper" and 
"lower" lakes; the latter being, of 
course, the part from which flows 
Minnehaha creek. The "lower 
lake" is much the larger portion 
and contains the wide expanse 

which won the Sioux name of 
"Broad-water." As the greatest 
length is from east to west the 
principal shores of Minnetonka 
naturally received the designation 
of the "north shore" and "south 

The north shore is reached by 
the Great Northern R'y, which 
skirts the "lower lake" and passes 
through the town of Wayzata, the 
nearest point to Minneapolis on 
the lake. From "Wayzata steam- 
ers may be taken for trips about 
the lake. Just west of the village 
the main line of the railroad leaves 
the lake, but a branch follows the 
sweep of the shore and crossing 
the "north arm" reaches Minne- 
tonka Beach. Here is the Lafay- 
ette Club house. Two miles be- 
yond is Spring Park, where there 
is a hotel and extensive picnic 
grounds. Besides these places 
there are numerous stations used 
by the owners of the cottages 
which line the lake shore. These 
cottages range from rough board 
shanties to palatial villas cost- 
ing thousands of dollars. They 
are mostly owned and occupied by 
citizens of Minneapolis, though 
some are inhabited every season 
by people from distant points. 

On the south shore is the village 
of Excelsior, the largest town upon 
the lake. It is reached from the 
city by the "Twin City Electric 
Lines," as well as by the Minne- 
apolis & St. Louis railroad. Across 
an adjacent bay is Tonka Bay and 
the terminus of the main line of 
the electric road. 

In connection with the electric 
line to Excelsior the "Twin City 
Electric Lines" operate fast 
steamers to all the principal points 
on the lower and upper lakes. 
These steamers run on schedule 
and their route extends from Way- 
zata near the outlet of the "low- 
er lake" to Zumbra Heights in 
the distant "upper lake." Through 
boats make the round trip in 
about 5% hours at a cost of 50 

cents. They may be boarded at 
any of the electric line terminals — 
Excelsior, Deephaven, Tonka Bay 
or Wildhurst. 

In Bay St. Louis is the beautiful 
club house of the Minnetonka 
Yacht Club (which see). Bay St. 
Louis is the terminus of the Deep- 
haven branch of the electric line, 
and it may also be reached by the 
Minneapolis & St. Louis R'y, 
which passes near and skirting 
the shore reaches Excelsior. 

At Excelsior there are a number 
of good hotels and many summer 
boarding houses; cottages abound 
at every point on the "lower lake." 
The "upper lake" is less accessible 
and more beautiful and romantic. 

During the summer there is 
much gaiety at the lake. Parties 
at the hotels, concerts, excursions, 
yacht races, fishing and similar 
amusements fill up the time. It is 
the custom with many families to 
occupy their cottages from early 
May till late in the fall. The ho- 
tels are open from June till Sep- 
tember 1 or later. 

Board for the season may be ob- 
tained at rates slightly in ad- 
vance of city charges. Boats are 
to be had at all the principal land- 
ings. Fishing is fair and may be 
enjoyed without the inconvenience 
attending a trip to a remote lake. 

Minnetonka Yacht Club. — The 

original yachting organization. It 
maintains a beautiful club house 
on an island at the entrance to St. 
Louis bay, where the members 
gather for social pleasures, and 
which serves as rendezvous for the 
frequent regattas. In winter ice 
yachting is a popular sport. 

Mississippi River. — One of the 

most interesting sights in Minne- 
apolis is, quite naturally, the Mis- 
sissippi river. In all its course of 
nearly 3,000 miles the "Father of 
Waters" is nowhere more attrac- 
tive than here. It is at Minneapolis 
that the great river loses its char- 


acter as a rapid, tortuous lumber- 
ing stream and begins its course 
of 2,200 miles as a navigable wa- 
terway. Minneapolis interests are 
closely identified with the Mis- 
sissippi. The great water pow*r 
afforded by the Falls of St. Antho- 
ny led to the founding of the city; 
the same power developed has been 
one of the chief factors in its 
growth; the river has brought mil- 
lions upon millions of feet of logs 
from the pineries of the north to 
supply the second great manufac- 
turing industry of the city; and 
lastly, Minneapolis is at the head 
of navigation, and with improve- 
ments now being completed, will 
reap large benefits from the com- 
mercial advantages of this posi- 
tion. At Minneapolis the river has 
an average width of perhaps 1,200 
feet. Below the falls it courses 
for miles between high and ex- 
ceedingly picturesque cliffs. De- 
lightful views of this gorge may 
be had from half a dozen bridges. 
The source of the Mississippi is 
near Lake Itasca which is only 
about 150 miles from Minneapolis 
in a direct line but by the devious 
course of the river channel is 
several times that distance. 

Motion Pictures. — Minneapolis 
is deeply devoted to the "movies." 
There are about seventy-five 
theaters showing motion pictures 
and the number is being con- 
stantly increased. It is estimated 
that over 90,000 people attend 
the shows each day and the capi- 
tal invested is about $3,000,000. 
Nearly all the places are "10-cent" 
shows. The city is also the center 
for the film business of the 
northwest and some 1,500 outside 
shows are served from here. 

Municipal Court. — Has power to 
try civil actions where the amount 
in controversy does not exceed 
$500 or where the title to real 
estate is not involved, but cannot 
issue writs of habeas corpus, man- 


damus or injunction, nor entertaiffi 
divorce proceedings. It also ha* 
jurisdiction in cases of misde 
meanor arising within tl e county 
In cases of violation of the statt 
laws ordinarily triable before jus- 
tices of the peace it has exclusive 
jurisdiction, and also in offenseg 
against the city ordinances. The 
maximum penalty which it can im- 
pose is a fine of $100, or imprison^ 
ment for 90 days in the county jai'i 
or city work house. In felonies 
and indictable misdemeanors it 
examines and may hold accused 
persons to await the action of the 
grand jury. Complaints in crimi- 
nal cases may be made to either the 
judge or clerk of the court, and 
must be in writing and sworn to. 
There are three judges of thi* 
court. The court is held in roon?r 
on the fourth floor of the cit- 

C. L. Smith, E. A. Montgomery, 
and W. W. Bardwell are judges of 
this court. Harry Moore, clerk. 

Municipal Wharf. — Head of 
navigation on Mississippi river, 
below Washington avenue bridge. 

Musical Societies and Clubs. — A 
list of the principal musical so- 
cieties and clubs is as follows : 

Apollo Club. — Lyric Theatre 
Bldg. H. S. "Woodruff, director. 

Dania Singing Society. — Dania 
Hall. H. Askeland, director. 

Haemonia Societ y. — 305 Ply- 
mouth Av. 

Minneapolis Liederkeanz. — Sie- 
bel Blk. L». W. Harmsen, director. 

Nobmandbn's Sangbfoebning. — 
801 Cedar Av. Erick Oulie, direc- 

Orchesteal Association of 
Minneapolis. — 405 Auditorium 
Bldg. Emil Oberhoffer, director. 

Philharmonic Club. — J. Austin 
Williams, director; Trafford N. 
Jayne, secretary, 703 Hennepin Av. 

Thursday Musical. — 806 Nicol- 
let Av. 

See (Bands and Oechesteas.) 

National Banks. (See Banks.) 

National Guard. — The National 
Guard State of Minnesota is re- 

presented in Minneapolis by a 
great number of young men who 
are enlisted in various companies 
of infantry and batteries of artil- 
lery. In the summer of 1917 the 
process of transferring the older 
regiments to the federal service 
and of organizing new ones was 
going on rapidly. Through the 
Guard, through enlistment in the 
various branches of the service 
and through the operation of se- 
lective draft the city and state are 
furnishing a great number of men 
to the federal service. 

Navigation. — For many years 
navigation of the Mississippi 
river to the center of Minneapolis 
was hindered by the rapids below 
the Falls. A project of improve- 
ment was commenced some years 
ago and in 1917 the completion of 
a great dam and a lock of enor- 
mous capacity, opened the river to 
Minneapolis. The first steamer 
passed through the lock and ar- 
rived at the municipal dock at the 
foot of S. Washington Av. on July 
3, 1917. 

With the completion of channel 
improvements and adequate dock 
and transfer facilities an exten- 
sive traffic will be developed. Min- 
neapolis is now officially the "head 
of navigation." 

New Boston. — The popular name 
for the locality surrounding Cen- 
tral Av. and 25th Av. N. E. Take 
54th St. & Columbia Heights elec- 
tric cars. 

Newsdealers. — Most of the book- 
stores, some of the stationery 
stores and many stands in the 
hotels, office buildings, depots and 
in all directions through the city, 
sell current periodicals and the 
leading daily papers. 

Newspapers and Periodicals. — In 

proportion to its size, as compared 
with other cities, Minneapolis has 
few daily newspapers. Its class 
and trade publications are numer- 
ous and important. Below is given 

a list classified as to frequency of 
publication and with the yearly 
subscription price and place of 
publication : 


Journal. — (Evening and Sun- 
day.) $5.40. 47 and 49 S. 4th St. 
Independent Republican. 

Finance and Commerce. — $15. 
206 So. 3rd St. 

Market Record. — 318 S. 3rd St. 
$3. ( Evening except Sunday.) 
Grain Markets. 

Market Reporter. — 602 2nd Av. 

Minnesota Daily. — University of 
Minnesota. $2. (During College 

News, The Minneapolis Daily. 
— $3. 6th St. and 2d Av. S. Inde- 

Railway and Hotel News. — 401 
Phoenix Bldg. 

Tribune. — (Morning daily, $5.40; 
evening except Sunday). 57 S. 4th 
St. Republican. 

Tidende — $3. Norwegian (Eve- 
ning and Sunday) 307 S 6th St. 

Semi- Tv uekly. 

Parmer's Tribune. — $1. 57 S. 4th 

Skandinaven. — $3. 922 Phoenix 


American Jewish World. — $2. 
Tribune Annex. 

Bellman. — $4. 118 S. 6th St. In- 
dependent. Saturday. 

Both Sides. — $2. 200 N. 3d St. 

Chronicle. — $1. 317 20th Av. N. 

Commercial West. — $5. 409 
Globe Bldg. Saturday. Finan- 

Court Record. — $5. 253 2d Av. 

Echo de L'Ouest. — $1. Thurs- 
day. 305 E. Hennepin Av. 

Folkebladet. — $1. 322 Cedar Av. 

Freie Presse Herold. — $2. 2d 
Av. and '6th St. 


$1.50. 722 S. 4th St. 

Improvement Bulletin. — $5. 610 
Exchange Bldg. 

Irish Standard. — $2. Saturday. 
422 1st Av. N. 


Lutheraneren. — $1. 427 S. 4th 
St. Norwegian. 

Masonic Observer. — $1. Mason- 
ic Temple. 

Minnesota Alumni Weekly. — 
$1.25. 219 Folwell Hall, Univ. of 

Mirror. — $1. Ill S. 6th St. 

Mississippi Valley Lumberman. 
--$2.50. 1011 Lumber Exchange. 

N. E. Argus. — 2333 Central Av. 

Northwestern Miller. — $4. Fri- 
day. 118 S. 6th St. Milling. 

Nye Normanden. — $1. Tribune 
Bldg. Norwegian. 

Orange Judd Northwest Farm- 
stead. — $1. 602 Oneida Bldg. 

Progress. — $1. 417 Hennepin Av. 

Register. — Saturday. 402 Bank 
of Commerce Bldg. 

Skandinavisk Farmer Journal. — 
50c. 722 S. 4th St. Agricultural. 


$1. 500 S. 7th St. 


Wednesday. 603 2d Av. S. 

Tidende. — 50c. 307 S. 6th St. 

Twin City Commercial Bulletin. 
2429 Univ. Av., St. Paul, $2. Sat- 
urday. Mercantile. 

Ugebladet. — $1. 722 S. 4th St. 

United Lutheran. — $1. 425 S. 
4th St. 

Woman's Home Weekly. — 601 2d 
Av. S. 

Veckoblad. — $1.50. 307 S. 6th St. 

Farm, Stock and Home. — 50c. 
414-16 S. 6th St. Agricultural. 

Journal-Lancet. — $2. 839 Lum- 
ber Exchange. 

Skordemannen. — 75c. 2625 Chi- 
cago Av. Swedish Agricultural. 

Cigar and Tobacco Journal.— 
209 Globe Bldg. 

Farm Implements. — $1. 1018 
Lumber Exchange. Trade. 

Forskaren. — $1.50. 1119 S. Wash- 
ington A v. Swedish. 

Keith's. — $2. 828 McKnight 

Kvindens Magasin. — $0.75. 406 
5th Av. S., Norwegian Woman's 

Labor Digest. — $1. 807 N. Y. 
Life Bldg. 

Minnesota Horticulturist. — §1. 
207 Kasota Bldg. 


Minnesota Magazine. — Edited 
and published by students Univ. 
of Minn. 

Mudsiktidning. — 50c. 417 Hen- 
nepin Av. Musical. 

Profitable Farming. — 25c. 6th 
St. and 2nd Av. S. 

Public Weal. — 25c. 803 Sykes 
Blk. Prohibition. 

Pythian Advocate. — $1. 754 Se- 
curity Bldg. Knights of Pythias. 

School Education. — $1.25 1401 
Univ. Av. S. E. 


722 S. 4th St. Scandinavian. 

Svenska Roman Bladet. — $1.50. 
246 Cedar Av. 

Western Architect. — 735 Palace 


Clearing House Quarterly. — $5. 
836 Andrus Bldg. 


Dictionary op Minneapolis. — 
25c. Hudson Pub. Co., 404 Kasota 

Minneapolis City Directory. — 
$7. 903 Northwestern Bldg. 

New York life Building-. — Built 

in 1890 by the New York Life In- 
surance Co. It stands at the 
corner of 5th St. and 2nd Av. S. 
with a frontage of 165 feet on the 
former and 121 feet on the latter 
thoroughfare. In exterior appear- 
ance it is massive and substantial. 
The lower stories are of St. Cloud 
granite, with pressed brick above 
topped with an artistic balustrade 
and cornice of terra cotta. The 
building is perfectly fire proof. 
There are about 250 offices. 

It is now the property of the 
First and Security National Bank 
of Minneapolis. 

Nicollet Avenue. — Beginning at 
Bridge Square Nicollet Avenue 
takes a southwesterly course to 
Grant St. and thence due south to 
the city limits. It is the most 
prominent street in the city. From 
1st to 8th Sts. it is crowded with 
retail stores and in fact almost 
monopolizes this class of trade. 
Architecturally the street is above 
the average. Its chief structures 

are the Andrus Bldg., Syndicate 
Blk., Minnesota Loan and Trust 
Company's building, The Glass 
Block, Donaldson building, Dayton 
Bldg. and Westminster Presbyte- 
rian church. Nicollet Avenue is 
80 feet wide. 

Nicollet House. — One of the best 
known hotels in the Northwest. It 
fronts upon Washington, Nicollet 
and Hennepin avenues at the cen- 
ter of the street railway system of 
the city and within a short dis- 
tance of the principal railroad sta- 
tions and both the wholesale and 
retail districts. The Nicollet was 
established in 1S57 and for nearly 
half a century has been a Minne- 
apolis landmark and a center of 
the city's life and activity. It is 
conducted on the European M 
and has accommodations for about 
300 guests. The cafe, on the main 
floor adjoining the office, is one 
of the finest in the Northwest. 

Nicollet Island. — Directly oppo- 
site the center of the city and only 
a few hundred yards above the St. 
Anthony Falls. It is about half a 
mile long and divides the Missis- 
sippi river into the east and west 
channels. The latter is spanned 
by the "steel arch" bridge and the 
former by a stone arch bridge, the 
two forming with Central Av., the 
main thoroughfare to the east side. 
At the lower end of the island, fac- 
tories fill all the available space. 

Northeast Minneapolis. — That 
part of the city lying in the east- 
ern district and north of Central 
Av. and Division St. A popular 

North Minneapolis. — The com : 
mon designation for that part of 
the west division lying north of 
4 th Av. N. 

Northwestern Bank Building". 
— (Formerly Bank of Commerce 
Building.) A six-story, brown 
stone office building at the corner 
of 4th St. and Marquette Av., 

handsome architecturally and most 
advantageously situated in the 
financial center. 

North East Neighborhood House. 

— Is a social settlement at 2d St, 
and 15th Av. N. B., of a non-sec- 
tarian, non-partisan character, for 
the people. It aims to instill prin- 
ciples of sound morality, to pro- 
mote a spirit of civic righteous- 
ness and to improve standards of 
living. It conducts a day nursery, 
industrial and home economic 
classes; gymnasium and baths; so- 
cial dances, library, social and 
literary clubs, a garden club, play- 
ground and musical instruction. 
Northwestern National Bank 
— Occupies a modern banking 
building on Marquette Av. bet. 
Fourth and Fifth Sts. erected in 
1903 and owned by the institution. 
The architecture is strictly class- 
ical. The white marble facade 
is relieved by a handsome portico 
with six massive columns. The 
street front shows two stories, 
but the main banking room in 
the rear extends the entire height 
of the structure and is lighted 
by a number of large skylights. 
The interior decoration is hand- 
some and in keeping with the 
commercial purposes of the build- 
ing. Every modern appliance 
and convenience for the business 
of banking is found in the build- 

Northwestern National Iiife In- 
surance Co. — The Minneapolis 
home company, officered by Minne- 
apolis bankers and business men, 
and one of the most prominent 
financial institutions of the city. 
The company occupies its own 
home office building at the corner 
of Nicollet Av. and Eleventh St. 
John T. Baxter is president. 

Nurses. — Training schools for 
nurses are maintained by the 
leading hospitals. A good nurse 
can usually be obtained by ap- 
plying to any of the hospitals or 
to some reputable physician. 


Oak Grove.— (W. 17th St.) Re- 
ceived its name from the large oak 
trees growing on the slope, 
through which it takes its course. 
It is one of the beautiful residence 
streets of the city. 

Oak Lake. — A section of the 
city lying between Western Av. 
and 6th Av. N. and Lyndale and 
Hoag Aves. It is laid out in park 
style. Western & 2nd St.; and the 
4th Av. S. & 6th Av. N, electric 

Oak Park. — A sightly locality 
north of 6th Av. N„ and west of 
Humboldt. It occupies high 
ground overlooking the city. 4th 
Av. S. & 6th Av. N. cars. 

Odin Club. — A social organiza- 
tion with club rooms in the Metro- 
politan Bank building, 6th St. and 
2nd Av. S, n I- 

Office Building's. — Minneapolis is 
well supplied with office buildings 
of a high order. For a list of the 
more important ones see Build- 

Officials. — (See City Officials.) 

Old Books. (See Book Stokes.* 

Oldest House. — The first house 
erected in Minneapolis (west side) 
was that of Col. John H. Stevens 
built in 1849 on the bank of the 
river where the Union passenger 
station now stands. It was re- 
moved, years ago, to 16th Av. S. 
between 4th and 5th Sts. and later 
to Minnehaha Park where it is 
preserved as a memento of the 
early days of the city. 

Omnibuses. — A responsible con- 
cern operates busses for the trans- 
fer of passengers between depots 
and hotels; and pleasure omni- 
buses for excursions, may be had 
at the large livery stables. (See 
Taxicabs. ) 

Opera Houses. (See Theatres.) 

Orchestral Association of Min- 
neapolis, The. — An incorporated 


body, under whose management 
are given the forty concerts 
of the Minneapolis Symphony Or- 
chestra, supported by a guaranty 
fund of about $75,000 per year 
subscribed by 250 public-spirited 
citizens. The officers are Elbert 
L. Carpenter, president; Edmund 
J. Phelps, vice president; Charles 
N. Chadbourn, secretary and 

(See Minneapolis Symphony Or- 
chestra and Philharmonic Club.) 

Orphan Asylums. (See Benevo- 
lent Societies and Institutions.) 

Orpheum Theater. — Seventh St. 
near Hennepin Av. It was opened 
in 1904 and is devoted to vaude- 
ville at popular prices. 

Parade, The. — One of the newest 
of the city's parks. Lies west of 
Hennepin Av. and north of Ken- 
wood Parkway, immediately west 
of Lorlng Park. It comprises 
some 46 acres and is intended 
chiefly as a drill and play ground. 

Parcel Delivery Companies. — A 
full list with location of offices 
may be found in the city directory. 
They will be found convenient for 
the delivery of small packages es- 
pecially where there are many for 
different addresses. 

Park Avenue. — A handsome resi- 
dence street corresponding to 7th 
Av. S., south from 10th St. It is 
100 feet wide with a 36 foot road- 
way paved with asphalt. 

Park Avenue Congregational 
Church. — At the corner of Park 
and Franklin Aves.; was com- 
pleted in 1888 at a cost about $75,- 
000. The church was organized 
on Oct. 14, 1867, with 20 members; 
it now has about 400 and a Sunday 
school enrollment of over 300. 
Chicago & Fremont electric line. 

Park Commissioners. (See City 
Officials and Parks.) 

Parks and Parkways. — Nature 
has supplied Minneapolis with all 
the requisites for the finest park 

system in the world. All that has 
been done in the way of improve- 
ment has simply been along the 
line of wise adaptation of the nat- 
ural advantages lying ready to 
the hand. But it required courage, 
wisdom and forethought, to bring 
about the present admirable condi- 
tion of the park properties of the 

Stated briefly the park system 
embraces a general plan of me- 
dium sized neighborhood parks, at 
convenient distances throughout 
the city, with an elaborate system 
of parkways and boulevards skirt- 
ing the lakes, and the gorge of the 
Mississippi, and connecting sever- 
al large parks in the outlying dis- 
tricts. The presence within or ad- 
joining the city limits of several 
sightly ridges, no less than a 
dozen beautiful lakes, the pictur- 
esque Minnehaha creek (the outlet 
of Lake Minnetonka) and the re- 
nowned Minnehaha Falls, left no 
lack of natural material. Building 
on these natural gifts, and sup- 
ported by public opinion, and fa- 
vorable legislation, the gentlemen 
in charge of the parks have ac- 
cumulated for the public, park 
property valued at about $8,500,- 
000 and amounting to one acre 'to 
each 100 of the city's population, 
a larger area in proportion to pop- 
ulation than any other American 
city. The city owns about 3,800 
acres of park area with connecting 
and encircling driveways aggre- 
gating about 50 miles in length. 

Board of Park Commissioners.— 
The board of park commissioners 
was created in 1883. The law 
provides for the election of twelve 
commissioners who with the 
mayor, ex-officio, the chairman of 
the committee on public grounds 
and buildings, and the chairman of 
the committee on roads and 
bridges of the city council, ex- 
officio, constitute the board. It 
has power to obtain title to lands 
by purchase or condemnation and 


to assess the value of lands se- 
lected for parks upon the sur- 
rounding benefited property. The 
board further has power to issue 
bonds to pay for property ac- 
quired, close streets which may 
divide lands bought for park pur- 
poses, construct bridges, adopt 
police regulations and acquire and 
control park ways. One very val- 
uable power given the board is 
that of planting and controlling 
shade trees on any streets or 
public grounds in the city. 

The Park System. — A look at 
the map will show that four large 
lakes lie along the southwestern 
boundary of the city while Minne- 
haha creek winds its way near the 
southern limits, finally tumbling 
over the cliffs and forming Minne- 
haha Falls, in the extreme south- 
easterly corner of the city. To 
reach these points of interest was 
of course the object of the park 
board in laying out the park sys- 
tem. The beautiful Loring Park 
(described elsewhere under its 
own heading) was from its loca- 
tion the natural point of begin- 
ning, and the place to which one 
must repair who wishes to view 
the park system most advantage- 
ously. Due west from Loring 
Park extends Kenwood Parkway. 
It is a broad avenue with walks 
and double rows of trees on either 
side. Like all the boulevards, it 
is beautified with occasional flower 
beds and ornamental shrubbery 
Further on the drive occupies a 
ridge extending in a general south- 
westerly direction and command- 
ing fine views of the city and the 
lakes. At its southernmost end it 
connects with Lake of the Isles 
Boulevard which completely encir- 
cles the charming lake of that 
name. Next south and con- 
nected by a drive of a few hundred 
yards is Lake Calhoun. These 
lakes are also connected by a 
waterway opened in 1911 It Is 
spanned by handsome stone arch 
bridges and between the lakes Is 


a beautiful lagoon which serves 
as a harbor for water craft. A 
similar waterway connects Lake 
of the Isles with Cedar Lake and 
Brownie Lake, giving continuous 
passage for small craft through 
the four lakes — Calhoun, Lake of 
the Isles, Cedar and Brownie Lake. 

The Park Board maintains boats 
for hire on Lake Calhoun and 
Lake Harriet, while hundreds of 
private boats, canoes, launches and 
sail boats are kept on the lakes. 
The Park Board also operates pub- 
lic launches on Calhoun and Lake 
of the Isles and on Lake Harriet. 
Every 45 minutes after 2 :30 p. m. 
(every iy 2 hrs. 7 a. m. to 2:30 p. 
m.) the "Three Lakes" or the 
"Maid of the Isles" leaves Lake 
St. Landing for the tour of Lake 
Calhoun, Lake of the Isles, and 
Cedar Lake. Fare between any 
two landings on any one of the 
lakes, 5 cents. Round trip of the 
three lakes, 11 miles — 90 minutes 
— 25 cents. 

The "Harriet" leaves Main Dock 
(42nd St.) every hour (every 30 
minutes after 4 p. m.) for the 
tour of Lake Harriet. Fare be- 
tween any two landings, 5 cents. 
Round trip of the lake, 3.5 miles 
— 25 minutes — 10 cents. 

A model bathhouse on the north 
shore of Lake Calhoun was opened 
in 1912. 

This group of lakes and sur- 
rounding parks forms a rare com- 
bination of natural beauty and 
the work of the landscape archi- 
tect. The whole forms virtually 
one great park and as it is gradu- 
ally perfected will become one of 
the most beautiful parks in the 

The parkway continues along 
the eastern shore of Lake Cal- 
houn, now rising high above 
the water and again dropping 
almost to its level. A short 
distance farther south is Lake 
Harriet around which extends 
the most beautiful part of 


the parkway system. The natural 
contour of the lake shore has been 
preserved, in most places, with 
admirable effect. Between Lakes 
Calhoun and Harriet and north of 
the latter is a large tract of land 
acquired partly by the gift of the 
late Col. Wm. S. King and partly 
by purchase. From Lake Harriet 
southeasterly the parkway system 
extends along Minnehaha creek to 
the Falls. The driveway winds 
along the shores of the romantic 
stream, occasionally crossing and 
approaching or diverging as the 
formation of the land suggests. 
At Minnehaha Falls the parkway 
reaches a park of 142 acres which, 
with the adjoining grounds of the 
Minnesota soldiers home, form 200 
acres of parked land. From this 
point there is a parkway along the 
summit of the Mississippi river 
cliffs to Riverside Park about a 
mile below St. Anthony Falls. 

West and north of the group 
of lakes described extends a newer 
portion of the park system sur- 
rounding Cedar Lake, Brownie's 
Lake and Glenwood Lake. From 
this almost continuous park ex- 
tends the Glenwood-Camden park- 
way following the western city 
limits north to 45th Av., where it 
turns and crosses eastward, to the 
Mississippi river. With the south- 
erly lakes and River Bank park- 
ways, this extension goes far 
toward completing a grand encir- 
cling parkway which within a few 
years will extend entirely around 
the city. 

Facts relating to the various 
parks are to be found under their 
own individual headings. (See 
Citt Officers and Government.) 

Parks and Parkways. — Follow- 
ing is a list of the parks and park- 
ways with area of each, and a 
supplementary list of the drive- 
ways in these parks with the 
length of each : 

Audubon Park. — 5.39 acres; Fill- 
more and 29 th Av. N. E. 

Barnes Place. — 0.57 acres; El- 
wood Av. and 8th Av. N. 

Bedford Triangle — 0.009 Orlin 
and Bedford St. S. E. 

Bottineau Field — 6.22 2nd St. 
and 19 th A v. N. E. 

Bryant Square. — 3.68 acres; 
Bryant Av. S. and 31st St. 

Bryn Mawr Meadows. — 39.30 
acres; Bryn Mawr. 

Caleb Dorr Circle -0.103 E. end 
Franklin Av. Bridge. 

Camden Park. — 21.5 acres; 
Washington, Lyndale and 44th 
Avs. N. 

Cedar Avenue Triangle. — 0.021 
acres; Cedar Av. and 7th St. S. 

Cedar Lake Boulevard. — 48.50 
acres; south and west shores 
Cedar Lake. 

Chowen Triangle. — 0.05 acres; 
W. 28th St. and Chowen Av. 

Clarence Triangle — 0.024 Clar- 
ence Av. and Bedford St. S. E. 

Clifton Triangle. — 0.034 acres; 
Clifton Av. and Clifton PI. 

Columbia Park. — 185 acres; 
Central Av. and 31st Av. N. E. 

Cottage Park. — 0.50 acres; 
James Av. and Ilion Av. N. 

Crystal Lake Triangle. — 0.053 
acres; Crystal Lake Av. and 30th 
Av. N. 

Dean Boulevard. — 15.90 acres; 
From southwest side of Lake of 
the Isles to and on north side of 
Lake Calhoun. 

Dell Park. — 0.44 acres; W. side 
Lake Harriet, 44th to 45th Sts. 

Dell Place. — 0.037 acres; Dell 
Place, bet. Summit and Groveland. 

Dorilus Morrison Park. — 8.49 
acres; E. 22nd St. and Stevens Av. 

Douglas Triangle. — 0.07 acres; 
Douglas and Mt. Curve Avs. 

Elliot Park. — 6.924 acres; 8th 
St. and 9 th A v. S. 

Elm wood Triangle. — 0.02 acres; 
Elmwood Place and Luverne Av. 

Euclid Triangle. — .33 acres; Eu- 
clid PI. and W. 26th St. 

Farview Park. — 20.82 acres; 
Lyndale Av. and 26th Av. N. 

Farwell Park. — 1.22 acres; 
Sheridan Av. N. and Farwell PI. 

Franklin. Steele Squake. — 1.54 
acres; Portland Av. and 16th St. E. 

Glen Gale. — 1.65 acres; Irving 
Av. and 23rd Av. N. 

Glenwood-Camden Parkway. — 
164.56 acres; From Glenwood park 
at 19th Av. N. to Camden Park 
via. W. Limits and 45 th Av. N. 

Glenwood Park. — 585.38 acres; 
Western Av. and Abbott Av. N. 

Groveland Triangle. — .209 
acres; Groveland and Forest Avs. 

Hiawatha Triangle. — .50 acres; 
Minnehaha Av. and 3 2d St. 

Highland Oval. — 0.058 acres; in 
Highland Av. near Royalston Av., 
in Oak Lake Addition. 

Hillside Triangle. — .607 acres; 
Hillside Av. and Logan Av. N. 

Humboldt Triangle. — 0.35 acres; 
6th Av. N and Elwood Av. 

Iagoo Triangle. — .05 acres; Hia- 
watha Av. and E. 45th St. 

Interlachen. — 25 . 50 acres; 
South of Lake Calhoun, from W. 
38th St. to W. 40th St. 

Irving Triangle. — 0.11 acres; 
Irving Av. and 22d Av. N. 

Jackson Square. — 2.32 acres; 22d 
Av. N E. and Jackson St. 

Kenwood Park. — 33.45 acres; bet. 
Logan, Franklin, Oliver, Kenwood 
Parkwaj'- and Morgan Avs. 

Kenwood Parkway. — 20.60 acres; 
from Lake of the Isles to Loring 
Park via Kenwood and Spring 

Kenwood Triangle. — .02 acres; 
Oliver Av. and W. Franklin. 

King's Highway. — 17.58 acres; 
from W. 36th St. to Lake Harriet 
via Dupont Av. and 46th St. 

Lake Calhoun. — 522.6 acres; 
surrounding and including Lake 

Lake Harriet. — 402 acres; sur- 
rounding Lake Harriet and includ- 
ing "The Beard Plaisance." 

Lake Nokomis. — 409.6 acres; 
surrounding and including Lake 

Lake of the Isles Park. — 200 
acres; surrounding and including 
Lake of the Isles. 

Lakeside Oval. — 0.316 acres; 
north of Lakeside Av. in Oak Lake 

Laurel Triangle. — 0.01 acres; 
Laurel Av. and Cedar Lake Rd. 

Linden Hills Boulevard. — 5.59 
acres; Russell Av. and W. 40th St. 
to Lake Harriet. 

Logan Park. — 10.08 acres ; Broad- 
way and Monroe St. 


Longfellow Field. — 4.22 acres; 
Minnehaha Av., bet. 28 th and 29 th 

Loring Park. — 36.34 acres; Hen- 
nepin Av. and Harmon PI. 

Lovell Square. — 1.35 acres; Irv- 
ing Av. and 10th Av. N. 

Lowry Triangle. — 0.16 acres; 
Hennepin Av. and Vineland PI. 

Lyndale Farmstead. — 18.49 
acres; 38th and Bryant Av. S. 

Lyndale Park. — 61.26 acres; bet. 
Lake Harriet Blvd. and Lakewood 
Cemetery, from King's Highway to 
Penn Av. S. 

Maple Hill. — 8.04 acres bet. 
Polk, Filmore, Summer and 
Broadway N. E. 

Marshall Terrace 7.75 acres; 

Marshall St. and 27th Av. N. E. 

Minnehaha Parkway. — 177.07 
acres; from Lake Harriet to Min- 
nehaha Falls via Minnehaha Creek 
and E. 48th St. 

Mississippi Park. — Includes : 

Minnehaha Park. — 142.04 acres; 
at Minnehaha Falls. 

Riverside Park. — 42.28 a,cres; 
6th St. and 26th Av. S. 

River Road, East. — 82.50 acres; 
East bank Mississippi river, Ar- 
lington St. to east city limits and 
Pleasant St., through University 

River Road, West, including 
Islands in River. — 175.36 acres; 
Mississippi River, Franklin Av. to 
Minnehaha Park. 

Monroe Place. — .048 acres; Mon- 
roe, 7th St. and 3rd Av. N. E. 

Mount Curve Triangle. — 0.05 
acres; Mount Curve and Fremont 

Murphy Square. — 3.33 acres; 22d 
Av. S. and 7% St. 

Newton Triangle. — 0.12 acres; 
Hillside Av. and Newton Av. N. 

Normanna Triangle. — 0.07 acres; 
Minnehaha Av. and E. 22d St. 

North Commons. — 25.74 acres; 
bet. Morgan, James, 16th and 19th 

Oak Lake. — 1.33 acres; bet. 
Lakeside Av. and Border Av. 

Oliver Triangle. — 0.04 acres; 
21st Av. N. and Oliver Av. 

Orlin Triangle- 0.013 acre*; 
Melbourne and Orlin Aves. S. E. 

Osseo Triangle. — .03 acres; Hia- 
watha Av. and E. 45th St. 



acres; Tenth Av. S. and B. 32nd St. 

Prospect Field. — 5.31 acres; 
Williams and St. Mary's Avs. 

Rauen Triangle. — 0.027 acres; 
11th Av. N. and 5th St. 

Richard Chute Square. — 1.07 
acres; University Av. and 1st Av. 
S. E. 

Royalston Triangle. — 0.20 
acres; 6th A v. N. and Royalston 

Russell Triangle. — .03 acres; 
Russell Av. and McNair Av. 

Rustic Lodge Triangle. — .175 
acres; Rustic Lodge & Bingham 

Sheridan Field. — 1.25 acres; 
12th and University Avs. N. B. 

Small Triangle. — 0.01 acres; 
Royalston Av. and Highland Av. 

Smith Triangle. — 0.26 acres; 
Hennepin Av. and 24th St. 

St. Anthony Boulevard. — 59.8 
acres. Division St. to Columbia 

Stevens Place. — 0.06 acres; 
Portland Av. and Grant St. 

Stevens Square. — 2.48 acres; bet. 
18th and 19th, Stevens and 2d Avs. 

Stewart Field. — 3.75 acres; 
26th St. and 10th Avs. S. 

Stinson Boulevard. — 15.10 acres; 
Oak St. from Division St. to 11th 
Av. N. E. 

Sumner Field. — 3.01 acres; bet. 
Bryant and Dupont and 8th and 
11th Avs. N. 

Svea Triangle. — 0.089 acres; 
Riverside Av. and 26th Av. S. 

The Gateway. — 1.21 acres; Hen- 
nepin and Washington Avs. 

The Mall. — 4.75 acres; Hen. Av. 
to Calhoun Boul. S. of C, M. & St. 
P. Ry. 

The Parade. — 68 acres; Ken- 
wood Parkway and Lyndale Av. 

Tower Hill. — 4.70 acres; Uni- 
versity Av. S. E. bet. Clarence 
and Malcolm Avs. 

Van Cleve Park. — 6.97 acres; 
Como Av. and 14th Av. S. E. 

Vineland Triangle. — 0.05 acres; 
Vineland Place and Bryant Avs. S. 

Virginia Triangle. — .167 acres; 
Hennepin and Groveland Avs. 

Washburn Fair Oaks. — 7.48 
acres; Stevens to 3rd Av. S., bet. 
22nd and 24th Sts. 

Washington T r i a n g l e. — 0.04 
acres; Washington St. and 8th Av. 
N. E. 

West End Triangle. — 0.132 
acres; W. 28th St. and Cedar Lake 

Wilson Park. — 1.13 acres; 12th 
St. N. and Hawthorn Av. 

Windom Park. — 8.63 acres; John- 
son St. and 25th Av. N. E. 

Drives in Parks and Parkways. 

Camden Park 11 

Cedar Lake Boulevard l.liJ 

Columbia Park 2.99 

Dean Boulevard 94 

Farview Park 84 

Glenwood-Camden Parkway.. 4.50 

Glenwood Park 3.19 

Interlachen 31 

Kenwood Parkway 1.62 

King's Highway 1.45 

Lake Calhoun, Circuit Drive.. 3.21 
Lake Harriet, Circuit Drive 2.82 
Lake Harriet, Additional 

Drives 1.96 

Lake of the Isles 2.85 

Lyndale Farmstead 41 

Lyndale Park 1.02 

Minnehaha Park 2.22 

Minnehaha Parkway 6.02 

Powderhorn Lake Park 37 

River Road, East 2.16 

River Road, West 4.00 

St. Anthony Boulevard 3.57 

Stinson Boulevard 1.83 

Riverside Park 57 

The Mall 32 

The Parade 50 

Windom Park 22 

Total 51.00 

Water Areas. 


Lake Calhoun 460 

Lake Harriet 353 

Lake of the Isles 107 

Lake Nokomis 26b 

Powderhorn Lake Park 18 

Glenwood Lake 38 

Rrownie Lake 18 

Loring Lake 7 

Birch Pond 6 

Spring Lake g 2 

Loring Park Lake 7 

Birch Pond 6 

Spring Lake 2 

Parochial Schools. — Schools con- 
nected with the Catholic church of 
the city have an enrollment of 

about 5,500 pupils and are as fol- 
lows : 

De La Salle Institute, high 
school for boys, Nicollet Island; 
St. Margaret's Academy, 1301 
Linden Av. ; Holy Angels' Acade- 
my, 643 N. 4th St.; Holy Rosary, 
18th Av. S. and 24th St.; St. Jo- 
seph, 5th St. and 11th Av. N.; 
St. Anthony of Padua, 2nd St. 
between 8th and 9th Avs. N. E.; 
St. Boniface, corner 2nd St. and 
7th Av. N. E.; Our Lady of 
Lourdes, Prince St. near Central 
Av.; St. Elizabeth, 1412 8th St.; 
Ascension School, 18th Av. N. and 
Colfax; Procathedral School, 16th 
near Hennepin; Holy Cross, 1628 
N. E. 4th St.; Incarnation, Pleas- 
ant Av. and W. 38th St.; St. Philip, 
Bryant Av. and 26th Av. N.; Cath- 
olic Orphan Asylum, Chicago Av. . 
and 47th St. 

Patrol limits. — The boundaries 
of the region in which by special 
legislation the saloons of the city 
are compelled to remain. This 
territory is almost exclusively 
what is usually called the business 
district, making the residence 
parts of the city practically pro- 
hibition localities. (See Saloons.) 

Patrol Wagons. (See Police.) 

Paving. — Minneapolis has about 
140 miles of paved streets. As- 
phalt, sandstone, brick, granite 
and creosoted blocks are the ma- 
terials principally used. There 
are about 900 miles of curbstone 
in place. (See Streets and Pub- 
lic Improvements.) 

Periodicals. (See Newspapers 
and Periodicals and Newsdealers.) 

Philharmonic Club. — An associa- 
tion of 250 men and women sing- 
ers, which gives, with the assist- 
ance of the Minneapolis Symphony 
Orchestra, choral concerts during 
the winter season, one of which 
is always Handel's "Messiah," on 
Christmas Day. The club is 
now in its twentieth year. 
Officers, C. Ellis Fisher, presi- 


dent; W. P. Fruen, vice-president; 
and Trafford N. Jayne, secretary. 
(See Minneapolis Symphony Or- 
chestra and Orchestral Associ- 
ation of Minneapolis.) 

Photography. — There are many 
well equipped photographic gal- 
leries. Prominent are those of The 
Brush Studios. 33 and 35 S. 6th 
St.; Sweet, 29 S. 10th St.; 
Hubner, 1030 Nicollet; Miller, 
Medical Block, 608 Nicollet. 

The thousands of amateur pho- 
tographers in the city include 
many artists of ability. The 
leading dealers in photographic 
supplies are : C. A. Hoffman, 814 
Nicollet Av.; E. B. Meyrowitz, 604 
Nicollet Av.; O. H. Peck Co., 116 S. 
5th St.; T. V. Moreau, 616 Nic. Av. 

Picnic Grounds. — For large 
parties the most desirable picnic 
grounds are on the shores of Lake 
Minnetonka. Spring Park reached 
by the Great Northern Ry., affords 
accommodations for large parties, 
while small companies can also 
be accommodated there and at 
scores of other places about the 
groves about Lake Calhoun and 
Harriet (Como-Harriet electric 
line) and at Minnehaha Falls, 
reached by the Minnehaha line. If 
carriages or bicycles are used the 
roads about the city lead to many 
pretty places which are very re- 
tired. (See Excursions.) 

Pioneers' Museum. — The Pio- 
neers' Museum in the Godfrey 
House, Richard Chute Square, is 
now free to the public daily, ex- 
cept Sunday, from 10 a. m. to 4 
p. m. 

Pillsbury "A" Mill. — The great 
"Pillsbury A," stands on S. E. 
Main St. at the corner of 3d Av. 
S. E. It is built of stone, six 
stories high with dimensions of 
115x175 feet and a height from 
the bottom of the wheel pit to the 
roof of 187 feet. Work was be- 
gun on the mill in March, 1879, 
and it commenced operation in 
1881. The cost, equipped, was 


about $1,500,000, and the mill 
has a capacity of 13,500 bar- 
rels of flour in twenty-four con- 
secutive hours. About 60,000 bush- 
els of wheat are needed for the 
ordinary daily run, 400 men are 
employed, and the force furnished 
by the two immense turbine wa- 
ter wheels is 4,000 horse power. 
This is supplemented by 3,500 
electric horse power. (See 

Flour and Flour Mills.) 

Filisbury Hall. (See Univer- 

Fillsbury House. — The home of 
the settlement work conducted by 
Plymouth Congregational Church 
— for many years as the Bethel 
Settlement. The building is a 
beautiful and complete structure 
earefully adapted to the needs of 
settlement work. It was built in 
1906, the gift of Chas. S. and John 
S. Pillsbury as a memorial to their 
parents, Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. 
Pillsbury. The House is at 320 
16th Av. S. 

Pillsbury library. — One of the 
most beautiful buildings in Min- 
neapolis is the Pillsbury branch 
library erected in 1903, and 
is occupied by the East Side 
branch of the public library. It is 
located at University Av. and 1st 
Av. S. E. This structure repre- 
sents a long-considered plan of the 
late John S. Pillsbury for the erec- 
tion of a public library for the 
special benefit of the "east side" 
where he lived during his half 
century of residence in Minneap- 
olis. The building is of white 
marble 90 feet long by 70 feet in 
depth, entirely fire proof and 
adapted perfectly to the modern 
ideas of a circulating and refer- 
ence library. It is beautifully fin- 
ished in mahogany, and is fur- 
nished with handsome mahogany 
furniture and the most modern 
steel book-stacks. Beside the reg- 
ular reading room, reference room, 
children's room and delivery 
room there is also a very com- 

fortable audience hall. The cost 
of the building was about $75,000. 

Places to "Visit. (See Seeing 
the Citt, Drives, Excursions.) 

Playgrounds. — Public play- 
grounds are receiving much at- 
tention. Every park is in fact a 
playground but many are unsuited 
for certain sports and games; and 
space and equipment have been 
especially provided in various 
parks, as baseball and football 
grounds in The Parade, gymnas- 
tic apparatus and all sorts of 
things for the smaller children 
in a dozen different parks. Sup- 
ervision is given in most places 
and the children are interested 
and instructed in games, folk 
dancing, etc. The board of edu- 
cation has playgrounds in the 
vicinity of twelve or more schools 
and provides supervision in a 
most successful way. The whole 
movement has the approval and 
co-operation of the public and the 
system will be rapidly developed. 

Plumbing Inspection. — House- 
holders or tenants may secure the 
sanitary inspection of plumbing by 
making proper application at the 
health department office in the city 
hall. (See Health Department.) 

Plymouth Building 1 . — A twelve- 
story concrete office building erect- 
ed in 1910 at the corner of Henne- 
pin Av. and Sixth St. at a cost of 
about $1,000,000. It is thoroughly 
modern in every respect and abso- 
Iutely fire-proof. The exterior 
walls are of red brick, stone and 
terra cotta. Interior fittings are 
of mahogany. Simplicity of design, 
solidity and permanence character- 
ize every detail of the great build- 
ing, which is one of the largest in 
the West. The ground dimensions 
are 247 feet on Sixth St. by 187 
on Hennepin. 

Plymouth Congregational 
Church. — The largest church in 
the denomination, and one of the 
most influential in the city. Its 


membership includes some of the 
wealthiest and most prominent 
of the citizens of Minneapolis. 
The church is always foremost in 
the activities of the religious ele- 
ment of the community. The 
church was organized in 1857 with 
18 members. From 1875 until the 
summer of 1907 a church edifice 
at Eighth St. and Nicollet Av. was 
occupied and was one of the land- 
marks of the city. This building 
was sold early in 1907 and a new 
building was erected on Grove- 
land Av. between Nicollet Av. and 
Vine PI. This is one of the most 
beautiful and completely equipped 
churches in the city. 

The material used on the ex- 
terior of the church is seam face 
granite from St. Cloud, Minn., 
with trimmings of buff Bedford 
limestone from Indiana. The 
principal frontage is on Grove- 
land Av. The parish house is at 
the left, next Nicollet Av. Be- 
tween the parish house and the 
church proper and farther back 
from the street is the chapel, 
with the cloisters connecting the 

The church proper, seating 
about a thousand, is cruciform in 
plan, with a vestibule running 
across the full width, at the rear 
of nave, and a gallery over the 

The chapel is rectangular and 
is covered by an open trussed 
Gothic roof. With the gallery it 
will seat about 500 people. Open- 
ing from the chapel is the parlor, 
which in turn connects with the 
corridor of the parish house and 
other smaller rooms. The office 
and minister's reception room and 
the library are all on the main 
floor of the parish house. 

In benevolences and charities 
Plymouth Church has a remark- 
able record. An important branch 
of the church work is in the line 
of city missions and settlement 
work. Rev. H. P. Dewey, D. D., 
is pastor. 


Police. — The Minneapolis police 
force is composed of 350 men ap- 
pointed by the mayor and under 
the authority of a superintendent. 
Headquarters are in the City Hall. 
The city is divided into six police 
precincts, each in charge of a 
lieutenant and station sergeant. 
The police stations are located as 
First Precinct, in City Hall. 
Second Precinct, 412 1st Av. S. E. 
Third Precinct, Cor. 19th Av. S. 
and 4 th St. 

Fourth Precinct, 3rd St. near 
20th Av. N. 

Fifth Precinct, 213 E. Lake St. 
Sixth Precinct, 3001 Minnehaha 

As adjuncts to the First, Sec- 
ond, Third and Fourth precincts 
there are four patrol wagons kept 
in constant readiness to aid officers 
who have arrested unruly prison- 
ers. In case of mobs or riots the 
patrol wagons are valuable for 
bringing a large number of officers 
speedily to the scene of action. 
They are also used when raiding 
tough resorts, or gambling dens, 
or in making wholesale arrests. 
The wagons at the first and third 
precinct stations are "auto-pa- 
trols." An ambulance is kept at 
the Central precinct and a police 
surgeon is always on duty. 

Police Court. (See Municipal 


Political Divisions. — Minneap- 
olis is divided into 13 wards for 
the administration of local govern- 
ment and contains several senato- 
rial and legislative districts. It is 
in the Fourth Judicial District and 
with the remainder of Hennepin 
County forms the Fifth Congres- 
sional District of the state. 

Wards and their Boundaries.— 
(It should be understood that 
where a street or avenue is men- 
tioned as a dividing line the mid- 
dle of the street is the actual line). 
Is* Ward.— Bounded on the west 
by the river, on the south by 


Bridge St., Nicollet Island. Cen- 
tral Av., on the east by N. E. 5th 
St., and on the north by the city 

2nd Ward.— On the west and 
south by the river, on the east by 
city limits, on the north by Divi- 
sion St., S. E. 9th St., Central Av. 
and Bridge St. 

3rd Ward.— On the east by the 
river, south by 3rd Av. N., 6th St. 
and 6th Av. N., west by west city 
limits, north by 26th Av. N. 

±th Ward.— On the north by 3rd 
Av. N., 6th St. and 6th Av. N., west 
by city limits, south by W. Frank 
lin Av., (laid out and extended, 
and east by Nicollet Av., E. Grant 
St., Marquette Av. and the river. 

5th Ward. — On the west by Mar- 
quette Av., E. Grant St. and Nicol- 
let Av., south by E. 24th St., east 
by 10th Av. S. and north by river. 

Qth Ward.— On north and east 
by river, south by S. 7th St., west 
by 10 th Av. S. 

1th Ward— On north by E. 24th 
St., east by Hiawatha Av., 28th St. 
and 21st Av., south by city limits, 
west by Chicago Av. 

8th Ward.— On north by Frank- 
lin Av., Nicollet Av., and E. 24th 
St., east by Chicago Av., south by 
34th St. (laid out and extended), 
west by western city limits. 

9th Ward.— On north and east 
by city limits, south by Division 
and S. E. 9th Sts. and Central Av., 
west by N. E. 5th St. 

Wth Ward.— On north by city 
limits, east by river, south by 26th 
Av. N., west by west city limits. 

nth Ward— On the north by S. 
7th St., east by river, south by E. 
24th St. and west by 10th Av. S. 

12th Ward— On the north by E. 
24th St., east by river, south by 
city limits and west by 21st Av. 
S.. E. 28th St. and Hiawatha Av. 

lZth Ward.— North by 34th St., 
east by Chicago Av., south and 
west by city limits. 

State Legislative Distbicts.— 
Members of the state senate and 
house of representatives are elect- 
ed from the following districts 
either wholly or partly within the 
city limits, each district being en- 
titled to elect one senator and two 
representatives : 

28th District. — 1st ward; 1st pre- 
cinct 10th ward ; 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 

4th precincts 3rd ward ; 4th and 5th 
precincts 9th ward. 

29th District. — 2nd ward; 1st, 
2nd, 3rd, 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th pre- 
cincts 9th ward ; and the town of 
St. Anthony. 

ZOth District. — 4th ward. 

Slst District. — 5th and 6th wards. 

32nd District. — 11th and 12th 

33 rd District.— 7 th and 13 th 

Zith District — 8th ward. 

Z5th District. — 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 
9th, 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th pre- 
cincts 3rd ward ; 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 
6th and 7th precincts, 10th ward. 

Voting Pkecincts.— In compliance 
with the terms of the state law 
and for convenience in conducting 
elections the city is divided into 
115 precincts or election districts 
which are apportioned among the 
wards as follows: 

First, 9; Second, 9; Third, 15; 
Fourth, 19; Fifth, 16; Sixth, 5; 
ington Av. between Second and 
Third Aves. S., is the second Fed- 
eral Building to be constructed in 
Seventh, 14 ; Eighth, 23 ; Ninth, 14 ; 
Tenth, 9 ; Eleventh, 8 ; Twelfth, 11 ; 
Thirteenth, 14. 

Politics. — In national elections 
Minneapolis has ordinarily been 
classed as "republican" but in 
municipal elections there has been 
much fluctuation between the two 
prominent parties. Since 1880 six 
democratic and eight republican 
mayors have been elected. 

In 1912 the non-partisan system 
of nomination went into effect 
with the result that Wallace G. 
Nye, a republican in affiliations, 
was elected over Thomas Van 
Lear, who was supported by the 

In 1887, the time of holding 
municipal elections was changed 
from April to November making 
them occur at the same time as 
the state and national elections. 
The vote of the City of Minneap- 
olis for mayor in the election of* 
1916 showed 64,983 votes cast, as 
follows : 


Corner of Fourth Street and Hennepin Avenue 

Center Retail and Wholesale District 
Vaults for Moving Picture Films Display Rooms for Manufacturers' Agents, Etc. 












hd m 



of 3 



| 889 



































3309|[ 1226 













Soldier vote. . 




Grand total . . 



Majorities or 

pluralities . . . 


The vote for mayor in the last 
two decades has been as follows : 






. 3,039. 

. 1,690.. 

..Rand, R 



. S.505. 

. 6,259.. 

..Ames, D 




. 5,876.. 

..Pillsbury, R. 








..Babb, R 





..Winston, D.. 





..Eustis, R 





..Pratt, R 





..Pratt, R 



. 9,494. 


..Gray, D 





..Ames, R 





..Haynes, D... 



.18, Wo. 


..Jones, R 

... 256 




..Haynes, D... 





..Haynes, D... 

. £56 




..Haynes, D.. 

.. 34 

Population. — The following ta- 
ble shows the growth of the city 
in forty years according to the U. 
S. census : 

Gain in 
Population. 10 yrs. 

1850 538 

1860 6,849 5,311 

1870 J8,079 12,230 


1880 46,887 28,808 

1890 164,738 117,851 

1900 202,718 37,980 

1910 301,408 98,690 

The figures for 1850 are those of 
the village of St. Anthony alone, 
Minneapolis not then being in ex- 
istence; those of 1860 and 1870 
are the combined population of 
the two towns. In 1872 the two 
places were permanently united. 
In the 10 years from 1880 to 1890 
Minneapolis gained 251.75 per cent 
in population, a rate of increase 
not equalled by any city of the 
same class. 

The population in 1918 is esti- 
mated at about 425,000. 

Portland Avenue. — The continu- 
ation of 6th Av. S. from 11th St. ■ 
to city limits. It is iOO feet wide 
with broad sidewalks and grass 

Post Office The New Post Of- 
fice Building, located on Wash- 
Minneapolis. It was occupied 
January 15, 1915, and is devoted 
entirely to postal business. The 
building covers the entire block, 
being one story in height over 
the largest area and three stories 
to a depth of 100 feet along the 
Third Avenue elevation. The first 
floor is devoted to the Mailing Di- 
vision — incoming and outgoing; 
Registry Section, Money Order 
Section and "stamp Section, and 
offices of the Postmaster, and 
superintendent of mails. On the 
second floor are the offices of 
the Custodian, Assistant Post- 
master, Railway Mail, Post Of- 
fice Inspector and Cashier. On 
the third floor are the Examina- 
tion Rooms for the Post Office 
and the Civil Service. The Dis- 
patch Room is in the rear facing 
the court-yard on Second Av. S. 

The building is the largest im- 
proved modern Post Office at pres- 
ent constructed in the United 

Edward A. Purdy is Postmaster, 
and C. W. Kerr, assistant post- 


master in charge of Finance Di- 
vision and J. C. Crowley, super- 
intendent of mails in charge of 
mailing division. 

Branch Offices. — There are 
branch offices as follows : 

Traffic Station — 623 1st Av. N. . . 

Commerce Station.— Old Chamber 
of Commerce Bldg. 

St. Anthony Falls Station. — 22 
Univ. Ave. S. E. 

Calhoun Station. — Lake St. and 
Lyndale Av. 

Lake St. Station. — Blaisdell Av. 
and Lake St. 

Highland Station.— 1910 N. Wash- 
ington Av. 

Camden Station. — 709 42d Av. N. 

Bloomington Station. — 1501 B. 
Lake St. 

Linden Hills Station. — 2733 W. 
43rd St. 

Station F (Rural carriers). — 54th 
St. and Lyndale Av. S. 

These branch offices perform all 
the functions of a regular post 
office. In addition to these are 59 
numbered stations which issue and 
pay money orders, register letters 
and sell stamps. 

Post Office Hours. — The gener- 
al post office is open for the recep- 
tion of mail from 5 o'clock a. m. 
to midnight, and for general 
business from 7:30 a. m. to 7:30 p. 
m., except Sundays. Cashier's of- 
fice, from 9 a. m. to 4 p. m. For 
the transaction of .registry busi- 
ness, from 7 :30 a. m. to 9 p. m., 
and for money order business 
from 8:15 a. m. to 7:30 p. m. 

The carrier stations are open for 
general business from 7:30 a. m. 
to 6 :00 p. m. 

The numbered stations in drug 
stores, etc., are open for business 
at all hours of the day and even- 
ing, including Sundays. 

Arrival and Departure of Mails. 
— Nearly all mails arrive and de- 
part both morning and evening. 
Eastern mails leave, usually, very 
early, the closing hour (varying 
with the railroad schedules) being 
ordinarily not later than 5:30 p. 

m. for the "fast mail." The im- 
portant eastern mails arrive from 
8 to 9 a. m. 

Delivery of Mails. — Through 
the central portion of the city 
from three to six deliveries are 
made daily. Outside two or three 
is the rule. A 10c "special deliv- 
ery" stamp secures immediate de- 
livery to any part of the city be- 
tween 7 a. m. and 11 p. m. Ordi- 
nary stamps may be used for 
special delivery, provided the 
words "Special Delivery," or their 
equivalent, are written conspicu- 
ously on the envelope. 

There are 2,000 lock boxes in the 
post office which may be rented at 
prices ranging from $2 per quarter 

Collection of Mails. — Street 
boxes are located in all parts of 
the city and letter chutes are 
found in all office buildings of im- 
portance. From boxes in residence 
sections there are from one to six 
daily collections. From boxes in 
business section 10 to 20 collec- 
tions. No Sunday collections ex- 
cept from boxes located on car 
lines. From these and from boxes 
in business sections there is one 
collection Sunday between 2 and 
4 :30 p. m. Collection wagons with- 
in the central business district 
will call for large quantities of 
mail upon application. 

Rates of Postage. — Rates of do- 
mestic postage are as follows: 

First Class. — Letters and all 
written matter whether sealed or 
unsealed, and all other matter, 
sealed, nailed, sewed, tied or 
fastened in any manner so that it 
cannot easily be examined, two 
cents per ounce or fraction thereof. 
Postal cards lc, with "Return" 
card 2c. 

Second Class. — All regular news- 
papers and periodicals issvied at 
intervals not exceeding three 
months, 1 cent for each four 

Third Class. — Printed books, 
pamphlets, circulars, engravings, 
lithographs, proof-sheets and man- 

uscript accompanying- the same 
and all matter of the same general 
character, and not having the 
character of personal correspond- 
ence, circulars produced by hekto- 
graph or similar process, or by 
electric pen; limit of weight 4 
pounds, except single books ex- 
ceeding that weight, lc for each 
two ounces or fraction thereof. 

Packages of books weighing more 
than 8 oz. are now under Parcel 
Post rates. 

Parcel Post. 

Fourth Class. — All mailable mat- 
ter not included in the three pre- 
ceding classes, which is so 
wrapped as to be easily examined. 
Rate, lc per ounce or fraction 
thereof up to 4 oz. Over that 
weight the limit is 50 lb. for a 
distance of 150 miles and 20 lb. 
beyond that distance. Weights 
over 4 oz. are chargeable with 
postage by the following scale: 
1st Each 
Zones Distance lb. add. lb. 

1st & 2nd. . 150 mi. 5c lc 

3rd 300 mi. 6c 2c 

4th 600 mi. 7c 4c 

5th 1,000 mi. 8c 6c 

6th 1,400 mi. 9c 9c 

7th 1,800 mi. lie 10c 

Liquids not admitted except 
under conditions which may be 
learned at the postoffice. Injur- 
ious substances, as explosives, 
habit forming drugs, etc., are not 
admitted. Perishable goods can- 
not be shipped over 150 miles. 

Foreign Postage — Domestic let- 
ter postage of two cents an ounce 
or fraction of an ounce is applic- 
able to the TJ. S. and its Prov- 
inces, also to Canada, Cuba, Mexi- 
co, Republic of Panama, Bahamas, 
Barbadoes, British Honduras, Lee- 
ward Islands, Newfoundland, Ger- 
many (by direct steamer only), 
England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland 
and the city of Shanghai, China. 
To all other places the postage is 
five cents for first ounce and three 
cents for each additional ounce or 
fraction, which must be fully pre- 

Foreign Parcels Post. — Un- 
sealed packages of mailable mer- 


chandise may be sent by Parcels 
Post to Germany, Jamaica, Bar- 
badoes, the Bahamas, British 
Honduras, Mexico, the Leeward Is- 
lands, the Republic of Columbia, 
Costa Rica, the Danish West In- 
dies and Salvador, British Guiana, 
Windward Islands and Newfound- 
land, Hong Kong, Japan, Norway, 
Belgium, Great Britain, Sweden, 
Peru, Denmark, Ecuador, Bermu- 
da and Australia at the postage 
rate of 12 cents per pound. 

Post Cards. — Post cards manu- 
factured by private parties bearing 
either written or printed messages 
are transmissible in the domestic 
mails prepaid 1 cent and in the 
mails of the Postal Union prepaid 
2 cents each, by stamps affixed, 
when they conform to the regula- 
tions, which may be learned on ap- 

Money Orders. — For money or- 
ders the following fees are 

$2.50 or less, 3c; $5 or less, 5c; 
$10 or less, 8c; $20 or less, 10c; 
$30 or less, 12c; $40 or less, 15c; 
$50 or less, 18c; $60 or less, 20c; 
$75 or less 25c; $100 or less, 30c. 
Office open from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m. 

Registry. — Registry fee, ten 
cents, which, with the postage, 
must be fully prepaid. Office 
open from 9 a. m. to 9 p. m. 
All carriers are authorized to re- 
ceipt for registered letters. 

Postal Savings Department. — In 
money order department. 

Directing Mail. — Direct mail 
matter to a post office; writing the 
name of the state plainly; and if 
to a city, add the street and num- 
ber or post office box of the per- 
son addressed; or "general deliv- 
ery" if your correspondent is tem- 
porarily there. Write or print 
your own name and address upon 
the left hand upper corner of the 
wrapper of all classes of mail sent. 

Postal Business. — The receipts 
of the Minneapolis post office in 
exceed $3,000,000 annually. 


Powderhorn Park. — A tract of 65 
acres at 10th Av. S. and 32d St., 
surrounding and including Powder- 
horn Lake. Chicago & Fremont or 
Plymouth & Bloomington Lines. 
(See Park System.) 

Presbyterian Churches. — An- 
drew Presbyterian church in East 
Minneapolis had its origin in the 
year 1857. On the west side the 
First Presbyterian church was or- 
ganized in 1853 and Westminster 
in 1857. The denomination now 
numbers the following 22 churches 
and missions : 

Andeew. — Cor. 8th Av. S. E. and 
4th St. 

Aldrich Av. Church. — S. Aid- 
rich Av. and 35 th St. 

Bethany Church. — Cor. Oak 
and Essex Sts. E. D. 

Bethlehem. — Cor. Pleasant Av. 
and W. 26th St. 

Calvary. — Bryant and 37th Av. 

Fifth. — Cor. N. Lyndale and 4th 
Av. N. 

First. — Cor. Portland Av. and E. 
19th St. 

Glen Car Chapel. — Talmadge 
and 25th Av. S. E. 

Grace. — Cor. Humboldt Av. and 
28th St. 

Highland Park. — Cor. 21st Av. 
N. and Emerson Av. 

Homewood. — P lymouth and 
Queen Avs. 

Hope Chapel. — Wash. Av. bet 
19th and 20th Avs. N. 

House of Faith. — Cor. Broadway 
and Jefferson Sts. N. E. 

Knox. — 48th St. and S. Lyndale 

Oliver. — Cor. Bloomington Av. 
and E. 27th St. 

Riverside. — Cor. 20th Av. S. and 
Riverside Av. 

Shilqh. — Cor. 24th Av. N. E. and 
Central Av. 

Stewart Memorial. — Cor. Stev- 
ens Av. S. and 32nd St. 

"Vanderburgh. — Cor. 30th Av. S. 
and 33rd St. 

Welsh. — 2917 15th Av. S. 

Westminster. — Cor. Nicollet Av. 
and 12th St. 

Presbyterian Headquarters, 703 
Plymouth Bldg. Rev. W. R. Har- 
shaw, Supt. Home Missions ; R. F. 

Sultzer, in charge Sunday School 

Prisons. (See Police, Court 
House and Workhouse.) 

Private Schools. — There are a 
number of successful institutions 
of this class. Among them may 
be mentioned: 

Blake School for Boys. — Blake 
Station, Como-Hopkins electric 

Northrop Collegiate School. — 
511 Kenwood Parkway. Boarding 
and day school for girls. 

Handicraft Guild. — 89 S. lOtb 

Holy Angels Academy. — 4th St 
and '7th Av. N. Boarding and day 
school for girls. 

Stanley Hall. — 2118-2122 Pleas- 
ant Av. Boarding and day school 
for girls. 

St. Margaret's Academy. — 13th 
St. and Hawthorn Av. Grammai 
and high school for girls. 

Probate Court. — The rooms of 
the Hennepin county probate court 
are in the court house on 4th St. 

Pro-Cathedral. — (See Cathe- 

Produce Exchange. — The Min- 
neapolis Produce Exchange is com- 
posed of commission merchants 
and dealers handling fruit, eggs, 
butter, poultry and this class of 
goods. Sixth St. and 2nd Av. N. 

Prominent Buildings. (See 

Protestant Episcopal Churches. 

(See Episcopal Churches.) 

Public Improvements. — All pub- 
lic improvements are under the 
direct control of the city council 
and its committees and under the 
immediate supervision of the city 
engineer. An exception must be 
made in the case of parks, which 
are under the management of the 
board of park commissioners. (See 
Parks.) Street grading is paid for 
by a regular assessment for each 
ward, which is added to the gener- 
al tax levy. The amounts thus 
raised are disbursed under the di- 

rection of the aldermen of each 
ward, a "street commissioner 1 
having charge of the actual work. 
The cost of paving, curb and gut- 
ter, sewers, water mains and side- 
walks (the latter when not laid 
by the owner) is assessed upon 
abutting property at an equal rate 
per front foot, the city, however, 
paying for all such work at 
the intersection of streets. 
(See Paving, Sewbks, Bridges, etc.) 

Publio Library. — Cor. Hennepin 
Av. and 1 Oth St. The public libra- 
ry was the outgrowth of a pri- 
vate institution, the Athenaeum, 
incorporated in 1860 and endowed 
by Dr. Kirby Spencer. In 1884 
steps were taken to establish a 
public library with the under- 
standing that a consolidation with 
the Athenaeum should be effected, 
and upon the establishment of the 
library board, a contract was made 
by the terms of which the Athe- 
naeum was to place its entire col- 
lection in the city library build- 

By the terms of the public li- 
brary act, $50,000 in private sub- 
scriptions was required to sup- 
plement the public issue of bonds. 
This sum was secured in a few 
weeks, such prominent men as T. 
B. Walker, (who was a leader in 
the enterprise from the start), C. 
A. Pillsbury, Thos. Lowry, W. D. 
Washburn, Clinton Morrison, C. G. 
Goodrich, W. S. King and J. Dean 
subscribing $5,000 each. The site 
cost $63,867. Work was begun on 
the building in 1886 and it was 
completed and furnished in 1889 
at a cost of $270,000 more. It is 
occupied by the library, and the 
Minnesota Academy of Natural 
Sciences. The librarian is Miss 
Gratia A. Countryman. 

The Building. — The building has 
a frontage of 116 feet on Henne- 
pin and 150 on 10th St., and is 
three stories above the basement. 
The walls are Lake Superior brown 


stone. The main entrance on Hen- 
nepin Av, consists of two door- 
ways, each 11 feet wide and 12% 
feet high, and surmounted by a 
polished gray granite cap stone, 
the two being separated by a clus- 
ter of three polished granite 
shafts. The entire front is broken 
up with large arched windows 
with elaborately carved casements 
and cap stones. The architecture 
is Romanesque. Just within the 
entrance there is a staircase hall 
36 feet square and extending up- 
ward 80 feet. The grand stair- 
case, 17 feet wide, runs up the 
centre of the hall to the first floor 
landing, and on either side are 
secondary flights leading upward 
and downward, with landings mid- 
way between the floors. 

On the first floor is the open 
shelf room in the north corner 
and the delivery room at the head 
of the stairway. Book stacks oc- 
cupy the 10th St. side on first 
and second floors and the second 
floor of a new wing on the side 
toward 11th St., while the art de- 
partment and reference occupy 
the third floor. The art depart- 
ment is shelved with steel roller 
shelves and furnished with large 
sloping desks and tables, and is 
now the finest department of its 
kind in the West, filling a room 
28x103 feet. The museum and art 
gallery occupy the entire fourth 

Books and the Book Rooms — In 
December, 1889, when the library 
was opened there were about 30,- 
000 books upon its shelves. In 
December, 1916, there were nearly 
320,000 books and the number is 
constantly increasing. During 
1888 Mr. Herbert Putnam, then 
librarian, spent some time abroad 
and secured some 17,000 volumes, 
of especial value, at very low 
prices. The peculiarly happy union 
of two purchasing funds — one the 
Athenaeum fund, designed more 
especially for the purchase of ref- 
erence material, and the other the 


money raised by general taxation, 
and therefore, naturally, appropri- 
ated to more popular classes of 
literature — has enabled the libra- 
rian to build up both the refer- 
ence and the more popular depart- 
ments, with a very unusual inde- 
pendence. The result is, that the 
library while not a very large one, 
contains a great deal of expensive 
reference material in the way of 
long sets of serial publications of 
learned societies, illustrated works 
on natural science, etc., very rare- 
ly to be met with in a free city 
library of its size. The three main 
reading rooms accommodate 250 
readers. Thirty-eight alcoves, 
with desks and chairs, afford quar- 
ters for investigators and stu- 

There are about 92,000 borrow- 
ers' cards out and an average of 
5,300 books are issued each day. 

Branches. There are fourteen 

branches of the library as follows : 
A — North Branch, Emerson Av. 
near Twentieth Av. N. 

B — Franklin Branch, cor. Frank- 
lin and 14th Av. S. 

C — Pillsbury Branch, 100 Uni- 
versity Av. S. E. 

E — Thirty-sixth Street Branch, 
36th St. and 4th Av. So. 

G — Seward School Branch, 
Twenty-eighth Av. S. and 24th St. 
H — New Boston Branch, 2 2d and 
Central Av. N. E. 

HE — Walker Branch, 2900 Hen- 
nepin Av. 

K — Sumner Branch, 901 6th Av. 

L— Lyndale Branch, 610 W. 
Lake St. 

M — Camden Park Branch, Web- 
ber Field House, Camden PL 

N— Unity Branch, 1718 N. Third 

R— Linden Hills Branch, 2720 
W. Forty-third St. 

S — Seven Corners Branch, 300 
Fifteenth Av. S. 

Business and Municipal Refer- 
ence Branch, 508 2nd Av. So. 

All these branches have reading 
rooms supplied with various maga- 
zines and periodicals. 

Besides the branches there are 

also 23 deposit stations where 
books called for are delivered : 

No. 1 — Court House. No. 2 — 
11 W. 26th St. No. 3—2940 Bloom- 
ington Av. No. 4 — 1401 Univer- 
sity Av. S. E. No. 5 — 4337 France 
Av. S. No. 6 — 3124 Emerson No. 
No. 7 — 3464 Minnehaha Av. No. 8 
— 1807 Plymouth Av. No. 9 — 
Grand and 26th Av. N. E. No. 10 
— Orlin and Malcolm S. E. No. 11 
—4301 East 50th St. No. 12— 
4253 Nicollet Av. No. 13 — 23rd 
Av. S. and Franklin. No. 14 — 
14th and Talmadge S. E. No. 15 
— Oak and Washington S. E. No. 
16— ,1600 Western Av. No. 17 — 
118 Hennepin Av. No. 18—2122 
6th Av. N. No. 19— 38th. Street 
and Grand. No. 20 — 38th Av. S. 
and 31st St. No. 21 — 4553 Bryant 
Av. S. No. 22 — Minnehaha and 
40th St. No. 23 — Penn and 36th 
Av. N. No. 24 — 48th St. and 28th 
Av. S. 

Regulations. — The Library is 
©pen on all week days, not legal 
holidays, from 8:30 a. m. till 10 
p. m.; but no books are issued for 
circulation after 9:00 p. m. The 
reading rooms and reference de- 
birches grow in profusion along 
the high bluff overhanging the ri- 
partments are open on Sundays 
and legal holidays from 2 until 10 
p. m. 

Each adult borrower may have 
a card upon which two volumes 
of fiction and as many volumes of 
non-fiction as are needed, may be 
drawn at a time. 

Books may be retained for 14 
days, and may be renewed for the 
same period. Books of recent 
purchase, marked "Seven Day 
Books," may not be retained more 
than one week and cannot be re- 

A fine of 2 cents a day must be 
paid on each volume which is not 
returned according to rule. 

In addition to the 500 periodi- 
cals and newspapers to be found 
in the reading rooms the library 
circulates about fifty of the 

more popular magazines, the total 
of such copies amounting to 400 
per month, and the time being re- 
stricted to three days. 

In the case of books of great 
popularity, in addition to the free 
copies furnished, the library pro- 
vides copies, the number vary- 
ing according to the demand, 
which are loaned at a charge of 
5c a week. 

Public Morals Commission. — 
Authorized by city council to in- 
vestigate the moral conditions of 
the city with special reference to 
social vice, and to report its find- 
ings not less than once in three 
months, and more frequently if 
advisable, to the mayor and the 

Public Schools. — In point of ef- 
ficiency, thoroughness, quality of 
teaching force, buildings and gen- 
eral management, the public 
schools of Minneapolis are as well 
equipped as the best. The board 
of education (See City Officees) 
is chosen directly by the people. 
B. B. Jackson is the superin- 
tendent of schools. Minneapolis 
has now a very satisfactory group 
of school buildings. It is the ac- 
cepted policy "to build well and 
cheaply; to plan pleasing, substan- 
tial and commodious structures; 
to fit them with all modern im- 
provements; to make matters of 
plumbing, lighting, heating and 
ventilation of vital importance; to 
make, in short, a perfect school 
building, with due regard mean- 
while to economy." In the new 
buildings the light enters all 
school rooms from the left side 
only of the seated pupil. Two 
stories and a basement are 
the model. The basement pro- 
vides for play rooms, manual 
training shops, etc. A number of 
buildings have large auditoriums 
suitable for neighborhood and 
other meetings. 

There are 81 school buildings in 
the city, about 1,700 teachers and 
about 54,000 pupils enrolled. There 


are five high schools with an en- 
rollment of over 9,000 pupils. 

Manual training is taught in the 
high school course of four years 
with the greatest success. The 
system employed is designed to 
give skill and precision in the 
handling of tools and to give the 
pupil a training in mechanical 
principles, in drawing, in design- 
ing and in the treatment of mate- 
rials, that will enable him very 
readily to acquire the practical 
technique of any particular me- 
chanical trade. It also fits him 
for a course in mechanics offered 
by any university in the United 
States. Aside from this direct 
preparation for higher mechanical 
pursuits the manual training work 
does not lose sight of its primary 
and original purpose of develop- 
ment of mind and character through 
the training of eye and hand. 
(See Industrial Education.) 

Commercial courses are ar- 
ranged to give studies which will 
fit young men and young women 
to go into commercial positions 
as stenographers, bookkeepers, or 
general office assistants. The 
home economics course gives girls 
a chance to become efficient home 
makers or prepare for entrance 
into culinary occupations or the 
needle trades, while the arts 
course is designed for the person 
who wishes to specialize in music, 
drawing or handicraft. 

Manual training, cooking and 
sewing are also a part of the work 
of the sixth, seventh and eighth 

Intermediate or Junior High 
Schools have been established in 
the Bremer, Franklin, and Seward 
buildings and others will be es- 
tablished as soon as conditions 
warrant. These schools include 
the seventh, eighth, and ninth 
grades and with their additional 
equipment offer special oppor- 
tunities for boys and girls to try 
themselves out and be guided to 
their life's work. 


Summer schools are maintain- 
ed by Board of Education for six 
to eight weeks during July and 
August to give backward pupils 
an opportunity to make their 
grades and to enable bright pu- 
pils to secure an extra promo- 
tion. Night schools are main- 
tained by Board of „ Education 
from October to April, giving in- 
struction in academic and indus- 
trial subjects. Enrollment this 
year has exceeded 9,000. 

In connection with the state uni- 
versity the school system of the 
city has a certain completeness 
within itself. The pupil may pass 
through all grades into the uni- 
versity, or may from the high 
school enter one of the state nor- 
mal schools, and in due time se- 
cure a position as a teacher in the 

The schools open about the 1st 
of September and close the mid- 
dle of June. Holidays occur on 
Labor day, at Thanksgiving, from 
Christmas to New Year's, Wash- 
ington's and Lincoln's Birthdays, 
at Easter and on Memorial day. 

The offices of the school board 
and superintendent are in the city 
hall where the assistant secretary 
and the business superintendent 
are to be found. Regular board 
meetings are held on the second 
and last Tuesdays of the month. 
Running expenses of the school 
system are about $2,500,000 annu- 

Names and Locations of Schools. 

Central High. — 4th Av. S. and 
34th St. 

East High. — 4th St. and 1st Av. 
S. E. 

North High. — Fremont and 17th 
A vs. N. 

South High. — Cedar Av. and E. 
24th St. 

Wert High. — Hennepin Av. and 
28th St. 

Girls' Vocational High. — 4th 
Av. S. and 12th St. 

Adams. — 16th and Franklin Avs. 

Blaine. — 3rd St. and 12th Av. N. 

Bremer. Fremont and Lowry. 

Avs. N. 

Bryant. — 37th St. and Clinton 

Brtn Mawr. — Russell Av. and 
Cedar Lake Road. 

Calhoun. — Girard Av. near Lake 

Clara Barton. — Colfax Av. and 
43d St. 

Clay. — 4th St. and 20th Av. S. 

Clinton. — Clinton Av. and 28th 

Columbus. — Winter St. and 24th 
Av. S. E. 

Corcoran. — 34th St. and 19th Av. 
S. - 

Cyrus Northrop. — 16th Av. S. 
and E. 46th St. 

Douglas. — Franklin and Dupont 

Emerson. — 14th St. and Spruce 

Eugene Field. — Portland Av. and 
E. 48th St. 

Everett. — University and 6th 
Avs. N. E. 

Franklin. — 4th St. and 15th Av. 

Garfield. — Chicago Av. and 24th 

Geo. Bancroft. — 14th Av. S. and 
38th St. 

Grant. — Girard and 12th Avs. N. 

Greeley. — 26th St. and 12th Av. 

Grover Cleveland. — Russell and 
33 rd Avs. N. 

Hamilton. — Girard and 44th Av. 

Harrison. — James and 4th Avs. 

Hawthorne. — 6th St. bet. 24th 
and 25th Avs. N. 

Hiawatha. 42nd St. and 42nd 

Av. S. 

Holland. — Washington St. and 
17th Av. N. E. 

Holmes. — 5th St. and 3d Av. S. 

Horace Mann. — Chicago Av. and 
34th St. 

Irving. — 28th St. and 17th Av. S. 

Jackson. — 4th St. and 15th Av. 

John Ericsson. — 3 1st A v. S. and 
44th St. 

Johnson. — 31st St. and 37 th Av. 

Julia Ward Howe. — 41st Av. S. 
and E. 36th St. 

Kenwood. — S. Perm bet. Frank- 
lin Av. and W. 21st St. 

Lake Harriet. — Sheridan Av. and 
42nd St. 

LaFaybtte. — Laurel and Lyn- 
dale Av». 

Lincoln. — Penn and 10th Av. N. 

Logan. — Emerson and 18th Avs. 

Longfellow. — Lake St. and Min- 
nehaha Av. 

Louis Agassiz. — Harriet Av. and 
W. 38th. 

Lowell. — 22nd St. and 23rd Av. 

Lyndale. — Lyndale Av. and W. 
34th St. 

McKinlby. — Bryant and 37th Av. 

Madison. — 5th Av. S. bet. 15th 
and 16th Sts. 

M arc y.— 7th St. and 11th Av. 
S. E. 

Margaret Fuller. — Harriet Av. 
and W. 48th St. 

Maria Sanford. — 29th Av. N. and 
6th St 

Miles Standish. — 22nd Av. S. 
and E. 40th St. 

Minnehaha. — 51st St. bet. 38th 
and 39th Avs. S. 

Monroe. — Franklin and 23rd 
Avs. S. 

Motley. — Oak St. and Washing- 
ton Av. S. E. 

Nicollet. — Upper Nicollet Is- 

Peabody. — 2% St. and 19th Av. 

Penn. — Penn and 36th Avs. N. 

Pierce. — Fillmore St. near 
Spring St. N. E. 

Pillsbdry. — B. St. and 23rd Av. 
N. E. 

Prescott. — Taylor St. and 25th 
Av. N. E. 

Robert Fulton. — Vincent Av. 
and 49th St. 

Rosedale. — Wentworth Av. and 
W. 43rd St. 

Seward. — 24th St. and 28th Av. 

Schiller. — 26th Av. N. E. and 
California St. 

Sheridan. — Broadway and Uni- 
versity Av. N. E. 

Sidney Pratt. — Malcolm and Or- 
lin Avs. 


Simmons. — Minnehaha Av. and 
38th St. 

Sumner. — Aldrich and Sixth 
Avs. N. 

Thomas Arnold. — 9 th Av. S. E. 
and 4th St. 

Thomas Lowry. — Lincoln St. 
and 29 th Av. N. E. 

Tuttle. — Talmage Av. and Oak 

Van Cleve. — 25th Av. and Jeffer- 
son St. N. E, 

Washington. — 8th Av. S. and 6th 

Webster. — Summer and Monroe 
Sts. N. E. 

Whitney. — Pierce St. and 19th 
Av. N. E. 

Whittier. — Blaisdell Av. and 
26th St. 

Willard. — Queen and 16th Avs. 

(See Education, University, In- 
dustrial Education, etc.) 

Pumping" Stations. — (See Watbb 

Quarantine Station. — An isola- 
tion station for the detention of 
persons afflicted with smallpox, lo- 
cated west of Lake Calhoun. In 
Gharge of the Health department 
(which see). 

Radisson Hotel. — One of the fin- 
est hotels in the West, opened to 
the public January, 1910. It is a 
twelve-story, reinforced steel and 
concrete structure on Seventh St., 
between Hennepin and Nicollet 
Aves., entirely fireproof and 
equipped in the most modern way. 
It has 350 rooms. The main en- 
trance on Seventh St. leads di- 
rectly into the magnificent lobby, 
finished in Italian marble through- 
out. Seven electric high speed 
elevators give access to the up- 
per floors. 

Adjoining the lobby is the for- 
mal dining room, "The Chateau 
Room," a replica of the grand din- 
ing hall of Chateau Blois, France, 
with tapestries and special furni- 
ture after models of the Francois 
Premier period. Towards the rear 
of the lobby is the secluded and 


restful men's cafe, "The Viking 
Room," with wainscoting and fur- 
nishings carved after the models 
of ancient Norse handicraft and 
mural paintings and decorations 
of the Viking period. The Teco 
Inn, a cafe opened in September, 
1912, located downstairs, is one of 
the most unique dining rooms in 
this country and a show place of 
the city. It is finished in Teco 
tile throughout, the decorations 
represent landscapes taken locally 
and from the West and Northwest. 

The ladies' parlors, the library, 
the ball room and banquet hall 
and four private dining rooms, in- 
cluding the Empire Room, are lo- 
cated on the first (balcony) floor. 
The billiard room and barber shop 
are located in the basement. 

The appointments of the hotel 
include every contrivance known 
to modern hotel construction for 
perfect sanitation as well as the 
comfort and convenience of its 
guests. The air entering the pub- 
lic rooms is filtered, as is the wa- 
ter circulating to its guests and 
dining rooms. It has vacuum 
cleaning system and automatic 
thermostat temperature control. 
It has a complete power, electric, 
heating, ventilating and refriger- 
ating plant; carpenter, upholster- 
ing, decorating, printing and laun- 
dry departments, telephone, telau- 
tograph, master and secondary 
clock systems. 

The decorative scheme of the 
Radisson is restful and in good, 
harmonious taste, with no ap- 
proach to garishness. The con- 
struction, equipment, decorations 
and furnishings of the hotel rep- 
resent an investment of almost 

Railroads. — Nine great railways 
afford transportation facilities for 
Minneapolis. Their numerous 
branches and divisions, if counted 
separately, would double the num- 
ber. Trains arrive and depart 
daily over a score of routes. The 
railway systems represented in the 

city aggregate about 40,000 miles 
of lines, and include the strongest 
corporations of the kind in the 
West. Seven railways connect 
Minneapolis with Chicago and the 
eastern lines there terminating, 
but the city is in a measure inde- 
pendent of Chicago. The Minne- 
apolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste Marie 
Railroad, with its Canadian Pa- 
cific connection to the east, north 
of Lake Michigan, and several 
"lake and rail" routes via Duluth, 
Green Bay, Milwaukee and Glad- 
stone, give independent outlets to 
the, seaboard. To the westward 
there is a choice of five routes to 
the Pacific coast. Every section of 
Wisconsin, Minnesota, the Dako- 
tas, Nebraska and Montana is in 
direct communication with Minne- 

The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. 
Paul, Northern Pacific, Great 
Northern, "Soo" line, Chicago, St. 
Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha ("The 
Northwestern Line"), Chicago 
Great Western, C, R. I. & P. and 
Minneapolis & St. Louis have ac- 
quired extensive terminal facili- 
ties in the city. (See Railroad 
Stations, Ticket Offices, etc.) 

Railroad Shops. — The Chicago, 
Milwaukee & St. Paul, the Minne- 
apolis & St. Louis and the "Soo" 
railways have extensive shops in 
the city, and take rank among the 
largest local employers of skilled 
labor. The aggregate value of the 
real estate, terminal property and 
shops owned by these companies 
is very large, probably exceeding 
$8,000,000. The total number of 
hands employed in the shops is 
about 2,000, and their earnings 
per annum amount to over $1,000,- 

Railroad Stations. — Passenger 
trains of five railroads entering 
the city, arrive at and depart from 
the Great Northern passenger sta- 
. tion which is at the foot of Hen- 
nepin and Nicollet Aves. This 

station is used by the Great 
Northern; Northwestern Line; 
Chicago, Burlington & Quincy; 
Great Western and North- 
ern Pacific The building is 
a modern structure, completed in 
1914. (See Great Northern Sta- 
tion) Como-Harriet; Oak & Har- 
riet; Kenwood & Johnson; Nicol- 
let & Central; Washburn Park 
& Columbia Heights; Marquette & 
Grand; Monroe & Bryant and 
Western & 2nd St. N. E. electric 

The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. 
Paul passenger station is on 
Washington Av. at the corner of 
3rd Av. S. It is a handsome new 
building, three stories in height 
and surmounted by a lofty clock 
tower. There are commodious 
waiting rooms, baggage rooms, 
and all the conveniences of a mod- 
ern railway passenger station. 
The train sheds are on the level 
of the main floor of the station. 
Besides the C. M. & St. P. R'y the 
C. R. I. & P. and Minneapolis, 
St. Paul & Sault Ste Marie rail- 
roads use this station. St. Paul 
& Minneapolis; Minnehaha or 50th 
St. & Camden electric cars. 

The Minneapolis & St. Louis 
R'y has its own station at Wash- 
ington and 4th Aves. N. It is 
within easy walking distance from 
the business center and the 
Chicago & Fremont; 50th St. & 
Camden and the Plymouth & 
Bloomington electric cars pass 
the station. 

(See Ticket Offices, Railroads.) 

Railroad Ticket Offices. (See 
Ticket Offices.) 

Reading" Rooms. — There are 
reading rooms at the public libra- 
ry, Cor. Hennepin Av. and 10th 
St., where an exceedingly fine col- 
lection of magazines and newspa- 
pers is on file. Readers also have 
the use of the extensive reference 
department, and in fact of all the 
books in the library. The rooms 
are open from 8:30 a. m. to 10 p. 


m.; on Sundays from 2 p. m. till 
10 p. m. Any person of good de- 
portment may use the reading 
rooms and consult works in the 
library whether a card holder or 
not. Besides the central library 
reading rooms each of the twelve 
branches has a large well lighted 
reading room liberally supplied 
with periodicals. (See Public Li- 

Real Estate. — There are about 
850 real estate agents or firms 
whose names appear in the Min- 
neapolis directory. As some of 
these employ many clerks and as- 
sistants it is safe to say that there 
are at least three thousand persons 
engaged in the business in the 
city. The daily transfers of real 
estate, as recorded in the office of 
the register of deeds, are pub- 
lished in the papers and scanned 
with interest. There has been a 
decidedly healthy movement in 
Minneapolis real estate in late 
years. Business property has 
been the object of liberal invest- 
ment and residence lots and houses 
have been in active demand. An 
unusually large number of dwell- 
ings have been erected for occu- 
pancy by the owners — this tenden- 
cy being quite as noticeable among 
the wage earners as among people 
of means. Business and residence 
property sell at less prices than 
in other cities of the same size 
and for this reason considered a 
most excellent investment. 

The real estate transfers In 
1917 aggregated $25,192,269, the 
building operations, $9,258,365. 

The real estate transfers by 
years since 1901 have been as fol- 
lows : 

1901 $11,557,585 

1902 16,873,104 

1903 13,811,346 

1904 13,565,470 

1905 18,125,485 

1906 17,542.400 

1907 24,911.962 

1908 19,019,068 

1909 26,360,777 


1910 27,500,000 

1911 24,891,670 

1912 24,460,227 

1913 23,812,649 

1914 23,580,552 

1915 33,209,086 

1916 30,291,229 

1917 25,192,269 

Seal Estate Board. — An organi- 
zation of the leading real estate 
and financial agents for mutual 
advantage in the buying, selling 
and renting of real estate, the 
loaning of money upon the same 
and the promotion of the interests 
of the city of Minneapolis. The 
Board was organized in May, 1892, 
and reorganized in the spring of 
1900 upon a very substantial and 
business-like basis, its member- 
ship consisting of the representa- 
tive real estate and loaning houses 
of the city. The officers are: 
President, A. E. Zonne; Vice 
President, P. E. Von Kuster; Sec- 
retary, H. U. Nelson; Treasurer, 
J. S. Hooper; Board of Directors, 
M. Bartlett, W. B. Boardman, 
Harry C. Brace, A. C. Danenbaum, 
C. I. Fuller, G. N. Hoaglin, M. F. 
iSchutt, F. G. Smith, S. S. Staring, 
P. E. Von Kuster, C. G. Went- 
worth, A. E. Zonne. 

The Board maintains attractive 
rooms at 835 Palace Building where 
members are always welcome and 
where a large assortment of maps, 
atlases and books on real estate 
subjects are available. The work of 
the valuation committee of the 
real estate board is especially 
valuable to the comnrUnity. 
The committee, under the rules, 
must personally examine every 
piece of property appraised. It 
consists of five members, and the 
valuations are reliable and unbi- 
ased. Regular meetings of the 
board are held each month. Infor- 
mation may be secured and appli- 
cations for valuations made through 
the secretary of the board. The 
membership of the board is over 
200. This organization is a mem- 
ber of the National Real Estate 

Religious Societies. — In the fol- 
lowing list are found the more 
prominent religious associations 
of the city or those having local 
representatives here. Those of 
most importance are also found 
under separate heads. 

American Sunday School Union 

OF MlNN.- 

American Baptist Missionary 
Union. — 405 Evanston Bldg. 

Christian Worker's Mission. — 
29 S. Washington Av. Wm. A. 
Petran, director. 

Congregational S. S. & Pub. So- 
ciety. — 525 Lumber Exchange. 

Hennepin County Biblb So- 
ciety. — 1015 Nicollet Av. 

Hennepin County S. S. Associa- 
tion. — 848 Plymouth Bldg. 

Methodist Episcopal Missionary 
and Church Extension Society. — 
Rev. M. P. Burns, secretary. 

Minnesota Baptist State Con- 
vention. — 405 Evanston Bldg. 

Union City Mission. — 124% 
Hennepin Av. C. M. Stocking, su- 

Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union. — (See separate heading.) 

Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. — 10th St. and Mary Place. 

Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation. — 87 S. 7th St. 

(See Benevolent Societies anb 

Retail Stores. — Nicollet Avenue 
is the favorite street for the bet- 
ter class of retail stores, though 
trade is gradually extending on 
to the side streets. Washington 
Avenue South abounds with less 
pretentious shops. Central Ave- 
nue is the retail center of the east 
side, and lesser centers occur at 
intervals throughout the different 
sections of the city. Thus Cedar 
Avenue is a retail trade center in 
South Minneapolis and the vicini- 
ties of Plymouth and Washington 
Avenues and of Washington and 
20th Av. N. in North Minneapolis 
are busy places. Twenty-sixth 
Street and Nicollet and Franklin 
and 16th Avenues S. are favor- 
able points for retail business 

and Lake St. has become a promi- 
nent retail thoroughfare. 

Richfield. — The township lying 
immediately south of Minneapolis. 
It is an excellent farming section, 
with a rolling surface diversified 
by a score or more of beautiful 
lakes. Many fine drives may be 
had through Richfield, almost 
every road leading out of the 
city to the south being pleasant. 
(See Drives.) 

Riverside Park. — A pleasantly 
situated tract of land on the cliffs 
overlooking the Mississippi is 
called Riverside Park. It is be- 
tween 27th and 29th Aves. S. and 
contains nearly twenty acres. The 
picturesqueness and beauty of this 
location has always made It a 
favorite resort and the hand of 
the landscape artist has found but 
little work to convert it into an 
ideal park. In the adornment of 
the park the aim has been to pre- 
serve its pristine beauty. Minne- 
haha electric line. 

Road Maps. — Road maps for 
automobiles and pedestrians may 
be had at the principal book and 
stationery stores and news stands. 
The Hudson Publishing Co., 404 
Kasota Bldg., cor. 4th St. and Hen. 
Av. makes a specialty of maps of 
all kinds, carrying in stock a large 
variety, and supplying to order 
any map published. 

Rose Garden. — Maintained by 
the park board in Lyndale park 
near Lake Harriet. Many varieties 
of roses are grown in perfection. 
The garden is one of the park 
beauty spots from June to Sep- 
tember. Monroe & Bryant line. 

Rowing 1 . — Boats may be hired at 
Lakes Harriet and Calhoun and at 
Lake Minnetonka. (Sew Boating.) 

Safe Deposit Vaults. — For the 
safe keeping of valuable papers, 
jewelry, etc., several safe deposit 
vaults are maintained by respon- 
sible corporations, in which in- 
dividual safes may be rented, at 


from $3 a year up. The safe 
renter has his own key and ac- 
cess cannot be obtained to the 
safe by anyone except himself, or 
his authorized agent, and then 
only in conjunction with the man- 
ager of the vault, who carries a 
master key. Protection is af- 
forded against theft, fire, or un- 
authorized inspection. Vaults are 
located as follows: 

The Minnesota Loan & Trust 
Company, Northwestern Bank 
Bldg., Marquette Av. and Fourth 
St.; Minneapolis Trust Company, 
115 S. 5th St.; Metropolitan 
National Bank, Metropolitan Life 
Bldg., Second Av. So. and Third 
St.; State Bank of Commerce, 517 
Marquette Av. 

Sailing". — Sail-boats may be had 
for hire at the principal lakes in 
the vicinity of the city. Lakes 
Calhoun and Harriet and Minne- 
tonka are the most available. At 
Minnetonka there are scores of 
private sail-boats and regattas by 
the yacht club are the most inter- 
esting events of the lake season. 

Salaries of City Officials. — The 
more important are : Mayor, $6,- 
000; aldermen, $1,500; city clerk, 
$4,000; municipal judges, $4,000; 
attorney, $6,000; treasurer, $5,- 
800; comptroller $4,000; assessor, 
$4,200; inspector of buildings, $3,- 
500; engineer, $7,500; commission- 
er of health, $3,600; chief engineer 
fire department, $4,104; superin- 
tendent of police, $3,600; registrar 
water works, $2,700. 

Saloons. — Minneapolis disposes 
of the temperance question by a 
strict surveillance of the saloons 
under the drastic general and spe- 
cial legislation of the state. High 
license is the principal restriction. 
An annual tax of $1,000 is assessed 
upon every saloon keeper. Appli- 
cation must be made for such li- 
cense two weeks before the time 
of Issue, and when the licenses 
are Issued cash payment of the 
full amount must be made. 


Licenses may be revoked and con- 
fiscated for disorderliness, or vio- 
lation of any of the laws regu- 
lating the sale of liquor. Another 
statute provides that all saloons 
must close promptly at 11 p. m. 
and all day on Sundays. The "pa- 
trol limits" confine the saloons to 
the business part of the city and 
absolutely prevent their invasion 
of any residence quarter. There 
are about 435 saloons in the city. 
(See Patrol Limits.) 

Sash, Doors and Finishing's. — 

Minneapolis is the first city in 
the country in the "sash and 
door" industry. Her factories 
produce more "mill work" than 
those of any other city and in ad- 
dition the city is an important 
jobbing point for the product of 
factories located elsewhere. 

Saving's Banks. — Savings depos- 
its are heavy. One savings bank 
has 79,000 depositors and savings 
deposits in the city aggregate 
nearly $50,000,000. (See Banks.) 

Saw Mills. (See Lumber and 
Saw Mills.) 

School Board. (See Public 
Schools and City Officials.) 

School of Agriculture. (See 
University. ) 

School of Design. (See Minne- 
apolis Society of Fine Arts and 
Handicraft Guild.) 

Schools. (See Public Schools, 
Private Schools and Handicraft 

Secret Societies. — A description 
of the Masonic Temple is given 
elsewhere. The Masons are a large 
and powerful body in the city and 
have gained prestige with the 
erection of such a creditable 
structure. Next in rank come the 
Odd Fellows who as yet have no 
building, their lodges meeting in 
various halls about the city. The 
Knights of Pythias and the An- 
cient Order of Foresters are very 

strong and rapidly growing in 
membership. Among the other or- 
ders represented in the city are 
the Good Templars; A. O. U. W. ; 
Knights of Honor; Druids; Royal 
Arcanum; Elks and Grand Army 
of the Republic. For the meet- 
ing places of the posts, as well as 
the lodges of the various secret 
societies the city directory must 
be consulted. (See Masonic Tem- 

Security Building A hand- 
some ten-story office building at 
the corner of Second Av. S. and 
Fourth St. It is one of the most 
striking buildings in the city. 
The exterior is of white enameled 
brick with white terra cotta trir 
mings, the design simple and al- 
most severely plain, but dignified 
and in excellent taste. There is 
a frontage of 152 feet on Second 
Av. and 132 feet on Fourth St., and 
on the longer front are the en- 
trances, which admit to the main 
lobby, elevators and stairways. 
Immediately beyond is the lobby 
of the Scandinavian- American Na- 
tional Bank, which occupies most 
of the ground floor. This lobby 
is 50 by 70 feet and is surrounded 
by the bank offices and is lighted 
by twelve large skylights directly 
under the central court of the 
building. These banking rooms 
are perhaps the most beautiful 
in the northwest. Marble, bronze 
and delicately tinted and decorat- 
ed panels and richly colored glass 
combined in the most refined taste 
give very rich effects. The tone is 
classical although much of the 
decoration is of modern type. 
Every detail of banking equipment 
is worked out in the most practi- 
cal way. The remainder of the 
building is devoted to general of- 
fice purposes. There are about 35 
offices on each floor, all having 
outdoor light and finished in the 

most sumptuous manner. The 
building- is constructed after the 
latest ideas in fireproof architec- 
ture, concrete, steel, brick and tile 
being almost the only materials 
used. There are five plunger ele- 
vators. The building was erected 
in 1905-6. 

Seeing- the City. — Minneapolis is 
a city of "magnificent distances" 
and it is well to plan one's sight- 
seeing carefully unless unlimited 
time is at disposal. Otherwise a 
good deal of time may be lost in 
uninteresting places or in doub- 
ling on one's course. The princi- 
pal places of interest are the re- 
tail district, the wholesale dis- 
trict, the flour mills, the saw mills, 
the Falls of St. Anthony, the state 
university, the public library and 
art collections, the parks, lakes 
and Minnehaha Falls. Following 
are a number of outlines of short 
trips about the city for the use of 
strangers, or of residents when 
showing visitors about. It is well 
to look over the map of the city 
before starting and have general 
directions and distances in mind. 
The time given is for continuous 
walking or riding at ordinary 
speed; if time is taken to examine 
the interior of buildings or to 
diverge from the ^-oute, allowance 
should be made. In each case 
The Gateway, at Nicollet, "Wash- 
ington and Hennepin Aves., is 
taken as the starting point; the 
trips may be adapted to other 
starting places with proper al- 
lowance for time. Combinations 
of the various routes may, of 
course, be made up to suit the 

1. A Hasty Glance. — Walk up 
Hennepin Av. to 3rd St., Nicollet 
House at left and Temple Court 
and Sykes Blk. at right; north on 
3rd to 1st Av. N. and west on 1st 
Av. N. to 6th St., passing some 
of the largest wholesale houses; 


south on 6th to Hennepin Av., 
Masonic Temple on left, Ply- 
mouth Bldg. opposite; east on 
Hennepin to Fiftn St., West Hotel 
on left and Lumber Exchange di- 
agonally opposite; south on Fifth 
to Nicollet; west on Nicollet to 
Sixth St., view up and down Nicol- 
let, Pillsbury Bldg. at right, Glass 
Blk. opposite and Syndicate Blk. 
diagonally opposite; proceed on 
6th to Marquette Av.; to 5th St., 
First Nat'l Bank on right; south 
on 5th to 2nd Av. S., passing 
New York Life Bldg.; east on 2nd 
Av. S. to 3rd St., passing Court 
House one block at right, Mc- 
Knight and Security buildings and 
Metropolitan Life Bldg. at 3rd 
St.; north on 3rd to Marquette Av., 
west on Marquette to 4th St., Met- 
ropolitan Opera House at right, 
Phoenix Bldg., Oneida Bldg. and 
Northwestern Bank Bldg. at cor- 
ner of 4th; north on 4th to Nicol- 
let passing newspaper offices; east 
on Nicollet to Washington pass- 
ing retail stores and office build- 
ings; north on Washington to 
Hennepin. 30 to 40 minutes. 

2. An Houe's Walk. — Same 
route as in No. 1 to 6th and Hen- 
nepin; continue west on Hennepin 
past Lyric theatre to Public Li- 
brary at 10th St.; south on 10th 
past First Baptist church and Y. 
M. C. A. Bldg. to Nicollet Av.; 
east on Nicollet past office build- 
ings and retail stores to 6th St.; 
complete as in No. 1. 

3. For Two Hours. — Same as 
No. 1 with this addition : On re- 
turn to Washington and Hennepin 
take Oak & Harriet or Como-Har- 
riet car going east, passing union 
passenger station, crossing steel 
arch bridge over Mississippi river 
with glimpse of saw mills at left 
and flour mills at right; through 
Central Av. and 4th St. S. E. 
(pleasant residence district) to 
14th Av. S. E.; walk one block to 
right, enter University campus 


(for description see University 
op Minnesota); walk from Uni- 
versity grounds through Pleasant 
St. two blocks to Washington Av.; 
take west-bound Minneapolis & St. 
Paul car, passing across Washing- 
ton Av. bridge (fine view), the 
flour mills at 6th Av. S., the C. M. 
& St. P. passenger station at 3rd 
Av. S., to Sixth St. and Hen- 

4. For Three Hours. — Same as 
No. 3 with this addition: On re- 
turn to Fifth St. and Hennepin 
from the University, transfer to 
Como-Harriet car going west; out 
Hennepin past Lyric theatre, 
Public Library at 10th St., Loring 
Park, Lowry Hill, through 
Hennepin Boul. (rapidly develop- 
ing residence district), past Lake 
Calhoun; past Lakewood Ceme- 
tery at left; to Lake Harriet. The 
return may be made without leav- 
ing the car or such time as may 
be added to the trip may be spent 
in the pavilion or in exploring the 
lake and vicinity. 

5. The Flour Mills. — Cedar & 
Camden or Minnehaha (Third 
St.) cars south on Washington 
Av. to 6th Av. S. ; walk two blocks 
to the left to 1st St. Half an hour, 
unless the mills are entered, when 
at least 30 minutes more should 
be allowed. Washburn "A" is 
the largest mill in the growp. 
Permits for visitors may be se- 
cured at the office of the Wash- 
burn-Crosby Company in the 
Chamber of Commerce. 

6. Falls of St. Anthony. — 
Same as No. 5 continuing east 
from 1st St. under stone arch 
bridge to the "apron." 30 min- 

7. Court House and Chamber 
op Commerce. — Plymouth & 
Bloomington car to Fourth Av. 
S., Court House at right, Cham- 
ber of Commerce at left. The 
Interiors of these buildings are 
worth inspection. Take elevator 
to visitors' gallery In Chamber of 

Commerce. It is but a short 
walk from the Chamber to the 
flour miiis and 5, 6 and 8 may be 
combined with this trip without 
much loss of time. 

8. Flour Mills and Falls. — 
Same as No. 5 to mills on west 
side; turn to right at 1st St. and 
walk through milling district and 
railroad yards to 10th Av. S. 
(View of falls and river at left.) 
Cross 10th Av. S. bridge. (View 
of falls and milling district at left, 
new dam and power house which 
supplies electric power for street 
railway system, at right. Univer- 
sity in distance at right.) At east 
end of bridge walk along river 
bank to 3rd Av. S. E. to 4th St.; 
electric cars to Washington and 
Hennepin. 1% hours. 

At Third Av. S. E. the great 
Pillsbury "A" flour mill may be 
visited. Permits should be secured 
in advance at the office of the com- 
pany in the Metropolitan Life Bldg. 

10. University. — See No. 3, 1 
hr. ; if buildings are examined 2 or 
3 hours. 

11. Saw Mills. — 50th St. & 
Camden cars north on Washington 
to 3 2d Av., plant of Northland Pine 
Co., li/ 2 hours. (See Lumber and 
Saw Mills.) 

12. Residences. — Many fine res- 
idences are to be seen in trips Nos. 
3 and 4. To see another interest- 
ing residence section, take Chicago 
& Fremont cars going south to 
27th St.; walk two blocks west on 
27th to Park Av.; north five blocks 
to 22nd St.; west on 22nd to 3rd 
Av. S.; south to 24th St.; west to 
Nicollet passing Art Institute, 
Washburn residence and other 
beautiful homes; any car going 
north for return. Time about 1 
hour if the walk is taken briskly. 
An additional hour will allow of 
seeing more of the pleasant neigh- 
borhoods traversed. (See Drives.) 

13. Railroad Terminals. — These 
include hundreds of miles of tracks 

, ^ ■ <*•■ 

• ■}■■'-* ' ' 




,,: : - ** , 


• •_-I.*VW~" - , ... ; !l !...?-'' -:''^3;=, 


o £ 

_.„__._ :: ... ^ ■ :|g 


u a 

, ' ^^™-. .J* A fRS 

W ! 

«3 §j 

a i 

o s 

E g 



• - ->■ '*■ :;? &- ^ j^y x 


^ =22 2 B 

* fr ' ^1 1?f*^' *i 

r 1 2? < T 2 o .■§ 

^** - '■•' 0': ■''/ ^m.' """""" 1 





ril t 

- * ^ 


/^ 3 ^ ON - » w 

,■ ^„ ■ *..W...: -m. 


, Con 




118 to A 


11 ■ 


^ c« * a£ o 

'1 :r -fc 






24 POPl 

Home Season, 

Hi y^^» 

• -'■"" 
■ • ■;'■,"• 






Iress W 

^, . -~^\-/J.^ r^ ; 

Z j 

... - r "N , 

1 ■■~m^±#* \ / . 

Z =i 

o g 

HH o 

U 0) 

1 JkX " 

§ 1 

z 5 

.iii/ *.-'- %- : f / 

o • « 

»^'i ' |! 



or Dates 




2 ^ 

in all parts of the city, but the 
visitor who wishes to have an idea 
of the down town terminals may 
walk north on Washington Av. 
to 4th Av. N. bridge over the 
Great Northern and Minneapolis 
& St. Louis roads, where a glimpse 
may be had of one end of a sys- 
tem of terminals extending three 
miles toward the southwest. Pass- 
ing north on 4th Av. to River St. 
will give an idea of the nearer 
yards of the Soo Line, Northern 
Pacific and "Northwestern." When 
the latter yards are reached the 
Great Northern station is in sight 
at the right but a few blocks away. 
Returning to Washington Av. take 
50th St. & Camden electric car 
to 6th Av. S., walk toward the 
mills through C. M. & St. P. yards 
and about the mills observe the 
facilities for handling wheat and 
flour in and out. This much can 
be done in an hour of brisk 

Many trips about town may be 
made most pleasantly on the elec- 
tric cars and still others more 
successfully in carriages or auto- 
mobiles or on bicycles. (See 
Excursions, Drives, Automobiles.) 

Servants. — The larger portion of 
the "girls" are Scandinavians, 
there being comparatively few 
Germans or Irish in service. Au- 
thorities differ as to the best way 
of engaging a girl. An advertise- 
ment in one of the daily papers 
will usually bring applicants. 
Wages range from $3 to $6 per 
week and upwards for girls doing 
general housework. 

Settlement Houses. — Settle- 
ment work is carried on at four 
centers. (See Pillsbtjry House, 
Northeast Neighborhood House, 
Unity House and Wells Memor- 
ial House.) 

Sewers. — There are about 400 
miles of sewers in the city of Min- 
neapolis. Most of this has been 
the work of the past twenty years. 


The main sewer system of the 
city is nearly perfect, penetrating 
every important section, and can 
have many miles added in years to 
come at a small cost, as the trunk 
sewers are all laid. One of the 
heaviest engineering works in this 
line was the construction of a 
large sewer tunnel from the foot 
of 8th Av. S. under the main busi- 
ness center to the northern part of 
the city. It drains a large region 
which otherwise would be obliged 
to turn its sewage into the river 
above the falls. The tunnel is 
over 7,000 feet long and is at an 
average depth of 50 or 60 feet and 
cost $200,000. There are several 
lesser tunnels in other parts of 
the city, their total length being 
about six miles. (See Public Im- 
provements. ) 

Shade Trees. — Visitors seldom 
fail to remark the handsome shade 
trees on all the older streets of 
the residence portions of the city. 
Every effort has been made by the 
board of park commissioners to en- 
courage the planting of trees by 
property owners. The park com- 
missioners will on request, set out 
trees on any block or blocks and 
care for them for five years at a 
nominal cost. This secures uni- 
formity and successful growth. 
Many miles of Minneapolis streets 
are under this system. There are 
a number of very fine natural 
groves throughout the city which 
have been utilized to enhance the 
beauty of the residences so for- 
tunate as to be located among 

Sidewalks. — Throughout the 
business portion of the city the 
walks are usually wide and uni- 
formly laid with artificial stone. 
In residence quarters the walks 
vary from six to ten feet in 
width and there is ordinarily a 
strip of turf between the pave- 
ment and the street. There are 
about 950 miles of stone sidewalk 
in the city. 


Skating". — From the middle of 
November until early in March the 
ice on the numerous lakes is us- 
ually strong enough for skating. 
There is seldom heavy snow un- 
til after Christmas, after which 
time skaters must be content with 
artificial rinks or go to Loring 
Park Lake, Lake of the Isles and 
other park lakes which are kept 
clear of snow for the public con- 
venience. Buildings containing 
warmed rooms for adjusting 
skates, check rooms for super- 
fluous wraps, and a large assort- 
ment of skates for rent, are pro- 

Sleighing". — There are usually 
about three months of sleighing 
in each year at Minneapolis. The 
drives are delightful and with 
plenty of wraps a dash behind a 
good horse is enjoyable even with 
the mercury near zero. 

Soldiers' Home. — The Minnesota 
Soldiers' Home occupies a tract 
of 51 acres near Minnehaha Falls, 
and overlooking the beautiful 
gorge of the Mississippi River. 
It was established in 1887 and is 
wnder the management of a board 
of seven trustees. To secure 
the home, the citzens of Min- 
neapolis raised a large sum of 
money and donated the land to 
the state. The city has since 
purchased the surrounding prop- 
erty which has been named Min- 
nehaha Park and the whole tract 
is virtually one large park. The 
home is on the "cottage plan." 
An administration building has a 
central position and around it are 
the hospital, dining hall, amuse- 
ment hall and cottages which are 
the actual homes of the inmates, 
and the other minor departments 
of the institution. The water 
supply of the Home comes from 
an artesian well 1,019 feet deep. 
Each cottage will accommodate 
70 men. There are about 500 
members of the Home. The 
property has cost over $700,000, 

and the expense of maintenance 

is about §100,000 a year. An ad- 
dition to the Women's Building 
for the accommodation of wives, 
widows and mothers of veterans 
has recently been erected at a 
cost of $50,000. The officers of 
the Home are W. H. Harries, com- 
mandant; R. R. Henderson, ad- 
jutant; A. W. Guild, quarter- 
master; Rev. Leland P. Smith, 
chaplain; Dr. T. C. Clark, surgeon. 
Minnehaha electric line. It is a 
six mile drive from the center of 
the city. 

Soo Line. — The popular name 
for the Minneapolis, St. Paul & 
Sault Ste Marie R'y, which see. 

South-East Minneapolis. — The 

name commonly used to designate 
that part of the eastern district 
south of East Hennepin Av. — or 
where the streets and avenues are 
called "southeast." 

South Minneapolis — A rather 
indefinite term used to designate 
that part of the city lying south- 
east of the business center and 
south and west of the Mississippi 

Sports. — Athletic sports are 
among the staple amusements of 
the Northwest, where irresistible 
energy is the natural consequence 
of a vigorous climate. 

In summer golf, tennis, base- 
ball, bicycling, yachting, swim- 
ming, automobiling and riding 
have their thousands of votaries, 
while fishermen and hunters find 
stream and field within easy dis- 
tance from the city. Foot ball 
creates great enthusiasm during 
the autumn. There are numerous 
golf and tennis clubs and two 
gun clubs of large membership. 

Very fine racing is to be seen 
each year at the Minnesota State 
Fair during the first week in Sep- 
tember. Automobiling is extreme- 
ly popular and a very large num- 
ber of motors are owned in the 

city, while motor boats are num- 
erous at Lake Minnetonka. 

In winter curling, skating, ice 
yachting, horse racing on the ice, 
and sleighing are the popular 
sports. Several well equipped 
gymnasiums afford ample facili- 
ties for those who enjoy the use 
of apparatus for indoor exercises. 
(See Clubs.) 

St. Anthony Boulevard. — One of 

the latest acquisitions of the park 
system and at present only par- 
tially improved. It extends in an 
irregular course along the high 
land of Northeast Minneapolis 
from Division St. to Columbia 
Park. It is the last important 
section of the "Grand Rounds." 
(See Park System.) 

St. Anthony Commercial Club, 
of East Minneapolis. — An organi- 
zation of business and profession- 
al men for the promotion of the 
welfare of the interests of East 
Minneapolis particularly, and of 
the entire city in general. The 
Club is now the largest strictly 
Commercial Club in the city, hav- 
ing over 600 members. It is ac- 
tive in all civic and commercial 
matters pertaining to the growth 
of the Bast Side. 

Club Rooms are maintained on 
the second and third floors of the 
Chute Building, 305 to 311 East 
Hennepin Av., including main 
and private dining rooms, loung- 
ing, reading, card and billiard 
rooms, bowling alleys, gymnas- 
ium, shower baths, locker rooms, 
tennis courts, etc. The annual 
dues are $15 and the initiation 
fee $25. Any man of good stand- 
ing is eligible but must be pro- 
posed by a member and acted up- 
on by the directors. Officers for 
the current year are: Wm. Eurich, 
president; R. E. Satterlee and Nils 
Olson, vice-presidents; Rollin V. 
Morgan, secretary and treasurer; 
Anthony W. Ingenhutt, chairman 
of public affairs committee. 

3 ST. A-STA 

St. Anthony Falls. — Strangers 
in Minneapolis look in vain for 
the famed St. Anthony Falls, pic- 
tured in every school geography 
of a few decades back, as a seeth- 
ing, boiling torrent plunging 
over a wild and rocky precipice. 
With the construction of the 
"apron" (see Water Power) the 
falls, as such, went out of exist- 
ence but the taming of the great 
river and its confinement within 
metes and bounds by the skill of 
man, is perhaps as wonderful as 
the unchecked madness of the 
natural waterfall. The best view 
of the falls is obtained from 
the incoming trains from St. Paul 
as they pass over the stone arch 
bridge. A less hurried view may 
be had by descending to the foot 
of 6th Av. S. and passing under 
the stone arch bridge. The fall 
is about fifty feet in the perpen- 
dicular; with the rapids below the 
fall amounts to about eighty-five 
feet. St. Anthony Falls are 2,- 
200 miles from the mouth of the 
Mississippi river and mark the 
Siead of navigation. The utilized 
liorse power is 40,000 in the up- 
per and lower dams. (See 
Water Power, Flour and Flour 

St. Anthony Park. — A suburb 
iying east of the city, 20 minutes 
ride distant on the Como-Harriet 
line. It is within the St. Paul 
city limits. 

State Fair. — The Minnesota 
State Fair, held under the aus- 
pices of the Minnesota State Ag- 
ricultural Society, has a larger at- 
tendance than any other fair in 
the United States, and has proba- 
bly the largest and most complete 
fair ground in .-the United States. 
The grounds are located midway 
between Minneapolis and St. Paul 
on the Como-Harriet interurban 
line, the fare from either city be- 
ing but 5 cents. The grounds 
comprise approximately 360 acres 

and have upwards of 125 buildings. 
Thos. H. Canfield, secretary. 

State University. — (See Univer- 
sity of Minnesota.) 

Stationers. — Leading establish- 
ments are Kimball & Storer Co., 
623 1st Av. S.; Beard, 926 Nicol- 
let Av.; Farnham Ptg. & Sta. Co., 
417 Hennepin Av. ; Thomas & 
Grayston CO., 422 Hennepin Av.; 
Jeffrey & McPherson Co., 527 2d 
Av. 8.; Miller-Davis Co., 219-21 
8. 4th St.; Bertelson Bros., 120 
S. 4th St.; E. R. Williams Sta- 
tionery Co., 415 Hennepin Av. ; 
S. M. Williams, 317 Hennepin Av.; 
Louis F. Dow Co., 15 S. 4th St. 
(See Book Stores.) Consult lists 
of stationers and wholesale paper 
dealers in city directory. 

Statuary. — There has been little 
attempt to beautify the city with 
statuary. In the rotunda of the 
Court House and City Hall is a 
heroic statue of "The River God" 
emblematic of the Father of Wa- 
ters. The monument to Ole Bull 
in Loring Park and the statue of 
the late John S. Pillsbury and the 
student soldier memorial on the 
University campus are creditable 
works. A fine collection of casts 
of antique sculpture, originally 
purchased by the exposition has 
found an appropriate home in the 
Minneapolis public library build- 
ing. It includes reproductions of 
many of the best known master- 
pieces of ancient sculpture. 

A statue of Col. John H. Ste- 
vens, the Minneapolis pioneer, 
stands at the intersection of Port- 
land Av. and Eleventh St. 

Steamboats. — (See Navigation.) 

Steel Arch Bridge. — The "steel 
arch bridge" spans the west chan- 
nel of the Mississippi from Bridge 
Square (the foot of Nicollet and 
Hennepin Avs.) to Central Av. on 
Nicollet Island. This is the main 
thoroughfare between the east and 
west sides of the river. It has a 
width of 80 feet; with a roadway 

56 feet wide and two sidewalks of 
12 feet each. The bridge has a 
length of 530 feet and consists of 
two spans of 258 feet each. It 
cost nearly $200,000. Over 4,000 
teams cross the river at this point 

St. Louis Park. — About four 
miles from center of city on M. & 
St. L. Fv'y. This is a manufactur- 
ing suburb provided with first- 
class railroad facilities, and is in 
every way advantageously located. 
St. Louis Park electric line. 

St. Mark's Episcopal Church. — 
Organized in 1868 and for many 
years the leading church of the 
denomination in the city, occupy- 
ing a building on 6th St. between 
Nicollet and Hennepin Avs. This 
property was sold in 1907 and a 
beautiful and costly new church 
has been erected at Oak Grove St. 
and Hennepin Av. 

The plan of the church is one 
of the basilica type, with nave 
and side aisles; the traditional 
English plan. It presents a vari- 
ation from the usual English 
plan, however, in that the great 
arch between the nave and the 
chancel is placed at the entrance 
to the sanctuary as in the early 
Christian basilica, instead of in 
its more usual location at the en- 
trance to the choir, thus enhanc- 
ing the perspective of the vault- 
ing and nave piers, and giving a 
greater majesty and solemnity to 
the sanctuary. To the right and 
left of the sanctuary are located 
the working and rector's sacris- 
ties connected by a narrow pas- 
sage beneath the great altar or 
"East" window. Correspondingly, 
to the right and left of the choir 
are the organ and a small chapel, 
separated from the choir and 
nave by carved oak screens. 

The contour of the lot made 
it possible to place the parish 
house at the left on a lower level, 
thus permitting the arrangement 
of the Sunday School rooms, rec- 

tor's office, and choir rooms on 
church floor. The first story of 
the parish house contains a ban- 
quet hall, kitchen, kindergarten, 
and other features necessary to 
the parish life and activities. 

The stone of the exterior is 
buff Bedford; the interior stone 
is pink Kasota. The windows 
are double glazed to secure extra 
insulation against noise and cold. 
The floors which are of rein- 
forced concrete are all finished 
with tile, except under the pews 
and choir stall. 

The plan of the church while 
simple, offered an unusual oppor- 
tunity for the development of a 
complete scheme of decorative 
woodwork. The railings and 
screens of the organ, choir and 
chapel are of quarter sawed oak 
enriched by carving.- In the 
sanctuary the elaborate carved 
cornice of the choir screens is 
continued over the wood wainscot 
and broken out to form a rich 
canopy over the bishop's and 
priest's sedilia. The pulpit, a 
memorial gift, is designed in har- 
mony with the choir woodwork. 

Rev. James A. Freeman is the 

Stock Exchange. — (See Minne- 
apolis Stock Exchange.) 

Stone Arch Bridge. — The rail- 
road bridge spanning the Missis- 
sippi immediately below the Falls 
of St. Anthony and forming a 
graceful curve in front of the 
great flour mills. Passenger trains 
over the Great Northern, North- 
ern Pacific, Northwestern Line, 
Burlington and Great Western, 
all cross this bridge giving the 
traveler a fine view of the falls 
and rapids below, and the mills 
on both sides of the river. The 
bridge carries a double track. It 
is a fine example of engineering 

Storage. — Household goods are 
received on storage at various 

> STO-ST. P 

warehouses at rates ranging up 
from $2 per load per month. As 
loads vary widely in size, it is 
well to have some more definite 
agreement regarding rates before 
the goods are delivered. Separate 
compartments for goods are pro- 
vided in some fireproof ware- 
houses at a charge of from $1.50 
to $10 per month, according to the 
size of space. There are also 
numerous warehouses which store 
general merchandise exclusively, 
and elevators for grain storage. 
(See Elevators.) 

St. Paul. — The main part of the 
city lies upon the slopes of the 
hills which rise abruptly from the 
viver bank and reach in some 
places a height of about 200 feet. 
The railroads enter along the foot 
of the bluffs, or through a narrow 
valley which gives access to the 
highlands back of the city and 
forms the only break in the bluffs 
on the north shore of the river. 
Within a few blocks of the union 
passenger station, at the foot of 
Sibley St., street cars may be 
taken for any part of the city. 
The leading retail streets are East 
Sixth, East Seventh and Wabasha, 
the first two parallel with the ri- 
ver and the last at right angles 
and about half a mile west of the 
union depot. Public buildings of 
special interest are the new State 
Capitol building on upper Waba- 
sha St; the Court House, Wabasha 
between 4th and 5th Sts. ; and the 
Minnesota club, corner Cedar and 
4th Sts. Two papers, the Pioneer 
Press and Dispatch, have fine 
buildings and the New York and 
Germania Life Insurance Compa- 
nies have given the city handsome 
structures. St. Anthony Hill, 
west of the business center, and 
on a sort of second plateau, is the 
home of most of the wealthy citi- 
zens of St. Paul. Around the crest 
of the hill runs Summit Av. lined 
with palatial residences. It is 
paved with asphalt as are many 


of the hill streets. Farther back 
less pretentious homes find a 
place. This part of the city is 
reached by the Selby Av. electric 
line. The "west side," as the part 
of St. Paul south of the Mississip- 
pi is called, is reached by one rail- 
road bridge and three wagon 
bridges which cross at a great 
height and give fine views of the 
river and its valley. St. Paul may 
be reached by the Minneapolis & 
St. Paul, the Como-Harriet, Snel- 
ling-Minnehaha, and the Selby- 
Lake interurban lines. Trains on _ 
all railroads reaching the cities ' 
run into both. 

Street Cleaning*. — No organized 
department for the purpose of 
cleaning the streets has been re- 
garded necessary. At present the 
work is done under the direction 
of the street commissioners of 
each ward. 

Street Ughting*. — The principal 
streets in the business center are 
lighted by a special electric light- 
ing system. Ornamental lamp 
posts of uniform design, each sur- 
mounted by five globes containing 
electric lights, give brilliant illu- 
mination and produce a very hand- 
some effect. About 1,000 of these 
posts, extending over a distance 
of about nine miles, have been in- 
stalled and the system is still be- 
ing extended. This beautiful light- 
ing plan is being copied exten- 
sively in other cities. In other 
parts of the city the streets are 
well lighted by gas lights of mod- 
ern design and by electric arc 

Street Railways. — Minneapolis 
has a street railway system equal, 
if not superior, to that of any 
first-class city in the country. 
Electricity is used exclusively as 
motive power. The change from 
horse power was begun in 1889 
and was accomplished within two 
years. It involved the entire re- 
building of the system, and the 

purchase of a new equipment 

About the same time the street 
railway system of St. Paul was 
connected with that of Minneap- 
olis and the two systems made 
practically one. The "Twin City 
Lines" owns and operates the en- 
tire dual city system as well as 
The Minneapolis & St. Paul Subur- 
ban Railroad which operates 
suburban lines of 29 miles from 
Minneapolis to Tonka Bay and 
Deephaven on Lake Mirmetonka as 
well as lines of 30 miles from St. 
Paul to White Bear, Mahtomedi, 
Stillwater and South Stillwater. 
(See map bet. pages 104 and 105.) 

The company is officered as fol- 
lows: President, Horace Lowry; 
first vice president, E. W. Decker; 
second vice president, John R. 
Mitchell; third vice president, A. 
M. Robertson; general manager, 
Foster Hannaford; auditor, D. J. 
Strouse; treasurer, E. A. Crosby; 
general passenger agent, A. W. 
Warnock; general superintendent, 
J. J. Caufield; superintendent Min- 
neapolis division, C. Brewer Good- 

The company's offices are in its 
own building at the corner of Hen- 
nepin Av. and 11th St. 

In the entire system there are 
444 miles of electric railway, and 
to operate the system an army of 
men is required. The power for 
operating the system is generated 
in two water power stations, one 
of 10,000 h. p., the other of 12,000 
h. p., and one steam station of 
60,000 h. p. The power is distrib- 
uted by means of high tension 
cables to fourteen substations, ten 
in the cities of Minneapolis and 
St. Paul and four on suburban di- 

At the corner of University and 
Snelling Avs. are extensive shops 
where the company manufactures 
its own cars and does its repair 

The present type of car is a 47 
foot double-truck car, which seats 
48 persons, with large windows, 

electric lights and modern heat- 
ers. These cars are capahle of high 
speed and are models of comfort 
and convenience. The electric cars 
afford a popular means of seeing 
the city and environs. (See Ex- 
cdesions.) Special cars may be 
obtained for private trolley par- 

The list of car lines which fol- 
lows is divided into "Interurban," 
"Minneapolis" and "Suburban" 
lines and again sub-divided into 
groups of lines having the same 
general routes over much of their 
courses. Thus the cars running 
from Chicago Av. points through 
to north Minneapolis and on 
streets diverging from 20th Av. 
N. are grouped in one section. 
"Loop" cars never make through 
trips but turn in the center of the 
city on some of the loops pro- 
vided for that purpose. 

Interurban Lines. 

St. Paul & Minneapolis. — From 
5th Av. N. and 5th St., Minneapo- 
lis, ,5th St., 2nd Av. S., Washington 
Av., University Av., Wabasha St., 
5th St., Robert St., 8th St., Waba- 
sha St., St. Paul, and return. 

University to Snelling. — Same 
as St. Paul & Minneapolis except 
that eastbound from Minneapolis, 
or westbound from St. Paul, cars 
run to University and Snelling 

Como-Harriet. — From Robert 
and 5th Sts., St. Paul, Robert St., 
8th St., Wabasha St., Rice St., 
Como Av., Front St., Chatsworth 
St., Como Park, Como Av., 15th Av. 
S. E., 4th St. S. E., E. Hennepin 
Av., Hennepin Av., 31st St., thence 
on private right of way via Lake 
Calhoun and Lake Harriet to 
Minneapolis west city limits 
(France Av.) 

Como-Hopkins. — Same as Como- 
Harriet from St. Paul to Minne- 
apolis west city limits, thence via 
Lake Minnetonka line to Excelsior 
Av., in Hopkins. Como-Hopkins 
signs carried. 

Fair Grounds. — Same as Como- 
Harriet except that eastbound 
from Minneapolis, cars run to 
Snelling and Como Avs., St. Paul 
(State Fair Grounds). 


Como Av. to Minneapolis Loop. 
— Same as Como-Harriet, westbound 
from St. Paul, except that cars run 
to Hennepin Av. and 6th St., Min- 

Selby-Lake. — From Hennepin 
Av. and Lake St., Minneapolis, 
Lake St., Marshall Av., Fairview 
Av., Selby Av., 3d St., 4th St., 
Rosabel St., 3d St., Broadway, 4th 
St., St. Paul, and return. 

Snelling - Minnehaha. — From 
Hennepin Av. and 11th St., Minne- 
apolis, 11th St., 4th Av. S., Frank- 
lin Av., 27th Av. S., Minnehaha 
Av., thence via Minnehaha Falls, 
Soldiers' Home and Fort Snelling 
Reservation, 7th St., to Duluth 
Av., St. Paul. 

Minneapolis Local Lines. 

Chicago & Fremont. — From Chi- 
cago Av. and 46th St., Chicago Av., 
9th St., 8th Av. S., 6th St., 1st Av. 
N., Washington Av., 20th Av. N., 
Emerson Av. N., 33d Av. N., Fre- 
mont Av. N. to 44 th Av. N. 

Chicago & Emerson. — Same as 
Chicago & Fremont except that 
cars run from Chicago Av. and 
38th St. to Fremont and 36th 
Avs. N. 

Chicago & Penn. — From Chicago 
Av. and 38th St., Chicago Av., 9th 
St., 8th Av. S., 6th St., 1st Av. N., 
Washington Av., 20th Av. N., Crys- 
tal Lake Av., Penn Av. N. to 38th 
Av. N. 

Chicago to Lake. — Southbound, 
same as Chicago & Fremont or 
Chicago and Penn except .that cars 
run to Chicago Av. and Lake St. 

Loop. — Southbound from Fre- 
mont and 44th Avs. N. or from 
Penn and 38th Avs. N. to Loop. 

Loop. — Northbound from Chica- 
go Av. and 46th St. to Loop. 

Washington to 24th Av. N. — 
Cars carrying this sign on any 
Chicago Av. line run to new North 
Side Station, Washington and 
24th Avs. N. 

50th St. E. & Camden. — From 
50th St. E. and 34th Av. S., 50th 
St. E., 28th Av. S., 38th St., 23d 
Av. S., 35th St., Cedar Av., Wash- 
ington Av., to 42nd Av. N. 

Lake Nokomis-Camden. — Same 
as 50th St. E. & Camden except 
that cars run from 50th St. E. and 
28th Av. S. 

38th St. E. & Camden. — Same as 
50th St. E. & Camden except that 


cars run from 38th St. and 28th 
Av. S. 

Cedar & Camden. — Same as 50th 
St. E. & Camden except that cars 
run from Cedar Av. and 34th St. 

N. Ltndale to 51st Av. — North- 
bound cars carrying this sign on 
any Cedar Av. line run to City 
Workhouse, 51st Av. N. 

Washington to 24th Av. N. — 
Cars carrying this sign on any 
Cedar Av. line run to new North 
Side Station, Washington and 24th 
Avs. N. 

Cedar Av. — From Cedar Av. and 
42nd St., Cedar Av., Washington 
Av., 4th Av. S., 3rd St., 2nd Av. N., 
and return via Washington Av. 

Broadway & 20th Av. N. — From 
Washington and 20th Avs. N., 20th 
Av. N., across'river, 13th Av. N. E., 
Washington St., Broadway, to 
Jackson St. 

Plymouth & Bloomington. — 
From Bloomington Av. and 38th 
St., Bloomington Av., Franklin Av., 
15th Av. S., 7th St., 10th Av. S., 
6th St., 8th Av. S., 4th St., Mar- 
quette Av., Washington Av., Ply- 
mouth Av., to Sheridan Av. N. 

Bloomington to Lake. — South- 
bound, same as Plymouth & 
Bloomington, except that cars run 
to Bloomington Av. and Lake St. 

Loop. — Northbound, from 
Bloomington Av. and 38th St. to 

Minnehaha Falls. — From 
Washington and 2nd Avs. N., 2nd 
Av. N., 3d St., 4th Av. S., Wash- 
ington Av., Cedar Av., Riverside 
Av., 27th Av. S., Minnehaha Av., 
to Minnehaha Falls, 50th St. 

Washington & Riverside. — Same 
as Minnehaha Falls except that 
cars run to Minnehaha Av. and 
37 th St. 

Riverside to Lake. — Same as 
Minnehaha Falls exce>t that cars 
run to Lake St. and 27th Av. S. 

Kenwood & 25th St. — From Penn 
Av. and W. 21st St., Penn Av., Oli- 
ver Av., Douglas Av., Hennepin Av., 
Washington Av. S., Cedar Av., Min- 
nehaha Av., East 25th St. to 36th 
Av. S. 

Lake St. to 33th Av. S. — Same 
as Selby-Lake, except that cars 
run on Lake St. between Hennepin 
Av. and 36th Av. S., Minneapolis. 

Franklin Av.-11th St. — From 
Hennepin Av. and 11th St., 11th 

St., 4th Av. S., Franklin Av., to 
West River Road. 

Oak & Harriet. — From Hamline 
Av. and 27 th Av. S. E., 27 th Av. 
S. E., Dartmouth Av., Erie St., 
Fulton St., Oak St., 4th St. S. E., 
E. Hennepin Av., Hennepin Av., 
31st St., thence on private right 
of way via Lake Calhoun and 
Lake Harriet, Xerxes Av., W. 50th 
St., to Penn Av. S. 

Oak & Xerxes. — Same as Oak & 
Harriet except that cars run to 
Xerxes Av. and W. 50th St. 

Lake Harriet. — Westbound, 
same as Oak & Harriet except that 
cars run to Lake Harriet Loop. 
Eastbound, from Lake Harriet 
Loop- to Hennepin Av. and 1st St., 
to 1st Av. N. 

Hennepin to 15th & Como. — 
Same as Como-Harriet eastbound, 
except that cars run to 15 th Av. 
S. E. and Como Av. 

Loop. — Same as Como-Harriet or 
Oak & Harriet eastbound, except 
that cars run to Hennepin Av. and 
1st St., to 1st Av. N. 

Como Av. to Eustis St. — Same as 
Como-Harriet, eastbound, except 
that cars run to Como Av. and Eus- 
tis St. 

Western & 2nd St. — From 
Grand St. and 30th Av. N. E., 
Grand St., Lowry Av., 2nd St., 
Broadway, 2nd St., E. Henrrepin 
Av., Hennepin Av., 7th St., West- 
ern Av., to Penn Av. N. 

Glenwood Park. — Same as 
Western & 2nd St., westbound, ex- 
cept that cars run to Glenwood 

Loop. — Southbound, from Grand 
St. and 30th Av. N. E. to Loop. 

Bryn Mawr. — From Oliver Av. 
N. and Laurel Av., Laurel Av., 
Bryant Av., Hawthorn Av., 12th 
St., Hennepin Av., 3d St., 1st Av. 
N., 5th St., Hennepin Av., and re- 

54th St. & Columbia Heights. — 
From Nicollet Av. and 54th St., 
Nicollet Av., Grant St., Marquette 
Av., High St., Hennepin Av., E. 
Hennepin Av.. Central Av., 40th 
Av. N. E., to 5th St. N. E. 

Washburn Park & Columbia 
Heights. — Same as 54th St. & Co- 
lumbia Heights except that cars 
run from Nicollet Av. and 50th St. 

Central to 40th Av. N. E. — 
Same as 54th St. & Columbia 

Heights, northbound, except that 
cars run to Central and 40th Avs. 
N. E. 

Nicollet & Central. — Same as 
54th St. & Columbia Heights ex- 
cept that cars run from Nicollet 
Av. and 38th St. to Central and 
29 th Avs. N. E. 

Loop. — Northbound, from 54th, 
50th, 38th or 31st Sts. to High St. 

Nicollet to 31st St.-— From 
Nicollet Av. and 31st St., Nicollet 
Av., Grant St., Marquette Av., to 
High St. 

Grand & Johnson. — From Grand 
Av. and 40th St., Grand Av., Lake 
St., Nicollet Av., Grant St., Mar- 
quette Av., High St., Hennepin Av., 
8th St. S. E.. 10th Av. S. E., John- 
son St. to 29th Av. N. E. 

Monroe & Bryant. — From Wash- 
ington St. and 17th Av. N. E., 
Washington St., Broadway, Mon- 
roe St., 7th St., E. Hennepin Av., 
Hennepin Av., Lyndale Av., Lake 
St., Bryant Av., to 50th St. 

Bryant to 38th St. — Same as 
Monroe & Bryant except that 
southbound cars run to Bryant Av. 
and 38th St. and northbound cars 
run to Hennepin Av. and 1st St., 
to 1st Av. N. 

Lyndale to Lake. — Same as 
Monroe and Bryant, except that 
cars run to Lyndale Av. and Lake 

4th Av. S. & 6th Av. N. — From 
Russell and 6th Avs. N., 6th Av. 
N., 5th St., 4th Av. S., to 38th St. 

4th Av. to Lake — Same as 4th Av. 
S. & 6th Av. N., except that cars 
run to 4th Av. S. and Lake St. 

Loop. — Northbound, from 4th 
Av. S. and 38th St. to 5th St. and 
5 th Av. N. 

Suburban Lines. 

Lake Minnetonka Lines. — 
From 6th St. Station (17 N. 6th 
St.), Minneapolis, 6th St., Henne- 
pin Av., 31st St., thence on private 
right of way via Lake Calhoun, 
Lake Harriet and Hopkins to Lake 
Minnetonka (Excelsior, Wildhurst, 
Tonka Bay and Deephaven). 

Tonka Bay. — To Tonka Bay. 

Lake Minnetonka. — To Excel- 
sior — 2nd St. 

Excelsior Limited. — To Excel- 
sior — 2nd St. 

Excelsior Excursion. — To Ex- 
celsior Docks. 


Deephaven. — To Deephaven. 
Hopkins. — To Hopkins. 


Line. — From Robbinsdale via 
Crystal Lake Road, France Av., 
Johnson Road, Crystal Lake Road 
to Penn Av. N„ Crystal Lake Av., 
20th Av. N., Washington Av., 1st 
Av. N., 6th St., Hennepin Av., La- 
goon Av., West Lake St., to St. 
Louis Park. Same route returning 
except that cars turn off Henne- 
pin Av. on to 1st Av. N. via 7th St. 
instead of via 6th St. 

St. Paul White Bear and Still- 
water. — From Seven Corners Ter- 
minal on 7th St., thence on private 
right-of-way to Wildwood Park, 
White Bear Lake and Stillwater. 

To reach White Bear Lake and 
Stillwater from Minneapolis, pas- 
sengers from Snelling-Minnehaha, 
or Selby-Lake lines transfer at 
Seven Corners Terminal, St. Paul, 
and from St. Paul-Minneapolis or 
Como-Harriet-Hopkins lines at 7th 
St., St. Paul. 

To reach Lake Minnetonka from 
St. Paul, passengers transfer to 
the Lake Minnetonka line at Hen- 
nepin Av. and 6th St. or Henne- 
pin Av. and Lake St., Minneap- 

The street railway company has 
its downtown ticket office and in- 
formation bureau for its Lake 
Minnetonka lines at 17 N. 6th St., 
near Hennepin Av. 

All cars carry plain signs, bear- 
ing the name of the route, which 
at night are illuminated. On all 
principal lines they run at inter- 
vals of from four to fifteen min- 
utes. Fare, five cents on all local 
lines. Interurban lines ten cents. 
Stillwater line 30 cents. Excel- 
sior or Deephaven line 25 cents. 
Transfer tickets may be obtained 
from the conductors. 

Steamboat Division. 
The company also owns and op- 
perates a fleet of express steam- 
boats on Lake Minnetonka, which 
connect with trains at Excelsior, 
Wildhurst, Tonka Bay and Deep- 
haven for all points on the lake. 

Streets and Avenues. — To find 
conveniently, a given street or a 
given number, however remote, is 
made comparatively easy by an 
understanding of the general plan 


on which the city is laid out. This 
is measurably simple. Consulta- 
tion with the map will show that 
the city is divided into two parts 
by the Mississippi river which has 
a generally southeasterly course 
within the limits. The smaller 
part of the city — its northeastern 
corner — is called the East Divi- 
sion, or in common parlance the 
"east side." The larger part is 
of course the West Division or 
"west side." The streets and ave- 
nues of the two divisions are en- 
tirely distinct and have different 
names and sets of house numbers. 

The numerical system of nam- 
ing streets and avenues is in use. 
In the West Division the streets 
are parallel with the river and are 
designated as North and South, 
First, Second and Third Streets, 
etc. Hennepin Avenue as far as 
Kenwood Boulevard is the divid- 
ing line between North and South. 
The thoroughfares running at 
right angles with the river are 
called Avenues, and their position 
with regard to Hennepin Avenue 
(the dividing line) is indicated by 
the addition of the words "North" 
or "South." Thus Fourth Avenue 
North is the fourth avenue north 
of and parallel with Hennepin 
Avenue. South of Hennepin, Nic- 
ollet Avenue intervenes before 
First Avenue South (now Mar- 
quette Av. in business center) 
after which the numbered ave- 
nues continue consecutively. 

The course of Nicollet Av. from 
the river is southwest for about a 
mile. At Grant St. (next to 13th 
St.) Nicollet Av. turns due south 
and continues to the city limits 
with all intersecting streets at 
right angles and consequently 
having due east and west lines. 
From Grant St. to the south limits 
Nicollet Av. becomes the dividing 
line and intersecting streets are 
designated as "east" and "west." 
Thus East 14th St. is the first 
south of East Grant, and West 

Fourteenth, its continuation west 
of Nicollet. First Av. S. contin- 
ues as the first street east of and 
parallel with Nicollet south of 
Grant and with the other avenues 
retains its appellation of "south." 

Parallel with Nicollet on the 
west is a series of avenues desig- 
nated by names. The seventh is 
Lyndale which runs exactly north 
and south from the north to the 
south boundary lines of the city. 
It is an avenue and as such would 
be expected to be at right angles 
with the river. But in the north- 
ern part of the city it is, by a 
change of the river's course, ex- 
actly parallel with the stream and 
consequently with North First St., 
which has followed the bend of 
the river. From Plymouth Av. 
(same as 13th Av. N.) Lyndale 
Av. is the seventh street west of 
the river. West of and parallel 
with Lyndale and extending north 
and south from Kenwood Park- 
way and Superior Av. is a series 
of avenues whose names are 
alphabetically arranged as Aldrich 
(first west of Lyndale), Bryant, 
Colfax, Dupont, etc. This series 
extends to the western city limits. 

In the East Division the same 
system prevails with Central Av. 
and Division St. as the dividing 
line as Hennepin Av. is on the 
west side. To prevent confusion 
with the west side, avenues north 
of and parallel with Central Av. 
are called "First Av. Northeast," 
"Second Av. Northeast," etc., and 
south of Central Av., "First Av. 
Southeast," etc. The streets are 
called "Southeast Fourth St.," or 
"Northeast Second St.," according 
to the direction from Central Av. 
The addition of the word "east" 
in this designation has no signifi- 
cance except that it marks the 
street or avenue as being in the 
East Division. 

In various parts of the city 
there are avenues between the 
consecutive numerical streets or 

avenues. These are sometimes 
confusing to strangers. The most 
conspicuous among these is Wash- 
ington Av., which runs north and 
south parallel to the river between 
Second and Third Sts. 

House Numbers. — In numbering 
stores and houses a new hundred 
is commenced at the crossing of 
every numerically named street or 
would be the first door beyond S. 
avenue. Thus 700 Marquette Av. 
7th St., whether the "600s" had 
been exhausted between 6th and 
7th Sts. or not. On ordinary 
blocks there are from twenty-five 
to thirty numbers. One may be 
sure that 627 S. 9th St. is very 
near the intersection of 7th Av. S. 
Where the streets are not desig- 
nated numerically a new "100" is 
ordinarily commenced after each 
crossing though the rule is not in- 
variable. A good point to remem- 
ber is that on all streets and ave- 
nues crossing Lyndale Av. the 
first number west of Lyndale is 
invariably "700." 

By keeping the general principle 
of the numbering system in mind 
it is not difficult to find any num- 
ber or to determine in advance 
just how many blocks it is dis- 

In the following street directory 
all numerically named streets and 
avenues are omitted except where 
their course is unusual. The fore- 
going explanation will enable one 
to find those which conform to the 
general rule. In some parts of 
the city the system is sadly 
broken in upon and it has been 
the intention to mention all 
streets in such localities. Impor- 
tant divergencies from the system 
of numbering are also noted. 

Abbott Av. — See South Abbott 

Adams St., E. D. — 1st e of Wash- 
ington st, 4th av ne to 18th av ne; 
400 4th av ne, 600 Spring st, 700 
Summer st, 1100 Broadway, 1300 
13th av ne. (Regular to end.) 


Alden Lane. — From S. Xerxes 
se 1st s of W 52nd. 

Aldrich Av. — See N. and S. Al- 

Alma Pl. — N. from 27th av n bet. 
Wash, av and n 4th st. 

Arlington St., E. D. — River e to 
University av, 1st s of University 

Arthur Av. E. D. — 1st s of Wil- 
liams av., fr Orlin Av. sw to s 
line of Prospect Park. 

Arthur St., E. D. — Division st. 
n to limits, 4th e of Johnson. 

Ash St., W. D. — N. Oliver av. 
to Cedar Lake Road, 1st w of Elm. 

Bank St., E. D. — River n e to 
Univ. Av., 1st s Central. 

Barnes Pl., W. D. — Humboldt av 
w to Lovell Park, 1st n of 8th av n. 

Barton Av., E. D. — From Mal- 
colm Av. s e to s line of Prospect 

Bassett Pl., W. D. — 6th av n to 
8th av n 1st w of Aldrich av. 

Beacon St., E. D. — River to Uni- 
versity av, 2d s of University 
grounds; 4 River, 100 Prospect st, 
200 Pleasant, 300 State, 400 Church, 
500 Union, 600 Harvard, 700 Wal- 
nut, 800 Oak, 900 Ontario. 

Beard Av. — See South Beard Av. 

Bedford St., E. D. — Fr Univer- 
sity Av. s to Sharon Av, 1st w of 
Emerald St. 

Belle St., E. D. — Oak to 21st av 
se, 1st n of Marshall av. 

Benjamin St., E. D. — Division 
st. n to limits, 6th e of Johnson. 

Bjornson Av., W. D. — 1st e of 
22d av so, a 5th to s 6th. 

Blaisdell Av., W. D. — Franklin 
av to w 48th st, 1st w of Nicollet 

Bloomington Av., W. D. — Frank- 
lin av s to city limits, 1st e of 
15th av s. 

Bluff St., W. D. — 1st n of 1st 
st, Cedar av to 20th av s. 

Border Av., W. D. — Holden st n 
w to Lakeside av, 1st s w of High- 
land av; 2 Western av, 14 Holden 
st, 30 Border pl. 

Bradford Av., W. D. — 6th av n 
to 8th av n, 2d e of n Lyndale av. 

Bridge Sq., W. D. — The com- 
bination of Hennepin and Nicollet 
avs from their junction at 1st st 
to the river. 


Brighton Av., E. D. — 25th av ne 
at Hayes, ne to 29th Av. 

Beoadwat St., E. D. — Main st e 
to limits, 1st s of 12th av ne; 131 
Main st, 201 2d st ne, 301 3d st, 331 
Univ av ne, 401 ne 4th st, 501 ne 5th 
st, 601 ne 6th st, 619 Washington 
st, 641 Adams, 661 Jefferson, 681 
Madison, 700 Monroe, 800 Quincy, 
824 Jackson, 900 Van Buren, 933 
Central, 1001 Tylor, 1201 Filmore, 
1301 Pierce, 1401 Buchanan, 1501 

Brook Av., E. D. — Rollins add. 
12th av se to Oak st, 1st s of 
Como av. 

Bryant Av., — See N. and S. Bry- 

Buchanan St., E. D. — Division st 
n to limits, 1st w of Lincoln; 300 
Division st, 400 Winter, 600 Spring, 
700 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1200 
12 th st ne, etc. 

Butler Pl., W. D. — 22d av s to 
25th av s, bet 8th and 9th sts s. 

Calhoun Av., W. D. — 1st w of 
Lake Calhoun, 32d to 36th st. 

Calhoun Boul., W. D. — E side of 
Lake Calhoun. 

Calhoun Pl., W. D. — Irving av 
w to Calhoun Blvd., 1st s of w 

California St., E. D. — First w of 
Main st, ne fr 15th av ne to limits. 

Camden Av., W. D. — First w of 
Lyndale, 44th av n to 47th av n. 

Cecil St., E. D. — Hamline Av., 
s 1st w of Bedford. 

Cedar Av., W. D. — Bluff st to 
limits, 1st w of 19th av s. 

Cedar Lake Av., W. D. — Along s 
shore of Cedar Lake to s Chowen 

Cedar Lake Road. — See n and s 
Cedar Lake Rd. 

Center St. — See Findley Place. 

Central Ave., E. D. — From East 
Hennepin and 5th Sts. N. to lim- 
its; 600 6th, 700 7th, 800 
8th, 900 9th, 930 10th, 963 3d av ne, 
1017 Harrison st, 1037 Summer st, 
1100 Broadway, 1200 12th av ne, 
regular to limits. 

Chandler St., E. D. — C, M. & 
St. P. Ry. s, 1st e of Thorton. 

Chester Av., E. D. — Stock Yards 
Road se to 16th Av. N. E., 1st s 
of 19th Av. N. E. 

Chestnut Ave., W. D. — 11th St. 
W to Limits; begins two blks n 
of Hennepin av. 

Chestnut Pl. — Fr Chestnut av s, 
e of Lyndale av. 

Chicago Ave., W. D. — Continua- 
tion of 8th av s, 9th st to s limits. 

Chowen Av. — See South Chowen 

Church St., E. D. — University 
av se to Margin st; 4th e of riv«r. 

Clarence Av., E. D. — Fr Univer- 
sity Av. s e to Bedford, 1st s of 
Malcolm Av. 

Clarendon Ave., W. D. — 1st n of 
w 38th; s Emerson av to Hennepin 

Cleveland St., E. D. — Division 
St. n to limits, 5th e of Johnson. 

Clifton Ave., W. D. — Vine pl w 
to Clifton pl; 1st s of Oak Grove 
or w 17th st; 100 Vine pl. 420 Clif- 
ton pl. 

Clifton Pl., W. D. — Crosses w 
end of Clifton av s from Oak Grove 

Clinton Ave., W. D. — From 
Grant st s to limits; bet 3d and 4th 
av s. 

Cole Av., E. D. — 23d Av. S. E. e 
to Elm St., 1st s of N. P. Ry. 

Colfax Ave. — See N. and S. Col- 
fax Aves. 

Colgate Av. W. D. — S. Chowen 
Av. w bet. W. 43rd and W. 43% Sts. 

Columbus Ave., W. D. — S fr 18th 
st, 1st e of Park av, formerly iy 2 
av, also called "Park Place." 

Como Ave., E. D. — 10th av se to 
limits; 1st s of Talmage av; 1001 
10th av se, etc. 

Cooper St., W. D. — On the flats. 

Crystal Lake Ave., W. D. — 
Humboldt av n to limits; continua- 
tion of 20th av n; 1401 e line For- 
est Heights; 1501 Ewingavn; 1601 
James, 1701 Knox, 1801 Logan, 
1901 Morgan, 1915 21st av n, 2023 
23rd av n, 2201 Penn, 2S01 Queen, 
2601 26th. 

Dartmouth Av., E. D. — Fr On- 
tario, e to Lennox, 1st n of Yale. 

Dean Boul., W. D. — W side 
Lake of the Isles, w and s to Lake 

Delaware St., E. D. — River e to 
St Mary av; 4th s of Univer'y 
grounds; 14 Mississippi river, 100 
Prospect st, 200 Pleasant st, 300 
State st, 400 Church st, 500 Union 
st, 600 Harvard st, 700 Walnut st, 
800 Oak st, 900 Ontario st. 1000 
Erie st, 2500 25th av se etc. 

Dell Pl., W. D. — Lyndale av e 
to Groveland. 

Dorman Av., W. D. — First bw of 
Riverside av fr 40th to 46th av s. 

Douglas Av., W. D. — Hennepin 
av w to limits, 1st n Summit av; 
901 Bryant, 1001 Colfax, 1101 Du- 
pont, 12Q1 Emerson, 1301 Fremont, 
1401 Girard, 1500 Humboldt, 1600 
Irving, 1700 James, 1800 Knox, 
1900 Logan, 2000 Morgan, 2100 

Drew Av. — See South Drew Av. 

Dupont Av. — See N. and S. Du- 
pont av. 

Bast Franklin Av., W. D. — Nic- 
ollet av to river; 1st s of 19th st 
same as East 20th st. 

East Grant St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av to Portland av; next n of e 14th 

East Hennepin Av., E. D. — From 
river at Steel Arch bridge to lim- 
its; 60 Stone Arch bdg. 100 Main, 
112 Prince, 200 2nd St, 208 Ort- 
man, 300 University, 400 4th, 500 
5th, 600 6th, 700 7th, 800 8th, 900 
9th, 1000 Tyler, 1025 Folk, 1101 
Taylor, and 5th Av. S. E., 1201 
Fillmore, 1301 Pierce, 1401 Bu- 
chanan, 1501 Lincoln, 1601 John- 
son and 10th Av. S. E., etc. 

East Lakh St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av to river (same as 30th st.) 

Eastman Av., E. D. — E and w on 
Nicollet Island. 1st n of Bridge st, 
2 Island Av. e side Island, 58 Is- 
land av w side Island, 

18% Av., NE, E. D. — Monroe e to 
Filmore st; 700 Monroe, 801 Quin- 
cy, 901 Jackson, 933 Central, 1000 
Polk. 1100 Taylor. 

11th St. — See n and s' 11th st. 

Elliott Av., W. D. — Same as 9th 
av s fr 9th st to limits. 

Elm St., E. D. — Fr 22% av s e, 
e to city limits, 4th n of Marshall 

Elm St., W. D. — (Bryn Mawr 
add.) Fr Newton av to Cedar Lake 
Road, 2d e of Oliver av. 

Elm wood Pl., W. D. — Bet. 50th 
and 5 2d Sts, Washburn Pk. 

Elroy St., W. D. — Nicollet bet 
29th and 30th w to Pleasant. (Same 
as 29% st.) 

Emerald St., E. D. — E limits s fr 
University av. 

El wood Av., W. D. — 6 th av n 
and Humboldt av n w to 10th av 
n, 604 6th av n, 700 Irving av, 800 
8th av 


Emerson Av. — See N. and S. 

Erie St., E. D. — 2d e of Oak st; 
fr C M & St P Ry to river; 200 C 
M & St P Ry, 300 Cambridge, 400 
Delaware, 500 Essex, 600 Fulton, 

700 Dartmouth av. 

Essex St., E. D. — River e to St 
Mary av, 5th s of University; 14 
Prospect st, 100 Pleasant, 200 State, 
400 Church, 500 Union, 600 Har- 
vard, 700 Walnut, 800 Oak, 900 On- 
tario, 1000 Erie, 1200 Huron, 2600 
26th av se, 2700 27th av. 

Euclid Pl., W. D. — Fr w 25th st 
to Lake of the Isles boul. 

Ewing Av. — See South Ewing Av. 

Excelsior Av., W. D. — Sw fr 
Lake st w of Lake Calhoun. 

Fairmount St., E. D. — Fr. 22%, 
S E, 1st s of Como. 

Ferrant Pl. — McNair to Sheri- 
dan av, 1st w of Crystal Lake av. 

Filmore St., E. D. — Division st 
n to limits, 1st e of Taylor st; 301 
Division st, 401 Winter, 601 Spring, 

701 Summer, 801 Broadway, 1600 
16th av ne, etc. 

Findlet Pl. — Lake st s, w of 
Blaisdell av. 

Florence Av., W. D. — 1st s of 
W. 36th St. between Hennepin Av. 
and S. Emerson Av. 

Florence Court, E. D. — S fr 
University av, 1st e of 10th av se. 

Forest Av., W. D. — Groveland 
av w to Lyndale, 1st n of Ridg- 

France Av. — See South France 

Franklin Av. — See E. and W. 
Franklin Av. 

Franklin Pl. — Franklin av s to 
e 24th, bet 22d and 23d avs s. 

Franklin Terrace. — Same as 
Riverside av from 8th st to Frank- 
lin av. 

Fremont Av. — See N. and S. Fre- 
mont av. 

Fulton St., E. D. — Pleasant e to 
Huron av; 6th s of University 
grounds; 200 Pleasant, 300 State, 
400 Church, 500 Union, 600 Har- 
vard, 700 Walnut, 800 Oak, 900 On- 
tario, 1000 Erie, 1027 Huron. 

Garfield Av., W. D. — Franklin 
av s to limits; 6th w of Nicollet 


Garfield St., E. D. — Division n 
to limits, 3d e of Johnson St. 

George St., E. D. — Nicollet Id, n 
Gt. Nor. Ry. 

Girard Av. — See N. and S. Gir- 
ard av. 

Godfrey Av., W. D. — Minnehaha 

Gram mercy Av. — Lies parallel to 
and one block nwly of S Cedar 
Lake Road. Numbers begin at 
Western av. 

Grand Av., W. D. — Franklin av 
to limits. 4th w of Nicollet av. 

Grand St., E. D. — 13th av ne, n 
Jo 31st av ne, 1st e of Marshall. 

Grant St. — See E. and W. Grant 


Gray Place, W. D. — 31st to 32d 

Av. N. bet 3d and 4th sts. 

Greeley Av., W. D. — Western av 
s to 1st av n, 1st w of Fremont 
av; 200 1st av n, 224 2d av n. 

Grove St., E. D. — Nicollet Is- 
land; e and w across Nicollet Is- 
land, 2d n of Bridge st; 2 Island 
av w side, 28 Nicollet st, 58 Island 
av e side. 

Grovel and A v., W. D. — Fr w 
19th at Pillsbury av, w to Henne- 
pin av. 

Groveland Terrace, W. D. — Fr 
Hennepin w to Mt. Curve, 1st n of 
Mt. Curve av. 

"H." — Between Division st and 
14th av ne is known as the "Stin- 
son Boulevard." 

Hamline Av., E. D. — From river 
at Franklin av. bridge e to Emerald 
st, 1st n of Sharon av. 

Harmon Pl., W. D. — 10th st to 
Hennepin, 1st s of Hennepin; 1000 
10th, 1100 11th, 1200 12th, 1300 
13th. 1400 Spruce pl, 1500 Willow 
st, 1528 Maple. 

Harriet Av., W. D. — Franklin 
av s to city limits, 2d e of Lyndale. 

Harrison St., E. D. — Division st 
n to 3d av ne, 300 Division, 400 
Winter. Beginning n of Bi'oadway 
the extension of this street is 
known as Central av. 

Harvard St., E. D. — 6th e of riv- 
er, fr University av s to river; 2 
University av se, 100 Arlington st, 
200 Beacon, 300 Cambridge, 400 
Delaware, 500 Essex, 600 Fulton. 

Hawthorn Av., W. D. — 9th st n, 
sw to limits, 1st n of Hennepin 
at beginning. 

Hayes St., E. D. — Division to 
limits, 2d e of Johnson St. 

Hennepin Av., W. D. — Sw fr riv- 
er to w 28th st, thence due s to 
Florence av; 1st to 13th sts regu- 
lar, 1400 Laurel av, 1401 Spruce pl, 
1501 Willow st, 1528 16th, 1529 Ma- 
ple, 1576 Harmon pl, 1608 Superior 
av, 1701 Oak Grove st, 1732 Lyn- 
dale av on w, 1748 Groveland av, 
17 69 Lyndale av on e, 1780 Mount 
Curve av, 1800 Summit, 1900 Lin- 
coln, 2000 Franklin, 2100 Colfax av 
s, 2200 w 22d st, regular to end. 

Hiawatha Av., W. D. — E 22d st 
se to limits, 1 blk e of Cedar av at 
22d st. 

Highland Av., W. D. — Royalston 
av nw to Lyndale av, bet- Royal- 
ston and Lakeside avs; 2 Royal- 
ston' av, 86 Royalston. 

Highland Pl., W. D.— Highland 
to Border avs. Oak Lake add. 

Hillside Av., W. D. — Humboldt 
av nw to 25th av n; 1400 Hum- 
boldt av n, 1500 Irving, 1700 Ilion, 
1800 James, 1901 Logan. 

Hillside Pl., W. D. — Groveland 
s to Mt. Curve, 1st e S. Dupont. 

Hoag Av., W. D. — Royalston av 
to 8th av, 1st w of n 6th; 21 Royal- 
ston av, 601 6th av n, 701 7th av n. 

Holden St., W. D. — N 9th st w 
to Border av, 1st n of Western av. 

Holmes Av., W. D. — H & D R R 
to w 36th st, 1st w of Hennepin av. 

Howard St., E. D. — W of Mon- 
roe, fr 22d av ne to 27th av ne. 

Humboldt Av. — See N. and S. 
Humboldt av. 

Huron St., E. D. — Essex st s to 
river, 1st e of Erie st; 500 Essex, 
600 Fulton, 700 Dartmouth av, 800 
Yale av. 

Ilion Av., W. D. — 21st Av. N, 
n e to 25th Av. N, 1st e of James 

Irving Av. — See N. and S. Irving 

Island Av., E. D. — On Nicollet 
Island, fr w end of Bridge st to e 
end around the n end of island; 1 
Bridge st, 29 Eastman av, 49 Grove 
st, 75 G. N. R'y. 107 Maple st. 163 
Maple st, 208 G. N. R'y, 219 Grove 
st, 267 Bridge st. 

Ivy Lane, W. D. — 1st s 3 2d St. 
bet. Lake Calhoun and Calhoun av. 

Jackson St., E. D. — 2d av ne to 
27th av ne; 5th e of Adams; 300 3d 
av ne, 600 Spring, 700 Summer, 
1100 Broadway, 1200 12th av ne, 

Jambs Av. — See N. and S. James 

Jefferson St., E. D. — 3d av ne, n 
to limits; 1st e of Adams; 300 3d 
av ne, 400 4th av ne, 600 Spring st, 
700 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1300 
13th av ne, etc. 

Jewett Pl., W. D. — 6th av n to 
8th av; 1st w of Dupont. 

Johnson St., E. D. — Division st n 
to limits, 1st e of Lincoln; 300 Di- 
vision, 400 Winter, 600 Spring-, 700 
Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1600 16th 
av ne, etc. South of Division st 
the extension of this street is 
called 10th av se. 

"K" St., E. D.— 1st e of Taft St., 
Division St. to limits, continuation 
of 21st Av. S. E. (The streets east 
of "K" St. to the city limits are 
named consecutively "L," "M," "N," 
etc. to "U," which is close to the 
limits. All are numbered same as 
Johnson St. As few are opened 
for more than a few blocks they 
are not mentioned again in this 

Kenwood Boul., W. D. — Same as 
Superior av to Humboldt, Henne- 
pin av w, sw and s to Lake of the 
Isles boul; 101 Lyndale, 501 Du- 
pont, 601 Emerson. 901 Waverly pl. 
1200 Morgan, 1700 Mt Curve, 1800 
Douglas, 2000 Franklin, 2200 22d 

King's Highway, W. D. — 38th 
St. s via Dupont Av. and W. 46th 
to Lake Harriet Boul. 

Knox Av. — See N. and S. Knox. 

Lagoon Av., W. D. — Same as 
29th, from Hennepin w to Knox. 

Lake St. — See E. and W. Lake 

Lake Harriet Boul., W. D. — 
Around Lake Harriet. 

Lake Pl., W. D. — Irving av s to 
w 26th st; near Lake of the Isles, 
2204 Irving av, 2500 e 25th st. 

Lake of the Isles Boul., W. D. 
— Around Lake cf the Isles. 

Lakeside Av., W. D. — Western 
av n and w to Lyndale av, 1st e of 
Lyndale; 1 Western av, 21 Lawn 
pl, 57 Border av, 73 Park pl. 

Laurel Av., W. D. — Hennepin av 
at 14th st w to limits, 1st s of 

Layman Av. — 1st E. of 21st av 
s 28th to Lake st. 

Lenox Av., E. D. — C, M. & St. 
P. Ry. s to river, 1st e of Superior. 


Leonard Pl., W. D. — 1st w Lake 
Calhoun from 32d st to Ivy Lane. 

Lincoln Av., W. D. — Lyndale av 
w to s Oliver av; 1st n of Frank- 
lin; 701 Lyndale av, 801 Aldrich, 
813 Hennepin, 901 Bryant, 1001 
Colfax. 1101 Dupont, etc. 

Lincoln St., E. D. — 7th e of Cen- 
tral fr Division st n to limits; 301 
Division st, 400 Winter, 600 Spring, 
700 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1600 
16 th av ne, etc. 

Linden Av., W. D. — 12th st nw 
to limits; 1st s of Chestnut av; 
72 n 12th st, 120 n 15th, 144 n 16th, 
168 n 17th, 184 Lyndale av, 228 n 
19th, 256 Bryant av. 

Linden Hills Boul. — Fr. w. 39 th 
st. to w. 44th st. w. of Queen. 

Locust St., W. D. — 427 22d av s 
to river. 

Logan Av. — See N. and S. Logan. 

Longfellow Av., W. D. — 1st e of 
Cedar av fr e Lake st to limits. 

Lowland Av., W. D. — Each side 
of N P R R on the flats. 

Lowrt Av., W. D. and E. D. — 
Formerly 3 2d av n from river 
to w limits; and 25th av ne from 
river to e limits. 

Lyndale Av. — See N. and S. Lyn- 

Lyndale Pl., W. D. — 1st w of 
Lyndale av fr 6th av n. 

McKinley St., E. D. — Division 
St. n to limits, 7th e of Johnson st. 

McNair Av., W. D. — Penn av at 
Crystal Lake Road sw to limits. 

Madison St., E. D. — 3d e of 
Washington st fr 3d av ne to 27th 
av ne; 300 3d av ne, 400 4th, 600 
Spring st, 700 Summer, 1100 Broad- 
way, 1300 13th av ne, regular to 

Main St., N. E. — 1 Central av ne 
to city limits. 

Main St., S. E. — 2 Central av se 
to 8th av se. 

Malcolm Av., E. D. — Bet Arthur 
and Clarence Avs. 

Maple Pl., E. D. — Crosses n end 
of Nicollet Island. 

Maple St., W. D. — Hennepin av 
s to Harmon pl; 1st w of Willow 

Marquette Av. — 1st se of Nicol- 
let, High St. to Grant (formerly 
1st Av. S.). 

Marshall Av., E. D. — Oak st 
and 4th st e to limits. 


Marshall St., E. D. — 5th av ne 
nw to city limits; 1st w of Main 


Mary PL., W. D. — Bet Nicollet 
and Hennepin avs; 8th to 13th sts. 

Melbourne Av., E. D. — Fr Sey- 
mour av to Orlin av, 1st w of 
Hamline av. 

Merriam St., E. D. — Nicollet Is- 
land, 1st s of Central a v. 

Mill St., W. D. — 26th av n to 
31st av n; next to river. 

Mill Pl., W. D. — On the flats. 

Milwaukee Av. (was 22% Av. 
S.) — Between Franklin and 24th 

Minneapolis Av., W. D. — 1st w 
of Seabury from 31st av s to 24th 


Minnehaha Av., W. D. — Cedar av 
and 8th st se to city limits near 
Minnehaha Falls. 

Minnehaha Parkway, W. D. — S 
of w 52 st, along- Minnehaha Creek, 
fr Lake Harriet to Minnehaha av. 

Mississippi Av. — 1st n of 30th av 
n fr Lyndale to Dupont avs n. 

Mississippi St., E. D. — Franklin 
av bridge to Lenox st. 

Monroe St., E. D. — 3d av ne to 
29th av ne; 1st e of Madison st; 
301 3d av ne, 601 Spring st, 701 
Summer, 1101 Broadway, 1301 13th 
av ne, etc. 

Mount Curve Av., W. D. — Doug- 
las av near Hennepin, w to Ken- 
wood Parkway, 816 Douglas, 1000 
Colfax, 1101 Dupont, 1201 Emer- 
son, 1226 Fremont, 1500 Humboldt, 
1600 Irving, 1700 James, 1800 
Knox, 1900 Logan, 2000 Morgan. 

Nicollet Av., W. D. — Hennepin 
av and High st sw to Grant st 
thence s to limits; dividing line be- 
tween East and West for all 
streets South of Grant. 

Nicollet St., E. D. — Nicollet Is- 
land; Grove st to Maple. 

North Aldrich Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits; 1st w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1 Superior av, 29 Huron, 
53 Erie, 77 Ontario, 101 Laurel, 125 
Hawthorn, 149 Linden, 183 Chest- 
nut, 201 1st av n, 225 2d, 241 West- 
ern, 301 3d av n, etc. 

North Bryant Av., W. D. — Supe- 
rior av n to limits; 2d w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1 Superior av, 29 Huron, 
53 Erie, 77 Ontario, 101 Laurel, 
125 Hawthorn, 600 6th av n, etc. 

North Cedar Lake Rd., W. D. — 
S w from Western av bet n Hum- 

boldt and n Irving avs, to Superi- 
or; numbers begin at Western av. 

North Colfax Av., W. D. — Supe- 
rior av n to limits, 3d w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1 Superior av, 29 Huron, 
53 Erie, 77 Ontario, 101 Laurel, 
125 Hawthorn, 177 Chestnut, 201 
1st av n, 229 2d av n, 251 Western, 
301 3d av. 

Unopened from 6th av n to 26th 
av n; thence 100 to a blk to 36th 
av n. 

North Dupont Av., W. D.-^-Supe- 
rior av, n to city limits, 4th w 
Lyndale av, 1 Superior av, 29 Hu- 
ron. 53 Erie. 76 Ontario. 101 Laur- 
el, 177 Chestnut, 201 1st av n, 255 
Western av, 501 5th av n, etc. 

North Eleventh St., W. D. — 
Hennepin av n to 2d av n, 1 Hen- 
nepin av, 31 Hawthorn, 53 Chest- 
nut, 101 1st, 125 Western av. 

North Emerson Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits; 5th w of Lyn- 
dale av, same numbering as n Du- 

North Fremont Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits; 6th w of 
Lyndale av, same numbering as n 

North Humboldt Av., W. D. — 
Superior av n to limits; 8th w of 
Lyndale av, same numbering as n 

North Irving Av., W. D. — Chest- 
nut av to limits; 9th w of Lyndale 
av; 176 Chestnut av, 204 1st, 232 2d 
av n, 300 Western av, 400 4th av 
n, etc. 

North James Av., W. D. — Chest- 
nut av n to limits; 10th w of Lyn- 
dale av, 170 Chestnut av. 204 1st 
av n, 232 2d av n, 300 Western, 
400 4th av n, etc. 

North Knox Av., W. D. — West- 
ern av to limits; 11th w of Lyn- 
dale av; 400 4th av n, etc. 

North Logan Av., W. D. — Supe- 
rior av n to limits; 12th w of Lyn- 
dale av; 300 Western, 400 4th av n, 

North Lyndale Av., W. D. — Ken- 
wood Parkway near Loring Park 
n to limits; 29 Huron, 53 Erie, 77 
Ontario, 101 Laurel, 125 Hawthorn, 
149 Linden, 171 Chestnut, 195 R R 
Crossing, 201 1st av n, 229 West- 
ern, 301 2d av n, 600 6th av n, etc. 

North Morgan Av. — N fr West- 
ern av to limits, 13th w of Lyn- 


as an investment should 
be purchased from re- 
liable and experienced 

A Complete Stock of 

Sterling Silver 
— for — 
Wedding Gifts 

We Can Please You 


506 Nicollet Avenue 


Of National Scope, Covering Banking, Grain and Milling and 
Western Investments. Subscription Price $5.00 per year. 



Noeth Ninth St., W. D.— N fr e 
end of Hawthorn av; 40 Hawthorn 
av, 100 1st av n, 124 Western av, 
154 Holden. 

North Oliver Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits, 7th w of 
Humboldt av; 300 Western av, 400 
4th av n, etc. 

North Penn Av., W. D. — Six- 
teenth w of Lyndale av; fr Superi- 
or av n to limits, same numbering 
as Oliver. 

North Queen Av., W. D. — Supe- 
rior av n to limits; 17th w of 
Lyndale av. 

North Russell Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits; 18th w of 
Lyndale av, same numbering as 

North Seventeenth St., W. D. — 
Fr Erie av 1st e of Lyndale av; 
100 Laurel, 125 Hawthorn, 148 Lin- 

North Shfridan Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av n to limits; 11th w of 
Humboldt av. 

North Sixteenth St., W. D. — 2d 
e of Lyndale av n; 1 Hennepin, 32 
Laurel, 56 Hawthorn, 82 Linden. 

N. Thomas Av., W. D. — Superior 
av. n to limits, 12th w of Hum- 
boldt av. 

N. Upton Av., W. D. — Superior 
av. N to limits, 13th w of Hum- 
boldt av. 

N. Vincent Av., W. D. — Super- 
ior av. n to limits, 14th w of Hum- 
boldt av. 

N. Washburn Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av. n to limits, 15th w of 
Humboldt av. 

North Washington Av., W. D. — 
Hennepin av to limits; bet 2d and 
3d st n; 2 Hennepin av, 100 1st av 
n, etc. 

N. Xerxes Av., W. D. — Superior 
av. n to limits, 16th w of Hum- 
boldt av. 

Oak St., E. D. — River n to Great 
Northern R R; 1st e of 17th av se. 

Oak Grove St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av w to Hennepin av; s of W 15th 
st; 101 Vine pi, 201 Spruce pi, 417 
Clifton pi, 508 W 15th st, 536 Hen- 
nepin av. 

Oakland Av., W. D. — 1st e of 
Portland, Franklin av s to limits. 
Same as QV 2 av s. 

Oak Lake Av., W. D. — 6th av n 
to 10th av n; 1st e of Lyndale av. 

Oliver Av. — See n Oliver av. 


Ontario Av., W. D. — Lyndale av 
w to Dupont av ; 1st s of Laurel 
av, 1 Lyndale av, 73 Aldrich. 

Ontario St., E. D. — Beacon st s 
to river; 1st e of Oak st. 

Orlin Av., E. D. — Fr University 
Av. through Prospect Park to 
Emerald St. 

Ortman St., E. D. — Central av se 
to 1st av se; 1st w of University 
av; 1 Central av, 49 Bank st, 100 
1st av se. 

Pacific St., W. D. — 20th av n to 
33d av n; 1st e of 1st st. 

Palace Court. — Fr Nic to 1st av 
s, bet. 3d and 4th sts. 

Park Av., W. D. — Continuation 
of 7th av s fr 10th st to limits. 

Park Drive, W. D.— W. 46th st. 
to Minnehaha Pkwy, 1st e of Lake 
Harriet Boul. 

Penn Av. — See n Penn av. 

Pierce St., E. D. — Division st n 
to limits; 1st e of Filmore st; 300 
Division st, 400 Winter. 600 Spring. 

700 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1600 
16th av ne, etc. 

Pillsbury Av., W. D. — Fr w 19th 
to 48th st, 2d w of Nicollet av (for- 
merly Lindley av). 

Pleasant Av., W. D. — W Frank- 
lin av s to limits; 3d w of Nicollet 

Pleasant St. E. D. — Arlington st 
s to river; 1st e of Prospect st; 101 
Arlington st, 201 Beacon, 301 Cam- 
bridge, 401 Delaware, 501 Essex, 
601 Fulton. 

Plymouth Av., W. D. — Same as 
13 th av n; runs from river w to 
city limits. 

Polk St., E. D. — Division st n to 
n limits; 1st e of Tyler st; 301 Di- 
vision st, 401 Winter, 601 Spring, 

701 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1801 
18th av ne. 

Port Av., W. D. — Lake St. to 
28th st. bet. 21st and 22d avs. S. 

Portland Av., W. D. — Continua- 
tion of 6th av s fr Grant st to lim- 

Post Office Ct., W. D. — Rear 
post office fr 1st av S to 3d st. 

Prince St., E. D. — Central av se 
to Bank st. 

Prospect Av., W. D. — 1st s of 
50th st. bet. Nicollet and Lyndale. 

Prospect St., E.D. — Arlington st 
to river; 1st n of Pleasant st; 100 


Arlington st, 200 Beacon, 300 Cam- 
bridge, 400 Delaware, 500 Essex. 

Queen Av. — See N. Queen Av. 

Quincy St., E. D. — 3d av ne n to 
27th av; 1st e of Monroe; 300 3d av 
ne, 600 Spring st, 700 Summer, 
1100 Broadway, 1800 18th av ne, 

Railroad Av., W. D. — E 34th to 
e 41st, 2d w of Minnehaha av. 

Ramsey St., E. D. — 6th av ne n 
to river; 1st w of Marshall st. 

Randolph St., E. D. — 1st e of 
Marshall st; 26th to 31st av ne. 

Richfield Av. — From Calhoun 
Boulevard s to 40th, 1st w of 

Ridgewood Av., W. D. — Pills- 
bury av w to Lyndale; 1st n of 
Franklin av; 200 Pillsbury av, 400 
Pleasant, 700 Lyndale. 

River Road East, E. D. — Along 
east river bank fr university to 

River Road West, W. D. — Along 
Miss river fr Franklin to Minne- 
haha Park. 

River St., W. D. — Hennepin av 
nw to Bassett's Creek next to riv- 

Riverside Av., W. D. — Cedar av 
and s 4th st; se to Franklin. 

Rollins Av.. E. D. — 14th av s e 

Roosevelt St., E. D. — Division 
st. n to limits, 9th e of Johnson st. 
to Oak, 2d s Como av. 

Royalston Av., W. D. — Western 
av and 12th st nw to 6th av n; 1 
Holden st, 20 Highland av, 120 6th 
av n. 

Rustic Lodge Av., W. D. — Fr, 
Nicollet av w, 1st s of W. 48th st. 

Sanford Court. — Bet 8th and 9th 
sts and 7th and 8th avs se. 

Seabury Av., W. D. — (Formerly 
part of Riverside av.) Franklin to 
E. Lake. 

Seymour Av., E. D. — Clarence 
av s to Sharon av; 1st s e of Mal- 
colm av. 

Sharon Av., E. D. — Fr river e to 
Emerald st, 1st s Hamline av. 

Sheridan Av. — See N. Sheridan. 

Sibley St., E. D. — 7th av ne n to 
13th av ne; 3d w of Main st. 

Sidney Pl., E. D. — Orlin av to 
Malcolm, 1st s Univ av s e. 

Snelling Av., W. D. — Franklin 
av se to limits; 1st w of Minne- 
haha av. 

South Abbott Av., W. D. — Fr 

Superior av, s to city limits, 1st 
w of Zenith av. 

South Aldrich Av., W. D. — Lin- 
coln av s to limits; 1st w of Lyn- 
dale av, 1950 Lincoln av, 2000 
Franklin, 2200 w 22d st, etc. 

South Beard Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, 2d w 
of Zenith av. 

South Bryant Av., W. D. — Doug- 
las av s to limits; 2d w of Lyndale 
av; 1766 Douglas. 1800 Summit, 
1900 Lincoln, 2000 Franklin, 2200 
w 2 2d st, etc. 

South Cedar Lake Road, W. D. — 
Runs sw from Superior av near 
Xerxes av to w limits. 

South Chowen Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, 3d 
w of Zenith av. 

South Colfax Av., W. D. — Doug- 
Las av s to limits; 3d w of Lyndale 
av; 1766 Douglas, 1800 Summit, 
1900 Lincoln, 200 Franklin, 2200 
w 22d st, etc. 

South Drew Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to Douglas av, 4th 
w of Zenith av. 

South Dufont Av., W. D. — Supe- 
rior av s to limits; 4th w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1700 Mt Curve, 1766 Doug- 
las. 1800 Summit, 1900 Lincoln, 
2000 Franklin av w, 2200 w 22d st, 

South Eleventh St., W. D. — 
Hennepin s to Portland; 1 Henne- 
pin av, 30 Harmon pl, 64 Mary pl, 
Nicollet av, 100 1st av s, etc. 

South Emerson Av., W. D. — Su- 
perior av s to limits; 5th w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1400 Groveland, 1705 Mt 
Curve, 1766 Douglas, 1800 Summit. 
1900 Lincoln. 2000 Franklin, 2200 
w 22d st, 2400 w 24th, 2420 Henne- 
pin, 2500 25th st, etc. 

South Ewing Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, 5th 
w of Zenith av. 

South France Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, 6th 
w of Zenith av. 

South Fremont Av., W. D. — Mt 
Curve av s to w 36th st: 8th w of 
Lyndale av; 1700 Mt Curve, 1766 
Douglas, 1800 Summit, 1900 Lin- 
coln, 2000 Franklin, 2400 w 24th 
st, etc. 

South Girard Av., W. D. — Doug- 
las av s to limits; 7th w of Lyn- 
dale av; 1766 Douglas av, 1800 

Summit, 1900 Lincoln, 2000 Frank- 
lin, 2400 24th st, etc. 

South Humboldt Av., W. D. — Mt 
Curve av s to w 36th st; 8th w of 
Lyndale; 1701 Mt Curve av, 1766 
Douglas, 1801 Summit, 1901 Lin- 
coln, 2000 Franklin, 2200 22d st, 

South Irving Av., W. D. — Mt 
Curve av s to w 36th st; 9th w of 
Lyndale av s to limits; 9th w of 
Lyndale av; 1700 Mt Curve, 1767 
Douglas, 1800 Summit, 1900 Lin- 
coln, 2000 Franklin, 2200 22d si, 
2312 Lake pi, 2400 24th st, 2500 
Euclid pi, 2600 26th, etc. 

South James Av., W. D. — Mt 
Curve s to limits; 10th w of Lyn- 
dale; 1700 Mt Curve, 1767 Douglas, 
1800 Summit, 1900 Lincoln, 2000 
Franklin, 2900 29th, 3000 Lake, 
3100 31«t 

South Knox Av., W. D. — Mt 
Curve s to Franklin; 11th w of 
Lyndale; 1700 Mt Curve, etc. 

South Logan Av., W. D. — W of 
s Knox. 

South Lyndale Av., W. D. — Ken- 
wood Parkway s; 7th w of Nicol- 
let; 23 Vineland pi, 1743 Groveland 
av, 1801 Summit, 1819 Lincoln, 
1921 Franklin av, 2201 w 22d st, 

South Morgan Av., W. D. — W of 
s Logan. 

South 7% St., W. D. — 1st s of s 
7th st; n of Murphy pk; 22d to 23d 
avs s. 

S. Sheridan Av., W. D. — Ken- 
wood Pkwy s to Lake of Lsles and 
Lake Calhoun s to limits, 11th w 
of Humboldt av. 

S. Thomas Av., W. D. — Franklin 
av. s to 24th st and 48th st to 5 2d, 
12th w of Humboldt. 

South Upton Av., W. D. — Fr 
Lake Calhoun s, 13th w of Hum- 
boldt av. 

South Vincent Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, 22d 
w of Lyndale av. 

South Washburn Av., W. D. — 
Fr Superior av, s to city limits, 
"22d w of Lyndale av. 

South Washington Av., W. D. — 
Hennepin av bet 2d and 3d sts s to 
river, across bridge and (E. D.) 
from river to University av se, 3d 
s of University grounds; numbered 
regularly in W. D. In E. D. 200 
Pleasant, 300 State, 400 Church, 


500 Union, 600 Harvard, 700 Wal- 
nut, 800 Oak, 900 Ontario. 

South Xerxes Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior av, s to city limits, w s 
of Cedar Lake Park add. 

South York Av., W. D. — Fr w 
36th st, s to city limits, 1st w of 
Xerxes av. 

South Zenith Av., W. D. — Fr 
Superior ac, s to city limits, 2d w 
of Xerxes av. 

Spring St., E. D. — Washington 
st to Johnson st; 1st s of Summer 
st, 621 Washington st, 641 Adam3, 
661 Jefferson, 681 Madison, 701 
Monroe, 801 Quincy, 825 Jackson, 
933 Central, 1001 Tyler, 1025 Polk, 
1101 Taylor, 1201 Filmore, 1301 
Pierce, 1401 Buchanan, 1501 Lin- 
coln, 1601 Johnson, etc. 

Spruce Pl., W. D. — Hennepin av 
to Oak Grove st; next w of s 13th 
st; 2 Hennepin av, 30 Harmon pl, 
58 Yale pl, 118 w Grant st, 1400 
w 14th, 1500 w 15th, 1536 Oak 

St. Anthony Parkway, E. D. — 
now "River Road, East." 

St. Louis Av., W. D. — S. of Ce- 
dar Lake, 1st w M & St L Ry. 

St. Marys Av., E. D. — Prospect 
Pk, fr Univ. av s to Chandler st. 

St. Paul Av., W. D. — s of Cedar 
Lake from Chowen av. to M. & St. 
L. Ry. 

State Road, E. D. — 29 th Av. 
S. E. and Como, ne to limits. 

State St., E. D. — Arlington st s 
to river; 1st e of Pleasant st; 101 
Arlington st, 201 Beacon, 301 Cam- 
bridge, 401 Delaware, 501 Essex, 
601 Fulton. 

Stevens Av., W. D. — Bet 1st and 
2d avs s fr Grant st to limits; 1300 
Grant st, 1400 14th, etc. 

Stinson Boul., E. D. — Division 
st. n to 14th av N. E., continua- 
tion of 18th Av. S. E. ■ 

Stock Yards Rd., E. D. — Broad- 
way n e to limits, 1st e Johnson 

Summer St., E. D. — 7th av ne to 
Johnson st, bet Spring and Broad- 
way; 626 7th av ne, 640 Adams st, 
G30 Jefferson, 680 Madison, 700 
Monroe, 800 Quincy, 824 Jackson, 
900 Van Buren, 932 Central, 1001 
Tyler, 1024 Polk, 1100 Taylor, 1200 
Filmore, 1300 Pierce, 1400 Buchan- 
an, 1500 Lincoln, 1600 Johnson, 


Summit Av., W. D. — Lyndale av 
w to Logan av; 2d n of Frank- 
lin: 700 Lyndale av, 800 Hennepin, 
900 Bryant, 1000 Colfax. 1100 Du- 
pont, 1200 Emerson, 1300 Fremont, 
1400 Girard. 1500 Humboldt. 

Summit Pl., W. D. — 1st w of 
Fremont av s; fr Groveland av to 
Mt Curve av. 

Sumner Pl., W. D. — 1st w of n 
Bryant av; fr 6th av n to 11th av 

Superior At., W. D. — Hennepin 
av w to limits ; 1st s of Ontario av. 

Superior St., E. D. — South line of 
Regent's add to Bridal Veil Falls; 
1st e of Huron st. 

Sverdrup St., W. D. — 1st n of s 
6th st, near Riverside av. 

Taft St., E. D. — Division St. n 
to limits, 10th e of Johnson st 

Talmagb Av., E. D. — 10th av se 
to 23d av se; 1st s of Division st. 

Taylor St., E. D. — Division st n 
to limits; 1st e of Polk st: 301 
Division, 401 Winter. 601 Spring, 
659 Summer, 1100 Broadway, 1800 
1 8 th av ne. etc. 

10 y 2 Av. N., W. D. — S. fr 4th to 
5th and W. from Lyndale to Knox. 

Thomas Pl., W. D. — Elwood Av. 
to Logan. 1st w of 6th Av. N. 

Thornton St., E. D. — Fr C M & 
St P Ry, s to Sharon, 1st w Chand- 

Tyler St., E. D. — Division st n to 
Division st, 401 Winter, 601 Spring, 
701 Summer, 1101 Broadway. 

Ulysses St., E. D. — Division St. 
n to limits, 1st e of Johnson St. 

Union St., E. D. — Fr Arlington 
st to river; 1st e of Church st. 

University Av., ne, E. D. — Cen- 
tral a.v n to limits, bet 3d and 4th 
sts ne. 

University Av., se, E. D. — Cen- 
tral av s to limits bet 2d and 4th 
sts se. 

Van Burbn St., E. D. — 3d av ne 
n to 18th av; 1st e of Jackson st; 
600 3d av ne, 700 Summer st, 1100 
Broadway, 1200 12th av, etc. 

Van Nest Av., W. D. — W. 38th 
to W. 40th St., 1st w of Nicollet. 

Vine Pl., W. D. — Grant st s to 
Franklin av; 1st w of Nicollet; 
1350 Grant st, 1400 w 14th, 1500 w 
15th; 1700 Oak Grove, 1800 Clifton, 
1900 w 19th, 1934 Franklin. 

Vinbland Pl., W. D. — Fr Henne- 
pin av w to Bryant av; 1st s of 

Kenwood Parkway; 700 Lyndale 
av, 810 Bryant. 

Walnut St. E. D. — Arlington st 
s to river; 1st w of Oak st. 

Warwick St., E. D. — Hamline 
av e to Sharon av, 1st w of Ce- 
cil, Prospect Park. 

Washington Av. — See N. and S. 
Washington av. 

Washington St., E. D. — 5th st ne 
n to 27th av ne; 4th w of Monroe 
st, 601 Spring st, 701 Summer, 727 
6th, 747 8th av ne, 1101 Broadway, 
1301 13th av, etc. 

Water St., E. D. — 8th av ne to 
Ramsey st; next to river. 

Waverly Pl., W. D. — 1st w of 
line of Humboldt av s; Kenwood 
Parkway to Mt Curve av; 1 Ken- 
wood Parkway, 1600 Groveland av. 

Weeks Av., E. D. — Como Av. se 
to 28th Av. S. E., 1st n of N. P. 

Wentworth Av., W. D. — S from 
w 40th st, two blocks w of Nicollet 

Western Av., W. D. — 7th st at 
1st av n to limits; 2 7th st n, 28 
9th, 50 10th, 76 11th, 100 12th, 124 
St P M & M Ry, 172 Border av, 
494 Lakeside, 700 Lyndale, 1200 
Fremont, etc. 

West Franklin Av. W. D. — Nic- 
ollet av to city limits; 1st s of 19th 
st; 1 Nicollet av, 101 Vine pl, 201 
Pillsbury av, 301 Pleasant, 401 
Grand. 501 Harriet, 601 Garfield, 
791 s Lyndale. 801 s Aldrich, 901 
s Bryant, 1001 Hennepin, 1101 
Dupont, 1201 s Emerson, 1301 s 
Fremont, 1401 s Girard, 1501 s 
Humboldt, 1601 s Irving, 1701 s 
James, 1801 Lake of Isles Boul- 

West Grant St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av w to Willow st, bet 13th and 
14th sts, 1 Nicollet av, 101 Vine pl, 
201 Spruce pl. 

West Lake St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av w to limits (same as 30th st"); 
1 Nicollet av, 101 Blaisdell, 113 
Center st. 201 Pillsbury av, 301 
Pleasant, 401 Grand, 501 Hnrriet, 
701 s Lyndale, 801 s Aldrich, 901 s 
Bryant, 1001 s Colfax, 1101 s Du- 
pont, 1201 s Emerson, 1301 s Fre- 
mont, 1401 s Girard, 1401 Henne- 
pin, 1501 s Holmes, 1601 s Hum- 
boldt, 1701 s Irving, 1801 s James, 
1901 s Knox. 

West 19th St., W. D. — Nicollet 
av w to Lyndale; 1 Nicollet av; 
100 Vine pi, 200 Pillsbury av. 

West River Bank Parkway. — 
Now "River Road. West." 

Wilder St., B. D. — Bridge st se; 
1st e of w channel. 

Williams Av., E. D. — St. Mary's 
av s to Arthur av, Prospect Park. 

Willow Av., W. D. — Logan av 
nw to Penn av bet Crystal Lake av 
and Hillside av. 

Willow St., W. D. — Hennepin av 
to w 15th st; 2d w of s 13th st. 

Winter St., E. D. — Harrison st e 
to V st; 1st n of Division st: 932 
Central av, 1000 Tyler. 1024 Polk. 
1100 Taylor, 1200 Filmore. 1300 
Pierce. 1400 Buchanan, 1500 Lin- 
coln, 1600 Johnson. 

Yale Av E. D. — Huron e to C 
M & St P Ry. 1st s Dartmouth. 

Yale Pl., W. D.— 10th st to Wil- 
low st; 1st s of Harmon pl; 1000 
10th st. 1300 13th, 1400 Spruce pl, 
1500 Willow st. 

Street Sprinkling". — Like all 
other public works, the sprinkling 
of streets is extended each year. 
Over 400 miles are now sprinkled. 
Improved sprinklers are used. In 
freezing weather a solution of cal- 
cium chloride is used for sprin- 
kling in the business center. 

St. Stephen's Catholic Church. — 
Cor. 22nd St. and Clinton Av. It 
is built of Bayfield brown stone 
and has an auditorium capable of 
seating 1,400 people. 4th Av. S. 
& 6th Av. N. electric line. 

Sub-Postal Stations. — (See Post 
Office. ) 

Suburban Railways. — Suburban 
lines of the Twin City Rapid 
Transit Co. reach Lake Minne- 
tonka on the west and Stillwater 
on the east. The Minneapolis, 
Northfield & Southern Ry. ex- 
tends south to Northfield, Minn. 
The Electric Short Line is com- 
pleted west, past Medicine Lake 
and Lake Minnetonka to Hutch- 
inson, Minn., and is plan- 
ning extensions aggregating 350 
miles. It enters the city from 
the west and has very valuable 


terminals at 7th St. and 2nd Av. N. 
The Minneapolis, Anoka & Cuyuna 
Range Ry. runs to Anoka, 19 
miles up the Mississippi river. 

Suburban Trains. — For trains to 
Lake Minnetonka, and all places 
in the vicinity, it is always best 
to consult the current time cards, 
as frequent changes are made. 
(See Ticket Offices.) 

Sunday is a quiet day in Minne- 
apolis. Police restrictions close 
the saloons. During the summer 
thousands visit the lakes either by 
automobiles, steam or electric cars 
or carriages. At Lake Harriet 
concerts are usually provided, and 
refreshments of a non-intoxicat- 
ing order may be obtained every- 
where. The boulevards and lake 
drives afford a means of pleasure 
which is very extensively enjoyed. 

Swedish Mission Churches. — The 

churches of the Swedish Evangel- 
ical Mission Covenant of America 
are as follows : 

Bethanta Church. — Cor. 25th 
Av. S. and 22d. 

Camden Place. — Cor. 42d Av. N. 
and Emerson. 

Gethsemane Church. — Cor. 20th 
Av, N. and Aldrich. 

North East (Swedish). — Cor. 
18% Av. N. E. and Central. 

Swedish Elim Church. — Cor. 
18th Av. S. and 31st St. 

Swedish Mission Tabernacle. — 
Cor. 8th Av. S. and 7th St. 

Swedish Mission Tabernacle. — 

Corner of 8th Av. S. and 7th St. 
It was built in 1886 at a cost of 
about $50,000 and the main audi- 
ence room is the largest in the 
city having a seating capacity of 

Synagogues, Jewish. — (See He- 
brew Churches.) 

Syndicate Block. — A large build- 
ing on Nicollet Av. extending 
from 5th to 6th St. The 6th St. 
corner was destroyed by fire in 
1911, and was replaced by what 
is virtually a distinct building — 


a substantial steel frame and con- 
crete structure devoted to stores 
on the ground floor and physi- 
cian's offices above. The original 
building was erected in 1882, and 
cost about $640,000, and with site 
$900,000. Conklin-Zonne-Loomis 
Co., Mgrs. 

Taxes and Assessments. — (See 
Finances and Public Improve- 
ments. ) 

Taxicabs. — Taxicabs are usually 
to be found at the leading hotels 
and may be ordered from the 
hotel offices or by telephone from 
home or office. The charges are 
based on an initial fee of 50 cents 
for the first % mile for from 
one to five passengers and 10 
cents for each y& mile thereafter, 
and 10 cents for each 3 minutes' 
waiting time. "Yellow taxicabs" 
on a meter basis charge 30 cents 
for the first % mile or fraction, 
10 cents for each % mile there- 
after and 10 cents for each three 
minutes wait. Additional pas- 
sengers 10 cents each per trip. 
Hour basis, $2.50 per hour. 

Tas Levy. — (See Finances and 


(See P u 



Technical Education. — (See In- 
dustrial Education and Univer- 
sity op Minnesota.) 

Telegraph Offices. — The North 
American, Western Union, Nation- 
al District, and American District 
telegraph companies do business 
in the city. The last two are lo- 
cal; the others reach all points 
and take cable messages. Their 
offices are as follows : 

North American. — Main office, — 
Phoenix Bldg., 60 S. 4th St. 

Branches: — 

Chamber of Commerce. 

Metropolitan Life Bldg. 

Flour Exchange. 

Security Bank Bldg. 

Market State Bank Bldg. 

1405 Hennepin Av. 

First National-Soo Line Bldg. 

Radisson Hotel. 

106 N. 3rd St. 

503^ Hennepin Av. 

11 S. 6th St. 

759 Wash. Av. N. 

Western Union. — Main office, 
317 2nd Av. S. 

Branches: — 

Chamber of Commerce, exchange 

Old Chamber of Commerce, 
ground floor, cor. 3rd St and 4th 
Av. S. 

Andrus Bldg. 

Lumber Exchange. 

51 S. 4th St. 

Jordan Bldg., 3rd Av. N. and 
2nd .St. 

Central Market. 

Univ. Av. and 27th Av. S. E. 

Security Bldg. 

First National-Soo Line Bldg. 

Radisson Hotel. 

Dyckman Hotel. 

West Hotel. 

Metropolitan Life Bldg., (for- 
merly Guaranty Bldg.). 

Union Depot. 

C. M. & St. P. Depot. 

Mpls. and St. L. Pass. Depot, 
Washington and 4th Aves. N. 

608 N. Washington Av. 

Dayton Co. 

L. S. Donaldson Co. 

Plymouth Bldg. 

Leamington Hotel. 

Rogers Hotel. 

1407 Hennepin Av. 

9 University Av. S. E. 

260 Hennepin Av. 

1429 W. Lake St. 

6 W. 26th St. 

In connection with the Western 
Union is operated the A. D. T. Co., 
with offices at all Western Union 
(See Messenger Service.) 

Telephone Service. — Minneapolis 
is served by two telephone compa- 
nies. The older company is the 
Northwestern Telephone Exchange 
Company which has been in the 
field for a score of years. Its cen- 
tral exchange is in its building at 
the corner of Third Av. S. and 5th 
St.. where it also maintains gen- 
eral offices. C. E. Yost is presi- 
dent; W. B. T. Belt, vice president 
and general manager; J. W. Chris- 

tie, treasurer; Geo. A. French, 
district commercial manager. 

The Tri-State Telephone Com- 
pany is a newer institution, hav- 
ing entered the field about fifteen 
years ago. Geo. W. Robinson is 
president, C. B. Randall, secretary, 
and R. L. Barry, general superin- 
tendent. Its offices are at 3rd Av. 
S. and 7th St. 

These companies were merged 
during 1918. 

Through the business center of 
the city the telephone wires are 
carried in conduits. Rates charg- 
ed by the Northwestern are ap- 
proximately the same as those in 
othei cities, of similar size, in this 
country and vary according to the 
character of the service. For an 
unmeasured exclusive service in a 
business office the Northwestern 
rate is $6.00. The Tri-State Com- 
pany for this service charges $4 
per month. Numerous pay sta- 
tions are maintained in hotels, 
office buildings and other public 
places where telephone service 
may be had for 5c for local mes- 
sages and from 10c up for out-of- 
town messages. The long-distance 
service reaches every part of the 
northwest and the principal east- 
ern cities. 

Temperature. — ( See Climate. ) 

Temple Court. — An eight-story 
brick and terracotta office build- 
ing at the corner of Washington 
and Hennepin Avs. It is of fire- 
proof construction. 

Tenement Houses. — The tene- 
ment house as it is found in most 
large cities, is almost unknown in 
Minneapolis. As a rule even the 
very poor live in small detached 
houses and thus secure a fair al- 
lowance of light and air even if 
overcrowded Along lower Wash- 
ington Av. perhaps the nearest ap- 
proach to the typical tenement 
house is found. 

Theatres. — Minneapolis theatres 
have a large patronage. A great 


variety of attractions is provided 
during the season and with one or 
two exceptions the theaters are 
entirely devoted to vaudeville and 
motion pictures. The leading the- 
aters are as follows : 

Auditorium. — 11th St. bet. Nicol- 
let and Marquette Av. Concerts, 
grand opera and special theatrical 

Lyric Theatre. — 720 Hennepin 
Av. Motion pictures. 

Metropolitan Opera House. — 
Marquette Av. between 3rd and 4th 

New Garrick Theatre. — 40 S. 
7th £,t. Vaudeville and motion 

New Grand. — 619 Hennepin Av. 
Motion pictures. 

New Palace. — 408 Hennepin Av. 
Vaudeville and motion pictures. 

Orpheum Theatre. — 7th St. bet. 
Hennepin and Nicollet. Vaudeville 
and motion pictures. 

Princess Theatre. — 12-14 4th 
St. N. E. Motion pictures. 

Shubert. — 7th St. bet. Hennepin 
and 1st Av. N. Stock. 

Strand. — 38 S. 7th St. Motion 

Unique. — Hennepin Av. bet. 5th 
and 6th Sts. Vaudeville and mo- 
tion pictures. 

Things to See. — (See Seeing the 
City, Drives and Excursions.) 

Third Ave. Bridge. — The latest 
addition to the group of bridges 
spanning the Mississippi river at 
Minneapolis. From the foot of 
Third Av. S. it extends from the 
west side of the river in a curve, 
approaching quite near the crest 
of the Falls of St. Anthony and 
affording an unequalled view of 
the milling district. The bridge 
is of concrete construction. 

Thursday Musical. — This orga- 
nization is composed of ladies in- 
terested in the study of music 
and the promotion of musical af- 
fairs, and is made up of three 
classes of membership — active, 
student, and associate. The ac- 
tive members to be eligible must 
be proficient in some branch of 


musical art. The musical meets 
fortnightly and fourteen regular 
programs are given by the active 
members according to a definite 
plan. During each season it gives 
several concerts by artists outside 
the club. Its philanthropic work 
which consists of furnishing free 
musical programs wherever there 
is need of such entertainment 
without the means to pay for it, 
is an important feature of the 
club's activity. The Settlement 
Committee, operating through the 
various settlement houses pro- 
vides musical instruction for tal- 
ented children of limited means. 
The membership is approximately 
1,000. The active membership is 
subdivided into four classes — pi- 
anists, vocalists, organists and 
strings — for the purpose of facili- 
tating the study in which each 
class is particularly interested. A 
studio and office are maintained 
in the Barnura Building, 806 Nic- 
ollet Av. Mrs. "Weed Munro is 
president, and Mrs. Henry S. God- 
frey, secretary. 

Ticket Offices. — In addition to 
the depot offices the railroads cen- 
tering in Minneapolis maintain 
city ticket offices as follows : 

United States Railroad Admin- 
istration Consolidated Ticket Of- 
fice. — Sixth St., cor. 2nd Av. S., 
serving the following lines : 

Chicago, Bdklington & Quincy. 

Chicago Great Western. 

Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul. 

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific 

Great Northern. 

Minneapolis & St. Louis. 

Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault 
Ste. Marie. 

Northern Pacific. 

Northwestern Line. 

Canadian Northern. — 311 Nic- 
ollet Av. 

Dan Patch Line. — 54th and 
Nicollet, and 7th St. and 2nd Av. 

Electric Short Line. — 7th St. 
and 2nd A v. N. 

Minnetonka Electric Line. — 17 
N. 6th St. 

Tonka Bay. — A beautiful place 
on the south shore of Lake Minne- 
tonka at the terminus of the Lake 
Minnetonka electric line. It is 
about a mile northwest of Excel- 
sior across the intervening bay. 

Topography. — There are no par- 
ticularly marked elevations within 
the city of Minneapolis and no de- 
pressions of importance with the 
exception of the gorge of the Mis- 
sissippi below the falls. In a gen- 
eral way it may be said that the 
main part of the city lies in an ir- 
regular basin, formed by low 
ranges of hills extending in semi- 
circular form on the southwest 
and northeast. 

The Mississippi river flows 
through the city a distance of 8V 2 
miles, and along the easterly 
border an additional distance of 
Sy 2 miles, making a total course 
of 12 miles, within which distance 
it has a fall of 105 feet. Trib- 
utary to the river are Shingle 
creek in the extreme northern, 
Bassett's Creek in the central and 
Minnehaha Creek in the extreme 
southern portions of the city, all 
flowing through the city from the 

The soil is for the most part 
sandy, varied here and there with 
coarse gravel and clay. A large 
part of the central and northern 
parts of the city were originally 
covered with trees, and many are 
still standing in the door yards of 
pleasant homes. In the south- 
western part of the city are four 
large lakes, referred to in the ar- 
ticle on Park System. All drain- 
age is carried by sewers to the 
Mississippi river below the falls. 

Topographic maps of the U. S. 
Geological Survey, for the region 
about Minneapolis may be ob- 
tained from The Hudson Publish- 
ing Co., 404 Kasota Bldg., cor. 4th 
St. and Hen. Av. 

Torrens land Title Law. — A 
system of land title registration 





Established 1890 200-204 FIRST STREET NORTH 


Sheriff of Hennepin County from March 10, 1902, to January 4, 1909, Resident since 1868. 


Foreign Collections in Germany, Austria-Hungary, Switzerland and Holland 
Steamship Agency— 626 Security Building, MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. 

N. W. Phone Nicollet 1636 

Tri-State Center 3916 


Furniture Repairing, Refinishing and Upholstering 

Antique Furniture 


1022 Marquette Avenue Minneapolis, Minn. 

after the Torrens method is in ef- 
fect in Minneapolis and Hennepin 
county. By making application to 
the district court an owner of real 
estate may secure a decree of reg- 
istration upon which is issued a 
certificate which is conclusive evi- 
dence of title. After the initial 
registration all subsequent trans- 
fers of the property may be made 
without further legal examination. 
The average cost of an initial reg- 
istration is between $15 and $20. 
After that transfers may be made 
at a cost of $3. 

Toys. — All the department 
stores have toy departments. 
"Deutsche Spielwaaren" may be 
found at Holtzermann's, 417-25 
Cedar Av., where a special dis- 
play of imported German toys and 
novelties is made before each 
Christmas season. 

Trades and Labor Assembly. — 
An organization composed of dele- 
gates from various organized 
bodies of workingmen, trades un- 
ions, etc. It considers matters of 
interest to the laboring classes. 
Meetings are held 1st and 3rd 
Wednesdays of each month at 36 
S. 6th St. (See Labor Organiza- 

Transient Koine for Girls. — For 

women desiring a moderate priced 
boarding place for a few days. 
(See Woman's Christian Associa- 

Trust Companies. — (See Loan 
and Trust Companies.) 

Twin CitieSj The. — Minneapolis 
and St. Paul; a popular name orig- 
inating in St. Paul. 

Underground Wires. — (See Elec- 
tric Conduits.) 

Union City Mission. — Organized 
by the churches of all denomina- 
tions in 1895 and incorporated as 
an interdenominational institu- 
tion. Its affairs are managed by 
a board of 15 business men. In 
1916 it occupied its present quar- 


ters — Hennepin Av. and 2nd St. — 
where it maintains a new, fire- 
proof, 12-story commercial hotel, 
lodging house and a mission hall. 
Religious services are held night- 
ly. An employment bureau, read- 
ing room, free baths for homeless 
men are maintained. Its aim is to 
furnish aid in a practical way, 
helping only those who need tem- 
porary relief in food, lodgings or 
clothing, avoiding any tendency 
to pauperize, but with friendly 
kindness to open the way for its 
religious work. T. E. Hughes is 
president and C. M. Stocking, su- 

Unique Theater. — Hennepin Av. 
between 5th and 6th Sts. Vaude- 
ville at popular prices. 

Unitarian Churches. — The Uni- 
tarian churches are : 

First. — 8th and Mary Place. 

Nazareth Free Christian (Nor- 
wegian) — 1525 E. Franklin Av. 

(See First Unitarian Church.) 

United States Courts. — Tne 
rooms of the U. S. District court 
are in the Post office or Inderal 
building, corner 3rd St. and Mar- 
quette Av. 

Unity House. — A social settle- 
ment at 250 17th av N. Estab- 
lished in 1897, by the liberal 
churches of the city, for "general 
benevolent and educational work 
and social and moral reform." Its 
purpose is "to be a center, which 
through mutual helpfulness will 
secure higher standards for the 
children and neighborhood." 
Maintains the following activi- 
ties: Mothers' club, day nursery, 
employment bureau, gymnasium, 
swimming pool, playground, sum- 
mer camp, infant welfare clinic, 
kindergarten, sewing school in 
both hand and machine sewing, 
and clubs and classes for people 
of all ages. The house furnishes 
a meeting place for organizations 
and social groups in the commu- 
nity. Resident director, Henry F. 
Burt. There are twelve resident 


workers, and many volunteer help- 
ers. The building- was completed 
and opened in 1912, the entire 
plant, including lots, costing about 


Universalist Churches. — A Uni- 
versalist society was formed in 
the village of St. Anthony in 1853 
and the Church of the Redeemer 
was formally organized in 1859. 
These were the beginnings of Uni- 
versalism in Minneapolis. The de- 
nomination now has three 
churches as follows: 

All Souls. — 8th Av. S. E. be- 
tween 6th and 7th Sts. 

Church of the Redeemer. — Cor. 
2nd Av. S. and 8th St. 

Tuttle Memorial. — <Uor. W. 27th 
St. and Blaisdell Av. 

University Avenue. — Takes the 
place of 3rd St. N. E. and S. E. 
The southeastern end passes the 
state University grounds and is a 
direct drive to St. Paul. 

University Club. — An organiza- 
tion of men holding degrees from 
accredited academic or profes- 
sional schools. During the period 
of the war the club is housed in 
the building of the Minneapolis 
Athletic Club. Membership is lim- 
ited to 500. The dues are $40 per 
year; the admission fee is $25. 

University of Minnesota. — After 
two unsuccessful attempts, the uni- 
versity had its real beginning ii> 
1868 when a reorganizing act was 
passed which was virtually the 
charter of the institution. College 
work with a faculty of nine was 
begun in the fall ot 1869. From 
this has developed the university 
of today with its twelve colleges 
and professional schools in which 
over 5,700 students of full collegi- 
ate grade are regularly enrolled. 
The agricultural schools, short 
courses, and Extension Division, 
attract 8,500 more. Cyrus Nor- 
throp, LL. D„ president from 1884 
to 1911, was succeeded by George 
Edgar Vincent, Ph. D., LL. D., who 
was succeeded in July, 1917, by 

Marion LeRoy Burton, Ph. D., 
LL. D., formerly president of 
Smith College. The university is 
an integral part of the state school 
system. Graduates of approved 
high schools and other accredited 
preparatory schools are admitted 
to the university without exami- 
nation, provided their credentials 
satisfy the specific requirements 
of the college to which entrance 
is desired. The following depart- 
ments are maintained: 

The College of Science, Litera- 
ture., and the Arts. 

The College of Engineering 
and' Architecture. 

The Department of Agricul- 
ture, including — 

The College of Agriculture. 
The College of Forestry, includ- 
ing — 

Forest Experiment Stations a\ 

Itasca and Cloquet. 
The Central School of Agricul- 
ture, University Farm. 
The Northwest School of Agri« 
culture, Crookston. 
The West Central School of Ag- 
riculture, Morris. 
The Experiment Stations, includ- 
ing — 

The Main Station, St. Anthony 


The Northwest Experiment 

Station, Crookston. 

The North Central Experimen\ 

Station, Grand Rapids. 

The West Central Experiment 

Station, Morris. 

The Northeast Demonstration 

Farm and Experiment Station, 


The Southeast Demonstration 

Farm and Experiment Station, 


The Fruit Breeding Farm, 

Zumbra Heights. 
The Law School. 
The Medical School, including — 

The School for Nurses. 
The School of Embalming. 
The College of Dentistry. 
The School of Mines, includ- 
ing — 

Minnesota School of Mines Ex- 
periment Station. 
The College of Pharmacy. 
The College of Education. 
The Graduate School. 

The University Extension 

The School of Analytical and 
Applied Chemistry. 
Service, including 

General Extension Division. 
Agricultural Extension Division 

Government. — The management 
of the university is vested in a 
board of twelve regents, of whom 
nine are appointed, and three, the 
governor of the state, the super- 
intendent of public instruction 
and the president of the univer- 
sity, are members ex-officio. 

Grounds and Buildings. — The 
university grounds comprise 
about 108 acres lying between Uni- 
versity Av. and the river and from 
llth Av. S. E. to Harvard. They 
command a fine view of the falls 
and the city but are sufficiently 
removed from the business center 
to secure reasonable quiet and re- 
tirement. A more attractive cam- 
pus could hardly be imagined. 
Much of its surface is covered 
with handsome oak trees, while 
ver. The buildings on the Great- 
er Campus are valued at $3,909,- 
835, the equipment at $2,006,611. 
the land at $2,000,000, making 
the total valuation of the main 
plant, $7,916,446. The perma- 
nent fund invested is $3,408,648.32. 
The campus of the College of Ag- 
riculture, situated midway be- 
tween Saint Paul and Minneapolis 
on the Como-Harriet interurban 
line, consists of 418.75 acres of 
land valued at $419,300, the 
buildings are valued at $1,345,145, 
and the equipment at $402,320, 
making a total of $2,166,765. In 
addition to this there are experi- 
mental stations at Morris, 
Crookston, Grand Rapids, Du- 
luth, and Waseca, the Fruit Breed- 
ing Farm at Excelsior, the experi- 
ment station of the College of 
Forestry at Cloquet, and the 
forestry reserve at Itasca Park, 
with grounds, buildings and equip- 
ment valued at a total of approxi- 
mately $959,682. These figures 
for the Department of Agriculture 
added to the figures for the main 


campus, give a total of $11,042,893 
as the approximate total value of 
the grounds, buildings and equip- 
ment of the University of Minne- 

Upon entering the university 
grounds, the Music Building, Law 
Building, College of Education 
Building, Alice Shevlin Hall for 
the women of the university and 
the "Women's Gymnasium, are on 
the right, the Library, Mechanic 
Arts Building, Folwell Hall, Phys- 
ics Building, Minnesota Union 
(Men's Building), Pillsbury Hall 
and Armory on the left. The 
Armory provides for the depart- 
ments of military science and 
physical training, and is so con- 
structed as to serve the additional 
purpose of a large assembly hall. 
Pillsbury Hall is 245 feet in 
length, and is built of brown stone. 
It contains museums, laboratories 
for geology, mineralogy, botany, 
and animal biology, recitation and 
lecture rooms, and accommoda- 
tions for the geological survey. 
The building was the gift of the 
late John S. Pillsbury. 

The library building contains 
the assembly hall, the offices of 
the president, registrar, comptrol- 
ler and librarian; rooms for pack- 
ing, storing and cataloguing 
books; recitation rooms and offices 
for the department of history. It 
contains stack rooms for the stor- 
age of one hundred thousand vol- 
umes; and the special library of 
the department of history. 

On the land recently acquired 
by the University to the south of 
the old campus new buildings have 
been erected in accordance with 
a well defined architectural and 
landscape plan. The Elliott 
Memorial Hospital (194 beds); 
Millard Hall, the Institute of 
Anatomy, the Main Engineering 
Building, Experimental Engineer- 
ing Building, the Chemical Labor- 
atory and the buildings for the 
School of Mines, and the Depart- 
ment of Biology are now in use. 


College of Science, Literature 
and the Arts. — This is the largest 
collegiate department of the uni- 
versity. The completion of the 
course leads to the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. All resident 
students registering in this col- 
lege are required to pay a tuition 
fee of $40 per year. Non-residents 
are charged double this amount. 
The college year opens during the 
third week in September. 

The work of the first two years 
is elective within certain limita- 
tions as to the range of subjects 
from which the electives may be 
chosen. The remaining work of 
the course is entirely elective 
subject to certain provisions as to 
distribution of work. 

In addition to the students who 
enter for the four-year course 
leading to a degree, many others 
enter for the first two years of 
pre-professional training required 
for entrance to the Law School, 
the Medical School, and the Col- 
lege of Education. 

College of Engineering and 
Architecture. — The College of En- 
gineering has the exclusive use 
of four buildings. The Experi- 
mental Engineering Building, com- 
pleted in 1911, contains one of 
the finest laboratory rooms in 
the United States, and has in ad- 
dition, lecture, computing, mu- 
seum, office and tool rooms. It is 
already equipped for excellent 
work in experimental lines, and 
will in the near future be more 
elaborately equipped. The new 
Main Engineering Building, com- 
pleted in 1912, contains the quar- 
ters of the Departments of Civil 
Engineering, Architecture, Mathe- 
matics and Mechanics, and Draw- 
ing. It contains further, welfare 
rooms for the use of students, 
the administration offices of the 
College, the general Engineering 
Library of the College, occupying 
\t\ entire wing of the building 
and extending through three 
stories, an auditorium, capable of 
seating 400 persons, and many 

recitation, lecture and drafting 

The Electrical Engineering De- 
partment occupies a building by 
itself, in connection with the Pow- 
er Plant, which furnishes in part 
light and power on the 
campus. The building is not 
new. but has recently been re- 
modeled. A large amount of new 
modern electric apparatus has 
been installed. The Power Plant 
is operated jointly by the De- 
partments of Electrical and Me- 
chanical Engineering, and is an 
as,set of the College. 

The Mechanical Engineering De- 
partment is housed in a large 
brick building containing the ma- 
chine and pattern-making shops, 
foundry and forge rooms. The 
building contains in addition the 
lecture, drafting and class rooms 
of the Mechanical Department. 

This College offers regular 
courses of study of five years each 
\n civil, mechanical and electricai 
engineering and architecture, 
leading to the degrees of Civil, 
Mechanical and Electrical En- 
gineer and Architect, the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Science 
in Engineering or Architec- 
ture being conferred at the end 
of the fourth year. A tuition fee 
of $60.00 per year is charged. The 
aim of the instruction given in 
the regular undergraduate course* 
of this College is to lay a broad 
and solid foundation in mathemat- 
ics, mechanics, and drawing, se 
that, with the practice in field, 
shop, office, and laboratory worlf 
given to the students in the re- 
spective courses, they shall be 
fitted for immediate usefulness 
upon graduation, and after 
moderate amount of subsequen/ 
practice and experience be ca- 
pable of taking charge of impor- 
tant works. 

Department op Agriculture.— 
Consists of the College of Ag- 
riculture, the College of For- 
estry, the Schools of Agriculture 
at St. Anthony Park, Crookstoi* 
and Morris, the Extension Divi- 

sion, the Division of Research ia 
Agricultural Economics, the Stat© 
Experiment Station at St. An- 
thony Park with substations at 
Crookston, Grand Rapids, and 
Morris, Duluth and Waseca. I» 
addition the Department super- 
vises a number of demonstration 
farms through its Extension De» 
partment. The College of Agri- 
culture offers four year courses 
in Agriculture and Home Econom- 
ics leading to the degree of Bach- 
elor of Science. These courses, in 
uniformity with all other courses 
in the University, require fifteen 
units for entrance, and the work 
given is of collegiate graC.e. The 
Schools of Agriculture s,re de- 
signed to give young m<m and 
women training in subjects that 
will fit them for effective citi- 
zenship and for the duties and 
problems connected with farm 
life. Short courses in special sub- 
jects, such as dairying an^ trac- 
tion engineering, are offered. A 
summer school attended largely 
by rural teachers is also main- 
tained ** 

Law School. — The department 
of law was established in 1888 
under a provision of the charter 
of the university. In 1889 the 
law building was erected. A 
$30,000 wing has since been 
added. The building is construct- 
ed of red brick and brown 
sandstone. Students desiring ad- 
mission as candidates for the 
LL.B. degree are required to com- 
plete two years of collegiate work 
in science, literature and the arts 
in addition to the regular four 
year high school course. Diplo- 
mas of the law department admit 
to practice in Minnesota. The tui- 
tion fee is $65 per year. 

Medical School. — The Medical 
School is housed, for the most 
part, on the new campus, where 
new Millard Hall and the Institute 
of Anatomy are located, upon 
Washington Av. S. E., between 
Church and Union Sts. These 
buildings are especially equipped 


for teaching and research pur- 
poses in medicine and compare 
favorably with the chief labora- 
tories of the country. The Insti- 
tute of Public Health and Pathol- 
ogy, located on the old campus, 
houses the Department of Pathol- 
ogy, Bacteriology and Public 
Health, as also the Laboratory 
and Epidemiological Divisions of 
the State Board of Health. The 
Elliot Memorial Hospital building 
provides accommodations for one 
hundred and ninety-four patients 
for the clinical service of the 
school. This is located on the new 
campus. A number of temporary 
buildings close by are in use as 
homes for the pupils of the school, 
for nurses and the graduate nurs- 
ing force of the hospital. The 
School for Nurses is under the 
management of the Medical School 
and is the first teaching depart- 
ment of its kind to come under 
immediate University control. The 
out-patient department of the 
University is located on Washing- 
ton Av. S., near Seven Corners, 
where it draws freely from all 
parts of the city. It provides 
treatment for about 10,000 persons 
during each year. 

A School of Embalming is con- 
ducted under the jurisdiction of 
the Medical School. 

The students of the Colleges of 
Dentistry and Pharmacy receive 
instruction provided by the medi- 
cal faculty in the sciences funda- 
mental alike to their practice 
and to that of medicine. Many 
courses in medical science are 
open as electives to students in 
the College of Science, Literature 
and the Arts. Students in House- 
hold Science receive instruction 
in Physiology at the Medical 

The medical library of twenty 
thousand volumes is housed in 
new Millard Hall. 

The course in medicine has been 
extended to include a fifth or hos- 
pital year of interne service, while 


its foundations have been broad- 
ened by the required attainment 
of the bachelor's degree before the 
degree in medicine is conferred. 
A tuition fee of $150 per year is 

College op Dentistry. — The Col- 
lege of Dentistry offers a four 
years course. The first year 
is devoted to a study of the 
structure and function of the hu- 
man body, advanced chemistry and 
dental technics. The second year 
to diseases and their treatment, 
emphasizing the dental disorders. 
The third year is a continuation of 
the second; the student practices 
all branches of dentistry. The 
annual fee is $150 for the first 
year and $175 for each of the re- 
maining three years. This course 
leads to the degree of Doctor &£ 
Dental Surgery. 

College of Pharmacy.— This 
college occupies a building of its 
own (formerly Old Millard Hall), 
60 by 115 feet in dimensions, four 
stories high and entirely fireproof, 
and known as The Pharmacy 
Building. The college has recent- 
ly increased its instructional fa- 
cilities by enlarging its general 
equipment and by the addition of 
a medicinal plant garden and a 
pharmacognosy plant laboratory. 

The College of Pharmacy offers 
a regular course of three years 
leading to the degree of Pharma- 
ceutical Chemist, a four year 
course leading to the degree of 
Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy 
and two post-graduate courses 
leading to the degrees of Master 
of Science in Pharmacy and Doc- 
tor of Science in .Pharmacy. The 
annual tuition in the three year 
course is $55. 

Graduation from a regular four 
year high school course is re- 
quired for admission. 

School op Mines. — Three regular 
courses of study are offered, 
namely, mining engineering, min- 
ing engineering specializing in 
geology, and metallurgy, leading 
to the degrees of Engineer of 

Mines (E. M.), Engineer of Mines 
in Geology (E, M. Geology), and 
Metallurgical Engineer (Met. E.), 

The technical courses consist of 
lecture work in mining, metal- 
lurgy, geology, and allied subjects, 
supplemented by laboratory work 
in assaying, chemistry, ore dress- 
ing and metallurgy; field work in 
plane and underground surveying, 
geology; actual practical mining 
and metallurgical work in Minne- 
sota and western mining centers. 
A system of apprenticeship during 
summer vacations has been inau- 
gurated. This work has become 
part of the curriculum and is re- 
quired of all students who are 
candidates for degrees. 

The School of Mines serves state 
interests and promotes the devel- 
opment of the mining and mineral 
resources of the state through its 
Experiment Station. The Experi- 
ment Station is prepared to assist 
citizens interested in this line of 
work; to assay specimens of ores, 
rocks, clays and minerals found 
within the state, free of charge. 
The tuition fee is $55 a. year. 

School of Analytical and Ap- 
plied Chemistry. — Offers three 
courses. Two of these, the Ana- 
lytical and the five-year course in 
Arts and Chemistry, are designed 
for those who wish to become 
teachers of chemistry, analysts 
and investigators. The four-year 
Analytical course leads to the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Science in 
Chemistry, while the five-year 
course leads to the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts after four years 
and Bachelor <&* Science fin Chem- 
istry at the end of the fifth. The 
third or Applied Course extends 
over five years, leading to the de- 
gree of B. S. at the end of the 
fourth year, and Chemical Engi- 
neer at the end of the fifth. The 
tuition is $55.00 per annum. 

College of Education. — Organ- 
ized to give a professional train- 
ings for the higher positions in 

public education, including the 
teaching and supervision of sec- 
ondary schools. Two years of col- 
lege study are required for ad- 
mission and a bachelor's degree 
is granted at the end of a two 
years' course. The college con- 
ducts a four-year university high 
school as a laboratory of observa- 
tion and practice. The annual 
fee is $40. 

Graduate School. — In each of 
the colleges there are advanced 
courses of study leading to second 
degrees. These courses are open to 
graduates of any reputable college 
upon presentation of diploma. 
Tuition fee is $30 per year. 

Extension Service. — The Uni- 
versity Extension Service is or- 
ganized for the purpose of ren- 
dering service to the people of 
the State by making immediately 
available to them the resources 
of the University's faculty, li- 
braries, laboratories, farms, and 
experiment stations. 

The Extension Service is han- 
dled by two University divisions, 
the "General Extension Division" 
and the "Agricultural Extension 
Division." Under the supervision 
of these two divisions the follow- 
ing lines of service are offered: 


Correspondence and home study 
courses in collegiate, professional, 
and vocational branches. 

Lectures, either single or in 
groups, delivered by members of 
the University Faculty in the vari- 
ous communities. 

Lyceum courses of popular lec- 
tures, entertainments, and dra- 
matic or musical numbers. 

University Weeks, or six-day 
programs, conducted in towns 
through the state. 

Debating Helps, references and 
guidance in the organization of de- 
bating societies. 

Lantern Slides for distribution 
in sets as loans to schools. 

Municipal Reference Bureau 
for obtaining and furnishing infor- 
mation for city officials. 


Social Center guidance and co- 
operation for the wider community 
use of the school plant. 

Night Classes in business, edu- 
cation, engineering, law and col- 
legiate branches. 

Short Courses of one week in 
merchandising and kindred sub- 
jects offered to communities that 
meet the requirements. 

Information on various subjects 
to be obtained from the proper Uni- 
versity source and furnished to in- 

Extension Centers for class- 
room instruction in industrial and 
other branches established in cities 
that meet the requirements. 


Farmers' Institutes held in 
towns, villages, or rural communi- 

Demonstration Farms : Opera- 
tion of private farms directed by 
extension men through frequent 

Judges furnished for county and 
street fairs and judging demonstra- 
tions given. 

Lectures, either single or in 
groups, delivered by representa- 
tives of the Agricultural College in 
communities meeting requirements. 

Short Courses of one week of- 
fered in agriculture and home econ- 
omics, either separate or combined. 

Rural Schools aided in giving 
instruction in agriculture and home 
economics, and in conducting con- 
tests among boys and girls. Spe- 
cial instructors furnished county 
teachers' training schools. 

Club Work Among Boys and 
Girls encouraged and guided. Spe- 
cial organizer sent on request. 

Farmers' Clubs organized and 
encouraged, also speakers and sug- 
gestive programs furnished. 

County Agents representative of 
the Agricultural College placed in 
each county that qualifies. 

Publications : Extension Bul- 
letins and several periodicals deal- 
ing with agricultural education and 
agricultural news mailed free to 
interested persons. 

Information furnished on all 
agricultural subjects by correspond- 

Summer Session. — A very con- 
siderable number of courses, not 


only liberal, but technical as well, 
can be pursued at the University 
during six weeks in June and 
July. They are planned for col- 
lege students, for teachers, and 
for men and women in other occu- 
pations who wish the advantage 
of advanced study. 

Alumni Association (The Gen- 
eral). — An organization of alumni 
and former students of the Uni- 
versity having as its object the 
promotion of the welfare of the 
University of Minnesota. Em- 
ploys a permanent secretary who 
devotes his whole time to the 
work of the association; publishes 
the Minnesota Alumni Weekly. 

Military Training and S. A. T. 
C. — The University has been of- 
ficially designated as a University 
at which a unit of the Students' 
Army Training Corps is established. 
Its organization is now complete. 
Any male person eighteen to forty- 
five years of age qualified to enter 
the University may become a mem- 
ber of the Students' Army Training- 

Libraries. — The library of the 
university contains about 185,000 
bound volumes and about 1,000 
periodicals are received regu- 
larly. The library is open to stu- 
dents and the public from 8 a. m. 
to 10:00 p. m. every day of the 
university year, except Sundays 
and legal holidays. Besides the 
general library, there are a num- 
ber of college libraries including 
those of law, medicine, engineer- 
ing, agriculture and mines. In 
addition to these each department 
in the College of Science, Litera- 
ture, and the Arts has its own li- 

Societies and Publications. — 
There are a large number of liter- 
ary and social societies among 
the students and faculty of the 
university, for a list of which the 
Minnesota Blue Book should be 
consulted. Athletics are given 
much attention and are under the 
supervision of a board of control 
made up of students and members 

of the faculty. The university has 
devoted a part of the campus to 
athletics. This is known as 
"Northrop Field." It contains 
about 6 acres, suitably enclosed, 
and fitted for athletic contests. 

"The Minnesota Law Review" is 
published by the faculty and stu- 
dents of the Law School. 

During the college year the stu- 
dents of the university publish 
the "Minnesota Daily." The busi- 
ness manager and board of direct' 
ors are chosen by the student 

'The junior class issues each 
year before the commencement an 
annual known as "The Gopher." 
The "Minnesota Magazine" is a 
monthly publication devoted to 
the cultivation of literary taste 
and effort among the students. 

The alumni publish a weekly 
paper called the "Minnesota 
Alumni Weekly," which is devoted 
to the interests of the alumni. 

Other publications are the Min- 
nesota Engineer, the Minnesota 
Forester, the School of Mines 
Bulletin, the Minnesota Farm Re- 
view, and the "Minnehaha." 

Scholarships and Prizes. — It is 
the policy of the university to es- 
tablish scholarships in the differ- 
ent departments where extra help 
is needed for instruction. A long 
list of prizes is offered, such as 
the Pillsbury prizes in oratory, 
the 1889 memorial prize for the 
best thesis in history, and a num- 
ber of similar prizes offered by 
prominent people interested in the 

Fellowships. — Four fellowships, 
each being the income from $10,000 
were established by the late Thos. 
H. Shevlin of Minneapolis, the ob- 
jects being Academic, Agriculture, 
Chemistry, and Medicine. (See 
Education, Public Schools, High 
Schools, etc.) Como-Harriet, Como- 
Hopkins, Oak & Harriet and St. 
Paul and Minneapolis electric 

Valuation. — (See Assessed Val- 

Vendome, Hotel. — One of the 
prominent hotels of the city. It is 
a handsome five-story bailding, 
with automatic sprinkler fire pro- 
tection and a seven-story fire-proof 
addition, at 19 S. 4th St. — a loca- 
tion adjacent to the retail and job- 
bing districts as well as to ' the 
theaters and all street railway 
lines. It has 250 rooms and is 
conducted on the European plan. 

Visiting- Nurse Association. — 
This was organized and incorpo- 
rated as a separate association in 
1917. Its object is to promote the 
public health of the city through 
visiting nursing and by any other 
means which the needs of the city 
suggest. It provides district ^nurs- 
ing for those unable to pay wholly 
or in part for such service. It 
provides hour nursing for those 
unable to pay for full time service 
of a trained nurse. It maintains 
a summer camp for tuberculous 
children at Glenwood Park, and 
cares for such incurable and tu- 
berculous patients as the institu- 
tion of the city cannot provide ac- 
commodations for. Its officers 
are: Mrs. F. A. Chamberlain, 
president; Mrs. C. C. Webber, 
treasurer; and Miss Minnie F. Pat- 
erson, superintendent of nurses. 

Vital Statistics. — The death rate 
in Minneapolis in 1917 was 11.45 
per 1,000. a figure not shown 
by any other large city in the 
country. Births are recorded by 
the commissioner of health and 
number over 6,000 annually — in- 
creasing with the growth' of the 
city. (See Health.) 

Vote. — (See Politics.) 

Voting* Precincts. — (See Politi- 
cal Divisions.) 

Walks. — Attractive walks may 
be enjoyed in vicinity of Minne- 
haha Falls and Fort Snelling; in 
the region west of Minneapolis; 
and about Lake Minnetonka. Win- 


chell Trail, leading from the 
Falls to Lake Street bridge, fol- 
lows the course of old Indian 

Wall Maps. — Wall maps of all 
kinds are to be found at the Hud- 
son Publishing Co., 404 Kasota 

Ward Boundaries. — (See Politi- 
cal Divisions.) 

Washburn "A" Mill. — The larg- 
est flour mill in floor area, is the 
Washburn "A," which stands on 
the west side between the "canal" 
and 2nd St. near 6th Av. S. Its 
construction was commenced im- 
mediately after the destruction of 
its predecessor by the great explo- 
sion of 1878 and it was finished 
in 1880. The mill covers a ground 
space of 100 by 240 feet, is eight 
stories high and from the plat- 
form over the canal to the top of 
the cupola is 158 feet. In the 
walls, which are five feet thick at 
the base and 20 inches at the top, 
are 371,250 cubic feet of mason- 
ry and over 2,750,000 feet of lum- 
ber went into the construction. A 
daily capacity of 12,000 barrels of 
flour is credited to the Washburn 
"A." The mill is recommended 
for inspection and intending vis- 
itors may secure permits at the 
office of the Washburn-Crosby Co. 
in the Chamber of Commerce 
building. Minneapolis & St. Paul 
electric line. 

Washburn Home. — A bequest of 
the late C. C. Washburn, governor 
of Wisconsin, devoted $375,000 to 
the founding of an orphans' home 
in Minneapolis. Senator W. D. 
Washburn, the testator's brother, 
gave 20 acres of land on Nicollet 
Av. near 50th St. and a hand- 
some building was erected at a 
cost of $75,000. The remainder of 
the bequest constitutes the endow- 
ment fund and is so invested as to 
bring an ample income. The build- 
ing is three stories in height with 
mansard and basement. It is built 


of pressed brick with Lake Superi- 
or sandstone trimmings, interior 
finish of oak and is admirably- 
equipped in every department. It 
has a capacity for 100 children. 
It is designed for orphans or half 
orphans resident in Minnesota and 
of any class or nationality. Chil- 
dren may remain until fifteen 
years of age when necessary. 
Washburn Park & Columbia 
Heights electric line. 

Washburn Park. — A suburban 
loeality lying on Nicollet Av. at 
its intersection with Minnehaha 
creek. It is reached in about a 
half hours ride by the Washburn 
Park cars on Marquette and 
Nicollet. Contains the highest 
land in Hennepin county. 

Washington Avenue. — The most 
conspicuous north and south thor- 
oughfare in the city. Its course 
is parallel with the river in the 
west division between 2nd and 3rd 
Sts. from the north city limits to 
the river at 21st Av. S. The ave- 
nue is 100 feet wide through the 
larger part of its course. 

Water Power. — St. Anthony 
Falls and their 60,000 utilized 
horse power were the potent in- 
fluence which led to the building 
of Minneapolis. The available 
perpendicular fall of the water is 
about 68 feet. In 1822 the first at- 
tempt at utilizing the power was 
made by the government, when 
a small saw mill was erected. 
From 1850 the development made 
rapid progress. In 1868 the de- 
struction of the ledge forming the 
falls was threatened and in 1875 
a series of dams and retaining 
walls supplemented by a wooden 
"apron" were completed at a 
cost of nearly a million dollars, 
the United States government 
contributing $550,000 and citizens 
of Minneapolis $334,500. This 
work saved the falls, though 
there is still some anxiety lest 
further damage should be done 

by the action of the water on the 
upper end of the ledge. 

The power of the main falls is 
utilized by means of canals on 
the east and west sides which 
convey the water to the various 

The lower dam, owned by the 
St. Anthony Palls Water Power 
Co., was built 1895-97. The head 
developed is 20 feet and the stone 
dam is approximately 1090 feet 
long. A power house 200 feet 
long contains 10 1,000 horse power 
units, furnishing power to 10 700 
kilo-watt generators which oper- 
ate the street railways of Minne- 
apolis and St. Paul. The cost of 
these improvements was $1,000,- 
000. The alternatnlg electric cur- 
rent transmitted to St. Paul is 
generated at 3,450 volts, raised to 
12,000 volts by means of step-up 
transformers, transmitted to St. 
Paul, then lowered to 3,450 volts 
pressure by means of step-down 
transformers and is converted into 
direct current at 550 volts pres- 
sure, by means of rotary convert- 
ers, thence passes to the feeder 
lines on the streets, finally being 
utilized to propel the street cars. 
The plant was designed and built 
by Wm. de la Barre, engineer of 
the company. A further develop- 
ment of the water power under- 
taken in 1906 produces 12,000 ad- 
ditional horse power. This plant 
is located on Hennepin Island 
and the power has been leased for 
a term of years to the Twin City 
Rapid Transit Company. The 
head developed is 48 feet. (See 
Flour and Flour Milling and St. 
Anthony Falls.) 

"Water Rates. — Water rents are 
payable half yearly on the 1st of 
May and November, at the office 
of the city treasurer, In the city 
hall. On the first of May and 
November notices are mailed to 
consumers. If rents are not paid 
by the 20th of these months the 
water will be shut off. Meter 

rates are 8c per 1,000 gals., with a 
minimum charge of $4 per year. 
Payable quarterly Feb. 1st, May 
1st, Aug. 1st and Nov. 1st. 

"Water Works. — Minneapolis has 
a thoroughly modern water works 
system of which the most inter- 
esting feature is a water-purifioa- 
tion plant, completed in 1912. The 
water supply is obtained from the 
Mississippi river near the northern 
limits of the city. After being 
pumped about three miles to an 
elevated site near Columbia 
Heights, northeast of the city, the 
water enters the purification plant 
where it undergoes the processes 
of sedimentation and mechanical 
filtration "with sulphate of alum- 
ina as reagent, and chlorine gas 
as a disinfectant." The plant, 
which cost about $1,000,000, 
in addition to the old reser- 
voirs (which were utilized) in- 
cludes a sedimentation basin, mix- 
ing chamber, two coagulation ba- 
sins, a head house, 16 filter units, 
two auxiliary clear water basins 
and a main clear water basin. 
The process is rapid, scientific and 
effective; the water leaves the fil- 
ters clear and sparkling and essen- 
tially pure. From the clear water 
basin it is distributed by gravity 
to all parts of the city and is gen- 
erally used by the people of the 
city as a safe and satisfactory 
drinking water. 

The capacity of the filtration 
plant is to be increased 50% by 
the addition of 8 filter units under 
construction in 1917 at a cost of 
about $500,000. 

Lewis I. Birdsall is superinten- 
dent of the filtration plant. 

The main pumping station is on 
the east side of the river nearly 
opposite an older station at the 
mouth of Shingle creek. The main 
station has two Holly pumping 
engines with a capacity of 30,000,- 
000 gallons and one 25,000,000 
gal. centrifugal electric pump 
and cost about $500,000. That 
on the west shore has one 25,- 


000,000 gal. centrifugal electric 
pump. The average daily con- 
sumption of water is about 30,- 
000,000 gallons, or about 70 gal- 
lons per day per capita. 

The city has about 600 miles of 
water mains and collects about 
$550,000 annually in water taxes 
from some 50,000 consumers. 

Wayzata. — A village on the 
north shore of Lake Minnetonka, 
reached by the Great Northern 
R'y. (See Minnetonka.) 

Weather Bureau. — The section 
director, U. G. Purssell, has offices 
at 504 Federal building. Daily 
observations of the weather, and 
meteorological conditions are 
made and recorded, and a weather 
map and forecast are issued each 
morning, except Sunday. 

Wells Memorial House. — 116 N. 
Eleventh St. Devoted to social 
settlement work and under the 
general direction of a board of 
managers appointed largely from 
the membership of St. Mark's 
Episcopal church which contrib- 
uted the funds for the building. 
It was completed and opened in 
1908. The building is of colonial 
style. It has a frontage of 92 
feet and a depth of 48 feet. The 
auditorium used as a boys' club, 
is on the first floor at the left of 
the entrance and the gymnasium 
is in the rear. In the high base- 
ment at the right of the door is a 
dispensary. On the first floor is 
the office, library, and kindergar- 
ten. On the second floor in front 
is a day nursery, a dancing hall, 
and in the rear the cooking school, 
women's club, etc. On the top 
floor are the apartments for the 
resident workers, the day nursery 
nurse and the superintendent. 

Wesley M. E. Cnurch. — Cor. 1st 
Av. S. and Grant St. Completed 
in May, 1892. Its exterior is 
Romanesque with a tower at the 
Grant St. and 1st Av. corner and 
an elaborate porte cochere on the 
Grant St. side. The material used 

WES-WO'M l; 

is Lake Superior brown stone. The 
structure occupies a lot which is 
100 feet on 1st Av. S. by 145 feet 
on Grant St. There is a total 
seating capacity of about 1,500. 

West Hotel. — Among the finest 
hotels in the country the West 
hotel of Minneapolis stands con- 
spicuous. In point of interior 
finish and beauty it is excelled by 
few. The building is eight sto- 
ries high and cost $1,500,000. It 
is built of Joliet marble, and red 
pressed brick with terra cotta 
trimmings, in combination of the 
Queen Anne and Colonial styles, 
with 196x174 feet ground plan, 
and has a total height of 200 feet. 
The lobby which is capable of 
holding 1,000 people, discloses the 
grand staircase and galleries, and 
a wealth of ornamentation in ma- 
hogany, marble, bronze, brass and 
stained glass, which is a distinc- 
tive feature of the structure. 

Westminster Presbyterian 
Church. — The Westminster Pres- 
byterian church of Minneapolis 
was organized Aug. 23, 1857. Its 
building at Nicollet Av. and 12th 
St. is one of the largest in Minne- 
apolis and with a nominal seat- 
ing capacity of 1,500 is so ar- 
ranged that 2,500 people can be 
seated within sound of the voice 
of a speaker upon the platform in 
the main auditorium. 

The building has a frontage on 
Nicollet Av. of 128 feet and on 
12th St. of 160 feet. The towers 
rise to the height of 105 feet. The 
main auditorium is 95x100 feet in 
its largest dimensions. 

A mixture of Gothic and Ro- 
man characterizes the treatment 
of the interior. The seating is in 
amphitheater form and an unus- 
ually large gallery extends down 
to, and connects with the choir 
gallery. In the rear of the audi- 
torium are arranged the Sunday 
school rooms, parlors and library, 
and in the basement are a dining 
room, kitchen, bicycle room, drill 

hall and a host of the modern 
requisites of a large city church. 

The organ is one of the finest in 
the West. The church is well or- 
ganized. It maintains numerous 
missions and Sunday schools 
which often become the founda- 
tions of new churches of the de- 

Rev. John E. Bushnell D. D. is 

West Side. — The popular name 
for the "west division" or all that 
part of the city west and south of 
the Mississippi river. It is much 
the larger part in area and popu- 
lation and contains the business 

West Side Plats. — A narrow 
strip of low-lands at the base of 
the cliffs along the Mississippi 
below the Falls. 

What to See. — (See Seeing the 
City, Drives and Excursions.) 

Wheat Market. — (See Grain 
Trade. ) 

White Bear Lake. — A fine sheet 
of water about three miles long 
lying eight or nine miles north- 
east of St. Paul and fifteen miles 
from Minneapolis. It is a favorite 
resort with St. Paul people, to 
whom it occupies much the same 
position as Lake Minnetonka to 
Minneapolis residents. Take Min- 
neapolis & St. Paul electric cars 
to St. Paul, changing to St. Paul 
& Stillwater line at 7th and Wa- 
basha Sts. 

Wholesale Business. — (See Job- 
bing Trade.) 

Woman's Boarding Home. — (See 
Woman's Christian Association.) 

Woman's Christian Association 
of Minneapolis (Incorporated). — 
Organized in 1866. Maintains 
homes and co-operative boarding 
clubs for young women and homes 
for the aged. Managed by a board 
of directors of sixty-eight women. 
All financial affairs are subject to 
the approval of an advisory board 

of five business men. The office 
of the Association is at 1800 First 
Ave. South. Telephone South 6252. 
Mrs. James Paige, president; Mrs. 
J. Frank Corbett, secretary. 

The following institutions are 
departments of the Woman's 
Christian Association: 

Jones-Harrison Home (Incorpo- 
rated). For the Aged. 3700 Cedar 
Lake Av. Telephone, Walnut 18. 
Mrs. S, J. Hewson, President. A 
beautifully situated and well ap- 
pointed home with capacity for for- 
ty-seven old ladies. Visitors are 
welcome. Accessible at all times 
from Chowen Av. on St. Louis Park 
car line. In summer the Park 
Board's electric launches stop near 
the grounds. This property was 
given by the late Hon. E. S. Jones 
and by the bequest of Mrs. Jane T. 

Woman's Boarding Home (In- 
corporated). 52 S. 10th St. Tele- 
phone Main 2287. Mrs. Clarkson 
Lindley, President. Accommodates 
130 self-supporting young women 
and students ; is very centrally lo- 
cated and was given by the late 
Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Dunwoody. 

Mahala Fisk Pillsbury Home, 
819 2nd Av. S. Telephone, Main 
1867. Mrs. L. L. Dodge, Chairman. 
Accommodates 55 self-supporting 
young wouen at a low price ; is very 
centrally located and was given by 
the late Gov. J. S. Pillsbury as a 
memorial to his wife. 

Transient Home for Girls, 1714 
Stevens Av. Telephone, South 4147. 
Mrs. A. Y. Merrill, Chairman. For 
young women who desire a safe 
and comfortable stopping place for 
a few days at a low price, and for 
twelve permanent boarders. This 
property was given by friends. The 
work is endowed in memory of Dr. 
A. H. Lindley, Mr. Levi M. Stewart, 
and Mr. Clinton Morrison. 

Woman's Christian Association 
Club, 1614 Stevens Av. Telephone, 
Main 5530. Mrs. R. J. Healy, Chair- 
man. A self-supporting co-opera- 
tive boarding club for 55 women 
on the plan of the Eleanor Clubs of 

Woman's Christian Association 
Central Club, 1800 1st Av. S. Tel- 
ephone, South 6252. Mrs. F. W. 
Little, Chairman. Accommodates 
55 women on the above .plan and 
occupies two adjoining residences. 


Woman's Hotel, 122 Hennepin 
Av. Telephone, Main 495. Mrs. T. 
H. Weld, Chairman. Accommo- 
dates 25 women and children in 
separate rooms. Lodging only. 
Rates 50 cents a night. 

Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union. — This organization main- 
tains no offices but the following 
state officers are resident in the 
city. President, Miss Ro- 
zette Hendrix, 2408 Nicollet Av.; 
cor. secretary, Mrs. Kate Kercher, 
Brookside, Minneapolis, R. No. 2; 
rec. secretary, Mrs. Belle M. 
Welch, 4310 Blaisdell Av. Mrs. 
Minnie E. Graham, 4223 Morning- 
side Road, is president of Henne- 
pin District Union, and Mrs. A. M. 
Calderwood, 986 15th Av. S. E., is 
secretary. The district is com- 
posed of twenty different unions. 

Woman's Club. — An organiza- 
tion of more than 800 women of 
Minneapolis for the purpose of 
public service. Its departments 
are: Arts and Letters; Home and 
Education; and Social Economics 
— and through the various com- 
mittees of these divisions and by 
general club action the club has 
taken a prominent and useful part 
in the life of the city in recent 
years. The club has a well ap- 
pointed club house at 1526 Har- 
mon Place. Here are held meet- 
ings of all kinds incident to the 
club work and lectures, recitals, 
etc., are given in an assembly hall 
which is a new and valuable ad- 
junct of the building. Mrs. John 
T. Baxter is president and Miss 
Edna M. Chandler, secretary. 

Women's Organizations.- — Min- 
neapolis women have organized 
for almost every conceivable pur- 
pose connected with the social, 
literary, musical, educational and 
philanthropic life of the city. 

The following list includes 
some of the leading women's or- 
ganizations of the city, but does 
not attempt to enumerate local or 
study clubs or church societies. 

College Women's Club. — Mrs. 
Harvey M. Hickok, president, 75 
Dell PI. 

wor-you 1; 

Minneapolis Improvement 
League. — Mrs. Geo. H. Richards, 
president, 2639 Harriet Av. 

Thursday Musical. — Mrs. Weed 
Munro, president. Studio, 804 
Nicollet Av. 

Woman's Club of Minneapolis. 
— Mrs. John T. Baxter, president, 
1526 Harmon PL 

Woman's Christian Association. 
— Mrs. Jas. Paige, president. 420 
Oak Grove St. 

Women's Welfare ' League. — 
Miss Gratia A. Countryman, pres- 
ident, Public Library. 

Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation. — M. Frances Cross, general 
secretary, 87 S. 7th St. 

W.orkhouse. — Situated on N. 
Lyndale Ave. near the northern 
limits of the city. The numer- 
ous petty criminals convicted 
in the municipal court, are sen- 
tenced to the workhouse, where 
labor is provided during their 
terms. Buildings worth $365,000 
stand oh 132 acres of land worth 
$91,000. Cedar & Camden electric 

Yachting". — There is fine sport at 
Lake Minnetonka and many of the 
smaller lakes in the vicinity of 
the city. The Minnetonka Yacht 
Club with club house at St. Louis 
Bay is the principal yachtsmen's 
organization. The Calhoun Yacht 
Club sails Lake Calhoun. Boats 
for hire may be obtained at all 
the principal resorts at Minne- 
tonka and at Lakes Calhoun and 
Harriet. (See Ice Yachting.) 

Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion of the City of Minneapolis. — 

Was organized in the summer of 
1866. Since that time it has grad- 
ually grown until it now owns, 
free from debt, a splendid prop- 
erty at the corner of 10th and 
Mary Place, valued at $175,000, a 
branch building at the corner of 
14th Av. S. E. and Talmage St., 
valued at $30,000, and a Summer 
Camp on Green Lake, near Chisago 
City, Minnesota. There are strong 

branches at the University of Min- 
nesota and in the South Town 

The central building is of brown 
stone and pressed brick, five 
stories in height. There are en- 
trances on both fronts. The first 
floor of the buildings is given up 
to reading room, social and game 
rooms and the association office. 
The physical department, includ- 
ing a well equipped gymnasium, 
swimming pool and shower baths, 
boxing, fencing and wrestling and 
locker rooms, occupies about one- 
fourth of the building. 

On the second floor is the audi- 
torium, seating 600, used for re- 
ligious meetings, concerts, lec- 
tures and entertainments. The 
remainder of the second floor is 
occupied by the dining room and 
educational class rooms. There are 
four other large educational class 
rooms on the top floor, making a 
total accommodation for about 700 
students in the evening school. 
The remainder of the building is 
used for dormitory rooms, accom- 
modating 50 resident members. 

The central building, although 
affording excellent accommoda- 
tions, is quite outgrown and the 
Association conducted a remark- 
able campaign during the first 10 
days of June, 1916, to provide for 
the development of a number of 
buildings to meet the requirements 
of the different sections of the 
city. $1,150,000 was subscribed 
by the citizens during a whirlwind 
canvass. Land has been purchased 
at the corner of 9th St. and Mary 
Place, midway between Hennepin 
and Nicollet Avenues, one block 
nearer the center of the business 
district than the present building. 
A half million dollar building is 
under construction. Other branch 
buildings will be erected at 
the University of Minnesota, in 
Northeast Minneapolis, in North 
Minneapolis, in South Town and 
on West Lake St. This will make 
one of the most complete Y. M. 
C. A. equipments for a city of the 

size of Minneapolis in the world. 

This Association maintains a 
General Service Department which 
gives special attention to helping 
strangers find desirable rooms, 
advising new comers regarding 
employment, and furnishing gen- 
eral information. 

The Association also conducts 
boy's clubs, night schools, athletic 
and religious activities at more 
than thirty extension centers 
throughout the city. 

The Evening School of the as- 
sociation provides educational op- 
portunities for employed young 
men in all the commercial 
branches, business law, scientific 
salesmanship, credit management, 
advertising, real estate, character 
analysis, mechanical and architec- 
tural drafting, plan reading and 
estimating, electrical engineering, 
English for foreigners, reading, 
spelling, penmanship, arithmetic, 
business correspondence, short- 
hand and typewriting, and auto- 
mobile construction and operation. 

Any well meaning young man 
regardless of nationality or relig- 
ious belief may become a member 
simply by calling at the office, 
filling out an application blank 
and paying the fees, which are 

S. Wirt Wiley is general sec- 

Young" Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation. — Located at 87 S. 7th St., 
where it occupies a building erect- 
ed in 1902. The building con- 
tains a reading room, rest room, 
lunch room, swimming pool, gym- 
nasium and other class rooms. 
The association, which is on much 


the same basis as the Y. M. C. A., 
was organized in June, 1891. The 
present membership numbers about 
5,000, general and sustaining. 
, The sustaining membership fee is 
$5 annually; general membership, 

A bureau of information aims 
to give to young women who come 
to the city as strangers, any de- 
sired help in securing suitable 
boarding places and employment 
The association supports the 
"Traveler's Aid," and five wom- 
en spend all their time at the 
Union, Milwaukee and M. & St. L. 
dents, John S. Pillsbury and E. J. 
Couper; recording secretary, B. P. 
Benson; treasurer, J. M. Martin; 
general secretary, S. Wirt Wiley, 
stations meeting trains and assist- 
ing travelers. 

There are educational, domestic 
science and art, and physical 
gymnastic classes, a small tuition 
being charged those joining. 
There is a religious service on 
Sunday at 4 p. m. Frequent eve- 
ning entertainments of various 
character, and social gatherings, 
are given. The work of the asso- 
ciation is carried on largely by 
committees under the supervision 
of a board of directors consisting 
of thirty women, representing the 
various churches of the city. Mrs. 
F. R. Sprague is president; M. 
Frances Cross is general secre- 

The headquarters of the North 
Central Field of the National Y. 
W. C. A. are at 425 N. W. Nat. 
Life Bldg. This Field comprises 
the five states: Minnesota, Iowa, 
Nebraska, North and 'South Da- 



specialize in Maps. R0 ^J? ^APS-Etc. 




400 Kasota Bldg. Phone Nicollet 2826 MINNEAPOLIS 





Every working day — some holidays — part of 2 Sun- 
days — emergency — we have been building and re- 
pairing the buildings of this town. 

Don't Forget the Old Fellows 

2730 Nicollet Avenue 

South 7400 

Auto 51 185 

American Tent & Awning Co. 

C. M. RAWITZER, Prop. 

Tents and Awnings, 
Paulins, Wagon Covers, 
Horse Covers and Blankets, 
Auto Covers, Water Bags, 
Canvas Aprons and Bags, 
Sleeping Porch Curtains, 
Canoe and Auto Tents, 

18-20 West Third Street, 
St. Paul, Minn. 

Phones : Auto. 22 262 Cedar 1662 




Cotton and Roll Duck, 
Lawn Folding Furniture, 
Cow Covers and Blankets, 
Feed Bags, Oiled Clothing, 
Sails, Flags, Umbrellas, 
Waterproof Covers, 
Lambing Tents. 

307-309-311 Wash. Ave. N. 
Minneapolis, Minn. 

Phones : Auto. 37 777 Main 777 

Rubber Stamps c:: ^^^[ 

Nicollet 7824 Auto. 35 770 

Every Style and Kind of 
Rubber Stamps, Daters, Pads, Seals, Etc. 
Largest and Fastest Growing Rubber Stamp 
Manufacturing Concern in the Northwest. 

222-6 Tribune Annex Minneapolis, Minn. 





President Sec'y and Treas. Ass't Treasurer 


Vice President Asst. Secretary 

David C. Bell Investment Company 


Members Minneapolis Real Estate Board and National Association 

REAL ESTATE — Business and Residence Properties 

See Beautiful HOMEWOOD overlooking Glenwood Park 
INSURANCE— Fire, Automobile, (Full Coverage) 

Fire, Theft, Collision, Liability, Tornado, Burglary 
RENTALS — Business, Residence, Summer Homes 
MORTGAGE LOANS — On Improved City, Business, Residence 
and Close in Suburban Properties 

Permit us to serve you in some if not all branches of our business 

Manager of Security Building" 

Nos. 226-228-230-232 Security Bldg. Minneapolis, Minn. 

Wentworth & Griffith 





When In The Market Advise Us of Your Requirements 


l ■ 


\ . ' r % . '■'■-' : 


: : «fi|li ^-: . 



%■ . 


'- ^^g. 1 


f**^ «!& ^ *. 

! > 



1 yfEAR 


MUNSING UNION SUITS for Men, Women, Children 
Fine in Quality, Non-Irritating, Long Wearing 
Always Perfect Fitting, World Famous for Durability 
The most in demand because the most satisfactory 
Wear them, you will like them. They please everybody